Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Katsute Kami Datta Kemono-tachi e


Alternative Titles

English: To the Abandoned Sacred Beasts
Synonyms: To the Abandoned Sacred Beasts
Japanese: かつて神だった獣たちへ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 1, 2019 to Sep 16, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Mondays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.581 (scored by 18,411 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #56862
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1564
Members: 62,912
Favorites: 127

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 6, 2019
sammyk124 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I know many others seem to believe this is a commonplace action show with bland characters, but I believe otherwise.

Story:
The premise of this show will tell you right away that it's meant to follow the lives of the Incarnates. They are super soldiers who lost nearly everything on the battlefields and are now attempting to find a way to live in society. This is the indicator that this show is mainly character-driven, the plot is based on the characters of the stories and it also sees the characters develop. You will get a sneak peek at the mental state of these soldiers and I read more
Sep 16, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Something always bothered me about shows that mixes fantasy, drama, and tragedy. Most of them always seems to follow the path of a dark past or event that changes a protagonist’s view of the world forever. It’s some of the most cliché writing that easily gets milked into a storyline and the authors would expand on it seemingly forever. When watching this show called Katsute Kami Data Kemono-tachi e (To the Abandoned Sacred Beasts), I had a similarly eerie feeling. If you thought this Spring 2019's Fairy Gone was garbage, this isn't much better.

The practice of using a background story episode as its opener isn’t read more
Sep 16, 2019
Inferno792 (All reviews)
Medieval fantasy anime are rare these days as compared to genres like rom-com and sci-fi. The good ones, even more so. As a fan of the genre, I’m always interested when I see a show set in the medieval age, hence To the Abandoned Sacred Beasts instantly caught my attention after I saw the PV. From the studio that had produced Zankyou no Terror, Zombieland Saga and Yuri!!! On Ice in recent years, there was cause for excitement, even though the PV had made it clear that this was a low-budget anime as compared to the other hits the studio has had.

From the beginning, To read more
Aug 6, 2019
Akoifish (All reviews)
Preliminary
To the abandoned sacred beasts is a very niche show that has come out this season. Many believe this is just a boring action show with no good characters or story. However, even if the story is lacking in areas, I still find this anime to be entertaining.

The story focuses on the mental state of the Incarnates, beastly super soldiers, after a war. Our MC, Hank, has to kill the Incarnates because they've gone insane. However, the one fatal flaw of the series is its pacing. There wasn't enough time for the watcher to relate to these characters because they started being killed read more
Sep 16, 2019
AltoRoark (All reviews)
***THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS; READ AT YOUR OWN DISCRETION***


To the Abandoned Sacred Beasts, which I will be calling ‘Sacred Beasts’ for the sake of brevity, is much like a young aspiring student, bursting with ideas yet lacking a proper way of expressing them. This student also suffers from the faults of poor time management and a shoddy work ethic, treading through obstacles that hinder the reach of his or her full potential. Sacred Beasts can be thought of as a big project of said student with such great ideas presented, but a far cry from a professional effort, and one that mainly exists as a read more
Sep 16, 2019
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
So in the spring season this year, Fairy Gone was a thing and it kind of sucked. So much so that I decided to drop it halfway through. Its story was not gripping enough and its characters were so bland and stuck in mud in terms of their growth. It was not really a good show. So I bring Fairy Gone up because this show this season is rather similar in terms of its setting and certain plot elements (kind of) on paper. But MAAPA has been on a good roll in terms of quality anime they are animating lately so how does this entry read more
Sep 16, 2019
Shingster (All reviews)
Please be aware that this review is intended to be read by those that have finished watching the series and while care has been taken to minimise spoilers, they may still exist within character analysis. You have been warned.

Based on a popular manga of the same name To the Abandoned sacred beasts is a fantasy, action and drama genre anime that gives us the opportunity to see what will happen if you introduce the concept of genetically created monsters whose sheer strength, cunning and intimidation serve to allow them to act as potent force multipliers and pair them with a faction that’s not only read more
Sep 16, 2019
slandy (All reviews)
I'll start off by saying I don't recommend you ever watch this show. I don't think this show brings anything new to the table, and every aspect of this show has been done better elsewhere. This show is episodic, with the main characters hunting down a different incarnate each episode. This concept by itself is what made me want to watch it, because of how different it sounded from conventional series, with fights cool fights between these awesome monsters, but I don't think they could have botched this idea any worse than they did. Keep in mind, I haven't read the manga, nor do I read more
Oct 13, 2019
Rayaxe (All reviews)
[This contains no spoilers]
I started this anime, expecting the usual product of combining an industrial age war setting with a fantasy concept. Usually they get convoluted, lose focus and resort to blindly padding the plot with action sequences and tropes or allowing it's sub-genres (like comedy and romance) to dominate the plot and stagnate progression. The first episode foretasted that prediction, and I was certain that I didn't need to give it my usually 3 episode trail to determine if I liked it, so I forgot about it. However, this week I thought that I might just spend the train ride home from work to read more
Sep 24, 2019
BlackQuasar (All reviews)
The main problem with this anime is the annoying Nancy Schaal Bancroft she is one of the 2 most annoying anime characters ive ever seen in my life hate is a very strong word but i may have to use it on her.

