Rinshi!! Ekoda-chan


Rinshi!! Ekodachan

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Rinshi!! Ekodachan
Synonyms: Near Death!! Ekoda-chan
Japanese: 臨死!!江古田ちゃん

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2019 to Mar 27, 2019
Premiered: Winter 2019
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: 4-koma manga
Genres: Slice of LifeSlice of Life, ComedyComedy, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 5 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.541 (scored by 24152,415 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #93862
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #5051
Members: 8,683
Favorites: 13
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 4, 2019
belle_desu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay. Firstly, I completely understand people who write off this anime as trash because it is basically just a 3 minute episodic short series with a bonus 20+ mins. of interviews with the director and seiyuu regarding the process of making their episode.

That being said, I actually enjoyed watching this show (currently still on episode 4) for 2 main reasons:

1. On it's own, I think the shorts are pretty hilarious and I immediately related with and empathized with Ekoda-chan as a character. (I think that may be in part because of the strength of the source material) Even though I am nothing like her, read more
Dec 8, 2019
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Rinshi!! Ekoda-chan is one of the strangest series I have ever covered, both in 2019 and in general. It's an interesting anthology anime where each episode can be divided up into 3 sections. The first is a 3-minute animated short. Each director is allowed to go in whatever stylistic direction they want and this results in most of the episodes taking a completely different visual approach from one another. The second and far longer section is a 20-minute interview with the episode director and the seiyuu of the main protagonist for said episode as they talk about the manga and the production of the episode. read more
Jan 29, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
“It’s a 12-episode series and there’s a different director every episode. I’ve done a few shows like this before. But none of the did very well.” — Akitarou Daichi, episode one director of Rinshi!! Edoka-chan.

Moments later…

“That’s the thing about Rinshi!! Edoka-chan. It transcends genres.” — Akitarou Daichi

This is why modern day anime is in the toilet, people. Directors seem thoroughly unaware of their own cognitive dissonance in producing low quality anime ad infinitum. But, while the initial remark is a terrible marketing blunder, it’s still superior to Subway using a known pedophile to advertise foot-longs to the public. Speaking read more
Mar 8, 2019
Eisigerhauch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Rinshi!! Ekoda-chan is a particularly notable show in its arrangement. Three to five minutes of animation is followed by a fifteen to twenty-minute segment of an interview with the voice actor and the director of each episode, and two to six minutes of a third segment where artists are drawing a key-frame. Twelve directors join in this project and offer various interpretations of Ekoda-chan.

This arrangement gives a unique insight into the thought process behind the scenes and highlights the different approaches of directors and voice actors. The sheer range of differences in style, substance, storytelling, and techniques used is enormous. Each take on Ekoda-chan read more
Mar 26, 2019
BlackCicero (All reviews)
Rinshi!! Ekoda-chan is a nice short-form anime that is in an anthology format where each episode has a different director and voice actress for the main character. This type of format in my opinion, is a good fit for anime with a shorter duration and in Rinshi!! Ekoda-chan's case it certainly helps push it above a lot of other shorts that I've watched previously.
In terms of story, there is little to none given the nature of the show but by the end of the series I think the viewer can get a sense of how a narrative involving Ekoda-chan would play out, seeing that there read more
Mar 24, 2019
WhoCanPeliCan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Everyone... all of you... every person who has contributed to the 5.1/10 this has... you all are sleeping on this show.

Now... by no means is this great. Honestly, the only thing that's really noteworthy of it is the stylistic choice this show has with its different director every episode. One episode you may have a slow paced mini-event of the power going off in Ekoda's workplace, another may be singing claymation(?) dolls, and another may be completely rotoscoped.

But somehow, at least for me, this show really gets across the character of Ekoda-chan in a very interesting way. By displaying short little pieces of her read more
Nov 30, 2019
YotaruVegeta (All reviews)
Holy crap!! I can't believe how low this show is scored! I don't know what the overall bias is. I think it may be a youth bias, but people can certainly tell me if I'm wrong. As an older anime fan, I adored this, and also enjoyed the behind the scenes feature attached to each episode. If you just want shounen level animation for every show, then this definitely was not a show for you. Some people just want pretty things to look at, and that's a valid thing to look for in your entertainment. If you are looking for different experiences, watch this show. read more
Apr 8, 2019
chrisedmonds (All reviews)
Preliminary
So this had artwork on the thumbnail that made me want to watch it, this is a very dull show and the run time makes it even worse.

Random little 3 min episodes from old directors...

I enjoyed the directors and VAs chat after more than the episode itself, some were better than others but the series is a reminder of the target audience and its women in there 20's to 30s.

I wouldn't recommend this show at all.

But the chats afterward are an interesting look in the Vas and directors thoughts and personal lives.

So again episodes pointless, Va and director chats can be interesting, but some of read more