Kimetsu no Yaiba
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba
Synonyms: Blade of Demon Destruction
Japanese: 鬼滅の刃

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2019 to Sep 28, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Shueisha
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: ufotable
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, DemonsDemons, HistoricalHistorical, ShounenShounen, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.751 (scored by 528746528,746 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #58
Members: 968,959
Favorites: 35,157

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2019
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Does fantastic animation trump mediocre writing? When it comes down to it, can you ignore one to enjoy the other?

As for Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, most of the anime community falls into one of two extremes. Either they love it for the amazing animation, an abundance of horrifying villains, and incredible fight choreography—or they hate it for subpar storytelling, shallow character writing, and unfunny comedy. The truth is somewhere in between. Demon Slayer has some of the best animation of this generation, but I can’t recommend the entire show because the writing is… pretty bad.

Our hero, no older than fifteen, carries his dying read more
Sep 28, 2019
Inferno792 (All reviews)
“Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.” - Leonardo da Vinci.

For a show to be good, it’s not always necessary for it to have a complex plot and a deep cast of characters. This is exactly what Kimetsu no Yaiba (Demon Slayer) proves. This show is yet another spectacle by ufotable – the studio that can take an otherwise generic shounen with a fairly linear story and turn it into a show that has fans craving for more every week. The studio has done just that with Kimetsu no Yaiba by making it one of the most popular shows of the year with its animation quality read more
May 11, 2019
The-Observer95 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is your typical Shounen anime but done damn right.

The story is somewhat new in a sense and character location or setting I would say is also kind of new to me in shounen anime, I am saying this because now days shounen anime always start in a city or suburb areas. Its nice to see this anime start the story from middle of nowhere kind of setting (given this anime takes place in past, its not new but different in my opinion).

The action scenes are jaw dropping and are something you would rewind the few seconds of that scene to see again. Tanijro as read more
Sep 28, 2019
Veronin (All reviews)
Kimetsu no Yaiba is a pleasant surprise. Though it appears to merely be another overly grim and dark series lauded for its gore, Kimetsu no Yaiba is revealed to be much more as the series progresses. Hypocrisy, mortality, hope and despair run as prevalent themes in Tanjiro's tragic journey. The myriad ways in which this journey could reach its demise run tense in the heart and the mind of the viewer, as mercy is seldom a consideration to the demons he must annihilate.

If there is one single thing to point to with Kimetsu no Yaiba, it would be its atmosphere. Brooding, oppressive, and tense are read more
Sep 28, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Ah ufotable, the studio that keeps on giving. Before Kimetsu no Yaiba aired, news broke out that we’d get them animating the show. And to my delight, it’s a studio that earned its praise for its high caliber animation and consistently delivering quality content. Being their first 2-cour show (without a split cour break), Kimetsu no Yaiba is a special gift not just for the manga fans but anyone ready to experience a world of demons and dark fantasy.

With over 170 chapters and counting, manga artist Koyoharu Gotouge made this series as a dark fantasy-adventure about demons. With 26 episodes, there are some concerns about read more
May 11, 2019
Tsukihi_Phoenix (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've just watch 6 episodes but I think it's necessary to do a review of this.

Kimetsu no Yaiba has a great story. In a nutshell, it's about a guy named Tanjirou with a sister who was the unique survivor to a massacre of a demon to their family but she turned into one and it's Tanjirou's mission find a way to return humanity to his sister.

The art is really AWESOME, we can see this in every episode with the detailed desing of the characters, the background and landscapes. The draw style is outstanding even in the little bonus at the end of every chapter.

It read more
Jul 7, 2019
diatehneko (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Spoiler Warning]

I'm sorry I won't be able to review everything, but I'm at the 7th episode now and I can't keep watching. I convinced myself to keep watching just to laugh it out, but the show is so inconsistent and poor that it drove me mad.

Kimetsu no Yaiba starts out with the carbon copy shonen "failproof" formula. Tragedy that fuels progress for the protagonist. This time, it's demons attacking and slaughtering most of his family. In his state of despair upon finding the corpses, our MC Tangerine is coldblooded enough to check whose body is still hot enough to be alive, potentially. he doesn't need read more
May 11, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
From the studio that brought you “Fate/Zero” (Ufotable, Inc.), comes another visually stunning ‘eye-gasm’ of epic proportions. In an age where shoddy 3D animation has run amok, it’s refreshing to see a studio get it ‘right.’ With its unique character designs, fluid action sequences, and gorgeous landscapes. Weaving a tapestry of eye-gasmic beauty!

Where “Kimetsu no Yaiba” excels in the animation department, it lacks in its unoriginal story and dearth character developments. While the former shortcoming can be overlooked due to the exhilarating, well executed plot points, the latter cannot.

Tanjirou Kamado, a trained Demon Hunter set to hunt down the read more
Aug 31, 2019
HanAsparux (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't usually write any reviews for anime, cause it doesn't really matter to me that much to share what I saw, but this time I am making an exception.

Demon Slayer starts off semi-generic as a story, but is executed well, and that's sort of what I care about. I don't look for the most original things, just any story that is executed well and enjoyable to watch. And at first it's doing a pretty good job. You usually need time to get used to the setting and see if the story itself will start picking up speed as it goes. But around episode read more
Jun 17, 2019
KamuiRil (All reviews)
Preliminary
Didn't intend to write a review to this one, but episode 11 did it to me...

