Houkago Saikoro Club


After School Dice Club

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: After School Dice Club
Synonyms: Houkago Saikoro Kurabu
Japanese: 放課後さいころ倶楽部

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2019 to Dec 19, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2019
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:15 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: LIDENFILMS
Source: Manga
Genres: GameGame, ComedyComedy, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.721 (scored by 1235812,358 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #48062
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2754
Members: 33,850
Favorites: 47
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 18, 2019
Xiaraith (All reviews)
Friendship through the power of board games - a board-gamified review of Houkago Saikoro Club

(this review is structured and meant to be read as if it was a board game manual)

-- General game info --
> game idea and concept by Xiaraith
> inspired by LIDENFILMS
> original story and art by Nakamichi Hiroo
> for any player count, age 13+
> Playing time: 5 minutes, potentially leads to another game of 276 minutes

-- Game Material --
> models of 3 girls, board game shop, manager
> locked boxes to be opened when instructed
> decision board, pawn

-- Game Setup --
Prepare the game by taking the two models of the read more
Oct 24, 2019
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Underrated Gem of the season. Wholesome, the anime.

Houkago Saikoro Dice club is not an anime that will blow you away in terms of quality, plot, direction, etc. However, what it excels at is being a very relaxing and enjoyable time, which is why it earns a 10 from me. I base my ratings on my overall enjoyment of a series, I don't care about super complex things that you may see in other reviews. Now that that's out the way, let's get into explaining the series.

Dice club starts off with Aya having recently moved to Kyoto and looking for new friends, she ends up encountering read more
Dec 18, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
The foundation of Houkago Saikoro Club (Afterschool Dice Club) is based on tabletop games in the form of card games, board games, and of course, dice games. Chances are that you played a tabletop game at least once in your lifetime, whether it’s between friends or family. Hiroo Nakamichi manages to create a manga about tabletop game culture and to my delight, this is a slice of series I can recommend to just about anyone.

To start off, you don’t need to be a fan of tabletop games to really enjoy the show. I haven’t played tabletop games in a long time but had no problem read more
Oct 31, 2019
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Surprised this isn't higher than it is. While sure it's not an 8, a 9, or a 10. But it's certainly a 7 in my books. A simple concept of board games can be real interesting.

Again, it could be just tastes. But this is a lot better than the rating it is given. The characters are rather cute with how their portrayed and look. With relatable characteristics you see in every day life honestly, that aren't annoying in any stretch that could ruin the experience. As it doesn't here. From shy and timid, to one that is energetic and so on. Great characters overall.

It read more
Nov 2, 2019
Yuri-Crusader (All reviews)
Preliminary
Welcome to my review of Houkago Saikoro Club! This review contains minor spoilers!!



Miki are a very shy and insecure girl who rather keep to herself! Sadly she got bullied in her early years. And later in high school she rejected invitations on social activities with her classmates. And because of her odd behaviour, and that she try to close herself in!! Avoiding places where people are gathering and are unwilling to take part of the world outside, I think she may suffer from a mild form of autism!!



Aya on the other-hand are a very enthusiastic social and positive young lady! She have recently moved read more
Dec 18, 2019
Fircoal (All reviews)
Houkago Saikoro Club is a simple show that manages to succeed with its accurate representation of playing board games along with the character development and heartwarming interactions that are brought on by these games. There are lots of fun moments that can happen during a board game and the show does a good job of communicating these moments and showcasing the fun, glory, and growth that they get from playing these games.

The characters in Saikoro Club are generally well developed and showcase a good example growth that is tied in well to the subject matter that is being focused on. In the case of read more
Dec 18, 2019
RPWPA (All reviews)
Anime which focuses on 1 idea can go one of 2 ways, it can be entertaining and fun to watch or it can be extremely boring. Thankfully, Houkago Saikoro Club was closer to the first one here. It wasn't the best but it was still a very good watch.

I really liked how the anime presented psychological issues even if it didn't necessarily deal with all of them. The fact that it had characters talking and experiencing very heavy stuff like the feeling of being left out, fear of the future and the fear of having no dream or passion in anything is something that read more
Dec 20, 2019
henkuku (All reviews)
On the surface, this may seem like another one of those usual shows where you have cute girls doing cute things for club activities at school. I mean, I get it. If the show was only about girls playing board games and nothing else, you’d probably get pretty board of it early on, right? Okay, that was a bad one…

But, anyway. It isn't, it's better than the usual ones. And I’m here to briefly convince you guys that it is. So let’s jump right into it.

As the synopsis mentions, Houkago Saikoro Club begins when three girls meet and come together by chance to start read more
Dec 19, 2019
robert788 (All reviews)
Houkago Saikoro Club (2019)

Beginning with a sad story of an introverted girl due to the bullying she faced from her shyness. She has little in the way of friendship but this changes with the arrival of Aya. Later Midori and Emilia join the fold too. They all share a past time going through the series with analogue games. Miki the introverted girl meets various people and solves a few misunderstandings with some pointless romance devices shown. Pointless because they are barely touched, they could have been not shown and the show would hardly change.

