Kimi to, Nami ni Noretara


Ride Your Wave

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Ride Your Wave
Japanese: きみと、波にのれたら

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 21, 2019
Licensors: GKIDS
Studios: Science SARU
Source: Original
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 1 hr. 35 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.511 (scored by 2274422,744 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #15672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1863
Members: 66,007
Favorites: 313
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 4, 2020
rtil (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS BIG SPOILERS

I picked up this film for no other reason than the fact that it was directed than Masaaki Yuasa. This is a very different type of story than he would typically adapt. It's a story about love, coming of age and learning to move on from loss. Colorful, vibrant and fairly easygoing, it does away with most of Yuasa's hallmarks of frantic and wild feverdreams.

Nothing wrong with that, however I don't think the movie is very successful at giving its lead much of anything to do besides being an absolutely hopeless blubbering mess who comes off as a dysfunctional klutz who read more
Jul 1, 2019
war0blade (All reviews)
I wasn't really expecting much before watching this movie, mainly because I saw the trailer and I thought it was going to be some sappy love story which I've honestly seen my fair share but I'm really glad I actually watched it.

Story - 9
SPOILER ALERT
The story focuses on Mukaimizu Hinako and how she learns to "find her wave". It's about how people need to keep moving forward and learn to stand on their own even through the hardships. There's a lot of symbolism in the movie between riding a wave and the life of a person. The story also touches on motivation, as Hinako struggles read more
Jan 6, 2020
thefoolsorchids (All reviews)
I normally don't write reviews and forgive me if my thought process is all over the place. This review will contain spoilers (kind of) as well as my own personal experience, so please bear with me. This is my first review.

When I first saw the trailer for this film, I thought it would be another romance anime, but it was more than that to me. I'll start with the six points and why I scored them as such. I hope you enjoy this review. And even if our opinions differ, I'm glad I was still able to share my experience with you all.

Story read more
Jul 18, 2019
roankun (All reviews)
The showing date for Tenki no Ko was announced the day right after I booked my flight to Japan, and that showing happened to be just a day after my flight back. In pure frustration, I decided I would watch at least one anime movie while I was there, and that happened to be this: Kimi to Nami.

After seeing only the trailer, I didn't really have much expectation for this other than a sappy, supernatural love story, but it was surprisingly good. The story was simple, the characters were easily relatable, and the music was fantastic. I still find myself humming BRAND NEW STORY every read more
May 10, 2020
AurumGG (All reviews)
Saving someone is easy; that doesn’t make you a hero. A hero is someone who helps a person save themselves, so they can learn, grow, and become a hero for someone else. Even a hero can need saving though, and Kimi to, Nami ni Noretara is a film about heroes saving heroes. More specifically, Kimi to, Nami ni Noretara is a film about two different couples where all four of them teach and learn from their partner how to find happiness in their life by taking personal responsibility for it.

Spoiler Warning: I’m going to spoil the movie, but if you’re bailing on me here, read more
Jan 13, 2020
yxckson (All reviews)
You can make something groundbreaking by doing nothing groundbreaking and everything else really damn good.

Just a quick heads up for anyone who may want to watch this movie: DON'T WATCH THE TRAILER. The trailer for some damn reason spoils the entire movie and makes it not near as intriguing to watch. I'm glad I didn't watch the trailer until after the movie.

I am just blown away about how surprisingly spectacular this movie was. Looking at the score and the reviews, I thought this would either be a disappointing, boring ass movie like Shikioriori or a real solid, heartwarming movie like Summer Wars; and it was read more
Mar 26, 2020
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Stunning and unique visuals with a touch of serenity. Ride Your Wave is a romance movie resolving around a girl and a boy catchin' some waves and gradually developing a relationship with each other.

The two of them were content. They went to a lot of places and had fun together, spending their time like lovely dovey couples. Until a shocking incident occured that took the life of the boy away.

For some time. She was sad. She slowly grew a mental disorder up until the point where she could see "him" every time she sang the song she and her boyfriend used to sing read more
Jan 6, 2020
Hatul (All reviews)
Kimi to, Nami ni Noretara or Ride Your Wave is Masaaki Yuasa's latest film and coming from a long time fan of his, I'd say this is probably his weakest one so far. But even his weakest work makes for a great watch that's enjoyable and has at least some interesting things about it.

Before watching this film it's best that you know what you're in for so that you'd be in the right mindset. This is a relatable and sweet (if cheesy and a very fairy tale-esque) portrayal of young love which then turns in to a story of overcoming loss, letting go of read more
Mar 6, 2020
Dleaver7 (All reviews)
I watched this film in the theater purely because it's hard for Anime films to screen in theaters overseas and when one makes its usually a really good one. I came in, with no pre-exisiting notions, i hadn't even seen the trailer so i had no pre-conception of the film.


SPOILERS AHEAD!!

Story (3):
Firstly I thought the Film was Mediocre at best. The story was very linear and simple. Girl falls in love boy, boy dies trope. Although this is okay and can be interesting, the story didn't make it interesting and instead dragged out a semi-pointless story of Hinako dating water Minato.

Art (6):
The art was really read more
Feb 20, 2020
VictoriaLoves (All reviews)
Holy Cannoli, does this movie have an Opening. Almost immediately out of the gate, we're thrust into an intense, high stakes situation that not only gets your blood pumping but sets the stage for everything else to come in the story. You get a very clear picture of who are characters are, what they're like, and just what kind of movie this is going to be.

