Haikyuu!!: To the Top

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Haikyuu!! (2020), Haikyuu!! Fourth Season, Haikyuu!! 4th Season
Japanese: ハイキュー!! TO THE TOP

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2020 to Apr 4, 2020
Premiered: Winter 2020
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:25 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, SportsSports, DramaDrama, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.371 (scored by 304561304,561 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #236
Members: 539,458
Favorites: 4,562
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 3, 2020
TuyNOM (All reviews)
With the change of staff members, I must admit that I was rather perplexed about this new season. Susumu Mitsunaka is not at the head of the staff, replaced by Masako Satou who had worked on some episodes in the previous seasons. She is therefore someone already very familiar with the series. The other significant change is the absence of Takahiro Chiba as chief animation director who had been credited on 42 episodes so you can easily guess that his absence will be significant on the visuals for this fourth season.

However...

I am really dismayed when I regularly see some comments about this season. It is read more
Apr 3, 2020
abystoma2 (All reviews)
Four seasons in and I still have no idea what the appeal of this show is supposed to be. And it’s getting worse.

You see, to make a sports appealing, one of two choices needs to be taken most of the time. Either let the human drama be the focus and use the sport as the way to channel the conflict, or go over the top with the sport to make it blood-boiling exciting. Haikyuu has neither of those. It just a bunch of high school guys playing volleyball. Neither the characters and their interaction nor the game itself is interesting. You might even say read more
Apr 3, 2020
SingleH (All reviews)
Perhaps this is selfish, as I don’t interact with the community enough to know if this opinion is shared, but to me, the enduring appeal of seasons one through three of Haikyuu!!—putting aside, for now, its outstandingly high quality production—was in the fact it was the first and only shounen anime which did not feel like it was meant to go on forever. All shounen manga as serialized in Weekly Shounen Jump are literally, in-the-text, meant to go on forever. By design of the publication, volume sales and product sales are of secondary importance to by-vote audience reception, which would honestly be kind of cool read more
Apr 3, 2020
lt_wassile (All reviews)
Welcome to a new chapter of “I could never have imagined a volleyball anime could be this good”

“Haikyuu!!: To the Top” picks up more or less at the spot where we were left when S3 ended, meaning that Karasuno has just defeated Shiratorizawa to qualify for nationals. Even if it was an unavoidable event for the story to keep progressing, that along with other circumstances such as the sidelining of Hinata for much part of the Shiratorizawa match might have made the third season the weakest -though it was kind of useful to demonstrate that Karasuno wasn’t a 2-man army-. Still, it set the stage read more
Feb 13, 2020
Jacuzzi_Splotz (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Never wrote a review before but hey why not, right?)

Haikyuu!!: To The Top continues to be my favorite sports anime. It has everything one could ask for, drama, comedy, superb action and a well rounded cast of characters.

Story: The story is still going strong. While this current arc is not being well received, I believe the show is consistent with what they have delivered so far. A well mix of drama, comedy, and action. Season 3 was an entire match (people seem to forget it was nonstop action), season 4 has slowed the pace to show the impact the conclusion of last season. Haikyuu!!: read more
Mar 26, 2020
casualweeaboo (All reviews)
Preliminary
This kind of... doesn't feel like Haikyuu.

I started watching this season when 10 episodes were out already, and I also started watching it directly after watching the first 3 seasons. Almost everything about this 4th season feels foreign to the other 3.

The art style change does doesn't look good. In the first 3 seasons I could easily distinguish characters by their eyes alone, and now it seems many characters have the same face/expression. Also it just looks weird IMO. The animation is also a big step down, moments which would have fluid animation in the other seasons are now choppy and lack character, read more
Feb 1, 2020
MothaClucker (All reviews)
Preliminary
ALRIGHT! CHANCE BALL! NICE KILL!

Now that Kageyama is back from his running career, the new season of the highly anticipated sport anime is here.

Although, matching the hype that was season 3 is going to be hard.

One thing that is right away noticeable is the art design change, not that drastic but the softer and bulkier design doesn't seem quite right. Especially when they are playing. The slender and longer designs of the previous seasons complemented the sharp and smooth animation. The new designs do not as much. This might be seem like a minor detail but it is noticeable in motion. Maybe the animators read more
Mar 28, 2020
Dtra1n (All reviews)
Preliminary
To put it simply, this season has been a huge let down for me. At first I thought I just put my expectations too high due to my extreme enjoyment of the previous 3 seasons. But this genuinely just does not feel like the Haikyu of old. What blows my mind is how highly rated the show still is though. It feels as if I'm one of the only people that feels this was a huge downgrade, so I figured I'd write this review in case there were any others looking for someone who felt that way.

Most of my complaints likely stem from the fact read more
Apr 4, 2020
0207xander (All reviews)
Yo. So far I’ve written reviews for every season of Haikyuu! and figured I’d keep it going. Most of the times I have been critical, but it’s been hard for me to figure out why I haven’t liked Haikyuu without saying “I just think it’s overrated”. I think this time I actually know why: It tries way too hard.

The plot progresses in unnatural and extremely structured ways that doesn’t flow naturally, the new characters are introduced with such strong personalities that they don’t feel real, and the conversations between characters are either so unbelievably stereotypical that it makes me cringe or so inspirational that read more
Apr 3, 2020
SpikyTurtle (All reviews)
Haikyuu is still as amazing as ever.

I was a bit skeptical about this season, mainly because of the change in artstyle, also because the director changed, but looking back I don't really know why.

It's Haikyuu. Haikyuu can't be bad.

