Diamond no Ace: Act II


Ace of Diamond Act II

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Ace of Diamond Act II
Synonyms: Daiya no Ace: Act II
Japanese: ダイヤのA[エース] actII

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 52
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2019 to Mar 31, 2020
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 17:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, SportsSports, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.231 (scored by 1796217,962 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2216
Members: 46,396
Favorites: 501
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 15, 2019
Hatsuyuki (All reviews)
Preliminary
I usually never write reviews, but I feel like this entry has been especially wrongfully reviewed. This title, as most other sequels on MAL otherwise, suffers greatly from what I'd like to call, the "sequel syndrome". Basically all the diehard fans are the only ones left that are watching it, so naturally their scores will be biased, which works against the users that are interested in giving it a try, because it hides the issues that have begun plaguing the series. Anyway, I'll start by saying that as of right now we've been through 2 cours of Diamond no Ace, and the production is nothing read more
Jul 5, 2019
junmisugi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seido High School Baseball Team is back and the start at Senbatsu (spring Koshien) brings a lot of experience but also gives some players a good perspective to rethink what they should do and how they could improve their bodies and skills.

Story and sound like always is here a top notch. In terms of art it's still good but there are some smaller sequences when animation isn't very detailed. New first years bring enjoyment to the team and also they made second and first years more heated to secure their important spots in first string. Mostly Act II is about changes and about training to read more
Mar 31, 2020
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
How probable is it that Diamond no Ace just gets better and better? Well, it does, and I'm so stoked to be reviewing this anime for the third-- and hopefully not last-- time.

Jumping right into it, let's talk about the art and sound. I've long said this about Diamond no Ace, but the animation in this anime blows me away. The fluidity in every motion is phenomenal. I won't harp too much on it, but the art and the animation are absolutely gorgeous. As for the soundtrack, Diamond no Ace has got to have one of the best soundtracks I've heard in anime, at read more
Mar 31, 2020
Watame (All reviews)
Ace of Diamond is a Japanese shounen baseball manga series written and illustrated by Yuji Terajima (Giant Step, Hashi no Shita no Batman) and published by Kodansha. An anime adaptation of Ace of Diamond Act II premiered on 2 April 2019. The series focuses on the elite baseball team of Seidou High and its pitcher Eijun Sawamura. Seidou prepares to compete in various high school tournaments and the winning team will get an invitation to the Nationals and a chance to win the National title. The Nationals is the country's most prestigious tournament and the winner takes it all. Seidou High has not been to read more
Aug 27, 2019
bzzrkd (All reviews)
Preliminary
The level of feels in this anime is off the chart.. I get feels during practice games man [we talking about practice].. The story and enjoyment is amazing!

Story: A great story over the years, that has stayed consistent and always lets you know where you are going.

Enjoyment: I can't tell you how many feels I get from this anime on an episode by episode basis. That is the main reason as to why this anime is 10/10. Through character

Character: Another reason as to why this is 10/10.. This anime has to be one of the best character development that I have experienced. Note: There are read more
Mar 31, 2020
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
It’s time to watch some Baseball! As a long-time fan of Baseball anime, I of course welcomed this show, and I assume if you are reading this review you are also a big fan of Baseball anime. This show being the act 2 of the very popular Diamond no Ace had high expectations, however sadly this season was not very good. This review will cover this show on how well it performed compared to prior seasons and to other baseball anime, and why I feel as though it did not live up to prior seasons of Diamond no Ace.

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Story: 6

This season read more
Mar 31, 2020
icekoolkr (All reviews)
Quick Review if you do not want to read that much

Art - 6/10
Although sometimes the anime can have its moments, I feel as if things were like really linear this time. Past seasons had better animation in my opinion, openings still had pretty good animation. A few episodes have good animation, but where its just training, the animation is kinda cheeks.

