Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kono Oto Tomare!


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Stop This Sound!
Japanese: この音とまれ!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2019 to Jun 30, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:00 (JST)
Producers: Shueisha
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Platinum Vision
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.801 (scored by 19,158 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9182
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1648
Members: 57,848
Favorites: 336

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 27, 2019
junmisugi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Beautiful and heartwarming series that surprises us in each episode. Who will thought that we will have regular boy an deliquent and koto prodigy in one place and they will create a "space" that will reach us all? As much as story brings us enjoyment there is one thing that's most interesting and it's sound. Voice acting and instrument sounds are really nicely done here. I like art and I rated it high even if animations aren't top notch, at least this isn't a series when it's hard to recognize characters because they all look the same and act same.

The maybe one thing that read more
Jun 29, 2019
papsoshea (All reviews)
Connection. It is a topic that’s meaningful for many of us. Whether it’s connecting more deeply with yourself, making time for self-care, simply connecting with others, or wanting to feel connected in life. When you’re watching a sporting event with your friends, you’re experiencing connection. When you gather with your family for dinner or open up and express your authentic feelings to another person or find you have something in common with someone, you’re experiencing connection. In Koto Oto Tomare, it’s the connections that matter. This entire story is about connections, in some ways we’ve seen and in some ways we haven’t yet.

But really, connection read more
May 4, 2019
samuVRAU (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the first anime I thought I needed to review it, super underrated in my opinion, I'm at episode 5 and already cried twice. To be honest, I get it, is an anime about playing Koto, a classic Japanese instrument, I always thought koto, kinda weird and stupid, and I wouldn't watch it if it wasn't recommended by a YouTuber that I watch, but they can make you emotional anyway, really great, looking toward watching everything, if my opinion changes I'll edit this review.

The story is great, the editing is great, the animation is Ok, nothing I wasn't expecting from a slice of life read more
Jun 29, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
The foundation of school clubs have been an ongoing trend in many anime involving school life. But reality is, you probably haven’t heard of koto club being part of a central plot, have you? At first, I came into this show with some cautious optimism. The concept of Kono Oto Tomare itself reminds me of anime like Chihayfuru. That anime became a rare breed that capitalized on a unique competition. Kono Oto Tomare walks a similar path for its first few episodes.

Right from the start, we are introduced Takezou Kurata, the president of the koto music club. The timid young man has no strikingly impressive read more
Jun 29, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Glancing at the promotional poster for “Kono Oto Tomare!” had me confused, that’s because I thought the students were holding bazooka’s. Which could have made sense given the American name, “Stop the sound.” Despite my lack of knowledge of the koto, however, I soon realized that splattered body parts would be a rare occurrence. Quite a shame, I know.

Musical-centered anime follow a similar framework to sports anime. The participants usually start with mediocre talent and low expectations, but through the power of bullshit (i.e. friendship), they overcome all/most obstacles in pursuit of their goal. Like when the vice principal challenged read more
Jun 29, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Quite literally the dark horse and the best hidden (diamond) gem of the Spring season that not a lot of people are giving it the recognition it severely deserves. In my view it's no AOTS nor a masterpiece, but it's a really satisfying watch. And this journey to stardom isn't quite over yet, as the 2nd cour airing in Fall 2019 will continue this journey of the Tokise High School Koto Club. And the TGI-Saturdays of highly-intensified music marathon is over for this period.

Like can you believe that the 2nd cour was planned right when the show just started it's pilot episodes? That's some fierce read more
May 6, 2019
Jdiaz (All reviews)
Preliminary
NON SPOILER REVIEW:
First let me start by saying I love this anime because I love the manga. The manga is near and dear to my heart with such amazing character development and storylines and it does not fail to give great art as well. As for the anime, I believe that it holds up to the standards the manga has set up. After only having watched five episodes so far I can tell that its going to be great. I will be updating this review once there are more episodes to compare to, I just felt compelled to write a review since this anime deserves read more
May 6, 2019
Treizeci (All reviews)
Preliminary
Watch this show!

Why? (No spoilers)

It has heart. Considering the love and hard work that went in producing these episodes and the love the manga has received from fans it's no wonder the second cour of the show is already planned.

The direction is great. The atmosphere ranges from funny to ominous as the context of the scenes ask for. Are the characters and situations clichéd? After meeting similar people in similar situations behave in similar fashion will you consider their existence a trope or a reality? Your answer to those questions will provide the lens through which you view the story and characters.

The characters are read more
Jun 29, 2019
VinWicksNet (All reviews)
this is the second time I have watched anime music, this anime is very good by presenting a dramatic storyline and each character has a story behind each of them, I really enjoyed the story from the first episode to the end.every episode has interesting conflicts and is not bored to watch for me.the visuals displayed are very suitable with the conditions that are told and make the audience seem to be fixated on the conflict presented. I'm really waiting for the continuation and this is my recommendation for those of you who want to find anime with dramatic stories and music.
May 11, 2019
animefreak1806 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I will update this review once the series finishes airing-- but, 5 episodes in, I'm pretty sure this is a masterpiece.

Just a heads up: I've never written a positive review on this site and I've been a MALer since 2010. Besides writing the occasional Yelp review, I'm not really a "reviewer" so please bare with me.

