Hello World

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: ハロー・ワールド

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 20, 2019
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Graphinica
Source: Original
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance
Duration: 1 hr. 37 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.621 (scored by 3957139,571 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #12282
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1385
Members: 97,825
Favorites: 694
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 28, 2019
TheZilla (All reviews)
"I just wanted to see her smile again."

Well, well. What have I got to say... That was some pretty good words coming from a guy who has spent so much time trying to get her to wake up again. This Sci-Fi romance film was something I wouldn't have expected to be extraordinary, I kind of kept my hopes down for the entire film. But after watching the movie, it felt... decent? good? I was confused at that point. However, what I CAN say is that the romance was implied pretty strongly on the main character. Spending 10 years to save a girl you literally read more
Oct 28, 2019
MikhailPineda (All reviews)
Been invited to watch this-- advanced special screening in PH. Oct 28.

It's definitely 100% CG but it's not a bad cg. It's a very well made cg, consistent, trippy -- there's so many "inception-ish" going on and I understand why they made the whole thing in cg.

- The characters are likeable like they are straight outta tamako market
- The sound design is outstanding 10/10
- Story is interesting, some parts are cliche but the plot twist is a bruh moment
- art is.. its ajin on steroids

Im gonna rewatch it again when it airs here on the 30th.
PS: I enjoyed this more read more
Nov 4, 2019
Tower_12346 (All reviews)
I was going to hold this review back, but upon seeing what made it to the forefront of the reviews, I thought some differing opinions could spark conversation.
TL;DR Score: 5 - First half good second half bad.
Incidentally, you watch Another World AFTER this movie.
Story:
Most of the problems stem from the flawed and convoluted story. To put it simply, it's split into 2 parts. The first part is a fairly pleasant romance drama. The second part is mostly an action flick with scifi themes. I also don't mean that there are 2 stories, rather that the 1 story really shifts gears halfway through read more
Oct 30, 2019
Yorozuyaaaaa (All reviews)
『HELLO WORLD』Movie Review

A Sci-Fi Romance Film themed:
What if you had the chance to change one important day? A new day that can save the life of the only girl you loved. Will you take the risk and face the dangers and consequences?

Synopsis:
A man travels in time from the year 2027 to relive his school years and to correct a bad decisions.

~~~
"I just wanted to see her smile again."
"Even if the world is destroyed, I want to see you one more time."
~~~
Movie Review: (Non-Spoiler)

Story: 9/10
Great and interesting story. Romance: 10/10.
At first it was confusing for me, then I realized "You're lucky if you've already watched read more
Apr 10, 2020
Suavacious (All reviews)
This review contains minor spoilers, wherein I mainly elaborate on aspects of the story covered by the synopsis.

Simply put, Hello World is garbage. I could go into an endless stream of comical hyperbole in order to detail this, but I won't waste any time. If you're already familiar with how bad a Mado Nozaki story can be from Babylon or Seikaisuru Kado, don't be. This is much, much worse.

Hello World attempts to be a sci-fi romance flick, but unfortunately fails at the latter, and stumbles all over the former. The romance in this film is supposed to be assumed as true, both because our protagonist, read more
Jun 9, 2020
Harisrox (All reviews)
I had a couple of "What the fuck is this shit" moments during my watch but it ended up as "What the actual fuck is this shit".

Story 5/10
So the story takes place in Kyoto of 2027 where technology has fairly advanced, portraying the life of a socially awkward book-loving boy Naomi Katagaki and a book loving-girl named Ruri Ichigyou who has a cold personality. It's all good till this part.
So, this boy one day gets to meet his future self who came from 10 years later to meet his past self but not so that he could try to change the future regarding the read more
Nov 2, 2019
Hikari-Kuro (All reviews)
Spoilers-
The premise of a future mc helping out the current mc to get a girlfriend was an interesting concept. It would have been great if they kept the plot as beIng a romantic movie, as the first half of the movie was just that, awkward mc trying to get to know the female mc. I would have accepted if the movie did not elaborate much about the future mc so as to move the plot along.

However, when the movie tried to incorporate too much scientific manbo jambo ala inception in the second half, it became boring in the sense that things became too complicated. Virtual read more
Dec 3, 2019
pillow102 (All reviews)
I can't with this movie like seriously. This has got to be my favourite movie of all time. I loved how they put so many plot twists because they are ones that just make your heart clench and aaaaaa I just love the format. To be honest I cried 5 times in this movie because the songs and the art and the story are so moving. At first, the only reason I even went to watch this movie was because I saw that Official Higedandism did an ost for this movie and I loved the song. When I actually went to watch it, I cannot read more
Apr 12, 2020
Soulmack (All reviews)
Just amazing and unique anime movie. Beyond imagining.
"I just want to see her smile"
A wonderful movie just loved to watch it.
Everyone should watch it. I recommend it to everyone. Loved it.
:):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)
That's all.
The characters a bit game-like but the movement.
But the story and the song is amazing.
The story makes you think out of the box hitch you don"t even thought in your dream also.
Perfect deportation of what could be a future world can be.
The first half is interesting than the second half but the action scenes are better in the second half.
Go for it I recommend it.
Have a nice day!!
Jan 3, 2020
mpdissonance (All reviews)
The basic idea for this film had great potential to be an elite-level film, unfortunately this is not what Hello World is. This is not to say it’s bad: Hello World is sort of a hodge-podge of a film that wound up being rather successful despite also being entirely too ambitious.

