Midara na Ao-chan wa Benkyou ga Dekinai


Ao-chan Can't Study!

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Ao-chan Can't Study!
Japanese: 淫らな青ちゃんは勉強ができない

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2019 to Jun 22, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Saturdays at 02:10 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Silver Link.
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, EcchiEcchi, ShounenShounen
Duration: 12 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.821 (scored by 6418864,188 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #43222
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #974
Members: 141,721
Favorites: 401
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 21, 2019
84DaysWithout (All reviews)
Imagine a teenage girl so traumatized by her perverted father that she develops a phobia of males. This girl is brave enough to transform that fear into a positive motivation - to attend an elite college and obtain an independent career where she can support herself in the absence of family.

But Ao-chan is not allowed to have that level of agency. Her ambition is instead made secondary to a forced, awkward, unnatural relationship with a popular teenager of unreal pureness who is a continual source of anxiety. This is to the detriment of her studies that are sacrificed at the altar of fickle teenage read more
Jun 21, 2019
Syureria (All reviews)
What is love? I think it's a complicated thing, how can someone not be complacent because of that. Some people have experienced this and teenagers are in this complicated situation.

Is the Japanese anime industry in a crisis? To be honest, I also don't know about this but there are several factors that can prove the truth of that opinion. If from my point of view most Japanese anime has a theme that is so simple. What I mean here is why don't they make a masterpiece with a story full of drama? Forget about that, now the anime world read more
Apr 26, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yo, girl. Show ‘em your A-O-face!

“Meow…meow?” — Ao Horie

“Nice…” — Harrison Yates, South Park cop

How simple misunderstandings evolve into salacious predicaments. Although, Ao-chan’s suspicions could precipitate from a subconscious desire that wills her into suggestive positions, despite her conscious rejections. Considering that she routinely thinks about embarrassing scenarios involving Takumi Kijima, it’s likely she secretly longs for a lustful relationship with him. Whatever the case may be, “Ao-chan Can’t Study!” is quite amusing, in spite of its childish, unrealistic antics.

The humor relies on Ao-chan’s wild imaginations and awkwardness. Essentially, Ao-chan overanalyzes her prearranged plans to ‘break-up’ with Takumi to the read more
May 2, 2019
Oshino_Edan (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have watched tons of slice of life and many romcoms and this one is WAYY better than most out there. I'm grinning ear to ear and laughing at this show the overwhelming majority of the time I'm looking at it. The way MC thinks and the fact she thinks all men are trash makes this show a lot better and sets it apart. Watching MC figure out about all these unknown things is great and made a lot funnier because of what she expects. I find the fact it's from the perspective of a girl while being Ecchi to be a relatively unique perspective read more
Jun 28, 2019
anodasin (All reviews)
I'm gonna write a review as human as possible. I won't make any arguments.


Story 9/10: The story is quite attractive. I promise you all ecchi fan. This is going to be fun. But, sorry there is no extreme fanservice there. It's all about one natural born hentai dere girl who meets the kindest boy ever. I can't say he is a man because he is too stupid to become a man. You'll know what I mean.

Art 7/10: Seven is my average score. Nothing problem.

Sound 9/10: OP and ED was catchy as hell. My most favorited song this season.

Character 8/10: In the most of ecchi anime read more
Jun 21, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
In any typical human non-perverted mind that is constantly filled with Ecchi goodness, I can say that this short is a safe bet between the lines of the "Benkyou ga Dekinai" (or "people can't study") and the rom-com subgenre. Because what you see, an Ecchi WILL ALWAYS be Ecchi, whether subtle or nein.

"Hello, I am Ao Horie, as in...'Show ‘em your A-O-face!'"

Imagine such a parent that would give you SUCH obnoxious names, only to ever silence your future life, in school or be at work. That's our female MC's dear Ero of a dad, likely said the most worrisome dad to ever have, Hanasaki Horie, read more
Apr 26, 2019
Sasori_Nagashi (All reviews)
Preliminary
How... Utterly average this series is. You could mistake it for any number of similar romance-comedies. Nothing about it stands out, nothing about it is unique and to be perfectly honest, nothing about it is particularly FUNNY.

Stupid misunderstandings (usually about perverted topics,) a perverted old man mascot character, a handsome, kind-hearted senpai all the girls seem to love, two characters being in love but still somehow failing to properly realise they both want the same outcome... I mean, it's just copy-pasta in anime form.

The art is acceptable but certainly nothing to write home about. The sound is pretty much the same, I'd be hard pressed read more
May 11, 2019
ineedtostudy (All reviews)
Preliminary
An ecchi rom-com in the viewpoint of the girl? With humor deriving from decent writing of situations rather than cheap fanservice shots? Sign me the F up. While it has all the tropes of what you would expect in a typical rom-com, I don't think that necessarily deters viewers who like this genre. The 12-minute-long episode format does the show justice because cliche plot threads are explored in a fun, zippy way.

I personally can relate to our lovely MC Ao-chan because I went through schooling focusing on just studying without giving any sort of romantic relationships any chance. Her tsundere tendencies also make a read more
Oct 31, 2019
Sailanarmo (All reviews)
I really think some of the negative reviews on this anime are a bit unfair or they looked at this a bit too seriously and judged it WAY too early. So I decided to make this my first review in hopes I can persuade a couple of people to give this anime a shot.

I would call this anime a coming of age story where the MC, an adorable, naiive girl, tries to discover what the difference between love and sexuality is as her feelings of the two often mixes when a boy is thrown into her life. This show does a fantastic job of read more
Jun 22, 2019
Satan (All reviews)
A guy that doesn't rush things but is there for his girl, and a girl who is self-aware of what she wants from him and tries her best to be proactive. This anime is much, much better than most of the typical shoujo romance around there. And surprisingly wholesome, for an ecchi.