After my preface, I'm sure you could gather that this anime is quite exceptional. Kono Oto Tomare! moved me in ways that Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (Your Lie in April) never could. There's something so pure, and original with this concept of musical anime. I was a read more
Jun 29, 2019
Mishi20 (All reviews)
Kono Oto Tomare is not just a music anime, it intricately presents a lot of issues faced by people in general and therefore a lot may relate to the characters experience.
It has a lot of “potential” which it couldn’t fully use however that shouldn’t demotivate you from watching it. It’s become one of my favourites for sure.

The animation felt a bit awkward during the start but they really improved a lot as the series progressed. Loved the art from the start <3 But yeah compared to other brilliant anime it may seem a bit lacking so may not be everyone’s cup of tea.
I’m really read more
May 10, 2019
Aicchi (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of those times when I believe the summary doesn't really done its anime storyline's justice.
If you like stories about developing friendship, beautiful soundtracks, and/or touching slice-of-lifes, this is for you.

Story - 8/10 (very good)
Ah, another story about reliving an unpopular school club. It's one of my most liked tropes, so I might just be a little biased here.
A shy, timid guy wants to keep his club going for the sake of his graduated senpai. The premise is quite simple, you see. But the way the director is telling it to us, the audience, managed to bring along the stories of its characters' read more
Jul 2, 2019
aberuwu (All reviews)
Story and Characters:
Kono Oto Tomare is my favorite anime for Spring 2019.
The story revolves around Chika Kudou, a misunderstood high school student who struggles to find his identity, he has been disowned by his father leaving him with his grandfather a Koto luthier. Through a series of unfortunate events Chika's grandfather dies, feeling guilty, Chika vows to join the Koto club in order to make amends for his mistakes and create a legacy in honor of his grandfather with the help of his club members.
Despite Chika having a primary role in this anime, every other character has an equally important subplot which read more
May 22, 2019
animeamoeba (All reviews)
Preliminary
Good animation, decent plot and music, although the plot seems to work itself into rather predictable paths at times.

Personally, I feel that the series could do more to connect viewers with the characters. Perhaps it has to do with the koto being a relatively unknown instrument to us foreigners, or maybe it is because the plot seems to revolve entirely around this koto club, and so there aren't many opportunities to explore the various interesting characters in situations which do not involve any kotos.

Yet.. I'm only at episode 7 now and it seems like the show may now be placing a greater focus on individual read more
Jul 10, 2019
rekirira8 (All reviews)
A type of musical instrument only has beautiful girls playing for the king. It is a noble musical instrument. The sound is very smooth. But in the anime, the boys play, it makes a special point for the anime. In my country, when it comes to đàn tranh, people will think of being women playing. It is a kind of instrument that exalts the beauty of women.

Commenting on the content, the anime revolves around a group of friends playing the zither. The evolution of the anime will but other anime have trouble. With the power of friendship and youthful enthusiasm, they overcome those difficulties. Say read more
Jul 7, 2019
felixlovesanime (All reviews)
Kono Oto Tomare! introduced itself as a beautiful anime. The next task, for its upcoming second season, is to prove that it is more than just pretty to look at.

This anime feels a bit divisive in my heart. For audience being relatively new in anime scene, this series is definitely one to watch. It revolves around a very niche Japanese music and discusses Japanese-centric topics such as tradition, societal pressures, and redemption. The romantic element is also refreshing as it is less about "boy meets girl" and more about two different people finding common ground thanks to shared love for cultural artistry. However, such may read more
Jun 30, 2019
matheus_pikalolo (All reviews)
When you say about an music anime, exclusively about classical music, in your mind comes your lie in april or Hibike Euphonium.
But to compare that two animes with kono oto tomare is completely disgusting.
This is an example of anime who do a lot of things but does not did any correctly. We can't blame the studio but the production of the anime is horrible. Some decisions made the history boring, like the firsts episodes of the anime and some parts in the middle and in the end of the anime.
The studio did only 6 animes, then we can't expect see a good animation, and is read more
Jun 5, 2019
Meeeku (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is such an under ratted anime. The artwork is pretty good, story and plot is not new, but certainly made more interesting with pretty good characters and their back stories.

The pacing of the anime was also pretty balanced with humor and emotional scenes well mixed in for every episode so far.

The main draw of this anime is the music. It's so refreshing to listen to traditional koto music and further more it was made interesting to watch with explanations on various type of kotos, techniques and playing styles etc.

And so far, the anime is following the manga quite closely with very few read more
Jul 26, 2019
Yukicorn (All reviews)
I first stumbled across Kono Oto Tomare listening to a YouTube video of their IRL counterparts playing the final performance piece on koto from this anime and immediately I knew it was going to be good, and fortunately I was not disappointed.

To finally have a shounen anime focused on music, I couldn't be more ecstatic and the fact that it the main instrument isn't that mainstream makes it so much more interesting.

The story and art is pretty much good enough, there's not much to talk about there. It's not really the main focus of the anime so I'm not going to go through read more
Jul 12, 2019
TJ-Chan (All reviews)
Kono Oto Tomare is an anime that I did enjoy watching. I didn't know exactly what to expect from an anime about koto playing, but as typical anime are, it's a school koto club aiming for nationals.

Story:
The pacing is sort of weird throughout the story, bouncing from character arc to character arc, as if trying to fit as much in as they could within 13 episodes. Not to say I didn't enjoy them and come to like the characters, but it definitely felt odd to finish one and immediately run into another arc.

Art:
The art is a shoujo style which doesn't fit the the read more