In the first five minutes, it becomes clear there is quite a bit more to this film then the synopsis would lead you to believe. The actual basic sci-fi elements are strongly reminiscent of The Matrix. The constant escalation of the action sequences involving those powers is reminiscent of classics like Akira. The idea read more
Apr 20, 2020
Unoriginality (All reviews)
I was scrolling through Instagram and found this anime qoutes
"Dating isn't something you can do alone, shall we do it together?"

I was confused at first, i thought it was some Sci-Fi anime thats show-off their animating skills using CGI, i was wrong.
FYI: The correct genre was Sci-Fi, Drama, Romance btw.

Story: 9, Althought the Ending was confusing as hell, after searching so many "theories" about it i found out how's the Ending explanation.
Without the theories, the stories might've ending 7,5-8/10 for mem

What's makes it different from other Anime is.. Sci-Fi (except Steins;Gate) travelling back into time using Technologies is an Generic type of story, as long read more
Nov 8, 2019
NoireBlanc (All reviews)
"Reality is an illusion, albeit a very persistent one."

Hello World, to me, is a conceptual masterpiece that questions the world's imminent jumps in development.

Story: (7/10)

Conceptually, the plot for the movie was without a doubt, on-par with, or even above-average in comparison to Tomohiko's previous creations. As a big fan on science and futuristic fiction in both Japanese and Western theatres, the overall storyboard was hooking and had me on-board throughout the show.

However, possibly due to the time margins movies are, some areas were somewhat underdeveloped and had a disequilibrium of the movie's two prominent elements, and many unanswered questions It was increasing confusing as read more
Apr 22, 2020
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
I must've been tripping on acid for the last half of this movie because what the hell was *that*? It's such a shame that the concept wasn't thought out entirely, or at least, not explained correctly; what I saw in the first half was really promising, so I guess I got my hopes up.

Okay, well, first I'll start with art and sound because those two things are the only things I can talk about with any degree of ease. The sound was alright; I mean, I'm not the biggest fan of just using songs over scores as background music for big moments, but the music read more
Nov 6, 2019
Nite290 (All reviews)
Hello World. This is a spoiler-free review.

Honestly, the movie is good but not too good nor too bad.

Story 6/10:

Have you ever felt trying to repeat something in the past because you could've prevented it? The film shows this feeling exactly the way I wanted it to be. The feeling of wanting to take something back from the past, driven by love, forcing you into harsh experiments just to get it back.

In all honestly, the movie is good but not too good nor too bad.

Why do I say so? It's simply because the plot wasn't fully showing us what was happening. Some read more
Nov 1, 2019
Nanosu (All reviews)
FYI: This is my first ever anime review so there might be some stuff I miss out.

Firstly, the story is interesting and refreshing. It is not something as generic as weathering with you or Your name. Reading some reviews which have mixed ratings for the ending, I would say it is deeper and require deep understanding. Just note that it requires overthinking to understand the ending and not just with the "oh".

I'll divide the art into 2. The artwork itself is beautiful. The way they draw the characters are clear and the contrast works with the Sci-Fi genre. However, the animation or 3D read more
Oct 31, 2019
Raphiidesu (All reviews)
(copy pasta'd from my Facebook)

Hello world is a movie I did not have much high hopes for. Mainly because of how its all 3D animated and sci-fi romance isn't really my type. What got me into watching this movie was because the trailer claimed that it was from the same company that made Weathering With You and Your Name and you know damn well how great those movies are so I had to give this one a chance.

Let's start off with the the pros of the movie

The biggest point I can personally think of after watching Hello World was the animation, art and the soundtrack. read more
Oct 30, 2019
curisuchan (All reviews)
Oh boi! I just finished watching this movie earlier and i have a lot of things i want to say about this Anime but first of all i want to say that this movie exceeded my expectations. when i first saw the movie trailer and at the same time knew that it was the same company who makes the movie Kimi No Na Wa and Weathering with you possible (by all means, i'm fully aware that Hello World was not created by the same author as the 2 anime i mentioned above which is created by makoto shinkai), i admittedly expecting it to have an read more
Oct 30, 2019
antiphasma (All reviews)
The movie is disappointing and tried to do more and failing in the end. Has it achieved what it wants to set out to do? No. The movie's half-baked, it wanted to tell a love story with a mix of science fiction but in the end, it's just a bog-standard romance anime. The "Science" in the movie could just be replaced by "Magic" and nothing different could have happened. There isn't any world-building and in the end, it just fucks us over by just saying that there McGuffin disappeared into some other dimensions read more
Aug 24, 2020
tonirees_e (All reviews)
many people will hate me because of this. BUT I DON’T RECOMMEND THIS TO YOU IF YOUR ARE DUMB LIKE ME. basically, this sci-fi is too much that i literally cried because i can’t understand anything (this is legit. lmao).

like bruh. wtf? future, present and past? what the fck just happened to his older self? like bruh i know im dumb but this anime just slapped my face saying “BTCH. YOU ARE DUMB” ToT

but yeah. the ending is good. the animation, the songs, and the characters are nice. it’s just that i didn’t enjoyed it because as what i have said earlier, i’m dumb read more
May 30, 2020
Tyizor (All reviews)
Note: Minor spoilers. Read at your own discretion
Hello World was a movie that was beyond our generation. It sported a deep and intricate plot that pulled at your heartstrings and changed the way you saw life after you saw it. I have not seen a masterpiece of this scale since Da Vinci's Mona Lisa. That's right, Hello World is our generation's Mona Lisa: underappreciated by the masses, but I'm sure future generations will stumble upon this masterwork and question why we could not appreciate it as they do. It was clear that the System was a critique of society as we know it always read more