Egao no Daika

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The Cost of Smiles, The Price of Smiles
Japanese: エガオノダイカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 4, 2019 to Mar 22, 2019
Premiered: Winter 2019
Broadcast: Fridays at 21:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Source: Original
Genres: MilitaryMilitary, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy, MechaMecha
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.071 (scored by 91469,146 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #77892
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2885
Members: 29,425
Favorites: 38
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 22, 2019
VentusBrawler (All reviews)
Egao no Daika is the most slept on show of the Winter 2019 anime season. This doesn't mean it's a masterpiece or anything, but I think this show has unjustly fallen under the radar of most of the anime community. This means it either has gone completely unnoticed by a majority of the anime community, and the few people that did watch it sell it far too short. I definitely believe this show should be given a chance by many anime viewers and I'm going to tell you why.

Egao no Daika is set in the future on another planet, where the population of planet read more
Jan 27, 2019
Ysad_Ziwezhan (All reviews)
Preliminary
I will write a short temporary review to let some few of you know why it might be worth your time trying to watch this anime.

You all know the saying "Don't judge a book by its cover". That's Egao no Daika.
Give it at least the 3 episodes rules.

I don't think this series is worth watching for the art, nor for the animation, nor for the character design,nor for the mecha tag, no, what makes this anime stands out is the narrative. When you look at the poster, when you only watch the first episode, when you see this naive 12 years old princess as read more
Mar 22, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
To me, science fiction and is a genre that has been somewhat underappreciated in our generation. It feels like many shows are treated as ticking time bombs that starts off with promise but eventually degenerates into a dumpster fire. Egao no Daika (The Price of Smiles) is an anime project serving as a celebration of Tatsunoko Production’s 55th anniversary. To celebrate, I should say The Price of Smiles should try to stand out as a show of its own and not be a clone of other similar popular works. What do we really get?

First impressions are important and with no doubt, war themes makes an read more
Jan 25, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Egao no Daika is an anime about this klutz loli princess who is ridiculously awkward and also 12, a dude who didn't make me question my sexuality but it's pretty clear he is questioning his with that fabulous hair, and a girl who wears glasses and has big boobs.

The series focuses on our trio (2 of the 3 to be precise) doing very important princess stuff like browsing tablets and making appearances on a public forum just to regret it 3 seconds later. Suddenly it's actually some type military mecha anime and I don't really know why, but apparently there are lots of political read more
Mar 22, 2019
AdolZeppeli (All reviews)
Is war really justified? Does human greed make up for the big mistakes humanity has done? Isn't there anything else we can do to avoid a major conflict? Many anime out there has touched the war topic trying to send a message to the viewer with its themes, Mobile Suit Gundam 00 comes to my mind as an example of what Egao no Daika might have been if things where handled better. And while Egao no Daika isn't bad, it still struggles with its theme that makes it look cheesy and minimized, yet, the message its still there.

Egao no Daika revolves around 2 different sides: read more
Mar 22, 2019
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
I do not understand why such wasteful shows like this one are made or even allowed to exist.

After what I’ve seen here, I think I’ve just about had it with these so-called “seasonal fillers”. This show just really gets me perplexed on so many levels that it’s not even funny. From what I’ve been told, this show, Egao No Daika (The Price of Smiles), was actually produced to commemorate the 55th anniversary of its producer Tatsunoko Productions, the very same studio that actually contributed to the likes of Neon Genesis Evangelion, Ping Pong The Animation, and the OG Macross series. However, this production, meant as read more
Jan 25, 2019
JocaThe (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is anime has been a conflict in my life, every single one of the 4 episodes is half terrible and half decent.
This anime got my attention just at the end of the second episode for the courage in what it did.
The third episode was the best until now, and the focus of the episode was not even the 'protagonist', was a completely new cast of characters.
In the fourth episode, they again make me bored for half of the episode wondering if I would drop the anime and then they throw me some secondary character backstory and make me intrigued again.

This is read more
Feb 8, 2019
gaussian_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm writing this review since I feel this show is significantly underrated. Why is the show underrated? 1 - The show looks like a shounen anime but isn't, and most people aren't good at suppressing their expectations in order to let the show tell its own story how it wants. 2 - The show has a war setting, but since the war is more of a backdrop some people get fed up with the poorly done military elements. Yes, they definitely should have paid some more attention to real tactics and worked a little harder to make everything realistic, but since read more
Mar 22, 2019
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
Ok. the setting was in some distant planet where mankind somehow developed the tech to terra form it some planet and from there they develop the technology to survive and thrive . But along the way, war ravages the entire planet between the Kingdom of Soleil and the Imperial Army of Grandiga, frankly when I watch this there were a couple of things that comes to my mind. First Star Wars, where we see Yuki being this Princess Leia and Joshua her Luke Sykwalker who suddenly has a death flag, 2nd Black Panter, the planet sit in a gold mine of a certain read more
Feb 15, 2019
Jorge24 (All reviews)
Preliminary
TLDR:
Story starts out slow and feels like a bunch of vanilla characters living in happy happy land.
Harshness of war is revealed, tragedies happen, pop-idol princess is forced to grow up, the story gets good.

