Mix

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Mix: Meisei Story
Japanese: MIX(ミックス)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2019 to Sep 28, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Producers: YTV, Shueisha
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: OLM
Source: Manga
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen, SportsSports
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.281 (scored by 54365,436 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #24262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3866
Members: 15,807
Favorites: 44
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2019
Veronin (All reviews)
For someone whose all-time favourite anime is Touch, there's a strange feeling to be had watching a quasi-sequel an entire thirty plus years after Touch originally aired. A mixture of nostalgia and of heavy emotions, of how things were and how they are, of how we have changed but not changed much at all.

But throughout it all, the one emotion that lingered strongest was: "I wish I was watching Touch instead."

It's a story that has been done thrice before, with Mix now being Adachi Mitsuru's fourth at-bat with coming-of-age baseball dramas. The biggest difference here is that Mix isn't so much a personal story read more
Jun 9, 2019
junmisugi (All reviews)
Preliminary
I quite admit Mix is surprisingly good anime and here is why. First of all it has this good family spark in it and we learn a story about two families merged into one. Brothers are looking nearly the same but they really aren't blood related ones. This anime kind of hits us in the moments that we didn't expect it. Anime touches hard theme because teams manager is favorising chairmans sons who appears to be all-time starting pitcher no matter of results. In general Touma has hard time because of this situation he can't event have his own good training time because manager is read more
Jul 4, 2019
Sanae28 (All reviews)
Preliminary
'Mix-Meisei story' should be the semi-sequel of 'Touch' aka Mitsuru's Adachi masterpiece, but I think that there is something more.

Thirty years later the Uesugi twins another pair of brothers, who were born the same day but have no blood ties, appears at the Meisei institute with the dream of winning the Koshien.

I noticed that:

- Toma Tachibana = Tatsuya Uesugi
- Otomi tachibana = Minami Asakura
- Soichiro Tachibana = Kazuya Uesugi

Minami grew up with the Uesugi twins as two brothers and a sister, like this new trio.

The dynamics seem to be almost identical to those of 'Touch' and, as the title 'Mix' says, present and past mingle read more
Sep 28, 2019
icekoolkr (All reviews)
As someone who hasn't read Touch, I feel as if I can give a clear review without having to compare it to something. I understand that I might be missing out on some of the important information, such as the backstory of how they became national champions 30 years ago, the dynamic husband and wife, etc etc. The list can go on and on. However, not watching/reading Touch has allowed me to get a better grasp on what the show did right and wrong.

To me, this anime was solid. The storytelling is always going to be solid, since it was originally by Mitsuru Adachi. read more
Nov 23, 2019
texasyoshi (All reviews)
As someone who has never seen or read Adachi Mitsuru's previous works, I had no idea what I was getting myself into while watching MIX. After finishing it, I'm only left feeling... disappointed. 26 episodes just isn't enough substance to wrap up what the first season was trying to create. Storylines and character development throughout the season fell flat, and the ending was inconclusive and leaves a question mark on MIX.

Though it has weird pacing throughout the early part of the first season, MIX's story is easy to follow, despite being bland at times. There are some high moments, and there are some very dull read more
May 13, 2020
Datfalconboi (All reviews)
I actually finished this show last year, I only wanted to write a review once I saw how many people actually watched this show. first off this show is highly underrated and you should watch it yourself. The dub is done well here on Funimation and everything is fine. The only problem is recent, Funimation cut half of the episodes down to episode 12 and hasn't fixed it now. So when I came back to watch it again to hear the English VO's again, I was met with the sub on Crunchyroll. I have no problem with subs, the problem is when I found out read more
Mar 2, 2020
itssimplyme (All reviews)
So I started Mix for two reasons: 1) it was on the Anime Awards nominees for Best Sports Anime of 2019, and it seemed to have really good art. 2) I thought it was a sequel to Cross Game.
I found out later that it wasn't, (instead a sequel to Touch) but the art style was so nostalgic I stayed for the whole thing.

The reason I give this an 8, although I probably should have given a 7, is because I feel it gets more hate than it deserves. Writing and story aside, the animation is top tier, so good I thought it was Production IG read more