Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekinai


Alternative Titles

English: We Never Learn
Synonyms: BokuBen, We Can't Study
Japanese: ぼくたちは勉強ができない

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2019 to Jun 30, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.431 (scored by 45,448 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19502
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #919
Members: 117,187
Favorites: 624

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 2, 2019
Sin_shadow1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Probably the most underrated anime this season, and definitely not your average harem. Relative to the genre standard, character's have depth and heart. MC is not a loser or neanderthal, and girls are not over-the-top in love with him. Situations manage to be outrageous without being contrived, and funny without relying on cringe. Obviously this show is quite lighthearted and simplistic, but I think here that manages to be a good thing, allowing for a larger emphasis on the characters and their interactions. Sound was fine, though I honestly don't understand why that's a category that seems to carry weight around here in the first read more
May 9, 2019
Crims0nBlad3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
(first review btw)
Overall, I love this so far. The main reason I love this is that it gives off major Nisekoi vibes, which is like my 4th fav anime. And im sure if you've watched/loved Nisekoi, this is a definite watch. A lil romcom with some harem aspects and a similar art style makes Bokutachi and Nisekoi siblings lmao. I think the pacing is great so far, and all the characters got me yearning for another episode. The opening is also outstanding (in my opinion). Animation quality is also very good, for example, in the opening at 0:45, the way Takemoto swims backwards, twiddling with read more
May 5, 2019
dnpdn (All reviews)
Preliminary
With decreasing quality of general animes recently on top of being harem genre which is popular yet to be understimated this anime show promising quality on it's own. It's not spectacular but clearly beyond average. The arts look consistent as far as the episodes goes. The sound is good and the voice acting is surprisingly well matched with the characters albeit the actors isn't that well-known (at least for me). But the most I'm impressed with is how the story is being VERY well directed. It's comes natural and enjoyable without missing beats. It's long in the past for me to remember the story details read more
Jul 22, 2019
Maurice_5 (All reviews)
So, basically Go-Toubun again? Sounds good to me...

We Can't Study is... well, it's hardly original, we can say that much. Those who followed Winter 2019's Go-Toubun no Hanayome will find the premise eerily familiar - although in truth neither manga is 'ripping off' the other, as they started serialisation at pretty much the same time and the authors are known to be friends. Despite the surface similarities, however, BokuBen takes itself in much more of a lighthearted direction, with the focus on comedy, character gags and unlikely conicidences rather than Go-Toubun's heavy character drama...

...which meant this was always going to have to read more
Jul 21, 2019
xxHydronxx (All reviews)
It's Very Entertaining.
This is one of those anime that you watch to lighten up your mood and forget all the bad stuff about your life.
I suggest you give it a try. Despite its harem tag, it's a very enjoyable anime.

Story(8/10)-
This not one of the anime that you watch for the story. Rather it's for the enjoyment. But the story is good. In a good way, it's very much different from other harem anime. It does get annoying with the classing harem tropes but the comedy balanced it really well. All the characters get together and do enjoyable and funny stuff together.
But I felt the pacing read more
Jul 16, 2019
Zentosa (All reviews)
For a classic RomCom, this anime doesn't do too bad compared to the other competitors in the genre. For me however, nothing really stood out in this anime even though I did somewhat enjoy it.

Story 4/10
For a RomCom, the story is there but is quite lackluster in my opinion. And while the story doesn't always have to be the main focus as this is also a slice of life, there are small story arcs scattered throughout the anime which I believe are sometimes poorly done. Nevertheless, the score for story shouldn't really affect much about this anime.

Art 7/10
The art was above average compared read more
Jul 10, 2019
Kiriikun (All reviews)
One of the greater Harems out there, at first I thought it would be boring seeming as there are using studying and such as their base for the series and the main character being smart, but I'd say if you are a fan of Harems then this is up your alley because it's pretty good to be honest yeah it's a bit cliché but who said being cliché is bad it's only bad when you use it badly but the author of this series is doing a good job with giving his characters such a cute/lovable personalities.

For a new studio that isn't well known read more
Jul 5, 2019
Ser_Junkan (All reviews)
[Spoiler free Review]


This is your typical harem/ light novel route anime that exist so much nowadays.
If thats all you wanted to know then you should stop reading [HERE]
Otherwise if you still are interested you should continue down here
↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓




now after that cancerous looking setup, illl get onto the review.
Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekinai or "We Never Learn" follows the story of the young high school boy Yuiga that comes from a financially troubled family and has too teach 3 girls that excel in certain topics but have a horrifying grade in others so he can get free college funding.
Its pretty much you typical read more
Jun 30, 2019
Shirai-chan (All reviews)
Okay, I have watched a decent amount of ecchi, harem romcoms but for some reason, this feels special to me. I already felt this way before since I read the manga before the anime aired.

Bokuben, a RomCom with harem and studying, feels familiar right? Though this kind of plot has been used in a couple animes this still has a special place in my heart.

Story 8/10: The plot was pretty interesting. It pretty much circles around the "studying plot" if it's not yet obvious lmao. a poor guy teaches a couple of girls with their weaknesses in studying and starts to like our mc, Nariyuki, read more
Jun 29, 2019
DaCraziGuy (All reviews)
Well, I can't remember the last time I found a Romcom that I actually really enjoyed. I usually like romcoms, but this one is one of the better ones imo. And I rarely give 8 or more to seasonal shows.