While seemingly shallow at first, this anime gets really deep into the internal conflicts that arise within soldiers in a war-thorn situation. It asks questions such as what is "right"? and what is "wrong"? As the characters from both sides of the war are developed, you can't help but take a liking for characters of both sides. What once seemed like the enemy has been humanized by showing that the "bad guys" read more
Mar 22, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
What does it mean to smile? And what is the ultimate price to pay for even a smile on this war-ravaged planet?

This is the result of The Price of Smiles, Tatsunoko Production's 55th Anniversary original anime production, that goes far and beyond to emphasize it's "appearances are often misleading" metaphoric, and I can't really say that I've noticed it right from the start. As a whole, it felt underwhelming and while it delivered in its subtle storytelling, most people (like myself) will see this as an "other-worldly sci-fi" reign of usual tropes clashing together as one, and will only scratch the surface of the iceberg.

So read more
Mar 25, 2019
jimfaindel (All reviews)
In the end, The cost of smiles left me wanting to see more. It almost feels like there is an entire half missing to this story, yet the ride to the end was one I quite enjoyed.

I am not sure whether that story depicts more detailed mech battles and actually engages on the strategies the princess showed she could come up with at the start of the show, or maybe a more in-depth look at the psychology and morals of both cultures, their history and struggles, but if anything I have to commend the team behind this anime for managing to keep the story engaging read more
Mar 23, 2019
Papa_Pastry (All reviews)
Egao no Daika (The Price of Smiles) has to be one of my favorite anime of the winter 2019 season, not because it is a fantastic work with stunning visuals, a detail by detail plot and story, or flawless character creation and world building, but just because it's enjoyable, accurate to the subject, and there are clear developments that dont feel rushed along, as well, the name, The Price of Smiles, fits fantastically as the theme of the show.

The story told is about war, and it keeps the theme well, it doesn't sugar coat death, reason, or emotion, war is war and i felt that read more
Mar 22, 2019
Wastee (All reviews)
Up front Egao no Daika is nothing special. If you look at the raw of it, it's fairly entertaining but nothing special.

The reason I love this anime though is the message behind it, the problems with war - how war is sometimes necessary but other times useless. This overall message presented throughout the show is really striking to me and is a topic that should be discussed more especially the realness it portrays with killing off some key characters. The name of this show translated truly reflects all of this...The Price of Smiles.

I do wish it would not have been as rushed and we could read more
Feb 23, 2019
Yosarian (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, I appreciate what this show is trying to do. War is bad. I get it. The idea of showing all the horrible things we would do to make those we care about happy, only to make them cry in the end is a good thought to explore. The problem here is the execution.

Let's start with the strength of this anime, which is it's willingness to not hold back. Things happen to characters that you wouldn't expect, and characters act in manners you wouldn't expect in most anime. Unfortunately that's about the only strength the story had. The world building is simplistic to the point read more
Feb 11, 2019
Otorez (All reviews)
Preliminary
First review 12/02/2019, will contain minor spoilers. Final review below, you can skip the first one if you desire.

This anime gets me confused. At first, I grew disappointed by episode 1, which seemed to be setting up a futuristic kingdom, on another planet. No date is given and the only geographical evidence we have is that "these flowers used to grow up on Earth, our previous home".

Although it is fine not knowing much about where the story is placed (it remains an easy point to cover with sci-fi / futuristic animes : you don't have to give so many informations considering your universe is read more
Jun 20, 2019
aberuwu (All reviews)
Egao no Daika might appear as another generic Mecha anime, and it very well might be; however, there is something charming about it. While the mecha fights aren't anything spectacular, and the story isn't anything ground breaking, I still found great enjoyment from seeing how the story unfolds from the perspective of princess Yuki from the Kingdom of Soleil and Stella Shining from the Imperial Army of Grandiga. Both of these characters are of equal importance in this anime so the screen time is split between them allowing you to see how the war between both factions is impacting both sides.
I found both read more
Mar 22, 2019
Luciano_coh (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think you really need to like military stuff to enjoy this series. The plot is interesting because of the characters but also because of how it shows how harsh war is. I can understand why people is giving it a 6/10 but I dont think its fair, for me its a 9/10, solid 8/10 for sure. Like others pointed out, I think its very short. Characters look very enteresting, I wished their history was more developed but maybe they needed more episodes to do it. Also maybe some colours/vehicle designs could've be more realistic to fit the war enviorment. I hope it gets a read more
Mar 5, 2019
Spookie_Senpai (All reviews)
Preliminary
Surprisingly good. 7̶.̶5̶? Post-Finale Edit: The final few episodes of this anime and especially the last episode was really underwhelming. I give it a maybe a 6. It was honestly quite terrible really that ending.

There was so much potential, you couldn't really see how the outcome with how the battle is playing out, yeah it seemed pretty obvious which side was going to prevail but with how a lot of the events played out and the perspective of the other side it really made you wonder.

**This portion contains spoilers**
There were so many things rushed and we were teased with a Stella and Leila read more
Mar 1, 2019
MrBetelgeuseDesu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Watch for more than 1 episode before you vote guys. And to anyone looking at the score, ignore it. I almost dropped the show after the first episode, but once I'd watched the second episode I was hooked. I do not enjoy writing reviews before an anime ends, but I feel like this deserves it just to negate the untrue score that the anime has right now. It's a real shame that mal allows you to score an anime after only 1 episode. This is easily in my top 5 of this season. It's a breath of nostalgic air, being a form of mecha anime read more