Initially, I thought this would be a hidden gem, however, I, read more
Dec 2, 2019
YayaBunWa (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’m kind of disappointed by both the current reviews (except the first one - “wholesome” this show is, indeed) and the LACK of ‘current’ reviews. Thing is: ‘topping off’ at the 4th episode, why isn’t this show garnering more attention and reviews further than that? I’m very confused by this, and you can bet I’ll darn-well explain why:

So, firstly, I don’t expect my review to change between this point in the season and ‘by the end of the season’. It has been extremely consistent and, frankly, I’d almost bet my life that it’ll continue to uphold its standards of storytelling, animation, (mediocre) sound design, whatever read more
Dec 18, 2019
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Board games is probably not the most mainstream hobby out there but in my experience, it is one of the best social experiences you can have with your friends. For the past 5-6 years now I've regularly hosted board game nights at home with my former high school classmates and it's one of our most regular ways to hang out and reasons to meet. Board games are a great way to interact with each other in a fun, intelligent and rewarding way which also offers flexibility and versatility, and just in general it's one of the most social experiences you can have. I just wish read more
Dec 18, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
The effects of CGDCT (Cute girls doing cute things) and SoL (slice-of-life) can be found almost vastly within different narratives, whether is it in sources where there exists girls doing something they didn't think they would do or being forced to do, but it grows on them so much that it becomes a pastime or a hobby pretty much most of the time. This is also the case with Houkago Saikoro Club, a cast of seemingly random girls doing a Meetup session for people with similar interests, and bonding friendships together within that span of interest.

So first off, to explain this series in simpleton form, read more
Dec 18, 2019
youdeli2 (All reviews)
Houkago Saikoro Club, or After School Dice Club, was a refreshing anime, and an overall nice change of pace. I love serious animes with life or death stakes, as much as the next guy, but, I loved having a show this season where the biggest stakes at hand, were simply who would win the board game the girls were playing that episode.

Past that though, Koukago Saikkoro Club is something more, there appear to be a lot of life lessons embedded within the simplistic nature of this anime, leaving you feeling good and refreshed, and even at times, looking up from something that might be bothering read more
Apr 16, 2020
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Follow along the tranquilizing story and learn about different types and kinds of board games with a group high school of girls! This is Houkago Saikoro Club ( Afterschool Dice Club ), an anime about high school girls playing board games!

As simple as the anime may sound. After School Dice Club actually holds a strong sense of Slice of Life despite not being categorized as one. It could also be reckoned as a CGDCT & Soft Yuri due to how much moe and insignificant teases the show gives off in spite of the fact that the characters look mature and "friendly".

This anime shows read more
Jan 10, 2020
kawaii123456 (All reviews)
Do you remember Chip and Dale, the worlds most polite and considerate squirrels ? Next up think of Pollyanna the most optimistic girl in the world, toss in Louisa May Alcott's little women blend a little, dumb it down, toss in some do your best to overcome obstacles messaging, last a little gaming and you have After School Dice Club. If you think you would want to watch something like that Dice Club might be for you. The rest of this review is about why it wasn't for me.


First up, I don't think I have ever seen anything aired that had so read more
Dec 28, 2019
LeoneMirajane (All reviews)


Story:
I missed some parts in it. There was this feeling like something more should be made of it but then the Anime was over. It still got a 9 from me, because it was still a little but nice story and I loved the concept a lot.

Art:
I have nothing to complain about it but it also wasn't outstanding or something special. It was nice, but that's all. (Not that that's a bad thing)

Sound:
It was ok.

Character:
I loved most of the characters but the most of them weren't unique. You saw the same type of this character allready in other Animes. And I would have liked to read more
Dec 3, 2019
RadMillennial (All reviews)
Preliminary
First and foremost, this is a typical "cute girls doing cute things" slice of life anime. While it's not an absolute CGDCT series due to a few male supporting characters in the cast, the vast majority of the series revolves around three and later on, four cute schoolgirl characters.

In my opinion, the main character's moe factor is off the scales. She is initially shy and a loner until she makes friends through the playing of German board games.

Each episode, they play a different board game and the rules of the game are explained before they play so you can follow along.

There's not much of a read more
Dec 18, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Asobi Asobase's more tame Board Game variant.

Houkago Saikoro Club is by the by a very wholesome anime about an afterschool board game club, wherein Miki Takekasa voiced by Saki Miyashita being extremely shy and anti-social due to a childhood trauma keeps to herself, until Aya Takayashiki voiced bu Marika Kouno sweeps her away as she befriends Midori Oono voiced by Miyu Tomita the class rep of their class and works at a board game shop. With these three they inadvertently play games after school and deepens friendship with board games.

Houkago Saikoro Club does two things, character growth and board games. So first let's talk about read more
Feb 7, 2020
Pixeldrum (All reviews)
Preliminary
When you have an anime about a club or sport, there are in general, two ways to go about it. Have it be focused on the sport in terms of competitiveness (Ex: kuroko no Basket) or have it be about more of the character interaction and in a club/sports environment (asobi asobase, Sket Dance, etc etc).
This anime obviously takes the latter route. However, it stands to my attention that this show has absolutely no good character development, personalities, and to pair it off, pretty terrible dialogue and story arcs.
It takes a lot of basic and archetypal characters, and does not do a lot with them. read more
Jul 1, 2020
Worinof (All reviews)
if only there's more execution in the story I would give this 9-8

Let's make it simple.
This Anime gave me a slight interest in Tabletop games. I like how they briefly explain every game they play, and yes the games they played are real. so you could actually play it with your friend (in real life, if you have any)

but it isn't only about school girls playing tabletop games. I really love how they put a splash of romance, flashback, a blonde foreigner (like always), and anxiety~

it's like when the first time you cook, you just put and mixed everything up. And it didn't turn out read more