Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bungou Stray Dogs 3rd Season


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Bungo Stray Dogs 3
Japanese: 文豪ストレイドッグス 第3期

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 12, 2019 to Jun 28, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:30 (JST)
Producers: Lantis, Glovision
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.171 (scored by 53,369 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3432
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #767
Members: 142,346
Favorites: 1,315

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 28, 2019
Ethan_07 (All reviews)
I'm just gonna say it again, this is so underrated.

Bungou Stray Dogs (3) builds on its solid foundation of characters, continue to weave its finest action and comedic blend for all viewers. Their fate continues to entangle and untwine, with third season zooming closer to them rather than their bombastic gifts, capturing the little moments that made up their characteristics.

The charm and one of the specialties of Bones Studio is, the facial expression of the characters. It’s like watching children react to a movie with sad, delightful, shocking and horrifying scene. They are depicted accordingly to that situation, much like a child genuinely having the read more
Jun 28, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Nowadays, it seems any anime announcement is possible. From My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU getting a third season to old classic remakes such as Dororo, almost any anime has a chance of getting a surprise announcement. Bungou Stray Dogs Season 3 announcement came to me as a big surprise as I thought the anime franchise would be done for sure after the movie. What the franchise brings together is a collective group of detectives with supernatural abilities. With the announcement of the third season, I was more than excited to once again jump back into the world of this literary extraordinaire.

The first two seasons read more
May 3, 2019
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm assuming that if you are watching the 3rd season, then you are a fan of this anime series and you know what to expect. After the first third of the anime, I can conclude that Bungou Stray Dogs Season 3 has been a perfect representation of what a 3rd season should be and it has the potential to surpass the 2nd season's greatness!

Just like the previous season, the anime starts off in the past and explores the relationships of characters years before the main time line which in turn builds up their personality and motives. I simply love when a show can take some read more
Jun 28, 2019
forster82 (All reviews)
SHORT SPOILER FREE REVIEW:

Bungou Stray Dogs is simply... Bungou Stray Dogs.

If you enjoyed the previous seasons of this anime, then you might as well also enjoy this third season, just dont get your hopes up and expect something extraordinary. In my case, I thought the previous seasons of Bungou Stray Dogs were just alright, but somewhere deep inside me I was just hoping for something "more" from this season and that left me a tad-bit dissapointed in the end. Dont get me wrong, this season isnt bad, but I also just dont understand the massive hype that revolves around it, as it just isnt anything read more
Jun 28, 2019
PyraXadon (All reviews)
You know for a series based entirely on books and famous bits of literature, there is surprisingly little coherence this time around.  A bit weird but not a deal breaker fortunately.

Story:

Much of Season 3's story can be summed up as: an extension of the story about the gifted in the city of Yokohama.  I say this not just to avoid any amount of spoilers for the season, but because the structure of the series is a lot less coherent and fluid as I initially expected the show to be.  In a way, Season 3 starts both after the fight on the Moby Dick against the read more
May 4, 2019
Zolara (All reviews)
Preliminary
after watching the 4th ep of this season i decide to write my 1st review in MAL!!
the ost as usual is great & i love the oppening song & the ending too, i'm used to hear it every time but in this episode it was a masterpiece!! i couldn't get my eyes away
the most thing i like about this anime is that the variety of characters, it brings joy somehow
this is the 1st backstory that i'm interested to xD, i think this season is more stunning and enjoyable then the 1st & 2nd, i soppose they will say why dazai is obsessed with suicide or read more
Jun 29, 2019
Mishi20 (All reviews)
The most Badass show to ever exist.
I love Bungou Stray dogs, my icon says it all haha.
Awesome production Awesome characters Awesome Soundtracks Awesome Action Scenes, Awesome Storyinle (Sometimes tbvh I’m question mark about what’s going on because I’m dumb but I love it anyways) basically BSD is a bunch of Awesomeness you can’t miss out on.

(Mild Spoilers)
Like season 2 it starts off with Dazai’s flashback about Arahabaki (Won’t give details) for the first 4 eps but this time with Chuuya, the best brotp ever.
And then the current timeline centres around Fyodor who was introduced in Dead Apple movie.

The openings and endings are amazing. read more
May 3, 2019
The-Observer95 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Mostly everyone hates back stories of characters when that given back stories do not add anything to the main story or characters or it do not gives depth to any characters involved, same is the case here. Last season also did this but second season added so much to current story and gave weight to ongoing narrative that everyone said that back story was better than main story.

This time around its not even interesting and entertaining and its just boring and its wasting SAKUGA animation. I wanted to know why Dazai is hell-bent on killing himself but no we got see back story of side read more
Jun 28, 2019
Pragyan1 (All reviews)
Don’t you just hate it when an anime has so much potential but ends up taking the easy route and squanders it’s potential? I was ambivalent after watching season 1. On one hand, I liked the concept and the plot, but on the other hand the characters were bland and had no redeeming qualities whatsoever. Season 2 was also kind of cursory with the characters, but the Oda Sakanouske arc (the best arc yet) gave me hope that this just might me good, but towards the end of season 2 the author again started taking the easy route and just went with the flow. So, read more
Jun 28, 2019
No-Life-101 (All reviews)
Bungou Stray Dogs...all I can say is wow.

I feel like this anime is a bit underrated, but man when I watched the first episode of the anime (not just season 3) I was hooked. The characters are so well written and drawn, it's hard to pick a faviourite.

