Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekinai


Alternative Titles

English: We Never Learn
Synonyms: BokuBen, We Can't Study
Japanese: ぼくたちは勉強ができない

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2019 to Jun 30, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.431 (scored by 49,259 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19592
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #884
Members: 122,618
Favorites: 646

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 26, 2019
Qichar (All reviews)
Preliminary
Delightful. That's how I would describe this anime. Before your eyes glaze over because you see the "harem" tag, you should give this one a chance. I finally figured it out.

You see, the question is not, "how could any girl fall for an MC like this?" Nope. If you're asking yourself that, you're really saying to yourself, "I'm not good-looking, super-smart, or super-talented. It's ridiculous to think a girl would fall for me, much less a gaggle of them like this stupid show has." That's just a lack of self-confidence. I have it on good authority that read more
Apr 27, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ah, studying. The bane of everyone’s existence. While there are worse undertakings, nothing compares to the angst of sacrificing countless hours to pass a meaningless course to attain a worthless degree that grants an aimless job to sustain yourself before you die. Of course, having aspirations is ideal to avoid a life of poverty, but not all problems are solved with blind ambition. Sometimes, as it were, you have to smell the roses. Take pleasure in the little moments, before life passes you by.

Therefore, my advice to Nariyuki Yuiga: appreciate the harem you find yourself in, because before you know read more
Jun 29, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
With the ever growing list of rom-coms coming out every season, Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekinai (We Never Learn) honestly isn’t anything home to write about. We just had a similar show called “5-toubun no Hanayome” that aired a few months ago. That show came together as a teenage rom-com with harem content. Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekinai tries to be something on its own but ends up being a fallout of stupidity.

On the plus side, I do applaud that the manga has been running as long as it is right now. Too many shounen jump series ends being victims of the dreaded axe yet read more
Jun 29, 2019
papsoshea (All reviews)
This is three consecutive seasons where there has been at least one fun romcom harem series. It is pretty difficult to look at Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekinai (We Never Learn: Bokuben) and not compare it to Gotoubun no Hanayome, which aired this past season. A poor and hardworking student who is tutoring beautiful girls has certainly become a sub-genre in its own right. But here you’ve got both guys tutoring five girls, both guys being dirt poor and needing to make it work for financial reasons. In saying that, the similarities between the two don’t run as deep beside the superficial ones, which are read more
Apr 27, 2019
Lecroz (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've read the manga up to date and therefore I can tell why this is series is worth checking out.

#STORY: 8/10
The story isn't much complicated, it's just the struggles of the characters to study which involve them get into comedic moments and find their goals along the way.

#CHARACTERS: 9/10
The general conception is that harem anime have bland and uninteresting characters but in this series, every character has a fixed goal and struggles towards achieving it. Each character has its own personality and the author has tried to make it as less cliché as possible.

#ANIMATION: 7/10
Yes, this anime isn't done by read more
Jun 29, 2019
Fircoal (All reviews)
When I was young and first was getting into anime the harem genre was one of my favorites. It was a pleasure to watch a lot of cute girls do cute and lewd things, as well as have the excitement of seeing who would win and fighting in waifu wars with friends that had objectively inferior taste (unless they happened to pick actual best girl, and in that case they're fine.)

However after watching more and more of these, it became clear that while some were well made and had lots of life to them, there were others that were not well made and ended read more
Jun 30, 2019
Pipe (All reviews)
Sometimes the best things in a romcom are found in the contrasts: Silly jokes, the most stupid series of events, perhaps a clumsy teacher, or a grow up student with the face of a kid, whose actions serve as a booster that helps us to appraise the differences between all the cast. All this nonsense works as a preparation for the future action now that the second season is announced in the last episode with the simple words "tsuzuku" (続くor つづく).

Maybe I shouldn't be praising this series, but the season was too average, and I couldn't find an acceptable series. Although Bokutachi wa read more
May 8, 2019
hhht3x (All reviews)
Preliminary
There couldn't be a more average, run of the mill harem anime than this. Its fine to look at, and romantic antics ensue with the harem roster slowly filling out.

Filling the role of harem manga in shonen jump after nisekoi ended, We never learns plot seems like more than a harem, but it isn't. Main protag helping out girls of different natures. small boob smart rich girl, big boob short restaurant girl, and athletic childhood friend. (also senseii and loli doctor girl). Romcom ensues.

Except there is no comedy. The jokes are bland and overused. And even if they had a chance of cracking a chuckle, read more
Apr 27, 2019
mafd12 (All reviews)
Preliminary
English isn't my native language, so you may find some redaction mistakes; anyway, I'll try to do my best in this review.