Personally, I was enthralled from start to finish. Invested in the characters, in love with the story, impressed by the animation, there's nothing I have to complain about. Even the twist, which I didn't see coming at all, was superbly read more
Jan 8, 2020
Avocadoe (All reviews)
needed more yonkage. in terms of art it was good. the song playing in throughout? good song. now in terms of the yonkage mentioned earlier, i felt as if there wasn't enough, ya know? girl needed more sad cause, and i only felt the yonk towards the end (the New Years Scene). Overall pretty forgetful except for the song they drilled into your head.
needed more yonkage. in terms of art it was good. the song playing in throughout? good song. now in terms of the yonkage mentioned earlier, i felt as if there wasn't enough, ya know? girl needed more sad cause, and i read more
Feb 25, 2020
WhiteWolfKiba (All reviews)
Ride Your Wave is the story of a young and naive surfer who falls in love with a firefighter; the two have a whirlwind romance that eventually leads to something supernatural. This movie is the latest anime feature from director Masaaki Yuasa (Lu Over The Wall, Night Is Short), who I find very hit or miss, but I'm happy to say I thought this was a hit! In fact I loved this movie so much I almost gave it a 9/10, but a few things held it back to a strong 8/10. When I first saw the trailer I rolled my eyes a bit because read more
Jan 14, 2020
VittorioL (All reviews)
I watched Kimi to, Nami ni Noretara expecting a lot, because its director is Masaaki Yuasa, the same person who directed incredible shows like Devilman Crybaby or The Tatami Galaxy, and what I got was nothing but an amazing emotional movie that never stops impressing. It is a rollercoaster of emotions that in the end almost left me with tears in my eyes. It is a beatiful, wholesome movie about how people can influence other people´s lives even if they do not realize that. It never gets melodramatic, it never gets boring. It is just what it is, and is not trying to be read more
Jan 6, 2020
Some1ridiculous (All reviews)
When I first watched the film, I thought the pacing was way too quick for me to actually understand what was going on. Although I will say that the fire fighter scenes were pretty intense regardless if they were only training or had to attend buildings that were on fire due to fireworks.

I understood this films backdrop involving the feeling of losing someone through drowning and honestly the ending was a near hard hitter for me. However I would have liked if the couples experience together was more in depth because as I said yet again, it was rather rushed. It didn't give much in read more
Sep 29, 2020
TinyCliff (All reviews)
Probably a 6,5.

Great art, especially the riding-the-waves-on-the-air scenes and even the bubbly love scenes.
But the characters were almost annoying. Their love story had developed fully at 20 minutes in. The back story was revealed almost in the end, so before, it was hard to relate. Also the type of all 4 characters was again, the "happy, harmless, hard working" type so it becomes impossible to relate. Like, this is a systemic stereotype, give us a break. Lastly, it seemed that everyone else other than the 4 youths, was either too promiscuous or too old to be considered a character.
Jun 4, 2020
AmbiiBambi (All reviews)
**Warning: Contains Spoilers**

I am writing this review straight after watching 'Ride Your Wave'. I went in thinking it was a nice bittersweet story between our main characters; Hinako and Minato. I was not excepting to not only cry not once, not twice, but three times during this movie!

Story: 8/10
We start off with our female protagonist; Hinako Mukaimizu who moves next to the sea in order to surf again, as she did during her childhood. While still unpacking in her new apartment, a firework mishap sets her apartment building ablaze. while trying to escape the blaze she is saved by our next main character; Minato read more
Apr 15, 2020
Curioplex (All reviews)
This romance story will bring quite a wave of emotions.

My top scores would have to be Art and Story. Lowest would be Characters then Sound. Heres what I think:

Art: 9| While the art really brings out the emotions, it kind of looks weird at certain times, kind of alien. It is so much better than some lip flapping picture though!
Story: 8| The plot of the story brings you in and the beginning sets up the romance story to be something great, but the amount of timeskips or quick speed ups to try to fit a romance story that should be more fleshed out into a read more
Feb 24, 2020
JunjouAlice (All reviews)
Saw this in the cinema today, a lovely bittersweet anime movie. It has some amazing animation throughout the movie. One of a few movies that I have seen recently that wasn't that predictable. The main song although annoying a few times in the movie (as it is literally the only song you hear properly over and over in the movie) is actually really good (big Backstreet boys vibes) and cant really be changed or removed as it would not work with the plot. i think the main think i disliked is the freaking hand gesture the main guy does ahaha. Seriously though if you have read more
Feb 20, 2020
Zeniatus (All reviews)
The message of the film is great and the two secondary characters were pretty well executed. They both had their own life and issues related towards the male lead and showcasing that added a lot towards the detail on his death. Despite there being one scene that leaned towards the friend becoming the main female's second lover, it didn't bear any fruits. Michiru Oshima is great as always. It's a shame that half of the soundtrack is just the vocal track.

However that is the only praise for it's story writing that I can give. The pacing is a mess. It poorly built up the read more
Jan 3, 2021
kiizato (All reviews)
*This review will cover the English version, as I prefer to watch dub vs sub. Spoilers ahead, though I try to be vague.*

I made the mistake of renting this movie, and I don't know what I miss more: my money, my time, or my sanity.

This movie is a mess from the start. Within the first twenty minutes, they establish a romance between the main characters, Hinako and Minato. It's cliche, predictable, and I found myself cringing. I can't understand how we, as the viewers, are supposed to feel emotionally invested, or even care about the characters when the movie speeds through their relationship, just read more