Let's quickly go through good parts first:
- the art is great
- the fights are beautiful and nothing of those blurred images when you can't even see who hit who
- the story had been a bit curious up until episode 9 or so, but since then it got slightly more interesting. Nothing special I'd say, but curious to observe

And here is one bad part that is doing its best to ruin all enjoyment I get from this anime:
- humor. It's horrible. Not just it is horrible, but it is completely out read more
Sep 28, 2019
Roevhaal (All reviews)
Oh boy, the seasonal battle shounen that everyone raves about, what does it do right? Well to be completely honest, nothing, the only thing it got going for it is the production quality from ufotable.

Story: 2 (contains spoilers up to ep 19)

There's really nothing special here, the series starts out with Tanjirou's family got devouvered by demons and his sister Nezuko got turned into one. In order to save his sister and turn her human again he set out to find Muzan Kibutsuji the original demon who surely has some way of turning Nezuko human again. In order to get to him he needs to read more
May 11, 2019
fitemeillreku (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is going to be a shorter review compared to some other ones that I've written since I didn't write this one in advance as compared to my other two reviews, so this is probably much more disorganized but nevertheless, I wanted to share my opinion on this so far.

Story - 8/10
The story starts off with our main protagonist Tanjiro, who one day finds his entire family killed, with his sister, Nezuko being turned into a demon. Some other stuff happens, which eventually leads to him becoming a part of the Demon Slayer Corps. This immediately establishes a goal, and kind of makes the goal read more
Aug 10, 2019
Porukana (All reviews)
Preliminary
HOLY SHRIMP THIS ANIME IS GOOD.

To be completely honest, even though this anime has been doing really well, I still think its under-rated. Let's break down the quality of each aspect of the show shall we? I'll keep this relatively short and summarize the quality of each aspect without spoiling anything!

Story (10/10) : Not only is this anime setting and story line a relatively unique idea, it's also paced masterfully. Some may say the beginning is slightly slow, but if you continue to watch past those parts, it only adds to the experience. It allows you to understand what all those slow paced parts were read more
Sep 28, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Only cynical criticism can save us from the gooey sentimentality and naivete, but sometimes rarely a series too precious to deserve this treatment appears, offering nothing but genuine entertainment to a point where its own shortcomings start to seem very insignificant compared to its strongest merits. I may have a soft spot in my heart for this series, but all the things I found to be problematic within the work are still covered here in this review and explained why I think they can be forgiven, because even with all of its problems, this is -in its own way- one of the greatest series seen read more
Sep 28, 2019
SingleH (All reviews)
Maybe it’s just because I’ve gone old and crotchety, but I’ve been really disappointed with ufotable as of late. Maybe even that is too harsh, I’ve just felt so out of touch with them for the past three and a half, four years as it appears they’ve completely abandoned their old selves. Whether it be the astronomical success of the Fate/Grand Order mobile game, or the fair success of their own Tales of Symphonia adaptations, ufotable has seemed to hone in on game adaptations. All they’ve made for TV following their 2014 readaptation of Deen’s Fate/Stay Night, Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works, has been game read more
Sep 28, 2019
MainstreamBean (All reviews)
Ahhh, Demon Slayer. If I were to describe you in very short terms, it would be "a show with decent to mediocre content overshadowed by its own technical achievement."

Firstly, the positives of this show.

Without a doubt, the main intrigue and appeal of this show upon first inspection is the art, and for good reason. Ufotable, the studio previously mentioned, is responsible for this shows adaptation into anime, and has overall done a fantastic job at keeping a consistent and unique artstyle incorporated throughout the show's airtime. Not only ranging from the shows beautifully rendered backgrounds, cool read more
Jan 21, 2020
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Welp...I'm late to this party! Time to review the most overrated shonen garbage of the last 5 years! Demon Slayer is an anime that absolutely EVERYONE watched last year. Except for me of course, because I was watching bad hentai to make comedy reviews on the internet! I went in with pretty damn high expectations. As of January 2020, DS is rated the #20 greatest anime of all time on MAL and the #1 anime of all time on Kitsu. I'm dead serious! The kids on Kitsu truly think that this is the GOAT. Galactic Heroes? Ping Pong? Lain? Ashita no Joe? No! Fuck that read more
Jul 22, 2019
Sakura1230 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The anime was pretty lit before the yellow kid and the pigman got introduced.



Their character design is horrible, the constant whining of the yellow kid and the irrational behavior of the pigman is hurting me. One or two times, fine. But they just kept doing the same thing every single episodes. The story also dragged on at the same place for a few episode of useless scenes.


Soft spoilers below
------------------------------------

The fact that the yellow dude did almost ABSOLUTELY nothing makes me feel like he shouldn't be in the show, instead, character that looks like they have more potential, for example, the girl at read more
Aug 10, 2019
snufflesbear (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’ve been obsessed with Japanese anime for more than 20 years. I’m such an otaku that I’ve watched (or heard of) almost every anime out there. But never have I been as moved or awed by any anime, as I have by Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba. I rarely write reviews, but I’m making an exception here because this anime is just too remarkable.

Watching this anime, from Ep 1, has been an exceedingly emotional journey. The combination of flawless animation, gorgeous music and magnificent storytelling puts Kimetsu no Yaiba right at the top.

Have I mentioned the animation? Have I? It’s bloody fantastic, pun intended. Obviously, read more
Jun 3, 2019
Val3n (All reviews)
Preliminary
(SPOILERS:)
And yes this was taken down but now that i've watched 6 Episodes here is my review: If you want the overall here it is: Demon Slayer doesn't do anything new or ground breaking. The characters feel reused from other Shonens and the plot is like if Full Metal Alchemist and Tokyo Ghoul had a baby but that baby lacked drama, subtleties, or nuisanced characters. If you like Shonens, you'll like this show. It is entertaining but there's not much to it here.
If you're tired of the Shonen genre and hoped this show had even a little more depth to it's characters, world building read more