Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

5-toubun no Hanayome


Alternative Titles

English: The Quintessential Quintuplets
Synonyms: Gotoubun no Hanayome, The Five Wedded Brides
Japanese: 五等分の花嫁

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2019 to Mar 29, 2019
Premiered: Winter 2019
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:28 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.661 (scored by 79,600 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12252
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #623
Members: 170,646
Favorites: 2,316

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2019
Pipe (All reviews)
Another harem plot, basically of all the harem stories you have seen before, you have never seen anything quite like "Gotoubun no Hanayome.” The series has an overall harmony, where this lavishly designed comedy, which sometimes turns into a slightly unrequited romance involving a nerdy guy and five ignorant sisters who hate to study. I forgot to tell you those sisters are quintuplets.

The plot is easy to follow. A guy, Fuutarou Uesugi, nerdy, poor, solitary, gets a job as the tutor of a group of quintuplets who are near to fail the school. This group of girls, Ichika, Nino, Miku, Yotsuba, Itsuki, named in order read more
Jan 31, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hi, welcome to the program! Now get ready for Japan’s favorite television series: the “Pick You Waifu Game.”

***Audience applause***

We have a beautiful cast of women up for selection today, plus get this — they are quintuplets! So no matter who you pick, you’ll receive the scorn of the other four for a lifetime; or, maybe if play your cards correctly, you’ll find yourself in one awesome harem.

***Audience, “oooohhhhhhh”***

Without further ado, let’s introduce the gorgeous women who “hope” to be chosen by Fuutarou (a prodigious student with excellent marks):

Itsuki Nakano — While her proclivity to eat copious amounts of delicious food have read more
Mar 28, 2019
Zerity (All reviews)
What do you feel as you look at this anime. Do you feel a warm feeling of love? Do you feel nothing? Or do you feel what I feel. Hatred. Out of the many shows of this season which I can say are are about as good at Mars of destruction I can say one show takes my place as number 1 least favorite show this season. And dare I might say of all time. The Quintessential Quintuplets is by far my least favorite show I have ever watched and let me explain why. Will have minor spoiler I guess

A good harem show needs good read more
Mar 28, 2019
dotta (All reviews)
Apart from the quintuplet gimmick and the pretty colors, I can’t really tell you what Gotoubun no Hanayome adds to the harem genre.

Inside of it is full of all of the things that make up a relatively generic harem show, but only this time with a group of five sisters. Standard anime archetypes, boring/bland main character who all the girls magically fall in love with, overrun harem tropes, you name it. People have called it a more “wholesome” harem show with less fanservice and a less insufferable main character, but I fail to see how it is even better than other harem shows with similar read more
Mar 28, 2019
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
Quintessential Quintuplets quickly qualified for harem anime of the year for its great rendition of the cute girls + comedy combo. Now while this is a pretty cheap combo deal that you can find during practically every anime season, consumers still buy into it in droves. And after seeing how expertly this anime handled the combo, I know I for one will be coming back for more in the future.

Quandaries regarding education can really throw a wrench in your future life plans. Failing can leave you in some pretty dire straits, so it’s clearly optimal to succeed. Shocking, I know. Unfortunately for our well endowed read more
Jan 31, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Go ask if there are any harem series worth of reading and only those who are not aware of 5-toubun no Hanayome will not recommend it.

The idea is terrific. Main bro vs. quintuplets. 5 girls who look pretty much the same are fighting over a guy. Well, typically the opposite as telling them even apart can be a struggle for him. Basically the only thing that differs is their personalities and shared moments. It's a scary concept to question ones own affection towards their crush, but 5-toubun challenges its main bro to look beyond the surface and damn if that ain't adorable. Real life shit read more
Mar 28, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Gotoubun no Hanayome (also known as The Quintessential Quintuples) is well known for its character cast. It’s a harem and despite only been serialized since 2017, the series has proven to be popular enough for an anime adaptation. It even got licensed for Western release in June 2018 thanks to Kodansha USA. Being an open harem will raise some eyebrows. But rest assured, this show opens up for a lot of attractiveness beyond just these colored hair quintuples.

It seems that harem anime tend to attract certain audiences. Most often these days, they let the characters carry the show with less emphasis on the plot. Gotoubun read more
Mar 28, 2019
papsoshea (All reviews)
Just the word “Harem” alone is enough to make people roll their eyes these days. Each passing year, they just seem to keep receiving bad press and it’s not hard to understand why. The way that Web Novel/Light Novel fantasies and isekai have used harem elements in their stories have been one of the main sources as of late because of how they mostly use it in the most cringe-inducing way imaginable. But there has been a stigma attached to it for years because of the tropes in both story and characters are what people would desire. So, what makes a good harem? Gotoubun no read more
Jan 31, 2019
Williem (All reviews)
Preliminary
Having five twin brothers I can't imagine how it will be. Hanayome tells of five twins who have different backgrounds but have one strange habit of lazy learning, as you know learning is an obligation for a student but keep in mind that doesn't mean you continuous learning sometimes we also need to rest.

The storyline is divided into chapters and of course the chapter has different playing heroines. The storyline that is not convoluted and full of comedy makes this anime popular among teenagers considering that the anime is also harem themed where the condition of men / women are surrounded by their gender opponents.

For read more
Mar 28, 2019
Shingster (All reviews)
Please note this review is intended to be read by those that have finished watching Gotoubun no Hanayome and while care has been taken to minimize story related spoilers there may still be spoilers within character analysis. You have been warned.

Based off a popular manga of the same name Gotoubun no Hanayome which is also better known by its English title The Quintessential Quintuplets is a romance, comedy, school and harem genre anime that gives us the unique opportunity to see what will happen if one day a high school boy who as a result of trying to keep both his family and his read more
Mar 28, 2019
axel360 (All reviews)
Come for the cute anime girls, stay for the... wait, nope, that's pretty much all this series has to offer.

