Toaru Kagaku no Railgun T


A Certain Scientific Railgun T

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: A Certain Scientific Railgun T
Synonyms: Toaru Kagaku no Railgun 3, Toaru Kagaku no Choudenjihou 3, A Certain Scientific Railgun 3
Japanese: とある科学の超電磁砲[レールガン]T

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2020 to Sep 25, 2020
Premiered: Winter 2020
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, Super PowerSuper Power
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.221 (scored by 5605256,052 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2882
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1007
Members: 162,815
Favorites: 2,634
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 14, 2020
HEISENB3RG (All reviews)
Preliminary
The Review has been updated to include the end of the anime. Enjoy :)

As someone who has been a huge fan of the railgun/index series since the anime debuted a decade ago (yeah, I’m old as balls), you can bet that I was ecstatic at the news of both getting a continuation after so many years. However, after the shit show that was Index III, I was scared for the future of Railgun T dreading that it would receive the same horrible treatment from JC staff. Thankfully this fear was short lived when Tatsuyuki Nagai was announced to be continuing his duties as director read more
Sep 25, 2020
Stark700 (All reviews)
The idea of Railgun getting another anime adaptation is more than a blessing. Despite the 7 long years of waiting, we are once again greeted by another installation of the Raildex franchise. Being a spinoff of the original Index series, Railgun is no pushover when it comes to being a show of its own identity. Based on the manga, Railgun T is a breakout show of 2020.

Without further ado, we are reintroduced to Misaka Mikoto, the level 5 Esper, aka the Railgun of Academy City. She’s still the electrifying Misaka we all know from the previous seasons so don’t much expect change about her character read more
Sep 25, 2020
lt_wassile (All reviews)
Have you ever seen yourself in a scenario where you take the likings of the sidekick instead of the main character? Where you’re more hooked into the story and whereabouts of a secondary figure in the show instead of whoever plays the lead?
Certainly, it has happened to all of us at least once in our lifetime and, if you are this deep into this series, it’s obvious that it’s not your first time experiencing this, as we all know what has to be known: Misaka Mikoto is the real deal.

After 7 years of drought, the third installment of the series premiered in January and neither read more
Feb 14, 2020
TheZilla (All reviews)
Preliminary
For Index/Railgun fans who have been following since the debut of Toaru Majutsu no Index, anime or not, aren't you all excited for the new season of Railgun after literally a decade? Personally, I am not one of those people who have been following the Index series since that long time ago, however, a fan is still a fan no matter how old or new are you to the series isn't it?

With that being said, J.C. Staff honestly flopped season 3 of Toaru Majutsu no Index that was released just 2 years back during 2018. And then last year came Toaru Kagaku no Accelerator, was read more
Sep 25, 2020
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
Preface: A Certain Scientific Railgun has always been JC Staff’s favorite and most profitable series to adapt, the bias is quite real and very noticeable when any season of Railgun is compared to a season of Index or the new Accelerator anime. As expected, despite all the failures JC Staff recently had and even with the global pandemic that occurred while this was airing, Railgun T is still by far the single best thing made by JC Staff in years, not counting movies. This review will expand on why the anime adapt for Railgun T blows the other Toaru adapts out of the water and read more
Sep 25, 2020
Watame (All reviews)
In Toaru Kagaku no Railgun T, Mikoto Misaka and her friends prepare for the Daihasei Festival, a seven-day sports competition between different Esper schools, which, of course, also include the famous Tokiwadai middle school. Misaka and all other students of Tokiwadai are highly motivated and ready to do their best in the upcoming competition. However, all the fun ends, when another dark secret of the Academy City of Science and Technology is uncovered. What is this secret?

The universe of this series is tremendously huge: A Certain Magical Index, A Certain Scientific Railgun, A Certain Scientific Accelerator and many many more. Academy City is just read more
Feb 14, 2020
_Coywolf (All reviews)
Preliminary
Look if you like Railgun then you'll like this a lot. The story is set up well and the side characters are very well set up , they honestly have more development then some main characters in other series. CGI is still noticeable in this series but not nearly as much has past seasons, the backgrounds are still amazingly detailed and really help to show just how big the city is and of course this seasons railgun shots have looked amazing and highly detailed. The OP and ED of this season are arguably the best of the series and have a high production value to read more
Feb 14, 2020
YESTORAKS (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a conclusion to over a decades worth of storytelling, it's got a lot to live up to, and it's about as good as you could really hope for it to be. Overall, I really do like Railgun S better. At the end of the day, Railgun S was just a wildly new experience, it was such a gamechanger and crowd-pleaser. Not only that, Railgun S I think had a better final battle. This final battle, while boasting the biggest ensemble of Railgun heroes we've ever seen on screen, is weirdly dark and muddied in CGI scenery compared to the battle at Stadium (Final Arc read more
Sep 25, 2020
gaussian_ (All reviews)
Few anime are lucky enough to get two seasons, much less a third, especially when those seasons are spread out across more than a decade's time. There are numerous advantages to a long-form story in terms of ability to develop characters, flesh out the world, and create a complex plot, but there are as many if not more disadvantages. It takes true skill to maintain interest in a story without haring off after half-developed ideas and winding up in the swamp of plot holes and retcons. I'm glad to say that Toaru Kagaku no Railgun T is a shining example of the read more
Jul 2, 2020
Yuzu_Citrus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Unlike the total failure that was the third season of Magical Index, A Certain Scientific Railgun T delivers on what the fans want, more Railgun, and back better than ever. Everything about Railgun T is an improvement from the previous seasons to the animation, art, music, etc. The story and plot doesn't feel cut out and confusing, instead giving the viewer another fun experience with the familiar characters we have all come to love fighting against newer and tougher bad guys, and continue to develop and grow as characters with each other. Even side characters get their own time to shine in the spotlight in read more
Sep 25, 2020
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
By now, you know what you're getting out of Railgun. Slice of Life moments with the girls mixed with amazing action sequences and uncovering the mysteries of Academy City. Railgun T brings us back to the world of Toaru after a less than stellar 3rd season of Index and offers a return to form for the famed series. Railgun T takes everything that Railgun 1 and S had and cranks it up a notch, in the best possible way.

