Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kanata no Astra


Alternative Titles

English: Astra Lost in Space
Synonyms: Astra Lost in Space
Japanese: 彼方のアストラ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2019 to Sep 18, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 21:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Lerche
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.271 (scored by 35,493 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2752
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1153
Members: 90,718
Favorites: 943

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 18, 2019
Inferno792 (All reviews)
Around a Hundred years down the line from now, we might have human colonies on habitable far away planets and space travel might be common place. It may seem farfetched right now, but then again, who could’ve imagined the progress in technology humankind has made in the last half a century? While learning about the different planets and galaxies, almost every kid might have had a fleeting dream about going into space and experience what it may be.

Kanata no Astra (Kanata: Lost in Space) is set in a time when the aforementioned things have become possible. Science has advanced so much that teenagers are read more
Sep 18, 2019
RebelPanda (All reviews)
*I’m going to spoil the entire plot (in a marked section) to detail why watching this trainwreck drove me crazy, the rest will be spoiler-free.*

The first two minutes of Astra: Lost in Space are by far the best in the entire show.

A girl floats helplessly in deep space, spinning in circles at a nauseating speed. Nothing is in sight aside for hundreds upon thousands of blinding stars streaming across endless space. The execution is amazing; it is tense, the fear written across the girl’s face makes you feel a genuine sense of danger. Those two minutes hooked me. Suddenly, a hand reaches out from read more
Sep 18, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
If you played an open world exploration game with survival themes, there’s a solid chance you’ll get a familiar vibe from this anime known as “Kanata no Astra”. (English title, Astra Lost in Space) Taking a page out of the sci-fi genre brings together a story of space travel. It takes place in the 2063, a time period where technology has evolved and is a revolution of growth.

It’s not too often these days when we get an anime adaptation based on a manga that have already been completed. Mangaka Kenta Shinohara (best known for his work with Sket Dance) began the series in 2016 read more
Sep 18, 2019
Pipe (All reviews)
Kanata no Astra could be an anime that surprised several viewers. In my case, I was bewitched by some episodes until I noticed that the show is mediocre science fiction with several plot flaws and unfinished ideas.

The scenario is good at the beginning; A group of students is drifting in the dark space with only one goal in mind, returning home. I was surprised to the point that I ignored the strange CGI moments when the characters looked like dead puppets in the first episode. I ignored the device created in a few hours that could diagnose if the food is good or bad with read more
Jul 25, 2019
RandyFap (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, my first ever review. Simple yet effective introduction, Kanata no Astra throws you into the survival styled environment straight away. Art is consistent and the story's pacing varies, which is good as it helps important scenes stand out more. You could argue that some of the characters are very cliche such as the tanned girl or the girl with glasses, but it helps balance the cast as the other characters are very complex, mainly Aries as she is quite meticulous. Oh yeah, MC is also very likeable even though he looks like Yo Shindo (earthquake guy from MHA) with a scar on his nose. read more
Jul 28, 2019
itgetsworse (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now, This will be my first ever review so please bear with me here.

Kanata no Astra is anime that has been overshadowed by the typical cliche seasonal isekai anime that get churned out every season like butter. which, in turn, has made it go unnoticed by most viewers this term. But, I must admit, that isn't the only reason why it might go unnoticed. when I had originally seen the trailer for this anime I was slightly interested in it but had no strong desire to watch it. The concept seemed interesting but not enough for me to be pulled in.

However, when I read more
Sep 18, 2019
RPWPA (All reviews)
A great story doesn't come around so often, sure you could find a great anime every season but the greatness of it rarely comes from the story, some become great for the characters and their development while others become great for comedy or any other genre. I think this is the first anime that I can call great just for the story since 3 or 4 seasons ago when Sora Yori was airing.

What makes me think that Kanata No Astra is great are 2 reasons: The story and the characters.

The story is great because of many things but I think the thing that made it read more
Sep 18, 2019
SunlitSonata (All reviews)
Astra Lost in Space is the perfect example of a series with earnest intentions that cannot help but undermine itself at every turn. It claims to take its story seriously but plasters it with candy-coated visuals and drawn out comedy. It wants us to buy into the survival of these kids, but refuses to give them hardship. It wants to be cinematic, but never warrants it. It wants to have cliffhangers, but fails to generate tension. It wants to develop its characters, but instead fabricates their plots out of thin air only to still drop or homogenize their stories despite that. It works passably as read more
Sep 18, 2019
Ethan_07 (All reviews)
Kanata no Astra is something done damn right.

It is something that easily goes under the radar because of the dull poster, unattractive plot with generic shounen characters that has personalities that everyone can deduce. However, it exceeds bar of expectations and shoot to the top.

It has a simple beginning. Everyone is lost in space, with only a deserted spaceship. Seeds are subtly planted throughout 10 episodes, waiting to be reaped and the studio excels in showing this. Blending shivering tracks and chocking atmosphere, a thriller sub-genre is slipped in that could send chills down your spine. The events unfold, the conflict rises, the twists emerge one read more
Sep 18, 2019
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
I can't recall the last time I saw an anime with as inconsistent writing quality as Kanata no Astra. I swear, this anime flip-flops between being really cool and being downright stupid every five minutes. It makes for a very strange viewer experience but if nothing else it sure keeps you curious.

