Joshikousei no Mudazukai


Wasteful Days of High School Girl

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Wasteful Days of High School Girl
Synonyms: Joshimuda
Japanese: 女子高生の無駄づかい

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2019 to Sep 20, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Fridays at 21:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Passione
Source: Web manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, SchoolSchool
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.711 (scored by 2456024,560 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #10082
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1769
Members: 65,483
Favorites: 364
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 20, 2019
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Hey, can I say something amazing right now?

This anime is, that's what.

Joshikousei no Mudazukai was the one show above all which throughout the season I genuinely didn't understand why it didn't have a higher score on MAL. Me and many of my friends were in agreement that it's probably been the best comedy of the season, and it almost always manages to be entertaining.

By design it's nothing out of the ordinary. Just another high school comedy starring a bunch of girls. However, what truly makes it shine is the character cast and the dynamic between them. Mudazukai is very self-aware and every girl in the read more
Jul 26, 2019
Groenboys (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sometimes I question myself why I continue to watch such a stupid ammount of anime each season. I know I like to keep up with the conversation, but I obsess over it and because of that I end up dropping half of the shows I initially started watching. But watching this anime reminded me of a second reason why I continue my watching: It is to find hidden gems. Last season Choukadou Girl ⅙ was my hidden gem and this season it is Joshikousei no Mudazukai. But while Choukadou Girl ⅙ was a short anime poking fun at the otaku culture, Joshikousei no Mudazukai is read more
Sep 20, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
"Hey, can I say something amazing?" - Baka

"OH HOLY $H!T, why is this show SOOOO criminally underrated!?" - The minority of people watching this (including yours truly)

This show is comedy gold that we've been seeking since recent times, and as it goes for a stupidly, insanely great premise for a school comedy, something along the lines of last Summer's Asobi Asobase, but fusing with the characters from Nichijou and Daily Lives Of High School Boys, girls' edition. At first, I thought it was like some mindless random high school JKs just lamenting their lives in school trying to make their own mark everywhere they go, read more
Sep 21, 2019
RPWPA (All reviews)
"Can I say something depressing?" -Me

I always feel sad when the end of the season comes, I feel excited because of the new shows but that means that the hidden gems that I found in the current season are ending and the chances of it getting another season is low. 90% of the time it marks the end of me watching this anime forever and the end of me seeing something that made me relax and enjoy myself.

Creating in the Slice of life genre is a difficult task. Tons of Sol anime already exists so you need to be as creative as possible read more
Jul 31, 2019
TheWiskeredCat (All reviews)
Preliminary
(This is my first review ever sorry if its bad)
This anime flew completely under the radar of this seasons shows. Granted, so do a lot of other great shows but this particular one kind of made me mad at the majority of people who look for the first show in the shounen genre, or the first show to come up as the most popular by majority. I wish people would pay more attention to great and humorous shows like these.
Our three main characters are, Nozomu "Baka" Tanaka, Akane "Wota" Kikuchi, and Shiori "Robo" Saginomiya.
What I noticed right off the bat is that the characters read more
Sep 20, 2019
forster82 (All reviews)
Quick short review:

Do you feel like having a fun time and having some good ol' laughs?
Trying to feel that missing piece in your heart that craves an anime similar to "Nichijou" or "Asobi Asobase"?

Well you came to the right place! Joshikousei no Mudazukai is the anime for you!


The story, location, jokes, and even some characters, can't help but constantly remind me of Nichijou/Asobi Asobase, and I like to think of this as a good thing. Others may indeed call this a "Nichijou/Asobi Asobase ripoff" or a "Nichijou/Asobi Asobase wannabe anime", but trust me this isn't the case. Both of them may have a few read more
Aug 3, 2019
Treizeci (All reviews)
Preliminary
Three girls: one makes horrible puns, one groans, the other has a light chuckle. 10/10

"Hey, can I say something amazing right now?" (Light spoilers)

The Wasteful Days of High School Girls takes a trio of childhood friends that reunite in a mediocre all-girls high school by a funny twist of fate after they lost contact in middle school. Somehow they step right back in their old ways, living their apparently banal lives but really enjoying their youth despite their regrets of not having boys to date in their high school.

At one point Tanaka insists to give nicknames to all the girls and as such they are read more
Aug 2, 2019
Smugru (All reviews)
Preliminary
The anime adaptation announcement of this series really caught me off guard since I only decided to read the manga just recently this year. And boy, am I loving the way they're adapting it.

This show is one hell of a roller coaster ride because of the comedy and deliberate poking of fun to the cliche anime/manga characters that you'll watch/read every now and then. It's like Asobi Asobase and Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou had a son.

Story - 7
Not much to say about the story because it mainly consists of skits and gags that appeal to both males and females. That itself is a feat to read more
Sep 20, 2019
YangLi (All reviews)
This show is a hilarious look at the lives of highschool girls, with an interesting cast and naturally-flowing humor.

The strong point of the show is definitely its characters. First there’s Baka, the idiot of the group who’s always going on random ramblings thinking she’s being insightful. If there’s a heartfelt moment, you can count on Baka to ruin it by saying something inappropriate - she’s not being malicious though, she’s just chaotically stupid. This also makes her the butt-end of the others’ insults, but naturally she’s too stupid to realize she’s being insulted.