- This review cointains spoilers -

What's the meaning of the word generic? First thing that comes to my mind is about something that doesn't purpose absolutely nothing new, something built in a controlled space without any risk involved, something constructed with a formula; some people have no problem with this while it be entertaining enough, others simply doesn't like it and prefer to don't give it their time, the most famous example is the MCU: everyone knows that most of its movies follow the read more
May 11, 2019
Deaomos (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't want to base this anime on the success of another anime, but it seems like that's exactly what i'm going to do. The previous season held the anime "quintessential quintuplets" , and while I wouldn't label that a masterpiece by any stretch of imagination, it held super strong qualities that set it apart from your normal stereotypical harem. Things like an deep individual story plots for the quintuplets actually making them fall in love with the MC. Also the fact that not everyone loves the MC. It was rich and a nice break from the typical harem tropes. But then this happens. One read more
Jun 30, 2019
Yukikaze_sama (All reviews)
Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekinai is without a doubt one of the best harems I’ve seen. And I watched a lot of those. Part of its strength is that it wasn’t carried by single strong point, but rather was solid all around:
The most important part of harem are, obviously, waifus. It’s pretty normal to have one main girls and “fodder” that is meant to lose. Or even if that’s not the case, harems rarely offer more than 1 or 2 interesting picks. BokuBen wins at both of those. Not only all girls get more or less equal development and chances to win, they also all read more
Jun 29, 2019
AbnerA (All reviews)
Bokutachi wa Benkyou ga Dekinai is a high school romantic comedy. The setting here is that our protagonist Nariyuki is great in academics. However, he is not going good financially and needed to get a VIP scholarship from his school. To his delight, the School Principal decided to give the VIP scholarship ti Nariyuki with a condition, Nariyuki must tutor two of his classmates. Rizu Ogata is a genius at science but struggles at literature. Fumino Furuhashi is the opposite, excelling in literature but is horrible at science.

In the beginning, this anime tackles the reason Rizu and Fumino try to enter a major opposite to read more
May 21, 2019
wasdbob (All reviews)
Preliminary
What I don't get it is the abundance of anime haters saying that the anime is full of troupes and the same story and blah blah blah. Why can't we as a community just enjoy the shows that are given to us, anime, in the end, is a way to escape or find enjoyment. Yes, this series is basically Go-toubun but with no sisters as the harem but that doesn't matter. What matters is that it is an enjoyable show to watch and I find it interesting. Just seeing so many low reviews makes me laugh, who are you to say a show is low read more
Jun 16, 2019
Kuolonen (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well...
If you've never seen a harem anime before Bokutachi wa benkyou ga dekinai isn't the worse pick you could take. But if you have, you are likely able to predict all of the plot in advance. As someone who has seen frankly too many series of this type, the plot was simply eye-wateringly boring.

And there is of course the fact that this is based on an ongoing manga and is only 13 episodes long season. As any veteran will tell you, this means that the plot and relationships will advance absolutely nowhere. Plenty of tease of progression but all of it never amounts to anything. read more
Jun 29, 2019
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
Do you smell it? The smell of salt spreading all over the keyboard and the sweat of angry internet users. Do you hear it? The sound of a keyboard being furiously used and the disgruntled noises. Do you see it? The sight of avid internet users defending themselves on the internet. For you see, we are entering a war. A new war. Yet a war we have seen many times. It is The War of the Waifus.

Sit back, relax and barricade your house to protect yourself from the avid swarm of haters of your chosen best girl as I present to you the anime read more
Jun 29, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Riding on the exploding success that is Negi Haruba's manga and Tezuka Productions' anime adaptation of The Quintessential Quintuplets, this series is more of less the same, except with one caveat: it managed to pull out a pentuplet (with a teacher and a senior graduated student)! Such ingenuity and admiration that it managed more than just the usual harem rom-com that's plastered all over the place. And just like said series, Season 2 is coming soon too (Fall 2019), so for fans, the excitement isn't over yet! Just...for now.

Based on Taishi Tsutsui's manga of the same name, We Never Learn: BokuBen is about a young read more
May 19, 2019
war0blade (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story - 6
Expect a lot of filler. Romcoms aren't really known for progressing the main story. In a way I guess you can say the filler is the story. If you don't like it then don't watch.

Art - 5
Art is a step down from the manga, which is to be expected since you can't compare animating several still frames to drawing a few pages, quality drop is to be expected, but it's really evident in this series. It looks and feels generic. Nothing stands out.

Sound - 4
Generic, I feel like I've already heard it before despite never hearing it. It sounds like any other soundtrack read more
Jun 29, 2019
PyraXadon (All reviews)
The easiest comparison I can make for this show is either a soap opera where drama WANTS to happen but doesn't, or your typical harem with a gimmick setup in order to get things off the ground.  Well, there're worse ways to start your story I suppose.

Story:

Nariyuki Yuiga is an average high school student whose highest selling point is being a jack of all grades in school, doing well in all subjects but not really excelling.  One day he's informed by his school's headmaster that he'll be able to get the school's VIP recommendation for college on one condition: he must tutor the school's most read more
Sep 14, 2019
tony1982sc2 (All reviews)
Really funny anime. I was scared at the start with the harem but it turned into a really fun and enjoyable one. The story is not like the greatest in the universe, just a guy who help his girl companions to study, the characters change quite a lot during the first season from the start to the end, they get some develop and is pretty good. The art is great, not a ton of fan service which make it even better (yes, we all love fan service except when it's all that can give us an anime and then we hate it). Can't wait for read more
Sep 7, 2019
KouhaiSenpai (All reviews)
So the premise of this show is that there are some girls who are geniuses in one subject but terrible at the one they want to pursue. The main character is there to tutor them in their chosen subject.

The show is very much a romcom harem show, so if you don't like those I would steer clear. It is a harem but not in the competitive way. But of course there's a dense protagonist. Lots of sugary sweet scenes, jealousy, and misunderstandings galore. There are also plenty of lewd scenes, many of them are really awkward. It's basically everything you would expect from a read more