This season really does a great job of developing both Misaka and Misaki as well as laying the ground work for future events in the universe. read more
May 17, 2020
TheDegenerate (All reviews)
Preliminary
Short Review but the first 13 eps are amazing And I will tell you why! (And some minor spoilers.)

-The cast is still the same as 8-9 years ago.

-Kuroko became more a badass then a perv (not that it was bad or something but she is now really awsome)

-A amazing entrance of The railgun we all know.

- A new intressting Arc that is almost as good as the sister Arc.

- A cool intro.

- New amazing characters teaming up together
Spoiler: Touma and Gunha.

- Anamation again amazing.

- Touma also became more badass.

- And a bit more fanservice ;)

-And Our old villain is back...

So yeah I dont know read more
Jun 7, 2020
CookedChili (All reviews)
Preliminary
After watching Index, Railgun, Index II, Railgun S, Index III, I decided to catch myself up on the world of Railgun, Railgun T. So far, as only 15 eps have aired so far, I want to just say that this is the best season of the Toaru series as a whole. The first arc, without spoilers, is pure genius. Not only do you witness several of Academy City's Level 5 espers that have never had much screen time before, but many ideas and characters from previous seasons and series come back and are expanded upon greatly. As usual, the art is incredible, and the sound read more
Mar 3, 2020
Wirea (All reviews)
Preliminary
(A Certain Review from an LN and Manga Reader)

This is an adaptation that is long overdue, and right off the bat it quickly delivers the uniquely Railgun experience that has captivated millions of anime fans around the world (China really loves this anime for some reason).

Everyone and their mama agrees that the Sisters' Arc in Railgun Season 2 is some of the finest animation ever put on television, and guess what? We'll get another arc that is just as action-packed and just as filled with intrigue on Academy City's dark secrets. Enter the Daihasei Festival Arc.

Misaka Mikoto is just as good as ever, and her read more
Feb 29, 2020
harucute (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am very happy to watch the third season of the railgun! I love it! I like the first season but I think the second season is not so much. That is because the theme of this anime is friendship. The first part of Railgun S only focuses on the Kamijo Toma. Misaka ignores more important friend Uiharu, Saten, and Kuroko. However, Railgun T focuses on friendship again! We can also see friendship of Kongoumitsuko. That is what I wanted to watch! In terms of art, this must be a masterpiece. There are a lot of technic for taking watcher into this anime. For example, read more
Sep 26, 2020
DNGlist (All reviews)
plus point for JC Staff in making action anime

My expectations were high, because the railgun series was in the hands of JC.Staff had good progress, but I didn't expect it to be this good.
First, it is clear that the graphic improvements are very visible, indeed the range from Railgun S to Railgun T is 7 years, no wonder the upgrade is very visible in the graphics. I am waiting for the bluray, I hope the bluray version can be brighter, because the Railgun coloring is a little dull like foggy for the TV version.

There are no complaints for the song, all the railgun opening by read more
Jan 10, 2021
Scheveningen (All reviews)
Railgun T is a fantastic continuation to Railgun S that refines the formula the series has established. It is still exceedingly thematically robust, focusing on scientific research in Academy City having thrown ethics by the wayside. While certainly stronger than Railgun S, having adapted two full arcs without any anime-only stories, it still has some residue issues from the series as a whole. Despite that, it is undeniable that this is the Index franchise at its best, with Railgun's more upbeat adventure style merging with some of the darker and higher stakes elements of Index.

The first arc of the seasons covers the Daihasei Festival read more
Sep 26, 2020
Cosmic_Penguin (All reviews)
There's nothing happier in the anime world when you get a sequel of the very first TV anime series that you have finished, containing the no. 1 favorite anime character of all time, and the production team poured everything, every heart, every effort to ship out arguably the best season overall of a huge, long running series over a decade after its first anime adaptation, under some of the worst production environment one could face and a completely knocked out airing schedule with the most start-stops I have ever seen.

Allow me to paraphrase one review of a certain 10/10 rated game released in June this read more
Sep 25, 2020
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Tatsuyuki Nagai loves Railgun and boy does it show...

Toaru Kagaku no Railgun T leaves off where from the second season with the Daihasei Festival arc that brings Misaka and her friends into the Dark Side of Academy City...

All things considered Toaru Kagaku no Railgun T does a perfect job in giving us new characters and developing throughout this season and making us like them, be it if they are friends or rivals to Misaka whilst developing Misaka at the same time and that just made LA love Railgun T even more. Railgun T brings into light of Misaki Shokuhou voiced by Azumi Asakura, one of read more
Apr 14, 2021
miamiatzo (All reviews)
As a massive fan of this series (Railgun being actually my fav anime from all times), I couldn't be more excited to watch this season and it did not disappoint me, as always.

The first arc of Railgun T was even better than the Sisters' arc of Railgun S, and that's saying a lot! We got to see more of the characters and their development, including characters with previous no special highlight (like Awatsuki and Wannai) and characters we didn't like at all (like Shokuhou and Frenda). Railgun, as always, brings us those dark sci-fi themes of the scientific part of Academy City, filled with its read more