Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kimi to, Nami ni Noretara


Alternative Titles

English: Ride Your Wave
Japanese: きみと、波にのれたら

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 21, 2019
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: GKIDS
Studios: Science SARU
Source: Original
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy, RomanceRomance
Duration: 1 hr. 34 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.461 (scored by 26772,677 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #18762
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2960
Members: 26,300
Favorites: 67

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 1, 2019
war0blade (All reviews)
I wasn't really expecting much before watching this movie, mainly because I saw the trailer and I thought it was going to be some sappy love story which I've honestly seen my fair share but I'm really glad I actually watched it.

Story - 9
SPOILER ALERT
The story focuses on Mukaimizu Hinako and how she learns to "find her wave". It's about how people need to keep moving forward and learn to stand on their own even through the hardships. There's a lot of symbolism in the movie between riding a wave and the life of a person. The story also touches on motivation, as Hinako struggles read more
Jan 4, 2020
rtil (All reviews)
I picked up this film for no other reason than the fact that it was directed than Masaaki Yuasa. This is a very different type of story than he would typically adapt. It's a story about love, coming of age and learning to move on from loss. Colorful, vibrant and fairly easygoing, it does away with most of Yuasa's hallmarks of frantic and wild feverdreams.

Nothing wrong with that, however I don't think the movie is very successful at giving its lead much of anything to do besides being an absolutely hopeless blubbering mess who comes off as a dysfunctional klutz who needs her hand held read more
Jul 18, 2019
roankun (All reviews)
The showing date for Tenki no Ko was announced the day right after I booked my flight to Japan, and that showing happened to be just a day after my flight back. In pure frustration, I decided I would watch at least one anime movie while I was there, and that happened to be this: Kimi to Nami.

After seeing only the trailer, I didn't really have much expectation for this other than a sappy, supernatural love story, but it was surprisingly good. The story was simple, the characters were easily relatable, and the music was fantastic. I still find myself humming BRAND NEW STORY every read more
Jan 6, 2020
thefoolsorchids (All reviews)
I normally don't write reviews and forgive me if my thought process is all over the place. This review will contain spoilers (kind of) as well as my own personal experience, so please bear with me. This is my first review.

When I first saw the trailer for this film, I thought it would be another romance anime, but it was more than that to me. I'll start with the six points and why I scored them as such. I hope you enjoy this review. And even if our opinions differ, I'm glad I was still able to share my experience with you all.

Story read more
Jan 13, 2020
yxckson (All reviews)
"You can make something groundbreaking by doing nothing groundbreaking and everything else really damn good." - yxckson

Just a quick heads up for anyone who may want to watch this movie: DON'T WATCH THE TRAILER. The trailer for some damn reason spoils the entire movie and makes it not near as intriguing to watch. I'm glad I didn't watch the trailer until after the movie.

I am just blown away about how surprisingly spectacular this movie was. Looking at the score and the reviews, I thought this would either be a disappointing, boring ass movie like Shikioriori or a real solid, heartwarming movie like Summer Wars; and read more
Jan 8, 2020
Avocadoe (All reviews)
needed more yonkage. in terms of art it was good. the song playing in throughout? good song. now in terms of the yonkage mentioned earlier, i felt as if there wasn't enough, ya know? girl needed more sad cause, and i only felt the yonk towards the end (the New Years Scene). Overall pretty forgetful except for the song they drilled into your head.
needed more yonkage. in terms of art it was good. the song playing in throughout? good song. now in terms of the yonkage mentioned earlier, i felt as if there wasn't enough, ya know? girl needed more sad cause, and i read more
Jan 6, 2020
Hatul (All reviews)
Kimi to, Nami ni Noretara or Ride Your Wave is Masaaki Yuasa's latest film and coming from a long time fan of his, I'd say this is probably his weakest one so far. But even his weakest work makes for a great watch that's enjoyable and has at least some interesting things about it.

Before watching this film it's best that you know what you're in for so that you'd be in the right mindset. This is a relatable and sweet (if cheesy and a very fairy tail-esque) portrayal of young love which then turns in to a story of overcoming loss, letting go of read more
Jan 14, 2020
VittorioL (All reviews)
I watched Kimi to, Nami ni Noretara expecting a lot, because its director is Masaaki Yuasa, the same person who directed incredible shows like Devilman Crybaby or The Tatami Galaxy, and what I got was nothing but an amazing emotional movie that never stops impressing. It is a rollercoaster of emotions that in the end almost left me with tears in my eyes. It is a beatiful, wholesome movie about how people can influence other people´s lives even if they do not realize that. It never gets melodramatic, it never gets boring. It is just what it is, and is not trying to be read more
Jan 6, 2020
Irishchatter (All reviews)
When I first watched the film, I thought the pacing was way too quick for me to actually understand what was going on. Although I will say that the fire fighter scenes were pretty intense regardless if they were only training or had to attend buildings that were on fire due to fireworks.

I understood this films backdrop involving the feeling of losing someone through drowning and honestly the ending was a near hard hitter for me. However I would have liked if the couples experience together was more in depth because as I said yet again, it was rather rushed. It didn't give much in read more