Mobile Suit Gundam 00 Second Season


Mobile Suit Gundam 00: Second Season

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Mobile Suit Gundam 00: Second Season
Synonyms: Kidou Senshi Gundam 00 2nd Season, Mobile Suit Gundam 00 2nd Season, Gundam 00 S2
Japanese: 機動戦士ガンダム00 セカンドシーズン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2008 to Mar 29, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, MechaMecha, MilitaryMilitary, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SpaceSpace
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.121 (scored by 7666176,661 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #3962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1104
Members: 122,623
Favorites: 1,383
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 9, 2009
Goldeneyeuro (All reviews)
Now, I thoroughly enjoyed Gundam 00 Season 1. Great characters, great action, and best of all, a wonderful complex plot. Throw in a good dosage of how it relates the present day world and great voice acting, and you’ve got a recipe for one of the most popular series now.

Now, Season 2 started out with a lot of potential. The main characters were reintroduced very well, preserving the characteristics they were known for and refining them, along with offering a slightly different side of their personality. Some characters did change for the worse, but this is necessary to create the strife needed for the story read more
Jun 17, 2009
kiriska (All reviews)
The conclusion of the first season left a bad taste in my mouth. That taste stayed throughout the entire second season, but by the end of it, I'd gotten so used to it that I didn't care anymore.

(This review assumes familiarity with the first season of Gundam 00 and references several season one spoilers. Season two spoilers are hinted at but not explicitly stated.)

STORY - Gundam 00 had a precarious premise from the very beginning. The "war to end all wars" story is one that seems to be visited often, but because it's such an idealistic goal, series pursuing it always stand on a shaky read more
Mar 18, 2009
BaggyGorilla (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gundam 00 season 1 was for me an instant classic. It combined a great story with excellent action scenes. Also all the characters were realistic. They had a past, motives, weaknesses etc. Needless to say I was looking forward to the second season. After watching 23 episodes I decided to write this review, because I think season 2 is a letdown.

The re-introduction of the 4 meisters is wonderfully done. After that the story just won’t startup. Half of the season is dedicated to explain in depth why some characters are fighting. Because of this, the main story progresses really slow. The action scenes are not read more
Mar 29, 2009
Kozooo (All reviews)
If you saw Gundam 00 season 1 and you liked it, you probably wanna see season 2 as well.
But Gundam 00 S2 is crappy as hell (aside from the good looks.. the production value was top notch).

I have to admit that I liked Gundam 00 S1 (except for the ending).
Gundam 00 S1 focused a lot on the plot/action and because of that, the character development got neglected.
But that didn't matter, because even with the 1-dimensional characters, it was still an interesting and exciting mecha anime.

However in Gundam 00 S2, 'they' tried to 'spice up' the character development a bit.
They totally froze the storytelling and decided read more
Oct 23, 2008
Rhaineleen (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Phase one)
I am not into Mecha anime, truth be told this is the 1st time that I've tried to watch a series on the Gundam franchise that is produced by Sunrise-Bandai™...
I expected it to be the same as the other Gundam series but I was proven wrong...
After seeing the 1st season, I was so surprised at how this series turned out. I expected myself to drop this after watching a couple of episodes but instead I was drawn in to watch it up to the end, it has all the elements needed to create a precise and successful series...

(Phase two)
Interesting plot, complex storyline, excellent character read more
Mar 30, 2009
game8910 (All reviews)
This review will focus on both seasons of Gundam 00.
Mobile Suit Gundam 00 is the latest installment in the incredibly massive Gundam franchise produced by Sunrise. This is also the first Gundam series I watched so I will not go into differences to other Gundam series that I see so many of the older fans do.

Story: Most of the story on Gundam 00 is based heavily on war, the countries who suffer from oppresion, the people who want the war to stop, and the corrupt goverments who control the people. To be quite honest I wasnt crazy with the story but I also didn't dislike read more
Mar 4, 2010
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
The anime pretty much re-establishes its cast and its more central on the characters this time as opposed to the politics. I thought the politics of the first season were a nice twist and offered something different in comparison to the other Gundam series where they don't directly state modern day politics. But due to the events in this series, that factor has been conveniently written out. But does it make it up by being more character centric? In some ways, it can. But I still personally feel that the 25 episode format is still a major weakness for this series, especially if its a read more
May 26, 2016
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Let the inspection begin.

At this point, it’s fair to say that if nothing else, the second season of Gundam 00 doesn't surpass the first. It is a mangled piece of machinery from beginning to end. The only salvageable aspect would be the fairly decent audiovisuals that got carried over from the first season. The animation is fairly nice, particularly with the flashy fight scenes. The new designs aren't quite as good as in season one, but are still serviceable as well. There's little to no noticeable CGI, and there is a notable improvement in the mecha designs. Additionally, the few new tracks they added in read more
Apr 26, 2009
danceljoy (All reviews)
This series is sure to have received a very high expectation from the viewers, and that includes me. The first season left a huge mass of mysteries and many possibilities for the conclusion of the story. With just some little improvements from the first season, this sequel will be close to perfection; but it becomes utterly disappointing in almost every aspect.

Story (6/10)

The conflict the new direction of the story is intriguing and interesting in the start. Now we see the outcome of the protagonists', the Celestial Beings or the Gundam Meisters, idealistic military interventions. Even with all their efforts, the world is at a bad, read more
Jul 19, 2015
Thisvthattv (All reviews)
*This is a review of both seasons of Mobile Suit Gundam 00.

