Enen no Shouboutai


Fire Force

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Fire Force
Synonyms: Fire Brigade of Flames
Japanese: 炎炎ノ消防隊

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2019 to Dec 28, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:25 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: David Production
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, SupernaturalSupernatural, ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 248800248,800 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #9762
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #164
Members: 560,561
Favorites: 3,849
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 27, 2019
Pragyan1 (All reviews)
Fire force is a story about people with fiery hearts fighting fire with fire. Set in a world where people spontaneously combust and turn into mindless burning zombies the Fire Force is responsible for controlling the damage caused by these “infernos”. Many people in this world are bestowed upon by Solomon the ability to control fire. After watching the first two episodes I really thought I would be able to enjoy this, but shortly afterwards the enjoyment I found in the bombastic nature of the first two episodes was burnt and tossed into oblivion.

This is probably the worst directed and worst framed show to come read more
Aug 16, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really thought this was going to be different from your typical small deal shonen series. The first two episodes were fun as heck. Supernatural firefighters fought against flames with axes and machine guns while nuns tried to tame them with "holy water". Exactly the type of nonsense I am into, easy to enjoy, I thought.

But then the show showed its true colors. Incredibly unfitting and unnecessary ecchi fanservice and boob fondling. Soulless comedic reliefs. Dialogue is constantly masked as story-telling/backstory narrative in a manner so pathetic that it seems like a parody, whilst lessening the genuity of the characters. Illogical story events are there read more
Dec 27, 2019
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Fire Force offers one of the more original takes on Shonen, instead of being about a kid out to get stronger or take on the world, we get a story about a world in which humans live in constant fear of suddenly exploding and turning into flame monsters.

As someone who has been following the manga since the start, I was quite excited for this adaptation and was not disappointed at all. The source material was perfectly adapted and pacing was never an issue throughout. Characters and the world are properly developed and after the series gets going, you really do become attached to the read more
Aug 16, 2019
MothaClucker (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was looking forward to watching Fire Force with all the PV teasers and with David Productions listed under. I made it something I shouldn't miss.

Boy, was I wrong.

I'm going to keep this review short and sweet. Not much detail necessary to get the message through why this adaptation is shit.

Pacing, pacing, pacing. I'm pretty sure the director doesn't know the meaning of pacing. It's like I'm watching a generic Hollywood action movie that wanted to get on the hype train just because. Either the show is cutting shots literally every fucking second or it holds a still way too long making everything feel read more
Dec 27, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Many people say Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba is the hottest new show of 2019 and it’s no understatement. Then, there’s this show called Fire Force where reports told that it had only sold 107 blu-ray disks in Japan. On the other hand, Demon Slayer sold more than 11k copies in its first week. What went wrong?

First of all, I don’t want to actually compare the two shows because they are actually not very similar. Both shows deals with supernatural entities to survive in their world and that’s where the similarity ends. But why did Fire Force suffer so much from popularity? Judging by read more
Dec 27, 2019
rtil (All reviews)
Let me take you back to 2003. Atsushi Ookubo, creator of Fire Force, is making waves with Soul Eater, a manga that would go on for 10 successful years - sparking an anime adaptation and a spin-off series.

Soul Eater was a stand-out shounen that excelled in not only having a fascinating universe, but also characters that were compelling by having...well, personalities. And while Soul Eater did have characters with wacky quirks - most notably Death the Kid's OCD, used as the butt of many jokes - they weren't the epicenter of every character's existence.

2 years after Soul Eater, Ookubo started Fire Force. And in almost read more
Aug 16, 2019
Zurheide (All reviews)
Preliminary
There are a lot of things that can be said about Fire Force, most of which will be said over and over during its run. We're only 6 episodes in, but with every discussion thread comes a new wave of comments praising the animation quality or questioning the inclusion of a character who's primary role is to provide fan service. Rather than restate everything that's been said about this show, I will go with a simple statement:

Fire Force is straight up entertaining.

I came late to the Soul Eater train by about 8 years, but I blazed through the anime and finished the manga twice as read more
Aug 17, 2019
Doofenheimer (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ive posted this review for the last 2 weeks updating it as each episode came out. Now that this can officially stay up here this will be my finalized review of Fire Force with the 6th episode. The next time I will update this will be when the anime finishes (If I don't drop it by then).
-Doofenheimer.




New era anime really took a dive in almost everything except animation. Can't recall any anime from 2016-Present that would be a front runner in a Top 25 anime list. The only anime from 2016 to current day that has the ability to be on that list is Mob read more
Aug 30, 2019
light333 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I usually only write reviews for the less popular anime, but seeing some of the low score reviews on this anime inspired me to write my own review. I honestly do not understand how objectively one could give this anime a low score. This show can stand toe-to-toe with Dr. Stone for anime of the season.

Story: The story is definitely a breath a fresh air with all the isekai and typical shounen anime being pumped out every season. MC lost his family at a young age due to a fire, everyone treats him like a demon (similar to Naruto in the original Naruto anime), and read more
Oct 10, 2019
Injenss (All reviews)
Preliminary
People expect every anime to have stories as epic as Full Metal Alchemist, be as thought provoking as Ghost In The Shell, have emotions running as deep as Clannad, with dialogue as sharp as the Monogatari Series and humor as side-splitting as Gintama, and if they don't, they're ready to bury an anime before the first season is even over.