Sound - 7/10
I don't really see any problem with it. Openings like I said above are pretty good, ending is also pretty nice. The OST over the past 3 seasons have become very nice to hear. They always have the correct time for a read more
Jul 2, 2019
AsianG (All reviews)
Preliminary
For now at least from what I've watched so far this seems to be a very pure continuation of the Diamond no Ace series.
The story picks up right where the second season left off and you can tell that Madhouse has made sure that viewers who have been following the series will not be disappointed with this new continuation even with the 4-year gap since the last season.
The one thing I really wanted to praise in this review was the sound, cause holy crap, its been a while since I watched a baseball anime in recent memory and man the sound of the baseballs read more
Oct 29, 2019
kikiyo15 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I enjoyed the beginning of the season a lot because I knew from reading the manga that Sawamura would shine this season. However, I started to lose interest in watching the episodes because of the lack of animation. I agree with what others are saying about the episodes being like slide shows. It seems like the majority of the episodes are just one still frame of the person Yuki is narrating about. At this point I would rather read the manga than watch this season.

Unlike other seasons where the pitches were animated fully, this season lacked that. When we see Sawamura pitching this season read more
Dec 10, 2019
SkipNINJAZ (All reviews)
Preliminary
This season is completely ruined. Compared to seasons 1 and 2, this season looks like a completely different anime, there's no essence no impact no pure and intense emotion and we can't even tell what really is going on during the practic games... It lacks major details that made me continuosly wanting more like the previous seasons.

Evey time I watch an episode I leave with a bad taste on my mount since it always feels like I'm watching a rushed slideshow, and there is always something missing, even during the games, the piches the state of mind of each individual and the feeling of read more
Apr 7, 2020
zohruii (All reviews)
It's hard to hate this adaptation since I like the manga. You can't hate something you like after all. This is just a bad adaptation for the most part. What else is there to say? [Overall Grade: 5.2≈5]

Act II is much like the second half of Act I. It's a constant back and forth between Sawamura and Furuya. It's a story of a baseball team starting again from scratch in preparation to win the summer tournament and go to Koushien. Sounds like every baseball anime right? While I did enjoy seeing how the introduction of first years would change the dynamics of the team, it's read more
Mar 31, 2020
kurosaki_raye (All reviews)
I was never really interested in baseball until I watched this anime series. I am very picky about sports animes because I like modern art styles better. And many sports animes about baseballs tend to have the older styles, which gave me the impression that baseball was like an older generation sports. Of course this is very wrong, but it's difficult to change impressions you see. However this anime has completely changed my views about baseball completely!
This anime has a modern art style so if you're not into the older baseball animes, this might be the one for you. Diamond no Ace has great read more
May 1, 2020
Wilkaoo (All reviews)

I finally finished the Diamond at Ace Act II. I was very disappointed, the end of the madhouse x production ig partnership was too heavy, apparently the madhouse was left without the rights to use certain animation cuts that were used a lot, mainly from the pitches, in addition to the filter change "bothered" me 'enough, the previous seasons are brilliant while this looks like a Zack Snyder movie. In addition, the author changed the way he narrates the matches, they started to have less individuality and became shorter, this is not necessarily a bad thing, but the only 2 important matches of the season read more
Apr 3, 2020
fangirlfluff (All reviews)
I usually never write reviews but I was too disappointed by this season to resist.I love the characters and the soundtrack, they are as usual, wonderful. However, I was very disappointed by the pacing of the season and how it was put together. Presuming that everyone reading this has already watched the previous seasons, the drop in quality of story pacing (presumably due to the change in studios managing this project) made the entire anime feel rushed and unsatisfying.

The anime used to build on the tension it built in previous episodes, to allow each exciting moment to create an impact on the viewer, but read more
Dec 24, 2019
tuncocky (All reviews)
Preliminary
Man this show gives me goosebumps every single episode. The main character Eijun Sawamura is one of the best protagonist I have seen in awhile.

This sports anime is so underrated in my opinion. I am glad I found this anime even though I never really enjoyed baseball.

This anime is easily a recommendation to anyone that likes sports animes.

The character development is my favorite part about this anime. The main cast from season 1-2 to act II have changed so much. Their skills are honed and their personalities change as well. I'm reading the manga and It is safe to say that with how read more
Sep 19, 2020
SinCrow11 (All reviews)
History: 7.75

This time we pick up where the work left off during the end of its 2nd season and what was later with the following important events, including the Koshien. Although on this occasion the approach was not so strictly directed towards the competencies, but instead opted for something different, such as a slower development, but personally very successful from the production of it, And I understand that many people complain that it becomes "dramatic", or they say things like the anime became "slower", but the reality is that the essence remains the same, and the events that take place during its broadcast are very read more