Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Seishun Buta Yarou wa Yumemiru Shoujo no Yume wo Minai


Alternative Titles

English: Rascal Does Not Dream of a Dreaming Girl
Japanese: 青春ブタ野郎はゆめみる少女の夢を見ない

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 15, 2019
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: CloverWorks
Source: Light novel
Genres: Comedy, Romance, School
Duration: 1 hr. 30 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.621 (scored by 6,054 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #662
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1286
Members: 81,866
Favorites: 537

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 19, 2019
TCTriangle (All reviews)
Going to keep this review short. For those who watched the anime series, you already know what you're getting yourself into. All the girls make an appearance and have some sort of role in the story. The main stars, however, are main girl Mai and the mysterious Shouko. And boy, do both of these girls know just what to say and do to pull on the heartstrings of not only MC Sakuta, but also the audience. Both of the girls get fully fleshed out over the course of the movie, and satisfied fans may gain (or keep) some waifus by the end.

As for the story, read more
Jul 18, 2019
YuukiTanaka2019 (All reviews)
From Japanese fan. Plz forgive my poor English.
I'd like to avoid spoilers as well as I can.

Everything was awesome. Truths about Shouko are told with comfortable speed, with absorbing mood,with beautiful musics.
And those truths are so touching... I could't help shedding tears over and over again. Most of audience was looked moved and weeping like me.

I really liked protagonist Sakuta already then, but I even respected Sakuta after he knew Shouko's truth and behaved for her sake. And Mai, she already said 'I love Sakuta than he thinks so' in series, but I almost cried how she showed her love for Sakuta among this read more
Oct 2, 2019
Krispier (All reviews)
This movie is just as good as the first two arcs of the show. The show did get weaker in the later arcs, but this one didn't follow that. It has a lot of good moments and reveals, although it does get confusing. Very strong film, but the ending feels weak. Mai-san is as waifu as ever, and most of the other girls have solid moments. It's dialogue heavy, but it's worth it to pay attention. Still don't understand why this arc needed to be made into a movie, but the length feels about right. Overall, a good addition to the Bunny Girl Senpai story.
Aug 17, 2019
imnotamoocow (All reviews)
Rascal Does Not Dream of a Dreaming Girl was an exceptional adaption. I went to the fan preview of this event and if I'm being honest I came into the cinema with not the worlds highest expectations, expecting the movie to be fan service. However, I was gratefully shocked.


The story of the movie was very well versed in its ever-present wit while continuing along with a similar path to the anime, however, it did not get constrained by the events within the anime instead taking its own direction. The constant humour displayed a conscious self-awareness of itself and the animes own limitations/flaws making a read more
Oct 11, 2019
Preachee (All reviews)
This review contains spoilers.


I wasn’t anticipating this. I wasn’t having high expectations for it. I did not even feel one bit of hype. But for some reason, I decided to go out with my friends and watch this movie. Expectations were low, yet this movie still somehow managed to exceedingly dismay me. No I’m being way too generous. This movie just took a full shit on my face, and squandered my precious wherewithal and time. I’m not even slightly surprised of the 8.65 rating, yes not even the slightest. Seeing all the 10-rated reviews, I could not possibly make mine any short. Anyway, let’s dive read more
Aug 17, 2019
Prefixed (All reviews)
Most of the girls are in this show but the two main characters would be Sakuta and Shouko, which was left sorely lacking in the TV series. A moderate development is left to Mai. This show explores the link between them and the paradoxical nature of Shouko's version of Puberty Syndrome. The show further develops Sakuta's nature(as if he's not fleshed out enough) and Shouko.

The VA is well done, with the character's personality and emotions being brought out by simple vocal sounds. Furthermore, this show depicts out a side that you've never seen before in Sakurajima Mai.

For the most part, this show is read more
Oct 3, 2019
Cheesefry1 (All reviews)
Every now and then I will be so excited about something coming out only to be let down by the adaptation. After not knowing what to expect from the Bunny Girl anime going into it initially, like most i thought fan service, I was blown away by the show and everything about it, only wanting to delve deeper into the story. As someone who had knowledge of what was going to happen going into the theater last night to watch the movie. I was skeptical that it wouldn't live up to what I wanted. Lets just say my skepticism was way off the mark. Clover read more
Oct 4, 2019
KaiKawasumi (All reviews)
I will keep this short, to the point, and will try to avoid any major spoilers.