99 percent of animes will never be classics. (Though it would be nice if they were.) But, since most never will be good enough to rank among the top 50 on MAL, the question is: "Are they entertaining?". And as far as Enen no Shouboutai goes, read more
Dec 5, 2019
Bonjourette (All reviews)
Preliminary
(NOT SO SPOILER FREE BUT WHO CARES? IT'S GARBAGE)

Fire Force. The concept from the start to me was interesting because it's stupid. Fight fire with fire. It looked like a shitshow I could enjoy and I was right but Episode 19 made me reach my limit and ultimately gave this show a 1/10.

Fanservice, a part of anime that is avoidable yet inevitable because "eCcHi iS lIfE!!!!". This show uses it in the worst way possible. There are times in this show where there is a serious battle/dialogue ongoing then suddenly, unexpectedly, abruptly, and all other words related to it, a fanservice scene appear. It read more
Aug 16, 2019
AsianG (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 7 For an easy comparison, this is a lot like Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba where its a good shounen with some fun twists added to the theming, in this case we are looking at super powered fire fighters vs demon fires. They do sadly cut out some lines that I feel gave the story more emotion (one being the father being on fire saying welcome home) but other then that they seem to be taking their time following the manga to a T. Also I feel the comedy is hit or miss but for the most part is executed well, at least from read more
Sep 6, 2019
ssjbebop (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seems like this has become the popular manga to criticize this season. Why might you ask? Because hardcore gown-up anime fans love to make anime out to be some masterful artistic expression that's supposed to have perfect story, characters, pacing, etc. Yet no matter how hard they love to rail on these mainstream shows, they almost all of the time have some crappy anime rated a perfect score because they think that's acceptable. Oh "Here is my cool unique anime that I found to be a perfect interpretation of what I think anime should be. Nobody else has this anime rated a 10." read more
Aug 17, 2019
tobissadplease (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fire Force is a great anime, though many would disagree, first of all the animation is great, most people jump to conclusions, saying that the fanservice is tasteless simply because it was implemented poorly just once, and I'll try to keep the review short:

The story is nice but definitely has some flaws, most villains are more or less generic but they are interesting, though this is my own opinion. you may find the MC to be less than original, which I agree with, but he definitely is an interesting character at least for me.

now then time for the flaws: the first two episodes were fine read more
Sep 13, 2019
9nl0dutch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay normally i do not write reviews, but after checking the review of this show im a bit disgusted with the state of reviews. That aside im gonna write a true review.

Story: The pace of the show is fast but thats not wrong in this kinda show i myself love to get some juicy info every episode or two and yes as its an shounen you ofcourse have ecchi within the show wich is not overly fanservicey and doesnt get forced all the time.

Art/Animation: This is one of the best parts about this show the artstyle feels like soul eater but still has its own read more
Aug 22, 2019
Kmiklos (All reviews)
Preliminary
So this is a typical Shounen with the dead parents, dead sister/brother, dead everything setting (feels like a disney movie lol)

Like why do we need this? Fire Force is just as a generic shounen as Kenja no Mago is a generic isekai. These motivations, the rivalry between the two young boys everything is just generic. When I watched the anime I felt like "Why would i watch this? I have already seen Ao no Exorcist." and yeah the two is literally the same thing. At the beginning the protagonists family gets killed by a "Demon" and this becomes his motivation to become an exorci... fire read more
Sep 27, 2019
Astronaut001 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I started watching this as soon as it came out. I had high hopes since it has the same author as Soul Eater and it fits my Shonen trash tastes but I've been nothing but disappointed.

I've dropped this show twice since I started. I gave it a second chance because of the amazing animation and interesting overall concept but I just can't deal with the unnecessary fan-service and unfitting pace.
I've only read a few chapters of the comic but even that felt better because I could go through it quickly. When it comes to fan-service, as a girl, I hate it but usually read more
Mar 13, 2020
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
Fire Force was my most anticipated anime of 2019. As a person who loves Soul Eater, I was looking forward to seeing another of Atsushi' works animated in its beautiful and charming glory. I really wanted to love Fire Force just how I loved Soul Eater.
I genuinely don't know what happened to Atsushi between the years 2013 and 2015 because I felt like degraded as a writer and a comedian between the 2-year gap of Soul Eater and Fire Force and it really shows from his character handling especially with the females, story structure, pacing and writing.

The biggest problem you will notice right out the read more
Sep 14, 2019
KayShamrock (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Note: I got bored a few minutes into episode 7, haven't watched since then] The idea was interesting at first, wondering what was causing people to turn into (had to look up what they were even called here) Infernals. Then it just barely touched that plot point before I got bored with it. You shouldn't ignore your main plot point that attracted most people to your anime in the first place, people will get bored waiting for you to actually further the plot.

My next issue with this anime is with the characters, more specifically their personalities. I don't know about everyone else, but usually read more
Sep 2, 2019
LiseranThistle (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fire Force is gorgeous to look at. The animation is the highlight of this series, I mean seriously, if you are a battle scene junkie like me you will love every episode of this because goddamn is it nice to look at. I've never skipped the opening to the show not just because INFERNO is a banger, but because that opening scene where all the characters are kicking giant Fire Monster ass is so satisfying to watch and it syncs perfectly with the song playing in the background.

The art also has that classic Atsushi Okubo "Soul Eater" style I loved so much in middle read more