- Liked: Refreshing couple dynamics. Not cliche. Above average sound and art.

- Disliked: Miyabi, as she feels more like a plot device than a character. But with ~10 minutes per episode, I can understand they didn't have enough screen time to properly develop the support characters.


Detailed/Extra info:

Story: 7
Simple and cute, no much lasting drama. read more
Nov 8, 2019
ahart48 (All reviews)
OK so this anime was not what I expected at all! I'll be honest I'm really into harems/ecchi/hentai and that's what I thought this anime was gonna be like but it's not! Instead I was very pleasantly surprised when I came across a rom com. (pleasantly surprised-- I liked it!)

This story follows a high school girl with big dreams of getting into a fancy college... so she can get away from her dad who writes erotica and is always embarrassing her. He tries really hard to give her "training guides" and tips on how to have sex. But she just wants to focus on her read more
Jun 24, 2019
vitriolcocktail (All reviews)
Ao-chan Can't Study! is a romcom about a girl who just wants to study in peace without her erotica author father and classmates getting in the way. One of her classmates confesses his love to her and they spend 12 episodes getting into silly situations.

The comedy revolves around Ao misunderstanding situations (due to being a virgin with excessive knowledge of erotica) and Kijima trying his best to figure out what she's thinking as they blunder their way through their first love. Some of the comedy tends to be predictable but otherwise I think it was done quite well.

This series has short 10 minute episodes so read more
Sep 8, 2019
anim_ai (All reviews)
This show is a romantic comedy with a focus on ero, but surprisingly without much ecchi. It is about Ao-chan, the tsuntsuntsundere daughter of an erotic novel author, who wants to live alone for university and thus needs to study hard. But, a kind handsome fellow in her class has fallen for her, and is distracting her from studying.

The majority of the show is basically one long misunderstanding. Ao has deep-seated psychological problems. She misunderstands and/or makes assumptions about her courter (Takumi) constantly, is usually wrong, and never learns from it. Furthermore, she assumes that he is thinking a certain way, repeatedly castigates him read more
Jul 27, 2019
AlicePocky (All reviews)
Aaa I want to write about a short review here~ ♥

Firstly, This anime is very relatable! It's about a girl who thinks that guys are nothing but ecchi~ And only love ecchi things~

As a result, When she finds someone getting closer to her, She thinks that's all he wants and is on his mind..

She believes because of this, She needs to be ecchi too.

But what she doesn't realise is that's not what she truly wants, It's all she knows.

This guy being pure and kind, Kinda teaches her what love really is~ And she gets to know what she really wants, That is love ♥

It's read more
Jul 22, 2019
neonat94 (All reviews)
I do like the art of this one, and the plot is quite clear-cut, but the way it is done was not ideal.
Sure there's comedy and all throughout the series, but sometimes it feels like you got to slog your way through watching it. The character of the main girl is horrible. She goes through such unrealistic thought processes and behaves so awkardly. It just goes on and on and constantly reminds you how ridiculously cliche it is, it gets hard to gloss over it and find it amusing. It just gets frustrating seeing it go on and never really progress. Like who is she read more
Jun 23, 2019
TheGostoso (All reviews)
With a novel that advances and regresses many times, Midara in Ao-chan is a good anime. Midara is a 12-minute anime (and there was a good portion of this kind this season) that tells the story of Ao, a hard-working, intelligent, and quite different girl. Ao's father (the best character) is an author of erotic tales, so as a result it ended up affecting Ao in various ways, one of which was to have a rather fertile imagination, but until the arrival of the character Kijima, his romantic pair , she had never had an affectionate interaction with the opposite sex, which generated several amusing read more
Jun 21, 2019
Otorez (All reviews)
Midara na Ao-chan wa Benkyou ga Dekinai started like a BANG for me but finished airing on a very different atmosphere.

Without summing up the plot, let's just say it presents a kind of forbidden love story between 2 teenagers. It was honestly closer to real situations than I expected so it is fair to claim that the fiction caught up reality.

I absolutely need to cover one major point : the first episode clearly features a kind of ecchi show, which makes you think that the whole anime will be some sort of cute & perverted comedy with a background of love story. It won't... read more
May 25, 2020
Certified_Rat (All reviews)
{ My goal is to write reviews that don't take much time to read, yet get the point across, as well as being as spoiler-free as possible. Please be assured that you will learn nothing you can't already read in the synopsis unless mentioned priorly }

I really enjoyed this anime!

The story was more entertaining than I originally thought it would be. The way they were able to do a high school romance anime without it having a tonne of cliches was nice. It's very refreshing to watch the genre you enjoy while every story still being different and Ao-chan can't study pulled it off read more
Dec 22, 2019
Bean62 (All reviews)
If you want a masterpiece or a life changing experience this is not for you, but if you want a sweet and hilarious romantic comedy to lighten up your mood I definitely recommend Ao-chan Can’t study. I used to be one of those people who had prejudice over 12 minutes anime, Ao-chan is a perfect example on why that’s completely fine in some cases, so fine in fact that you don’t feel it’s a 12 minutes anime, it’s not rushed at all, and actually perfectly adapts over half of the original manga.

This is one of the few anime I’ve watched that made me cry read more
Jun 27, 2019
narukresna (All reviews)
overall: 7.3 for this anime

Well to be honest im not to enjoy watch this anime, but man, the story is not to complicated, i love the character design, this anime actually little unique rather than another school and ecchi anime.
if they have a little bit longer episode maybe the story gonna be great, but in the end, i apreciate the staff and creator of this anime.
yea u can't expect much from anime that has romance, comedy, and school genre, they have same background, school, home, mall, beach
so just enjoy it.
and maybe u can learn that love is a thing that can change you from your read more