Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dumbbell Nan Kilo Moteru?


Alternative Titles

English: How heavy are the dumbbells you lift?
Synonyms: How Many Kilograms are the Dumbbells You Lift?
Japanese: ダンベル何キロ持てる?

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2019 to Sep 18, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: Web manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.631 (scored by 37,514 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13322
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #918
Members: 119,572
Favorites: 487

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 24, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Pretty girls in sports wear that unveil every inch of their sexy bodies with mind-boggling efficiency. Muscle-bros so big you need a rock climbing permit for a piggyback ride. When gym enthusiasm collides with anti-broscience humor, you have Dumbbell, the funniest ecchi comedy since Prison School. However this is not an entirely comedic series (nor is its ecchi pushy in case someone minds), rather it can also be very serious and motivational at times.

What the series manages to do with its cast is the impressive part because with simple character traits it manages to deliver smooth and hilarious comedy. We have characters such as read more
Aug 9, 2019
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly. I was unsure about this at first as with the genres that were listed. But they honestly aren't a problem at all when it comes to this anime. It's hardly impacting the show in any bad light at all. Sure it may get repetitive over time. But it's not to the point that it would be annoying.

I'd honestly say if you are interested in fitness, or just wanting to get into shape. Then give it a watch. It's not gonna be one of the best animes of course. But still a great watch. The characters are all honestly relatable. A nice anime.
Sep 18, 2019
Inferno792 (All reviews)
How many anime have you watched or even heard about, whose main narrative is about exercising? Heck, how many shows in general, anime or otherwise, have you come across that have exercising as their premise? In this time of generic anime filled with clichés and predictable outcomes that bore you to death, Dumbbell Nan Kilo Moteru? (How Heavy are the Dumbbells you lift?) comes off as a breath of fresh air. From dumbbells to girls flexing their bodies and showing off their curves and “macho” guys posing with their bulging muscles ripping their clothes off, this anime has it all in abundance. Which other anime read more
Sep 18, 2019
Optigisa (All reviews)
There are Anime that try to be the jack of all trades, and they very much succeed in doing so. Then there are the Anime that try to do the same, only to fail miserably and fall flat on their faces. This Anime is not exactly the latter, but it comes close to being so, and why is that you ask? Because it tries to do so many things, but it doesn’t quite hit the mark with what it does, and it becomes obvious to the audience that it is trying it’s hardest to stand out, rather than just be a silly ecchi disguised as read more
Jul 24, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Put the chips down. Place your sneakers on your feet. Pull your shorts up…now pull them down again. Now repeat that last motion…but slower.

—WAIT! These girls are only 17?…….F—K!!!

Do you love promotional videos? How about bench pressing? What about lat pulldowns?

………….

Anyhow, “How Many Kilograms are the Dumbbells You Lift?” is an infomercial disguised as an anime — but wait, there’s more. It features two ordinary girls — Hibiki (a slightly overweight Japanese girl) and Akemi (a girly who creams her pants every time she sees ‘Yuge!’ muscles) — as they visit the gym to strength train, build endurance, read more
Sep 18, 2019
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
Dumbbell Nan Kilo Moteru is probably the most fun anime I’ve watched this season. Its got a colorful cast of characters who each add their own flair to the show and showcases some really solid comedy. It also provides some actually useful knowledge about the human body and working out. But you know what sets it apart from practically all other anime I’ve watched?

It’s motivational

To me, this is a pretty monumental feat. You’ll be hard pressed to find a show that actually inspires you to do what’s being shown. When I watch sports anime for example, I don’t immediately think to go and become read more
Jul 25, 2019
Groenboys (All reviews)
Preliminary
SAIDO CHESTOOOO!!!!

In a season full of Isekai's, viking and more Isekai's, Doga Kobo gives its contribution with Dumbbell Nan Kilo Moteru? I love Doga Kobo and their work, so I was hyped for this anime and Doga Kobo delivered.

Hibiki is your ordinary high school girl who eats tons of food. She gets fat and wants to lose that fat. After failing to work out on her own she starts going to the gym. The rest of the anime we follow her trips to the gym. We get to know how she does the excercises, meet a colorful cast of characters and we get to read more
Sep 18, 2019
Perception (All reviews)
Most people would agree that when it comes to judging a person's actions, the intent of the individual is what is most important. But is that really true? Even if the intent is poor, doesn't the result outweigh the intent?

Let's say a company makes an anime, with the intent of earning money and entertaining an audience. After all, making a profit is the entire goal of any business, correct? However, the result is motivating people in a positive way. To try new things, look outside the box. To give them a small push that leads them to self-improvement. To donate an extra few milligrams read more
Aug 28, 2019
Acucktagawa (All reviews)
Preliminary
Starting this anime, I kind of expected to end up dropping this after a couple episodes. Comedy and ecchi aren't typically my cup of tea, but much to my surprise, this anime was an exception.

Besides all the fan service one can expect from ecchi (which to me the fan service hasn't been super in your face or over pushed), this anime is actually very motivational and informative. I think anyone who wants to start a healthier lifestyle or needs the motivation to hit the gym could benefit from this anime. Basically this anime shows you the proper techniques to work out at the gym and read more
Sep 20, 2019
Horn_dawg_2019 (All reviews)
Dumbbell Nan Kilo Moteru?

Hip raise! Side bend!
(Fukkin roku LDK kai!)


Push up! Bench press!
(Daikyoukin ga aruiteru!)

That was some very unique anime, quite frankly I'm just not amuse by such thing.

So:

Story

Pros: It was informative, but then......................


