Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Top Secret: The Revelation


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Himitsu: Top Secret - The Revelation
Japanese: 秘密(トップシークレット) The Revelation

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2008 to Oct 1, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: VAP
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.371 (scored by 2,982 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #22712
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3596
Members: 15,112
Favorites: 64

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 13, 2010
Rakuen42 (All reviews)
Himitsu’s basic premise is interesting and makes good fodder for ideas. In the future, scientists have created a system to record and view people’s memories post-mortem. The world has entrusted this unique computer system to Japan’s Public Security Section 9. The men and women in this small department must examine the memories of murder victims to find the motive, means, and hopefully the assailant as well. They not only bring people to justice who might normally escape their crimes unscathed, but also learn about the thought process that goes into committing the crime so in the future they can prevent them. read more
Jun 25, 2011
IceAndCream (All reviews)
I read the compelling crime-drama josei manga “Himitsu” long before I tried the anime version. The manga was shocking, yet gripping. Steeped in mystery, crime, and violence, the horror was offset by high drama and Shimizu Reiko's beautifully drawn, lucid artwork. Never had skinned corpses looked so exquisite. And amidst the sacrifice of mind and even body, was a story of camaraderie: A small band of people supporting each other, clinging to what small shreds of sanity and human decency they could manage to keep.

I was afraid the anime would not communicate the strongest points of this powerful manga. I read more
Sep 3, 2013
Allografter (All reviews)
I've decided to review this hidden gem of a series as it needs more recognition. With less than 1500 users who have rated this series, there are many who are missing out.

As a fan of the mystery genre, I have seen a considerable number of anime which have attempted and failed in delivering genuinely interesting stories and those with surprising plot twists are rarer still. Himitsu - The Revelation excels in this.

The overall concept of the show is the development and existence of a 'Memory Reproduction Imaging system (MRI)' which is able to replay the images of memories. Suffice to say, this read more
Jul 1, 2015
gimelon (All reviews)
Like some of you (probably?), I decided to watch Himitsu: The Revelation because the reviews, no matter how rare they are, were pretty good, and the synopsis seemed quite interesting. I'm a big fan of thriller and psychological shows, and the Japanese are usually good with their detective stories.

I honestly think the only reason why I haven't given it a higher score is because this anime obvisouly needed more episodes, aka more depth. There are a lot of side stories (I'm pretty sure 75% of the episodes are side-stories), so much that I got a bit bored. These stories only last about one to read more
Feb 19, 2009
Jennifer32 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a really good anime it's kind of under rated to me because its pretty unique its about looking into the brains of the recently deceased to see memories prior to death to determine exactly how they died with the mri looking into the brain of a lunatic murderer sent maki(one of the main characters) bestfriend mad forcing him to kill him which is still haunting him they are some grisely murders scenes with some really psycho murderers but i wouldn't say this is the most violent show ever buts it makes you think which is good because you don't already know whats going read more
Mar 13, 2010
lisnoire (All reviews)
What if the police could look at the memories of dead victims and criminals? It would certainly provide clues for solving crimes but what other secrets would it reveal? What would be the consequences of seeing things never meant to be seen? And, of course, who would try to take advantage of the technology to serve their own ends?

Himitsu - Top Secret is episodic with an overarching plot line. Nice animation, good character development that could have gone deeper had the series been longer. There is a touch of romance and hints that the director is gay but neither is the focus.; There issome read more
Oct 20, 2013
Marthgun (All reviews)
If, like me, you were looking for a detective show to get high on, and you somehow stumbled upon this hidden gem, then allow me to share my experience.

first himitsu's premise is very solid compared to most anime, it is about a governmental group that takes deceased, high value criminal cases, extracts the murdered and murderers brains and plays back their minds eye.

so obviously this has some potential to be very interesting.

The story is episodic mainly, with small arcs, and an underlying main story that pervades throughout the series. It didnt really go where i thought it might, nor did it live read more
Jun 12, 2016
Tomboy (All reviews)
I had high hopes for this series since I had read the manga before and I'm really happy at what the anime accomplished. My review may seem vague but it is like that to prevent any spoilers from leaking out since revealing a spoiler would instantly spoil the experience for prospective viewers.

Starting with the story, it reminded me a bit like Ghost In A Shell and Psycho Pass because it involves a particular section of the police force fighting against crime in their own unique way. The Section 9 of Himitsu deals with investigating the memories of dead suspects or witnesses by hooking up read more
Jul 28, 2019
kanadarica (All reviews)
I bet people who say this anime is great haven't read the manga. I must admit that indeed this anime isn't bad IF you don't compare it with the manga. I might even give it a 7-8 score if I only watched the anime.

The manga is hundred times better and this anime just ruined it. It ruined their characters, the story, and many things. I won't talk about the art, sound, etc. What I'm gonna talk about is the comparison between the anime and the manga.

Most of the filler episodes are- how do I put it- shallow maybe? (Idk if I use the right word). read more
Oct 13, 2015
guddi (All reviews)
Watch it. Right now.

Whenever someone asks me to recommend them a mystery/psychological anime, Himitsu is always one that comes to my first. But then, it isn't something everyone will enjoy. At least I did. Don't drop it because it says "shoujo" because you won't even realise that you're watching a shoujo anime.(Shoujo anime are one of the most twisted afterall)

Imagine it is 2050 and someone is watching your brain after you die. Do you want them to? Do you think it would be fun to watch someone's whole life? Himitsu leaves you with many questions.

Himitsu is truly a hidden gem which is so well hidden, read more