I'll put it this way: the actual premise and setting of Kanata no Astra is really intriguing. Space anime that aren't mecha are rare enough to begin with, but to on top of that make it a sort of survival story with a great deal of exploration of the unknown celestial bodies of space read more
Aug 23, 2019
wlitsch (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have no idea how this anime got so many good reviews. Every episode is in your face telling you not showing you "Hey I'm an awesome anime. Hey, I'm dramatic. Hey, you should be sad." Simply put, it is obnoxious, but it doesn't know it's obnoxious or make fun of itself so it isn't trying to be funny. The plot isn't bad. It isn't great either, but that and the music are probably the best thing about it. The characters, however, are awful. Particularly the dialogue and interactions are so forced that they sound idiotic. read more
Sep 18, 2019
HereticHunter (All reviews)
Kanata no Astra was one of the few anime that caught my interest this season, I thought it would be an exciting space survival anime with Mass Effect and Mission to Mars vibes, unfortunately, it ends up turning into something way worse.

It had such a strong start, how on Earth did it end up being so terrible? (There are some spoilers ahead that addresses certain issues, but nothing really major that would spoil this masterpiece for you)

Lets start by addressing the main issue, there is barely ANY danger in this anime. Sure, there are some situations where our main characters go through several dangerous situations, read more
Sep 7, 2019
Horatiomaxx (All reviews)
Preliminary
Remember when Ergo Proxy aired and it instantly became a cult classic as the go to anime for the sci-fi genre? Well this show does the exact opposite. Not only does it shit on every fan of the sci fi genre but it gives the community a reason to hate sci-fi animes. Anyways, let's get on to my review/rant.

*minor spoilers ahead (not that it matters)*

Oh boy where do I even start? This anime definitely doesn't take itself seriously. Imagine if you're stranded in space and running out of food and water, surely you'd be panicking and desperately looking for a way to survive or get read more
Sep 5, 2019
Espio74 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of I want to say I haven’t been this invested and looking forward to every episode of a show since Death note and Steins Gate.

At first like most of you I looked at the cover art and was immediately put off by the bland suits of our protagonists and the idea of watching a sci-fi anime.(I dislike sci-fi in general). I kept ignoring it until one day I gave it a chance and boy was I blown away by the art, and most importantly the complex story.

I was initially thinking this would be generic as most of the main characters follow a particular anime read more
Sep 1, 2019
kasseti (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all I am 27 years old. THIS ANIME IS UNDERRATED
I fell in love with this anime, I have seen a lot of different anime. It is easy to expect that most of anime will be mediocore.
I signed up to just give my review for this anime.
I think that story is truly amazing, it is heartwarming with cliffhangers and keeps suspense. Story suprises with its extent of authors imagination, which is truly exceptional.
Characters are developed really well. There is no cliche. There is almost no fanservice, no obsession with big boobs. I consider talk to be witty and truly reminding of fun read more
Aug 28, 2019
Moe_VII (All reviews)
Preliminary
I had to drop this, the story line is more or less a cluster of random plots with very little tying them together with the rest of the over arcing story or lack there of. Every plot is predictable, every twist is mute and the mystery is null as the characters themselves are going off of a hunch off of what someone misheard.

The art is it's only saving grace, it has great art direction, much like AoT, but like AoT the story and overall plot falls flat. I can't say I enjoyed this. It's one of the poorest attempts I've seen with a decently high read more
Aug 8, 2019
Phasferous (All reviews)
Preliminary
Until the most recent episode (#5) I felt like the show was picking up the pace at a very organic pace, character's were developing in a organic way and the plot was thickening. However my low score (that would have been a high by the end of the show had things kept on the track they were) comes from the most recent episode that has caused me to have serious doubt for the rest of the show.

All of the characters for the show had interesting back stories that we learned about. These stories helped shape each and every one of them and their behavior up read more
Sep 18, 2019
Goober-fish (All reviews)
Anime is often criticized for how underwritten their stories can feel. Unfortunately for Kanata no Astra, it has the exact opposite problem.

Kanata no Astra is now the sophomore effort of SKET Dance mangaka and Gintama alum, Kenta Shinohara. I remember when Kanata no Astra first began publishing, it didn’t cause as many heads to turn as it has now, nearly 2 years after it's finished its run in Shonen Jump+. At the time, it didn’t really seem like anything other than an attempt to fulfill shonen manga’s need to reinvent itself with different settings and concepts. To my surprise, when I finally decided to read more
Aug 28, 2019
qt246 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Worth a watch. I won't expound upon that much, as others have described before in beautiful detail why the writing and dynamic between these characters is so noteworthy. It's a bit of a slow burn, but I highly recommend you stick with it. It's a wonderful story of friendship and overcoming adversity that will at times make you want to run through a brick wall.

Every person in this show is unique in some fantastic way, and they all have completely different (yet believable) personalities. Some are a bit cliche, but what you might think in the first few episodes is some stereotypical anime archetype, read more
Sep 18, 2019
Tardivex (All reviews)
There's this episode in an anime from 2012 titled Humanity has Declined where the characters are trapped inside a manga, and they have to act out the panels in order to progress through the pages, rise in the ranks full of other people in the same situation and hopefully finally break free from their predicament. Why am I telling you this? Well a certain character gets the genius idea to keep adding twist after twist at the end of each panel so the readers keep interested in what's happening. It does work for a while, but eventually people get sick of it once they realize read more