Machikado Mazoku


The Demon Girl Next Door

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: The Demon Girl Next Door
Japanese: まちカドまぞく

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 12, 2019 to Sep 27, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:28 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: 4-koma manga
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, ComedyComedy, MagicMagic
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.711 (scored by 2903729,037 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #10092
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1568
Members: 78,336
Favorites: 580
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 26, 2019
The-Observer95 (All reviews)
There was same nature of anime this year called Endro, its like that anime but with better comedy.

The whole anime basically revolves around just two characters, and that is lot of burden of on those characters. They have to be funny and show chemistry between them to carry the show. Lucky for us Yuuko (as known as shamiko) and Momo are the cutest things I have laid my eyes on this whole year. The funny moments between them keep the anime fresh and want to make me come back for more, specially yuuko is so funny and cute and momo's laid-back attitude is what drives read more
Sep 28, 2019
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
Machikado Mazoku is incredibly cute and at times brings a warm smile onto my face.

Now this sentence doesn't explain my score on the show and you'll see why in a moment.

It's a cute show, don't get me wrong. But the contents and delivery of said contents are difficult to swallow. The direction and pacing are all over the place. Sometimes its too slow and scenes/jokes drag on for far too long, and other times its too fast giving you hardly any time to take in the information. The story itself (or premise at least) is cute but it's nothing special. Honestly most of these slice read more
Sep 26, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
"Don't think this means you've won!" - Yuko a.k.a Shamiko

If the Summer season hasn't been graceful to comedic slice-of-life anime, it's because of how it has become the fad in recent years due to the overwhelming and continuing trend of Isekai series (which should be stopped). Remembering how Grand Blue and Asobi Asobase did wonders last Summer in the comedic space, we have Joshikousei no Mudazukai and Machikado Mazoku this year. Unlike the former's increasing attention, the latter (which is this series) is constantly being forgotten on the wayside. But that's why I'm here to tell you that this is also a damn great SoL read more
Sep 26, 2019
Fircoal (All reviews)
When a show focuses on making a particular character the butt of the joke it can be hard for the show to fit into the mold of a typical CGDCT. CGDCT strive to be lighthearted and fun, rather than mean. Having a character get "bullied" can easily change the tone of the show and in a genre that lives off of the heartwarming and/or lighthearted vibe, like CGDCT, it can be a delicate balance. And while there are shows that I have watched that have tried it and failed, Machikado Mazoku is able to blend the two of them very well and creates for a read more
Aug 30, 2019
blackhaulmike (All reviews)
Preliminary
Simply put, Machikado Mazoku is heartwarming slice of life with a spin - which is magic girl parody.

Sound and animation are average, they don`t stand out in good or bad way and when they are needed to deliver punch line, they do just that.

Since it is slice of life show, it`s episodic, but some overall story is present event though it misses a proper goal.

As a character driven comedy, it doesn`t disappoint in this regard. From all the possibilities (terrible people, weirdos, stupid v straight man etc.) it choses tragic characters. And makes them adorable. Main duo is ex-child soldier with ptsd living read more
Sep 2, 2019
ReyHa (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is really underrated. I always love this kind of anime. Anime that makes me feel good. Just pure comedy and slice of life. It is so fun to watch it.

What I like from this anime is the art very suit with the mood that anime has. It is so colorful. The animation sometimes goes to "chibi style" to deliver the comedy, which is good. The sound is very support the anime, such as the sound effect to make the comedy scene more funny.

Then again, I love every character on this anime. They are very adorable and I can't hate them. I love every read more
Sep 26, 2019
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
Work hard Shamiko! so maybe one day your anime won’t be over shadowed by all the hits that came out during this season.

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Machikado Mazoku or the demon girl next door, is a slice of life comedy focused on the daily trials and challenges of Yuuko, better known as Shamiko, our adorable demon girl main character. The story essentially begins with a normal girl suddenly growing horns and a tail after a weird dream, it turns out she a demon girl who has to “murderize” a magical girl so that her family can finally be free of a long running curse. The show read more
Jan 4, 2020
CanAKATheIndigo (All reviews)

A cute and sweet series that does not stand out


Released on July 12 during the summer season of 2019, Machikado Mazoku, or as it is also known, "The Demon Girl Next Door", is the anime adaptation of the manga published since 2014 by Izumo Ito, the series is a production of J.C. Staff studios directed by Hiroaki Sakurai, which came to have a total of 12 episodes.

Being one of those titles to which I did not pay much attention during its premiere, to the point of passing it, Machikado Mazoku was a series that I decided to keep an eye on after seeing some screenshots read more
Dec 7, 2019
sketchesofpayne (All reviews)
I absolutely adore this series. It's my favorite comedy since Gabriel Dropout.

It brings to mind Tentai Senshi Sunred in which the glory days of super sentai heroes are over and now he and the villains have to deal with everyday life. In this case it feels as if the glory days of magical girls has passed and they've settled into a mundane lifestyle.

Enter Shamiko (Shadow Mistress Yuko) who inherits the destiny of her Dark Clan ancestors who opposed the Light Clan of the magical girls. Only Yuko is woefully unfit to be fighting anyone.

I'm a sucker for humor where the protagonist's main read more
Apr 15, 2020
Captain_1 (All reviews)
An outstanding moe anime.
I would have never expect that Machikado Mazoku is such a jewel before I started watching it.
It does not only have one of the cutest character relationships and even one of my favorite character relationships in general, it even has an interesting story, good character development and especially one character with a depth you would never expect from a moe anime (not that I don't like moe anime, I love them, but it was unexpected good).