Now first, the bad stuff, I don't know if the art of the show is for everyone, I really liked it tho and it's consistent during the entire season. The show is pretty safe and it doesn't have anything innovative and it has it's fair share of cliches. The soundtrack is meh. It is a harem, something that not everyone likes, but I have to add read more
May 17, 2019
Rex_Otaku (All reviews)
Preliminary
A good anime!
This isn't a case where a anime is so bad or a offensive thing! This anime is so simple and so inocent, a delicious for see and spend your time!
The art of Bokutachi wa benkyou ga dekinai is a espetacular thing! Serious for me the best feature in this work is the art, in the opening you can see how much beautiful she is! For me in this feature this anime need take a 10!
The music in the opening and in the ending are so fun to and i like so much!
In resume, this anime isn't a wonderful thing but it's a good read more
May 9, 2019
Tsukihi_Phoenix (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was waiting for this since it was announced cause I felt it will be a great anime to watch and I was not wrong.

Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekinai aka We Never Learn introduce us into a story of two clever girls who want to study a career in which they wouldn't be good at all (the mathematical girl wants a humanities career and the literature one wants an astronomy career). We all know the importance of study something that make us feel complete and strive to get it and these girls are not the exception.

The objective of Yuiga (the main) is help the girls read more
Jul 20, 2019
NiQ1 (All reviews)
Every anime season needs a cliche harem right? Well look no further. Seriously there's nothing really unique about this show compare to any other generic high-school harem.
The only thing that usually changes between shows of this genre is the background story and "Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekinai" is no exception - Take a students that's a little above average in all subjects (but emotionally an airhead) and a bunch of girls who are exceptionally talented in one subject but ridiculously bad in others then just throw them all together and have the girls, have them all fall in love with the guy and stretch it read more
Jul 11, 2019
mynameis205 (All reviews)
Starting off, the show was about as predictable as I thought it would be, especially since it begins with a similar premise to 5toubun. The first few episodes felt like a bit of a slog, especially since we've all seen this same sort of thing time and time again in harem/romcom style shows.

That being said, I feel that things really finished off strong. The VOs felt like they really started to get a feel for their characters as the show went on, and that helped to flesh them out and make them much more enjoyable to watch. The last few episodes of the first read more
Jul 10, 2019
Vipershroom (All reviews)
Ok time for an honest opinion

In my opinion Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekini (We never learn Bokuben) was an ok anime. Mainly because it does not add anything new to the harem genre and if anything overuses some key plot lines associated with the harem genre.
First lets start with the plot:

The plot is simple enough one high school student tutoring three girls who are geniuses in their talented subjects however completely fall flat on the career paths they want to pursue.

The plot is good in my opinion as it was something I haven't seen before and I thought this anime would try to add read more
Jul 2, 2019
Eoussama (All reviews)
Highschool love stories have become something of the norm. Not only one of if not the most consumed genre in this medium, but also ar the easiest to relate to, with a large target audience that cherishes the fictional high school experience (We all went to the wrong high school apparently).
That was the most generic intro I could start this up with, but it has less to do with “Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekinai” (quite a mouthful) or the busy, “We never learn”. Mainly because of how hard it tried to distinguish itself from what we get every season. Long story short, It did pay read more
Jun 30, 2019
Mohamed_Moanes (All reviews)
First of all after watching more than 750 anime with their sequels i consider myself as an anime lover, and my best genre is romance, and i am not from the type to be satisfied easily, i won't give any spoilers or talk about the plot or the story to not ruin it for anyone who sees the review, from the rating i expected another dull romance comedy with school themed but i was surprised really it was enjoyable from the start to the ending with a lot of funny moments even that i don't 100% understand the Japanese humor since i am not Japanese read more
Jun 29, 2019
Watson20 (All reviews)
Story: 5/10
What can I say? I have watched lots of harem and I know how they work. More and less, it is easy to describe and predict the movements of the series. And Bokuben has not surprise me a lot. I like some of its parts and characters. But from further, I can not say what could they do to bettering the anime. I mean, it is not bad at all, but the story that Bokuben say to me I have watched it in lots of different places.

Something I dislike about the story was the situation. Bobuken tend to exaggerate their scenes and read more
Jun 23, 2019
Sparkiee (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story - high school boy wants free scholarship so agrees to tutor two girls who both suck at their chosen subject. more girls thrown into the mix, kind of generic characters. basically cliche high school harem. fan service included in pretty much every episode as far as one whole episode dedicated to chests.

Art - seen better, the style is above ms paint quality, but wouldn't call amazing.

Sound - sounds fine I guess but doesn't matter to me very much if its jap dub, eng sub.

Characters - we have broke tutor boy who's got a harem, tutoring rich girl, short big chest restaurant girl, childhood friend read more
Jun 9, 2019
blaice (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a phenomenal show, especially considering it is a harem-based anime. The harem portion of it is relaxed and well constructed, which is hard to say for the vast majority. The main protagonist is kind and considerate, albeit slightly dense (per usual of a kind protagonist), but not annoying like the majority of MCs in the genre.

Week to week I am constantly surprised by the entertaining additions and writing for such a seemingly mundane topic--studying/school. All of the characters have unique personalities and not a single one annoys me which is very rare for anime characters ESPECIALLY in this genre. read more