Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Maou-sama, Retry!


Alternative Titles

English: Demon Lord, Retry!
Japanese: 魔王様、リトライ!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2019 to Sep 19, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: EKACHI EPILKA
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.521 (scored by 14,864 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #59432
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1466
Members: 69,030
Favorites: 235

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 24, 2019
Mythologically (All reviews)
Preliminary
Are you tired of unoriginal isekai LN adaptations being continuously pumped out each season? Do you take 40 minutes out of each day to complain about how trash isekais are on the MAL forums? Well, don't fucking watch them then. Seriously, why are you watching them? Go watch Dr. Stone or Vinland Saga. There's plenty of good anime to watch this season.

Anyway, Maou-sama, Retry! is the savior of this dying genre. In a world where we have isekais that are unironically garbage, Maou-sama is ironically garbage. This show is literally KonoSuba except it was animated by two-year-old children. Maou-sama is clearly self-aware of how bad read more
Jul 25, 2019
Shakbar659 (All reviews)
Preliminary
every once in a while comes an anime so bad that should really be stopped before the season ends. Maou-sama, Retry is definitely this one.

if you ask me what anime is this similar to then i'll say Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyousoukyoku.
because of the Generic story and cliche settings.
also reminds me of an Overlord rip-off but not in a good way, more like a "cheap chinese product i bought in 1$ in the internet" kind of way.


*I don't think i can make spoilers to such a cliche story but be warned anyway*



the most annoying thing about this anime is the music and sounds. it read more
Jul 25, 2019
DrAkiMakura (All reviews)
Preliminary
There comes a time in every otaku's life where the show they watch TRULY leaves an impact on them.
How often can one say that happens? Once? Twice? Three times, if ever?
I never would have expected to write a review for a show, but here I am— shaking and utterly dumbfounded— by how wrong my initial judgement was.

Isekai? I'll pass. Overrated and over-saturated. Oh boy, oh boy...

The main character of the show is cool as @#$!. I won't even waste time describing him in too much detail; there's too much to cover— just watch it for yourself. He wears a suit, a red read more
Jul 25, 2019
TheGayOne (All reviews)
Preliminary
Maou-sama Retry! is another generic isekai demon lord show only this time with the Demon Lord acting as a father figure for one of the characters.

The onoriginal plot could have been enjoyful but the art, sound and characters are all pretty afwul. The art looks nice at first but when fight scenes or just about any other scene that doesnt involve standing and talking come up it fails to deliver. The music is very repetitive and doesnt fit the mood a lot of times, it just ends suddenly or it goes on for too long. The characters are all pretty bland.

Our main character, the read more
Aug 1, 2019
Plk_Lesiak (All reviews)
Preliminary
I feel weird defending this show, because it's not good. More than that, by any reasonable definition it's pretty awful. It's basically an Overlord rip-off, playing on the same themes of an experienced player being sucked into a dying MMO, having to adapt to the new world and the ridiculous persona/gameworld elements he created for himself. It's animated and produced very cheaply, not being even close as colourless and pathetic as Isekai Cheat Magician, but still pretty damn bad.

On the other hand, it's extremely self-aware and genuinely hysterical with how purposefully dumb and juvenile it is. I think one thing people completely miss is the read more
Jul 24, 2019
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
Preliminary
This isekai is a fabulous gem
Because it contains a kawaii blonde Rem
So for that alone you should give this a whirl
Since Rem is obviously best girl

No, wait, this anime really is a magical ride
It’s somehow able to make you die on the inside!
It contains basically every isekai trope
which makes it totally dope

The writing is akin to a horrible fanfic
And I’m still suspicious that blonde Rem might have a dick
There’s also a trap and a maddo saientisto
Who is obviously better than Okabe Rintarou

There’s also a spanking scene
It’s sexy and obscene
Right out of a 12 year old’s wet dream
God, why does this show exist?

The animation read more
Sep 18, 2019
Hajictan (All reviews)
So why would I give this anime a rating of 7 overall, meaning that I find it good, while it mostly is cliche?

The reason of it is the anime has embraced it so much that it became funny instead of trying to be good it became cliche, so cliche that it became funny... Yes this anime made me laugh made me enjoy those 20 minutes every Wednesday, it didn't have an epic story, the characters were simple, the budget was not high, the effects were nothing new often even bad, and yade yade yada...

anime should not have top notch quality, the best story ever written, read more
Sep 18, 2019
Inferno792 (All reviews)
Ah, another Isekai anime. Every season, we get a fair share of these that try too hard to be good but have the same crappy plot, clichés and narrative. 99 % of them fall flat on their faces. Some get popular, getting new seasons which repeat the same story with differently characters. These characters are different in name only, as their personality traits follow the same path as the ones that came before.

I saw a meme the other day which had a girl reading an isekai which she apparently found decent and asking if she could get to read something similar. The following panel read more
Sep 18, 2019
Bufuman (All reviews)
Don't waste your time.

I'm generally pretty tolerant of tropes and standard isekai plots, but I could barely stomach this series. The only reason I managed to reach the final episode of the season is unyielding stubbornness, and I deeply regret not giving up sooner.

The plot goes absolutely nowhere for every single episode. The main character wanders about aimlessly, finds people who are jobbing to monsters or "powerful" opponents, and defeats them effortlessly so people can worship him. When he's not doing that, he's collecting a loli harem and doing poor, meandering world-building that doesn't really teach you anything about the world itself (I assume this read more
Jul 30, 2019
Burning_Light (All reviews)
Preliminary
·Story: 3/10

The plot is nothing new to see. It's the typical isekai that combined different aspects from other similar animes.