This season retained the Haikyuu spirit. The OST is incredible and not only that, but it is always used at the perfect moment, making the viewer feel hyped or emotional. The character development is exceptional as well, the Karasuno team especially, but others as well are constantly growing and improving, both as players and as people.

The sakuga moments are still there and in the 2nd cour of read more
Feb 8, 2020
Burning_Light (All reviews)
Preliminary
Coming from the incredible Karasuno vs Shiratorizawa season, I expected much more for this one.

·Story: 6

Many people consider training as a way of learning but, when it comes to this anime (where most of the eps are related to that), this season is focusing too much on it.

Because of the few character development so far, no emotion or hype to see what happens next and many other things, I have concluded that these first 5 eps are some of the worst in whole anime history of Haikyuu.

·Art: 8

Art hasn't changed that much from other seasons. Something that I could notice read more
Apr 3, 2020
PikAnnanas (All reviews)
To start off this review, I'd like to say that I've seen quite a few people complaining about this season. The main complaints seem to be about the animation and the lack of action.

I normally never write reviews, but, because of what I stated above, I'll try to express my opinion this time.

While I don't think starting with the animation is that relevant, I'd like to address the complaints here. The animation is absolutely gorgeous, it's the art style (yes, it's not the same thing) that has people complaining. I believe people just don't like changes, and, when something is indeed changing, they immediately react read more
Apr 3, 2020
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
Hot damn, it's back, baby! I gotta say, I found myself staying up-to-date with the manga, so I can't really talk much in this review about the story content because, well, I already knew what it would be; that being said, I'm still really excited to review this season of Haikyuu!! now that it's finally been animated.

On that note, let's talk about the art. This is the first season of any anime I've watched in which I already knew the plot because of the manga (I know, I'm probably a bit weird in that regard). That meant that I was paying extra attention to read more
Apr 3, 2020
anime_binge47676 (All reviews)
OKAY.... this season was amazingggg!!!! As a haikyuu fan that only watches the anime and not the manga, i was very excited to watch this season when it fully finished airing. Honestly, with the previous seasons i always thought that Hinata wasn't as good as I wanted him to be. He may have fast reflexes and at moments he may surprise you but his basic skills were not there. In this season, it mainly focuses on the character development of Hinata. There weren't many volleyball matches( there is a continuation of season 4 that will have nationals though c:), but I truly loved seeing him read more
Apr 3, 2020
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*Minimum Spoiler Review*
TL;DR: Same Recipe, Same Hype, Same Animation, Same Production. Just rinse and repeat while raking in the maximum profit. It's a sports anime. Make some flashy plays, Scream in Unison and yell FOR THE TEAM. Ez Profit... Or is it?
[Story: 4/10 , Characters: 6/10, Art: 7/10, Sound: 6/10, Enjoyment: 8/10]

"Sorry to keep you waiting" - Tobio Kageyama

You know how boring Pizza is? Think about it. it's just a doughy bread, some tomato sauce, cheese, bunch of meat/veggies that is baked in an oven. Very simple meal but depending on who makes it, makes a huge difference, doesn't it? If you try eating read more
Jan 6, 2021
greenyx (All reviews)
Preliminary
Another good series destroyed.

Watch everything before To The Top and then switch to the manga, cause the animation on this series is so irredeemably bad it really can't be excused. I'm amazed how you can go from Haikyu!! 3rd Season to this stinking pile of crap Production I.G just gave us as a sad substitute for the 4th season this amazing series deserved.

I have no knowledge as to why the animation is this bad, maybe read elsewhere for an answer.

For context I rated Season 2 & 3 both as 10s.

3/10, Very very bad. As fans of the series you should be offended.
Apr 4, 2020
Sopseii (All reviews)
Haikyuu is my favorite sports anime. [haven’t watched hajime no ippo yet]
The show makes you the part of their teams [karasuno]. it makes you feels like we know the members like a friend or teammate. It is one of the consistent shows airing now

Haikyuu s4 had some problems but overall it is still really good.
There were some changes like in art. The art style is now more inclined to the manga. Most of the viewers doesn’t seem to like the new art style. I can agree with this, I also liked the old art style.
But if this is more similar to the manga, then I read more
Mar 12, 2020
YuhYuhYuh11 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Because of how good the third season was, my expectations for the 4th season may be higher than has it be. SPOILERS!!





So far, this anime has been okay so far. The story has introduced some really interesting characters and has found a unique way to evolve the characters.

Minor:

-It is very noticeable that the art is significantly different. In my opinion, it makes the characters a little less appealing and bland.
-Sugawara in the previous seasons has been caring and uplifting character throughout the series, but for some reason, he changes his personality completely for no reason at all.

Major:

- Kageyama reverts back into the "King" for read more
Feb 9, 2020
Doofenheimer (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ah, Haikyuu. Remember when everyone dismissed this anime because it was boys volleyball? Look at all of them now. I'll admit I was one of them but it wasn't necessarily the boys volleyball aspect but more as just the sports genre of anime. Sports has been a tough act to follow in terms of anime and there is this unwritten bias that most sports anime's aren't very good. Haikyuu follows this trend and above all boys volleyball is a sport most people turn away from when hearing about it. So you understand the 10 foot hole Haikyuu had to get out of before it was read more
Feb 19, 2020
AllMightFangirl (All reviews)
Preliminary
So here's my honest opinion - even if it might be a bit biased since this one of my best anime series ever.

[Minor spoilers till ep 6 ahead]

Story : 9
It's a slower pace from season 3, but that's to be expected. They're training. And you can't expect every training to be with top class schools like in season 2. What they've done this time is select a handful of these kids for training camps and they focused more on them. Some might feel like they focused too long on this and yeah I agree, but only partially. Hinata and Kageyama are the main characters and read more