There is nothing particularly wrong with this movie in a vacuum. While I found it's writing to not be as sharp as the writing in the show, I still found the movie relatively enjoyable. The problem I have with this movie is that it seemed to cross the line of influence and homage and came off as a derivative of The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya. The Disappearance movie is my favorite thing in the world, I have seen it several times, and I couldn't help but notice way too read more
Oct 3, 2019
jgaaar (All reviews)
Story: 8
Art: 10
Sound: 10
Character: 10
Enjoyment: 8
Overall: 9

This review should be spoiler free.

Overall, the film performed above my own expectations coming in. It's hard to explain the nitpicks that I have with the film without delving too far into spoiler territory, however. Let's just say the film utilizes a narrative plot device that can go much too wrong far too quickly. However, I do believe the film emulated its tone perfectly, despite obvious plot holes or cliches.

This series is a very character driven one, and the characters really carry their own emotional burdens with them, and act upon them believably. I sense the naivete in every read more
Oct 2, 2019
PriusKiller2 (All reviews)
This will be the first review I have ever written so forgive me if it might not be the most professional or well written review you've seen on this site like in the case of Lyter or Ryuseishun but regardless here goes nothing.

The sequel to the original TV series that aired in Fall 2018 Rascal Does Not Dream of a Dreaming Girl is certain a marvelous movie and a must watch if you're a fan of the Bunny Girl Senpai movie. This movie is to Bunny Girl Senpai fans what the Disappearance of Haruhi movie is to Haruhi fans. (By the way one of my read more
Oct 2, 2019
sfumato (All reviews)
Potential spoilers.

Short Review:
If you liked the series, you'll like this movie.


Longer Review:
This was a satisfying continuation of the story we saw in the TV series that aired last fall: the truth behind Shoko and Sakuta's relationship is fully revealed.

Like in the TV series, the story arc starts strong but drags towards the end* and also seems suspiciously derivative of other anime {Steins;Gate, Angel Beats, Monogatari, Makoto Shinkai's stuff}. Despite potentially derivative elements, we're given a presentation that's uniquely Bunny Senpai, so I won't harp on this too much.

The animation and sound design weren't anything to write home about (they basically match the TV anime quality, read more
Oct 2, 2019
FishSenseii (All reviews)
I certainly am not giving it an overall 10 because I am a fan of this series, but in my books it hits all key notes to a great story!

It's about a two hour long movie, adapting both volume 6 and 7 of Hajime Kamoshida's Seishun Buta Series' light novels. In a shorter sentence the last volumes of the light novel series.

I won't give any spoilers either but I found the movie fantastic!! Of course to those who watched the anime series we already knew what we were getting into! This psychological, supernatural love anime was just too good to not let go! read more
Oct 8, 2019
JeffBusPie (All reviews)
MUST WATCH if you enjoyed the anime, overall it rounds off the current light novel series very well. It had a touch of Steins;Gate on it, but adapted it quite well, providing a balance lewd and comedic humor with emotional scenes it's for sure a great emotional roller coaster

It does a wonderful job at aiming toward, development of the character with dialogue being voice acted very well huge props to them for conveying the feelings so well. The art in this case at the end it sorta lacked from Cloverworks was overall very pleasing for the majority of the movie especially when it came to read more
Oct 3, 2019
KaiserSebastian (All reviews)
I just came back from the US release of the movie in my area, and I can say that this movie completely moved me. It not only plays with your emotions so god damn much, but I came out really cherishing some of my friendships after experiencing the story. I completely recommend this to anyone that is a fan of the series, or people who are just getting into it. Much of the audience laughed at many of the jokes throughout the film and at suspenseful moments everyone was dead silent. My only regret is not being able to grab my friends to go with read more
Oct 6, 2019
Shiki278 (All reviews)
Spoiler-Free

If you haven't seen the TV series, you may end up being a bit confused at some of the things that happen but you should be able to follow along, and there is still a high chance that you'll love the movie.

As for those who have seen the series, I think they know what to expect, but I personally felt that this movie was much better than the series, even with some of it's plot decisions.

Art and Sound is pretty much the same as the series, which is to say, pretty great but not outstanding (except the ED, which I have probably listened to a read more