For example, servants that are in Maou-sama are pretty similar to Overlord (Another isekai) but with the fact that the mc needs points to call them. Apart from this there are many similarities to other shows that I won't be saying.

·Art: 3/10

Art in general is really poor. Backgrounds haven't got any details and the characters don't have a lot of quality.

However, what makes its art poor are the fight scenes, which in my opinion are the most important thing in this type of read more
Jul 27, 2019
Qzhuo (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Last paragraph TLDR) Maou-sama Retry is honestly a work of art. It's like an 80 year old borderline insane professor that says "fuck it" whenever he has to show up to lecture, giving the most unimaginably unenthusiastic and bland lecture that would put my dead grandpa to sleep a second time. Well, this anime said "fuck it" and decided to throw out an isekai into the fray. It hurts so much to watch that it's a literal masterpiece of its own type.

Maou-sama has zero expectations for the viewers
Maou-sama does not bother with putting in that extra effort to pander to the viewers
Maou-sama simply doesn't give read more
Sep 18, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
The floodgate of isekai anime continues to remain open and from it, more and more isekai gets introduced every year. The latest entry to join this long list is Maou-sama Retry! (Demon Lord, Retry!) Let me just say that the fantasy and adventure genre seems to have some sort of marriage relationship with isekai. Almost every one of these tends to drop a protagonist into some unknown world and we follow their adventure. The idea of that world being connected to an MMROPG is recycled idea used over and over again.

At first glance, this show may evoke some memories for those who are familiar read more
Sep 18, 2019
RPWPA (All reviews)
Maou-sama, Retry is the combination of every Isekai cliche you could see, from the overpowered MC to the harem forming part, it embraces evrey cliche you could think of and yet for some reason, I found myself enjoying it. The idea of an anime using nothing but cliches and building a world with it seems fascinating to me for some reason and the fact the MC acknowledges all that and acting different helps create more diverse scenes than lots of other Isekai anime.

This is an over the top kind of anime, it doesn't take itself seriously and though that doesn't necessarily make an anime read more
Sep 11, 2019
Empyreanpain (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL;DR - Don't drop this anime because of the poor artwork and apparent rip off of other Isekai. It actually gets really good. It's worth watching. I personally enjoyed it immensely.

Did you give up on this anime when you realised it was an amalgamation of just about every other Isekai out there? Or maybe you had enough of it when you saw how piss-poor the backgrounds were. Or maybe even the sound. Or the poor animation.

I almost did. I'm so glad I kept watching. Yeah, this anime does feel like it copied a lot of its content from other Isekai such as Overlord and Konosuba, read more
Aug 5, 2019
grazr (All reviews)
Preliminary
The first episode exists as a foundation for the rest of the show, setting the premise, rules and introducing characters. There's not much to be said here and it's easy to get a bad impression because of the below average art. The second episode is where we start to see the real valuable goods on offer and what to expect later. The comedy. The subversion of expectations. The bland pastry of the isekai premise is encrusted with the caramel jewels of witty writing and excellent voice acting.

The art is moderate, varying passable/good at key points and the main characters and their designs to below average read more
Sep 16, 2019
TheTexhnolyzed (All reviews)
Preliminary
Summer 2019 has dropped a lot of garbage isekai anime. This is one of them. Maou-sama, Retry! is your typical harem, ecchi garbage that has zero originality and inspiration. It is just pure cringefest with subpar animation. The character interactions are pure fanservice. It is basically 11 episodes (on the time of this review) of girls clinging to MC because...he is the MC. Godawful, uninspired writing. The story is basically non-existent. It could work sometimes that an anime has no story but in here, it doesn't. The show doesn't even have a goal. To "develop" the harem maybe but is that acceptable for me, a read more
Sep 13, 2019
blaice (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you are tired of isekais I understand. If that is the case maybe stray from the genre a bit, but if you find some of them enjoyable that don't take to the standard mold, this one may be for you.


which isekai has a 40 year-old as the main protagonist? This one. That alone makes it more appealing IMO. However, beyond that it takes a minimal look at the battle-type isekai and instead focuses on micro and macro-management. Rather than destroying and dominating by force the MC wants to establish a rapport and build.

I find it enjoyable and I read more
Jul 24, 2019
Eleiyas (All reviews)
Preliminary
Episodes seen: 4.

Story: 7 (could be a 6)
Art: 3
Sound: 6
Characters: 6
Enjoyment: 7

Overall: 7
---------------------

This anime was summed up almost perfectly by a comment I saw on some anime website (not MAL) and it is this:
" This anime is the bastard child of {Overlord} and {How Not To Summon A Demon Lord}".

ALMOST!

My own take is that this anime is the bastard child of "Death March to the Parallel World Rhapsody" and also "How Not To Summon A Demon Lord".

With hints of Overlord and Re:Zero thrown in for good measure.

---------------------

1 - Death March:

Well, the premise here is that the MC is OP as heck as he is the read more
Sep 20, 2019
Grizzziff (All reviews)




Maou-sama, Retry! is an Isekai anime released at a time when the world considers Isekai a guilty pleasure for people with bad taste. They often carry preconceived prejudice of all the Isekai that have come before them. The burden is heavy, but it makes any success the content offers all the sweeter.

read more
Sep 20, 2019
robert788 (All reviews)
Maou-sama, Retry! (2019)

This series is actually quite good for an Isekai because although it isn't very different from our main protagonist being overpowered insanely it is played out a bit better. This time although our main character has massive strength that makes most fights laughably easy overall the MP has got weaknesses he is going to try and prevent from hurting him. This is unusual since normally if any weakness it is not very major. The story itself has a nice flow and does cover good content in a good flow.

The art used is not anything special but then it is also good for read more