Yuko and Momo carry the show and I loved every moment of interaction between them. Even though it basic structure is to be lighthearted, but there are read more
Mar 4, 2020
robert788 (All reviews)
Machikado Mazoku (2019)

Cute girls do cute things is what this is but with a magic girl format.

The show focuses on the demon girl which is a really nice thing to go with the 'evil side'. Her ancestor trapped in a totem of sorts is hilarious. The outfit the demon girl wears is raunchy and not as you'd expect on a girl like her but cute. The magical girl's personality also doesn't fit her current dress.

The show does have great art and it is nicely suited. There are times it feels a bit plastic. By that I mean it feels false and not so infighting read more
Nov 10, 2019
Pixeldrum (All reviews)
I can see that people are comparing this anime to Endro, but Endro is far worse than Machikado Mazoku. I mean, if Endro's comedy was like dangling keys in front of a five year old, Machikado Mazoku's comedy has to at least be on par of dangling keys in front of a twelve year old.
To be honest, there's not A LOT of positive things that can be said about this show. It's a comedy show, thats not super funny with a host of characters that aren't very original. The cast is pretty small, consisting of basically 2 main characters, and like four side characters. Not read more
Oct 28, 2019
Hitoribotchan (All reviews)
Kore de katta to omou na yo!
(Don't think you have won!)

The only one Manga Time Kirara Anime in this year. Of course, this is will be one of my anticipated anime. Whats make me more happy again is my favorite VA, Akari Kito and Konomi Kohara are the cast staff of MC. I know Konomi Kohara always doing her best effort when she have major role, such as Chika in Kaguya Sama. And Yeah! Konomi Kohara is very good doing her role as Shamiko. Shamiko is now my favorite character of the year because its her cuteness noise.

Story: 9/10
I think it was another boring magical read more
Oct 5, 2019
Lemistic (All reviews)
This was my experience watching this anime.

The episode would start, something would happen that made me laugh my ass off, get up to rewind it, laugh a couple more times, keep watching the episode, repeat.

Not a single other anime has made me laugh and enjoy it as much as this one.

Story: 8
This show isn't just mindless interactions between a weak demon-girl and the powerful magical girl. There is actually plot progression moving along by episode and the relationship between characters become stronger as the show goes on.

Art: 7
The art and animation itself isn't the greatest, but this is not a show that required it. It read more
Sep 30, 2019
FlowerTravlinMan (All reviews)
"Ganbare Shamiko!"

It's safe to say that recently anime has become over saturated with isekai and other fairly predictable shows, so having a show like this is a breath of fresh air. While the slice of life genre of anime isn't one that stands out much, this is a show that everyone should give a try to. Easily being one of the funniest shows in a while and having such a cute plot, this show is a visual anti-depressant. The story revolves around Yuuko, who one day wakes up as a demon and sets out to improve the conditions of her family by defeating a magic read more
Sep 27, 2019
PIZZACHEEZE (All reviews)
Machikado Mazoku is going down as one of my favorite Kirara anime of all time.

The story centers around Shamiko, I mean Shadow Mistress Yuuko, a demon girl trying to challenge a magical girl, Momo to a duel in order to lift the curse on her family. However, Shamiko is extremely weak and Momo has no interest in fighting her. To be honest, this comedy slice-of-life anime actually has a decent storyline and has hints of plot development sprinkled throughout the show.

The humour in this show is your typical boke-tsukkomi comedy, with Shamiko being the tsukkomi in most of the situations. A lot of the gags read more
Sep 27, 2019
Smugru (All reviews)
This series is one of those shows every season that will take you by surprise. Similar to Endro and Kyuuketsuki-san, this little bundle of positivity just exudes wholesomeness on a whole new level. Forget the bland and cliche settings, the not-so-detailed art and music, or even the somewhat directionless plot. Machikado Mazoku is one of those stories where you can just forget everything, forget being reasonable for a moment and just be there and appreciate what's in front of you.

This show has already claimed a position on the list of series that I would not forget.

Storywise, this is just a series of random pseudo-CGDCT. read more
Sep 26, 2019
K1ngOfSloth (All reviews)
Machikado Mazoku was an Anime I enjoyed way too much.
Compared to JK no Mudazukai this season, the comedy is definitely not as good. But it was still very enjoyable. The characters are so well done, even if they don't show any development except for the main characters.

This show basically revolves around the bond of Yuko and Momo while every other character is nothing but a sidecharacter without any spotlight. Mikan would be the only exception here but she too is not that an important character and feels more like support for the story.

The story however, is not paced that well. It's kind off all over read more
Sep 26, 2019
mkzxwing (All reviews)
Preliminary
*spoiler free*

As i often do with shows i don't like, i'll start with the positives.

The art is good. The music is decent, and everything feels up to par to modern industry standards. That's about it. Then what about the bad? Well, there's surprisingly not a lot of that too - its slice of life (which doesn't HAVE to be a negative but when its TOO boring it is), there is not a lot of comedy, which would probably save this show, at least for me. The story and characters are very poor - moe blobs that fit standard tropes and don't do anything outstanding...

So what read more
Oct 18, 2019
Injenss (All reviews)
At first glance, there is nothing special about this anime. Even when I finished it, I kind of felt like there was nothing special about this anime. But, somehow, even though there's nothing special about this anime, I finished this anime and I really liked it.

This is because of two things:

1. The comedy is good. At times, it's really good, but most times, it's just good enough to make you chuckle and smile throughout the episode. It's not the kind of comedy that makes you fall out of the bed in tears. It just makes you laugh a read more