Overall, the storyline for s3 was good but at times it did feel a bit rushed and I can understand why. S3 only has 12 episodes so it is hard to animate every scene from the manga, but I felt like the moments that went slow in the manga went really really fast in the anime read more
May 21, 2019
dementedkratos (All reviews)
Preliminary
A greatly underrated show. The season is a great continuation of the story that balances levity and poignant emotional beats. The backstory episodes deliver great insight into the characters you've come to enjoy. It never fails to amaze me how this show can make you enjoy the characters so much and makes you want them to interact more and more. The relationships and characters themselves grow and develop so well. It makes you excited to find out what new author they'll introduce into the story and what ability they'll have. The art remains beautiful as always and the animation is fluid and spotless. The sound read more
Jun 28, 2019
chair-sama (All reviews)
Ah, shit here we go again, another season with the masivelly overrated show. This time it’s Bungou stray dogs. If you’re watching the third season of it, you probably know what’s this about, but if you don’t, then to summarize main characters are part of the Armed Detective Agency, the organization with detectives, who have magic abilieties also the main baddies are members of the Port Mafia.
The story begins with a back story of a Chuuya Nakahara, and the fan favorite Dazai-san. It wasn’t espacially bad, but it was pointless, it basically added nothing. Chuuya beraly even reapeared later this season, not mentioning his previous read more
Jun 29, 2019
gaussian_ (All reviews)
I personally loved this most recent installment in the BSD anime franchise. Why? Let's explore the reasons. (FYI I've only watched the anime, not read the manga/LN.)

The story of Bungou Stray Dogs continues to deliver in this season. From the long introductory side story about Dazai and Chuuya, to interludes about Francis, Fyodor, and about the parent's of Kyouka and Atsushi, to the main arc about the Rats in the House of the Dead, the story kept me consistently interested and eager for more. I was particularly impressed by Fyodor's introduction and the reminiscence of Atsushi's childhood. The former read more
Jun 2, 2019
T-CRISIS (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think my opinion will be different than many of the others writing reviews on MAL for the third season of Bungou Stray Dogs.

First of all, I thoroughly enjoyed seasons one and two of this show. I recommend them just as highly if not higher than season three. Season three has been a compilation of several characters' back stories... and while some others have said that this does not contribute to the main story, or it is not entertaining to follow, (it doesn't make sense to me how you've made it this far in the series if you feel that way) I completely disagree. I read more
May 27, 2019
stefanminato1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can easily say that this is my favorite season of the franchise so far. In these 6 episodes that are out so far every single one is filled with everything a good anime needs. We finally got some back story on Chuuya and Dazai and its just so good. I really loved the new character and his ability. I just can't wait for the next episode there are so many possible things that can happen that are crossing my mind, I just can't express it. The art is on point just like every other season. I really hope they keep the quality for the read more
Aug 8, 2019
Imbeciel (All reviews)
It would seem like I hate this show but it's just disappointment. I'm forever disappointed in how they wasted amazing potential, it being the incredibly well created characters (the more you know the real people the more you enjoy them) and the premise.

POSITIVE:

I enjoyed most of the first 3 episodes. I was actually surprised to find they treated Chuya as the independent, amazing character he is rather than a mere element to swirl around Dazai for the fangirls' enjoyment (which, loving both characters, I find infuriating).
BSD has REALLY good characters (I'd go as far as saying this is the one good thing about the show). read more
Jun 29, 2019
Yuuusaki (All reviews)
there is only one way to describe this
the most lazy and disappointing season so far
The only thing I can rescue more were his first 3 chapters
It could not have an opening and an ending with new scenes all were recycled
The pace I was taking was too fast, in addition to jumping things or changing them, some of the images that were in the frames was a fucking insult of how ugly they looked I do not like that this was the product being this one of my favorite series.
this is a spit to the original work
English is not my mother tongue but I needed my read more
Jun 2, 2019
hoezenji (All reviews)
Preliminary
This season was disappointing to say the least. If you are a fan of anime only I would heavily recommend reading the manga. I usually despise manga purist but this season truly did a lukewarm job of adapting what was some of my favorite back story chapters.

To start off they did a good job with the first couple of episodes dedicated to one of the popular side characters. I personally thought these episodes were good but needed to be omitted or put into an ova as the rest of the season is extremely rushed to make up for spending 3 episodes on a side character read more
May 15, 2019
skylerzies (All reviews)
Preliminary
IF, you've been an old fan of bungou stray dogs then i'm sure i don't need to explain about this much because y'all are already watching or plan to watch it.

but if you're someone new to this, please make sure to watch it in order first.

That being said , i'll get down to the anticipating review you've been waiting for.

animation wise and overall everything is top notch and actually far better than the previous seasons.
The songs are quite good.
Now this season taps into the past here and there to highlight the backstory of the characters. But with the latest episode out, read more
Aug 31, 2019
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
This anime infuriates me. It could be so, so amazing if it would just pICK A THING AND STICK TO IT. Had this season been about what the last few episodes were about and ONLY what the last few episodes were about, this anime would an 11/10. But OH MY LORD, the inconsistencies are endless.

Bungou Stray Dogs has an absolutely stellar cast of characters, all of them with interesting personalities and abilities. It has potential through the roof for storylines and backstories. It's written extremely well with a unique tone that you can't find anywhere else.

So, with all these positives, why is it that read more