Fruits Basket 1st Season

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Fruits Basket (2019), Furuba, Fruits Basket (Zenpen)
Japanese: フルーツバスケット 1st season

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2019 to Sep 21, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:23 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, SupernaturalSupernatural
Demographic: ShoujoShoujo
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.221 (scored by 246816246,816 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2902
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #266
Members: 565,254
Favorites: 10,349

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 20, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
On November 12, 2018 last year, I woke up to a string of Twitter feeds and news alerts. Fruits Basket got announced for a new anime based on the manga. During that same week, I pinched myself several times and realized it’s not a dream. It’s a reality. Fruits Basket, one of the most celebrated shoujo manga series in North America, is making a comeback after all these years. And to my delight, we also got the announcement that the new Fruits Basket would adapt the entire manga. That’s right, all 23 freaking volumes of them.

There’s one thing for certain: Fruits Basket is a best-seller read more
Sep 20, 2019
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
I enjoyed the original Fruit Basket anime.

I know that's an unpopular opinion as the author and manga readers despised the original anime for dropping the ball in terms of adapting the manga but I thought it was a pretty good show, despite its flaws.

When Fruits Basket 2019 was announced around late 2018 I was very excited as I finally got to experience this tragic tale in complete form.
I went into Fruits Basket 2019 with very high exceptions as I expected the series to deliver it's promises and fortunately the series managed to meet and surpass my high exceptions as Fruits Basket 2019 is only the read more
May 10, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
“Grief is normal, but not eternal.” — Krunchyman

Life cares not for our emotions, as tragedy strikes without a moments notice. Due to our finite existence, we are bound to lose someone special. But we mustn’t allow ourselves to become trapped by emotions. Life moves forward, and so must we. Despite the uncertainty in her volatile life, Tooru Honda remains optimistic in the face of despair. Her daily struggles are physically and mentally taxing, yet she persists. Pressing forward with determination of mind and body. Turning an unfortunate circumstance into a springboard to cultivate a new life read more
May 28, 2019
juneboba (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Spoiler Warning]

This review is coming from someone who read and watched the original run manga and anime.

When I was first introduced to Fruits Basket, it was supposed to be a cutesy, slice of life series with what I thought were realistic themes. Almost 2 decades later, and me having much more experience in the world, I've found that that's not the case. Far from it.

Now that I know the producers are taking the exact same themes from the manga, that makes everything to come so much worse. The author introduced many sexist themes—from matriarchy being a bad thing, to women with mental illnesses being irrational read more
Sep 20, 2019
Walpurgies (All reviews)
Disclaimer : I didn’t watch the first fruits basket anime and neither did I read the manga. So this review will be purely on Fruits Basket (2019). Second review ever and French reviewer, sorry if bad english, gambarimasu.

I’ll go through each point that made me love this anime that didn’t please me as much in the beginning. Firstly, let me tell you that this anime is perfect for shoujo lovers, BUT I’ll try throughout my review to interest the people who skip this only because it’s categorized as a shoujo.


Fruits basket is a simple shoujo story as we could have seen at first sight. Our read more
May 11, 2019
DarkDiamond16 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is so heartwarming and so darn cute! The art is outstanding, the music is good, everything is so colourful and it brings me so much joy!
I am very intrigued by all the zodiacs. Seeing how cute they are when they transform into animals, I would hug them all day long. This teenage rom-com is everything I could ask for. Tohru is a precious cinnamon roll who must be protected. I love Yuki, he is definitely my type. I ship them.
Kyo is cool and I love cats, but in this case, I prefer Yuki because I love grey haired anime boys who are read more
Aug 17, 2019
inochinopan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sixteen episodes in, I have finally reached the point which urges me to write a review to this series. Being not familiar with both the manga and the original run, I decided to pick it up due to omnipresent excitement and love towards the title. Needless to say, I was disappointed to the boot.

Story: 3/10

I really wanted to like the story, I swear. The concept itself is not THAT bad, but really - it's too cheesy, even for a shoujo series. Later on, the author tries to add a darker twist to the plotline, which by itself wouldn't be such a bad idea if it read more
Sep 20, 2019
dotta (All reviews)
Perhaps the difficulty of understanding yourself is equal to the amount you feel alive when doing so. Fruits Basket understands this. Character driven and dramatically told, it is able to embed its most important themes inside of the story and characters.

What starts as a girl finding out a secret quickly becomes understanding the reality they shoulder.

The Souma zodiac secret, transferring into one of the zodiac members when hugged by the opposite sex, is a means to tell a story. Of course Honda Tohru wouldn’t have forged a relationship with them without discovering it, but more importantly it contains single-handedly the most important theme the show read more
May 26, 2019
ttmeng (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Do people exist to be punished?" - Episode 22.

Should you watch this if you've seen the 2001 version? Narratively it ends off in the same spot as the 2001 version. The episodes mirror each other, so there's not much new in terms of content. This version offered phenomenal episodes for Uo-chan-episodes 16 and 17 and Hana-chan-episode 22 that the 2001 didn't include. They mirrored so exactly until episode 6.

This is the remake of the original anime that came out in 2001. Due to creative differences, the mangaka requested a literal page for page remake of her beloved creation. Sometimes slight changes work better read more
Sep 20, 2019
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*Minimum Spoiler Review*
TL;DR: Nostalgic Fans will gush over it. New Viewers will just glance upon it. Fruits Basket: "Brotherhood" isn't that bad. If you usually binge shitty slice of life/shojou crap, you can cleanse your palette with this.
[Story: 5/10 , Characters: 5/10, Art: 8/10, Sound: 8/10, Enjoyment: 6/10]

Before I start this review, I want to preface this with saying, this will be my first time watching Fruits Basket. I have not read the manga nor have I watched the original. However, I have done ample background research to know & differentiate the changes and improvement for this new adaption.