Harem is a genre I've had a really poor track record with. While I love romance anime, I find it nearly-impossible to suspend my disbelief when hordes of hot girls or guys fall in love with the typically vanilla, self-insert protagonist. For that reason, I held off for awhile on this series, up until the week of the season finale, when I binged the first 11 episodes in preparation for the last one. But after hearing some good things and seeing enough Miku pictures plastered across read more
Mar 28, 2019
eb2 (All reviews)
I discovered the manga before the anime was announced but after seeing the 'Harem' tag i decided to not get into it and i was pretty hesitant getting into the anime as well.Needless to say, watching this was a great decision.

Story/Plot
Its the same old story every time smh. Futaro the mc is asked to tutor 5 girls who are all sisters. All 5 of the girls end up developing feelings for futaro and face their own challenges in trying to take him for themselves. Id rather not spoil the story since it woukd be better pt watch and enjoy for youreself. Unlike most Harem animes read more
Mar 2, 2019
Sainan_no_kami (All reviews)
Preliminary
A lot of people believe that the road had ended for harem anime after Cancer..... I mean, MORBOE, was released. But even so, Negi Haruba has truly done an epic job at re-instilling my faith in the genre with this series. It is seriously fun. Bottom-line, if you’re searching for good plot structure, compelling character motivations and deep philosophical questions..... Go watch something else. If you’re looking for great, wholesome, enjoyable content, Congratulations, You just hit the Jackpot.


Goutobun no Hanayome is a light-hearted, sweet, heartwarming romantic comedy. But instead of this being a regular romantic comedy, this is simultaneously a harem. WAIT, WAIT! DON’T read more
Mar 28, 2019
forster82 (All reviews)
I personally am not a huge fan of Romance / Harem animes but Gotoubun no Hanayome is an overall quite enjoyable watch. The anime is filled with good vibes, happy and funny moments, that make me wish I was the main male protagonist of this anime, just to be around with those quintuplets (especially Miku whom is best grill) ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°).
The story is pretty simple, some guy wants to help some quintuplets study so that they could graduate and so that he could get paid, that's the gist of it. It is feeled with cute and quality comedy moments that I really enjoyed, read more
Mar 28, 2019
The-Observer95 (All reviews)
All these years we wanted a good harem series where all characters acted like real people not like some sluts thirsty for that precious heavenly water. And it looks anime Gods at North Korea have answered our prayers.

Its delightful to see a main characters of harem series acting like a real human being for once, because I am sick of seeing aloof harem character or the ones who never get in any relationship from the dozens of girls available at his service. Futaro our main guy is more focused on getting rid of his debt then getting in any relationship but that does not mean read more
Mar 30, 2019
Betelgeuse420 (All reviews)
This anime has become a personal favorite. It is fresh, directed and pointed.

Story 10/10

Go Toubun has a very fresh plot-line. There are familiarity points associated with the romcom genre and the character types, but the main twist of having quintuplets as potential romantic leads generates sufficient novelty to hook the viewer.

Art 7/10

I'm not a pincher on art, for I lack the technical knowledge of frame-rates and design to really criticize it. That said, the art was a bit wonky at times. But, it did not really detract from the overall experience. Really, it boils down to personal priorities.

Sound 9/10

Sound track is quite good.

Character read more
Mar 29, 2019
thetasteless07 (All reviews)
The Quintessential Quintuplets is typical romantic-school-harem anime on initial observation. But, do not be fooled by this, as it does bring a lot more to the table.

The plot is quite simple. The MC Futaro Uesugi is a high-school student belonging to a family with financial issues. Due to this, he is forced to tutor five twin sisters: Ichika, Nino, Miku, Yotsuba and Itsuki, who are in the same school and grade as him. Though initially against him, they slowly begin welcoming him into their home (and also their hearts ^^). He is completely oblivious to this and here begins the plight of these quintuplets. read more
Feb 17, 2019
Stan141276 (All reviews)
Preliminary
*** The best I can say about this anime is this is very decent in Seiyuu and Art stuff:

- Let see about Seiyuu:

1> Our main boy character( Matsuoka Yoshitsugu ): Kirito in SAO, Sora in No game No life, . . .
=> The best Man Seiyuu right now when coming for seak both comedy and drama moment.
Fitting with character: 10/10.

2> Let find out our 5 main girls:

** A) The 1st sister AKA Ichika( Hanazawa Kana ): Kanade in Angel Beats, Charlotte in IS, Mayuri in Steins;Gate, . . . and even more that I couldn't choose.
=> Outstanding Josei Seiyuu. Her voice read more
Feb 8, 2019
WeebWeebWeeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
Everything I find in this anime is very unexpectedly unique. Especially because the opening of this anime tends to get me excited for this anime. I have never been so happy to see this finally getting an anime. I’ve known this manga for almost two years now, and something like this could never ever bring tears of joy to my eyes as a person that enjoys and going off watching anime. I love every each and every individual in the anime. Something that could change your life as you want to become the tutor you sought to wish for, and now here’s your chance to read more
Jun 1, 2019
Futz_ (All reviews)
A perfect harmony of personalities that cause humorous and interesting conversation between the characters. A not clueless male protagonist that doesn't fail to acknowledge the girl’s affection toward him. A female cast that doesn't instantly throw themselves at the male protagonist. These traits set 5-toubun no Hanayome (The Quintessential Quintuplets) apart from the generic harem.

What is a generic harem? The two that come to mind are High School DxD and Nisekoi. High School DxD, without spoiling much, embodies the generic harem concept with high sex appeal in its female cast and a clueless male protagonist (Issei) who fails to realize the obvious hints the read more