Cons: Not all of it were of any use, in fact some of the fitness tips being shown doesn't have any basis in some area of activity, like that of working out the back leg muscles to gain speed and stamina when competing in track and field. Also, there were some info that as usual was typically not discussed like when it come to dieting, and when the one who was giving read more
Sep 18, 2019
ZB_Blades (All reviews)
Girl do you even lift!?

How Heavy Are The Dumbells You Lift or my preferred name up above is the recent edition to a new sub genre of anime that I like to call cute girls doing cool and educational things. This year we’ve had girls singing beautiful songs and girls surviving on a deserted island. This time we have girls working out and getting in shape for our viewing pleasure, and what a pleasure it is.

The concept for this anime/manga is genius. How do we get people to start taking care of themselves? How do we get people to hit the gym? The read more
Sep 18, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
"Come boys and girls, it's time to whip up those muscles and burn your body fat to whips!"

For Doga Kobo, consistency is everything they've shown us since the beginning of the year with Winter's sisterly love rom-com Wataten!, Spring's nyanpasu of the (not so cunning) foxly iyashikei that is Senko-san, and now for the hottest Summer, doing something out of the ballpark, which are dumbbells and exercises! And holy smokes is it ever as satisfying as motivation to go to the gym and workout for the better! Nah, just kidding, but seriously we should all at least attempt to keep fit,

This was one of the read more
Sep 18, 2019
TomasCro (All reviews)
"Do you wanna go get swole man? Do you wanna make some gains?"

As someone who's been going to the gym consistently for a couple of years now, I was hyped about this anime ever since I heard that it was being made. However, even though the concept is brilliant, the execution however, is somwhat dissapointing. This review is mostly going to be from my perspective as a gym bro, so bear with me.

It was oblivious from the first episode that this is an anime writen by someone who has never been to the gym and got most of the advice on it from people read more
Aug 18, 2019
Jajoe (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is fun. At first i thought it will probably be the next fanservice anime, which it is, but it actually gives good information. As someone who works out i'm impressed how well they explain things.

I usually don't like fanservice when it distracts too much form the story or the camera is awkwardly placed to allow an upskirt but oddly, since this anime has not much of a story, it is not bothersome. And anybody who works out knows how much fanservice there is in a fitness center. Some of it is actually pretty accurate.

You can to an extent identify with the mc. Who read more
Sep 18, 2019
Uber_Bacon (All reviews)
Picture this: the date is July 4, 2019. One day after “Dumbell Nan Kilo Moteru?” is released. You work at a fairly inconspicuous gym, it’s a slow day and all you can think of is going back home to throw back a cold one and pass out. Suddenly, you hear a loud rumbling sound from outside the gym’s front door. You start to panic, New years is still half a year away and you were planning on quitting before the horde consumed you. As the rumblings get louder you hear a faint: “Nice Muscle!” in the distance and you realize what is happening. It’s too read more
Aug 7, 2019
heantai (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dumbbell Nan Kilo Moteru? is not only an enjoyable series but also gives insight into fitness for those who are new or oblivious. I came into this series with low expectations, but was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. This show has short little excerpts that explain how to do several exercises, these are presented in a fun and comedic way but also explain the exercises well and are a good place for viewers to gain a little knowledge about fitness and weight lifting.

This show does fall short with it's underdeveloped characters. Though this is okay due to the show mostly being read more
Sep 25, 2019
SirJosh (All reviews)
Dumbbell Nan Kilo Moteru? is a gReAt anime that goes in depth about body building except it is more body than the building. You want it dem thighs? You got it the thighs! You want dem bOObies? You got it dem tiddies! You want it dem ass? You got dem juicy peaches! You want it dem abs? They got you, baby!

Story:
The story goes through the daily life of Sakura, who is a food addict but also wants to cut down weight. However, she has a hidden monstrous strength within her and she now aims to be the greatest hokage in the world!

Characters:
Characters were very read more
Sep 19, 2019
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
Onegai muscle meccha motetaaaai
Onegai muscle meccha yasetaai yes!
Onegai muscle meccha motetaaai kara
Uuu! (Kireteruyo!) Haa! (Kireteruyo!)
Kin niku ni onegai

Ok, so another Josei theme anime has just ended, but unlike the usual josei genre anime which was always set in a school setting, this one was set in a gym where it involves a quartet of girls whom decide to become guy members in some gym called "Silvermans" which btw was a parody of "Golds Gym" in Japan which btw has 38 branches in Japan. So, lets get down to business:

Story-Very Good 8:

Because it was informative, thought the plot was more on the fitness and working out read more
Sep 18, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
"Please Muscle! I want to be popular!
Please Muscle! I want to be thin, Yes!
Please Muscle! Because I want to be popular!"

LA didn't think LA wanted an ecchi educational anime about hitting the gym with cute girls but DAMN did Dumbbell Nan Kilo Moteru? pull it off!

Hibiki Sakura loves to eat, however when her best friend Ayaka Uehara tells her that she's gotten a bit of weight, Hibiki enrolls into Silverman Gym thinking she can breeze her way in exercising, until she finds out that it's a bodybuilding gym and she dislikes BUFF men, it cements when she encounters Akemi Souryin the student council president of read more
Sep 18, 2019
youdeli2 (All reviews)
SAIDO CHESTO! Well, this anime absolutely surprised me. I was on the fence about watching it this season, but, eventually took the plunge. I found myself not only enjoying the girls’ story, but also learning quiet a bit as well. They did a fantastic job of knowing their source material, and translating it into something informative, yet, entertaining.

Story: The story is basically, just the following of four highschool girls, and their journey into the realm of weight training. Their adventures generally didn’t carry over into the next episode, as they were normally on a different adventure or struggle with each episode.

Art: The art and animation read more