“A conscience grows, just like read more
May 31, 2019
moviesonlinefull (All reviews)
Preliminary
The calm and quiet Honda Tour is a much more resistant and resourceful person than its fragile appearance would indicate. After the death of her mother, who died several months earlier in a car accident, Touru lives with her grandfather, goes to school and works, earning her living. However, the grandfather's house needs renovation, and he moves to his family at the time. Touru promises him that he will move to one of his girlfriends, but not wanting to disturb them, he decides that he may well live in a tent set up in the forest ... And this story begins here.

One day Touru goes read more
Jul 20, 2019
dulcetrefrain32 (All reviews)
Preliminary
[SPOILERS]

To be honest I didn't that I would be writing this review. After episode one, I was thrilled for next week's episode to come. Episode one of the series is almost word for word of the original, which was what made me hopeful for this new series. Then episode two came and it was fair, but it didn't quite live up to the expectations of the previous episode. Then it kept getting worse. Much worse.
{ART}
Now let's get out the art and animation out of the way. It's pretty, but that's about it. It doesn't add anything or even begin salvage how bad this read more
May 19, 2019
Richard_J (All reviews)
Preliminary
Me personally watch a lot of Anime, but when I first sought my eyes on the alluring and captivating cover image of this anime, evidently I was skeptical on whether to watch it, but I thank myself for my inquisitive doing that day for watching Fruits Basket never I had saw the previous series back in 2001. All my intuitive Knowledge of anime ceased to exist when I watched this inspiring and breathtaking Masterpiece. This series comprises of a lot of genres with Slice of Life being its main point, some other genres like drama and even Supernatural activity that's an interesting phenomena which has read more
Sep 20, 2019
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
I’ll admit that I’m not a particularly big fan of most shojo series out there, but something about this show really impressed me a lot. The first time I heard about this series prior to its debut, I found out that it had an original version that aired way back in 2001, which I promptly went ahead to watch. I ended up finding myself quite disappointed by it due to the number of plot holes, lack of depth in overall cast of characters, uninspiring displays of typical shoujo cliches and tropes. So I went into this reboot, which I jokingly called “Fruits Basket: Zodiachood”, with read more
Aug 3, 2019
Sommeil-Eternel (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am not a person who writes reviews, but I couldn´t stand seen so many bad reviews related to this beautiful anime.

The STORY is a shojo, which involves drama, it havent reached any point of talking about love, you can get a hint of it, but the story doesnt goes aroung people getting in love and dating. The ART the animation is good, is a shojo story so you cant expect to see an awesome battle animation that you get to see in shonens. The MUSIC is beautiful and relaxing and makes all your problems to go away and just enjoy the show, it keep read more
Jul 6, 2019
paradi_GM (All reviews)
Preliminary
How much pain and suffering can a person endure before they give up? How long can they keep it all bottled up while still showing their warm and earnest side?

"Fruits Basket" is indeed a product of its time, beginning serialization in 1998 and ending in 2006, it's ripe with the anime tropes that defined the early 2000s. Tsunderes, loud characters, girls aggressively showing their love and all the good stuff is present here. Yet, behind these cliches lie persons that got this way because of their circumstances. Tohru may seem like a happy-go-lucky person who sees the world in the brightest nuance of pink, but read more
Jan 8, 2020
rasclieboobear (All reviews)
Ahh, I don't usually write reviews, but this anime is close to my heart since the original run of Fruits Basket was pretty much my introduction to anime.

Story: 3/10
Honestly, I was really excited to see how this version of the anime would differ from the original run, and... wow I was so disappointed. It's like a more boring version of the same storyline. The story followed the typical pacing for most anime where the beginning is slower than the ending. The only problem is that the end of this season is still basically the introduction to the show. For god's sake, we are still meeting read more
Jul 5, 2019
soranogab (All reviews)
Preliminary
(I know we're only halfway through the episodes but I do plan on editing this and adding more afterwards. After episode 14 I just felt the urge to give a good review. That's how much I loved it.)

Before anyone calls me out for being biased because of "nostalgia feels", no I have not watched the old Fruit's basket nor have I read the manga at all. :)

For now let me cut to the chase. Fruit's Basket honestly has one of the most subtle and emotional storytelling that only a few could appreciate. It may seem like a simple slice-of-life, shoujo-manga feel but as it read more
Sep 20, 2019
AdolZeppeli (All reviews)
Fruits Basket is a special anime, it not only exceeded my expectations but it turned to be one of the best shoujo I've watched in ages. Fun Fact, I actually expected a reverse harem romance anime, but I end up getting something way different instead, Something that would make me grin like an idiot for 24 minutes straight, something that would suddenly change my emotions several times in the spawn of only 24 minutes. Not many anime is able to do that with me, and here is why.

The story of this anime is most of the time Episodic as it slowly introduces each member of read more
Apr 24, 2021
itsmeblia (All reviews)
A fun review (this is my first MAL review yey)
Respectfully as a member of a romance genre fan, I have to declare that this is one of the cheesiest series that I ever watched. It did fail me due to the great expectation I had knowing that this has been so many people's favorite shoujo anime.

The start wasn't bad at all, I quite like the fast pacing, all though a lot of silly decisions were made for romance scenes, it was still bearable, It has been done before and I'm not complaining yet. But as the series goes on (maybe 5 episodes in)

Oh my read more