Then there’s Wota, arguably the most normal girl in the main trio read more
Nov 15, 2019
clowred (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think I'm wasting time here as most people actually enjoy this kind of anime, but I'd like to point out at least one thing, even if by stating my own opinion I will be most likely ignored.
This anime thrives by 'not being normal'. And that's it. The plot, the characters, the unfolding events, everything is mostly connected to being the opposite to normal. Stupidity brought to the banana girl level, useless infatuation alongside procrastination and a passive genius that is supposed to be a comic relief through absurdity and irony.
I repeat, this is my own opinion, but this anime is TRASH. read more
Sep 21, 2019
nanatshi (All reviews)
"can i say something amazing " - baka
"this show is really funny as hell" - me replying to baka

the retard brain dead which is me will review this anime because he enjoyed it , i love this show so much it's story about high school girls who enjoyed thier life and have you know "normal life" and that's what make is awesome and it's show you how amazing and funny your youth can be and something else finally some comedy anime with a "STORY" to tell

story (10/10) :-

guess what this comedy anime have a story , yes and his story read more
Sep 22, 2019
Goukenslay (All reviews)
If you liked Daily Lives of High-school Boys, then Joushikousei I say is right up your alley in terms of comedy and its characters.

The heart of the show is its comedy and the wacky to unique character or trope characters in the show. Even though the show kind of groups the characters in 3's they all somehow have good chemistry with one of another and different gag or bits will have them interacting with each other. You'll definitely will find a favorite character out of the whole class including their homeroom teacher; which i didn't expect to get some character 10/10

The show doesn't really read more
Aug 9, 2019
felixlovesanime (All reviews)
Preliminary
[FIRST IMPRESSION: a review solely based on the first five episodes]

Be careful, Daily Lives of High School Boys, because it's summer 2019 and Joshikousei no Mudazukai (a.k.a Wasteful Days of High School Girl) is here to snatch your crown of "School Comedy of the 2010s". The same warning goes to you too, Asobi Asobase.

Already being the finest --and sneakiest-- anime of the season, Joshikousei no Mudazukai takes no prisoners starting from its bop-pop OP and the spot-on depiction of the first days of school-- when innocent daydreams get crushed easily by a bitter-and-a-bit-perverted homeroom teacher. It is refreshing to see three heroines who are not read more
Jan 5, 2020
CanAKATheIndigo (All reviews)
A surprisingly fun to watch anime


Filling in part the emptiness that left Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou, Joshikousei no Mudazukai (Wasteful Days of High School Girl) comes to present a slice of life comedy about a group of peculiar friends and how they spend their daily lives doing ridiculous stuff.

One day, out of boredom, Tanaka decided to give her classmates a nickname based on their peculiarities. Her friend Sakuchi became "Ota" given her otaku interests, and her other friend Saginomiya became "Robo” due to her inexpressive personality. In retaliation, her friends decided to nickname her "Baka" for her notorious idiocy. From this event will begin this read more
Sep 21, 2019
That__Guy (All reviews)
This show is aptly named "The Wasteful Days of High School Girls" because it was indeed a waste of my days watching it. All of the reviews so far are touting this as the best comedy of the year, but I just don't see it. Let's see why:

Story - 3

To be fair, there is no story. It's a collection of day-to-day activities following three girls and their class. In lieu of a story, I rate this based on character development, which I will elaborate on below.

Art - 6

Nothing great, nothing terrible.

Sound - 6

Appropriate, but nothing truly memorable.

Character - 3

The major issue with this show is read more
Sep 21, 2019
robert788 (All reviews)
Joshikousei no Mudazukai (2019)

This anime by far is the comedy of the year. Kaguya-sama was very close but this show is just hilarious all the way through.

Primarily about three girls and their high school experiences but you also get a good fill of the supporting cast to make it feel like a mass of main characters.

The art of the series is great and is really satisfying to watch. The show does a really good job with attention to detail.

The OP for the series is really good and enjoyable to listen to each time. The ED is also very nice to listen too. read more
Sep 20, 2019
war0blade (All reviews)
Preliminary
If I could rename this show, it would be "Joshikousei no Nichijou".

These aren't your average everyday memes, these are ADVANCED memes. I wouldn't expect the average anime otaku to understand Joshikousei no Mudazukai. You would have to have very high IQ to understand it. The humour is extremely subtle, and without a solid grasp of DAIBUTSU or WASEDA most of the jokes will go over a typical viewer's head. There's also Tanaka's AHO outlook, which is deftly woven into her charaterisation- her personal philosophy draws heavily from OMOSHIREONNA, for instance. The fans understand this stuff; they have the intellectual capacity to truly appreciate the depths read more
Aug 10, 2019
RobbyRob (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay...the show isn't bad per say, but it's also something that I'm not largely fond for. There is no big story, of course at it just revolves around the titular girls' every day high school lives so nothing overall amazing. The show also suffers from repetition. Each episode goes like this: Tanaka tells her friends that she was going to tell them something amazing much to their annoyance; the "amazing fact" is wholly nonsensical; Tanaka does something stupid often at the expense of other characters...rinse and repeat. But I would give that a pass because some of the characters are enjoyable. Scratch that: some are. read more
Aug 9, 2019
sirbrayan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show remembered me the first time that I listened the Zooropa Album from U2 in 2014, so underrated but so excellent. It's the same sensation of finding new roads, new textures, new sound, and remembering old sensations that have lost with all the animated series that I've seen in all these years.
After episode 6, I can say that undoubtelly it's a hidden gem as Joshiraku, actually totally unnoticed, but in the future seem as one of the animes that break the status quo bullshit of nowadays. Many people could despise it, but is very enjoyable and it has soul, not as 99% of the read more
Dec 29, 2019
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
Near the end of every year I always end up picking up a show at the very last minute that I have somehow missed from the previous seasons for one reason or another. On a whim after listening to the immensely catchy OP, I decided to pick this up. And by doing so I narrowly avoided missing one of the best comedies of the year.

From the moment I saw that the OP credits were diegetic I knew I was in for something special. Indeed, everything from the direction, editing, comedic timing, jokes, everything was somehow executed to a mirror polish. Having each episode rotate read more