She makes this anime so hard to watch she always unsure she following the protagonist or if hank is even the main protagonist around for unsure reasons.

The storyline is pretty good if you only thinking about hank side of the story and not listening to say unsure crap Nancy always talking about.

The action is really good actually very good if anything maybe read more
Sep 16, 2019
LaLeLuLiLo (All reviews)
During the seasonal line-up, sacred beast was an anime that quickly got my attention after a quick cursory glance of it's premise. Mainly due to it dealing with a civil war between between a Northern and Southern faction. Easily it was entirely reminiscent of the american civil war, even to the point that I thought it would actually be about that time period with a bit of magic sprinkled in. However that wouldn't be the case as it would instead take place in a fictional country of Patria that is inspired by 18th century America, although their civil war was more about magical resources rather read more
Sep 16, 2019
AnimeBW (All reviews)
Out of all the complaints I could make about To the Abandoned Sacred Beasts, the most galling and unforgivable one is that there’s not technically anything wrong with it. It has a strong, memorable premise that lends itself to a lot of different possibilities. From that premise, it uses its fantastical elements to explore mature, interesting themes that all play into its larger point. The characters all have recognizable emotional arcs that take them from point A to point B through a series of logical beats. The story makes decent sense, without ever asking you to stretch your suspension of disbelief beyond the point of read more
Sep 16, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Oh...what a folly that is To the Abandoned Sacred Beasts. A show so niche that the audience it's hoping to fill (plus the audience it found) are quite opinionated upon it. Some find it bland, some find it neat, but overall it is definitely an acquired taste, where it lacks in one aspect (say the overarching story), the others (character development) tops it up in its place, making this show seemingly substantial. And I believe wholeheartedly that the 3/4-episode count doesn't work in this case, NOT AT ALL.

I remember walking into this show being a carbon copy of Fairy Gone (seeing that Spring rubbed my read more
Sep 16, 2019
Cdynamo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well... I can at least state that this was better then Fairy Gone. That's not really a good bar to surpass but it is a bar. To The Abandoned Sacred Beasts is one of those shows that has a lot of things going for it. A good animation studio, a solid premise and from the PVs, a way better version of what Fairy Gone was going for, but this looks a little less boring. Emphasis on 'little'.

The biggest problem for this show is apparent in the first episode in the series. It starts off mid-war where we see these 'sacred beasts' tackle an army fortress read more
Sep 16, 2019
ZB_Blades (All reviews)
Preliminary
Earlier this year there was an anime that came out called “Fairy Gone” which was largely panned by the anime community for one reason or another. Overall, it left a bad first impression on whoever watched it and word of mouth of its dreadful story spread through the community like wildfire. By this point you are probably wondering what does Fairy Gone have to do with To The Abandoned Sacred Beasts? Anime has existed long enough to the point where some begin to feel like copy cats or they have similar features. Almost like a sense of deja vu. MyAnimeList has a recommendations feature for read more
Sep 17, 2019
youdeli2 (All reviews)
Well, what can I say about this anime? I would say, I was a bit disappointed with this one, based on the expectations I had for it before the season started. None the less, I don't think it was a horrible anime, just, for my money, got a bit repetitive? For a majority of the anime, it felt like things always played out roughly the same way in every episode, and because of this, I found there to be a lack of variety or eagerness in waiting for the next episode.

Story: I thought the story was okay. I think they started things off strong with read more
Sep 17, 2019
TheDopplerEffect (All reviews)
Katsute Kami Datta Kemono-tachi e is yet another disappointment of the season. Or perhaps it's not, since I never had any expectations to begin with.
The basic premise of the show is as follows: A war over territory and power is waged on a newly-found continent of Patria. The sides in this war are the North and The south. The North is losing, so they create a squad of mutant supersoldiers to turn the tides in their favor. And they do. But now the mutants, or as the show calls them "Incarnates" are losing their minds and are going berserk, so their former leader Hank read more
Oct 10, 2019
4headkun (All reviews)
I think it's an honest work. Well made and a lot of time were spent on it. The rate is little too low, even it's an isekai anime but not that type of what you usually expect.
The first episode is so great that it makes up for the damage that the 3. and 4. caused. That 2 was very meaningless.
As for the story, it's pritty cool. The problem is real and can be reflected to our sociaty.
The art is nice not that good but it's just like everyother in 2019.
Many charachters has high goal and they sacrafice everthing what gets in their way. So they read more
Oct 5, 2019
ToshiKata (All reviews)
I felt this anime had a ton of potential that it never lived up to, but let me preface with two confessions:

1. I watched this in the background while doing other things. It had about 65% of my attention. I did go back and rewatch parts if I was suddenly confused or lost. It didn't help. I don't know if this was a manga first (most are) and there was an assumption that we'd read it ... or what, but it was easy to get lost where it concerned character actions and motivations.

2. I didn't read the blurb about it before I started watching read more