While some people were still recovering from the endings of two of the most popular shows of the early 2000s, Madhouse’s Death Note and Sunrise’s Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion, they may have missed another entry into Sunrise’s impressive catalog, Mobile Suit Gundam 00. It’s interesting that Mobile Suit Gundam 00 (Gundam 00), which is a part of a series that has been airing since the late 1970s, isn’t more popular than it is. While I’ve known about the Gundam series for several years, I had never even heard of this particular entry read more
Mar 28, 2012
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Keep in mind that this review covers both the first and second seasons.

The Gundam franchise needs no introduction. It's probably the single best known mecha anime. The eleventh installment, Gundam 00, was written by Kuroda Yosuke. Who was involved with such well done works as Excel Saga and Gokujou Seitokai and such bad works as Onegai Teacher. Really, the series could go either way in terms of quality based on his previous work. So let's take a look and see whether the best or worst aspects won out.

If you're even passingly familiar with the Gundam franchise you'll recognise the story structure of Gundam 00 read more
Jul 20, 2010
Walkampf (All reviews)
By far the worst Gundam series i´ve seen and i´ve seen most of em.

Of course now you´ll ask, why is that?
I´ll answer that in a second, but i´d like to start with the Pros of Gundam 00.


The overall style of the pictures where quite impressive.
The look of the Series massivly improved compared to SEED.
Somtimes even to beautyful. I´ll explain it later.

In addition the Soundtrak is really good.


Now to the bitter part.
First the Gundams themselves.

The most Gundams are totally ugly.
In fact, the only Gundam witch is even uglier than the ones in this series might
be the mustache Gundam (some poeple might know which one i´m read more
Aug 11, 2009
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
Gundam 00 is a solid anime series with a lot to like. The pacing was fine, fights were exciting and you couldn't wait to see more. Since most of it is good for this review I will try something different, and state what was really good and could have been done better to elevate this series to Masterpiece status.

Story and Characters

Gundam 00 Season 2 takes place after Gundam 00 S1. Celestial Being comes together again to fight against the A-Laws although the process of "reforming" was not an easy one.

Here's what was great:-
* There are 4 Gundam Meisters, 3 from Gundam 00 S1 and read more
Dec 30, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
This was quite disappointing and a big blow in quality compared to 00's first season. This second season takes place four years after the events of the first season where the three power blocs have united into a single nation and have dispatched a military force called A-Laws to wipe out terrorist cells and nations not involved with the new Federation. Their ruthless tactics, combined with the manipulations of a major baddie from the prior season, lead Celestial Being to reemerge to deal with both threats. Pretty much, this season is sort of a re-hash of plot elements from Zeta Gundam where you had a read more
Mar 29, 2009
OtakuFreak (All reviews)
This is a review not just of the second season but both 1st and 2nd seasons together. The reason I do this is because I consider many Gundam series like these to have 50 episodes like many of them do. So if you read my first review of Gundam 00, this is a modified/continuation. It's been a long run since Gundam SEED but this series was far better. Though I wouldn't say it was great, it didn't really disappoint me. The story of this series follows the same formula as Gundam Wing, bunch of girly looking guys piloting overly powerful mechs for a rebellious cause. read more
Jun 21, 2009
srsng (All reviews)
" Eradiction of War through force." ~ the return of chaos

I really like season 1. It has a good dosage of action, realistic characters, mech vs mech fights, and of course, a nice complex plot. Season 1 left us with many mysteries as well as many possibilities on the conclusion of the story, and that's why I'm looking forward to the second season with high expectations, but I think my expectations were a bit crushed since it was a letdown.

With a sequel comes new characters and new mobile suits balancing mecha actions with the plot development. The STORY starts out with a lot of potential. read more
Aug 2, 2015
Sabaisms (All reviews)
After binge watching the entire Gundam 00 series (including the 2 hour movie) I thought I would celebrate by writing my very first review. And what better place to begin in the Gundam 00 series than the very installment that began its downhill descent.

I apologize in advance, as this will be less of an actual review and more of me nit-picking at each aspect that made season 2 slightly less enjoyable in comparison to season 1. While season 1 more or less established Celestial Being's role, season 2 delves even deeper and attempts to explain its origins. The ideas are fresh and promising but read more
Dec 27, 2008
yukiN (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am personally liked this anime. To tell the the truth, this is my first gundam anime that I watched seriously and this is also one of the best mecha anime that I had ever seen.

The story is unpredictable and the art of mechas were great. it can make you like it even you are never watch any gundam series before (of course except the 1st season, doesn't it?)
Jun 9, 2010
TrisTops (All reviews)
To tell you the truth, I really don't like the gundam series that much. Though somehow I had an interest in watching Mobile Suit Gundam 00. However, I didn't see much of the first season (maybe just the episodes at the end). But If I'm correct the story is about 3 different alliances fighting one another. That's where our characters come in. They are trying to stop the Inavaders (people who I think are part of Celestal Being). I don't like the main characters because they are always serious, especailly Satsuna. It feels like he has no emotions what so ever. Here's the bottom line. read more
Aug 11, 2013
TRI_Mike (All reviews)
This is my very first Gundam series and I can say I'm completely hooked to the entire franchise now. 00 was simply fantastic in every possible way. The story, characters, music, events and art are of the best I've ever seen in any anime in my life.

The story starts four years after the battle with Alejandro Corner and once again follows the military group Celestial Being in their fight against a corrupt Earth government and its A-Laws to stop all wars and help humanity reach peace and understanding.

All the characters are interesting, do important things and evolve quite nicely. The fights are intense, cool read more