Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Girly Air Force


Alternative Titles

Japanese: ガーリー・エアフォース

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2019 to Mar 28, 2019
Premiered: Winter 2019
Broadcast: Thursdays at 23:00 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Satelight
Source: Light novel
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.391 (scored by 10,703 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #65232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2340
Members: 33,228
Favorites: 107

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 31, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Colorful, fighter aircrafts known as “Daughters.” Hawt Japanese women. And a young boy, Kei Narutani, who arouses the “Anima” (young girls who are specifically designed to pilot the “Daughters”) because he’s the chosen MC for Girly Air Force. What else could you ask for?

“Anything but this garbage.” — Random MAL user

“Yeah…yeah.” —Krunchyman

The world is under attack from a mysterious entity known as Zai (evil, advanced aircrafts), who have surpassed human technology and are considered, relatively, unstoppable. Except when the government employs “Anima” to combat the “invulnerable” foe. Because one of the “Anima” is defective, Kei is requested to spend time read more
Jan 31, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Nothing better than girls with big guns! But it's nice to see them occasionally wield big firearms, too. Heh made a funny.

Girly Air Force is much like Girls Und Panzer on planes except not as good, its lacking the sports side of things and there are men in the story line too. By men, I mean Kei because he is the self-insert of this series and therefore perfect human being because this is based on a light novel.

As for the female casting, they are practically pure waifugame, but it's strong no doubt. Minghua cleans Kei's house like a good housewife, Gripen kisses our man before read more
Mar 28, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
From my first viewing of Girly Air Force, it felt like I’ve seen this somewhere before. And no, before anyone mentions “Arpeggio of Blue Steel”, it’s actually not that. What I mean is that I’ve seen similar anime like this before with the ideas of objects translated into cute girls. Kantai Collection, Frame Arms Girl, and Strike Witches are a few that comes to mind. Yet, a voice is telling me that Girly Air Force really felt lacking in terms of execution. And with regret, I didn’t really get this show.

To be fair, the light novels aren’t very popular. Before this got announced as an read more
Mar 28, 2019
Luciano_coh (All reviews)
This review will be super biased because Im writing this as a military stuff, jet fighter fan (I have an F18 keyring lol). I think you need to be a fan of these stuff to really enjoy this one. Apart from the ending which gets kinda interesting and some other interesting concepts too is a pretty avarage good-bad guys history, but I really enjoyed it! The art is kinda flashy with all those colors, I wished the "daughters" had more realistic colours and also the enemy designs felt kinda poor, they also felt like if they were just there to fit in the battle escenes, read more
Jan 31, 2019
Williem (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's first time I watched an airplane-themed anime series, so I was interested in making a review of this anime.

This series starts with a kiss from a princess captured inside a plane, joking maybe. Well, "Girly Air Force" tells the story that when the earth was attacked by an enemy who was not stalked Anima, this story focused on Narutani Kei who was on a boat trip there was an enemy attack when there was armed contact, a mysterious plane appeared, the plane turned out to be on the earth's side he was the Grippen girl from Anima.

This series has a story that is funny read more
Mar 28, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
I am astounded and stunned to fathom what's so good about this show, except that it is built on cliches and tropes, one after another. That's what is obvious from the get-go, and unless you're a fan of these irregularities, it doesn't help that this show gives off bad vibes from the start.

The story (and worldbuilding) is that mankind/humanity is under attack from extraterrestrial entities only known as Xi, large colourful bird-ish planes who have surpassed human technology and are considered unstoppable. One fateful day, the dull MC, Narutani Kei, stumbles among one of the Xi's many attacks, and is caught in the crossfire between read more
Mar 28, 2019
Otorez (All reviews)
Girly Air Force was not a "must watch" anime but a decent one for those who like air fights, jets and colorful haired girls.

At first, let's cover the negative points that contributed to GAF's low popularity. Hum, the thema itself was quite basic, with aliens named Zai coming on Earth with their very high technology which totally outmatched humanity's current one. Forced to fight, every national armies & research (at least Japanese, American & Russian as we know) managed to create their own weapons, based on alien's jets they somehow destroyed.

These researches lead to the creation of Animas, aka girls with very colorful & non-conventional read more
Feb 4, 2019
EmperorAlfred (All reviews)
Preliminary
SPOILER ALERT!
Don't read if you haven't watched any episode yet!

Nothing like an anime with a Rainbow air force, and to add to that, the colorful airplanes are girls, or humanoids if you put it, made from "Zai" parts.

Story: 6/10
The world is under attack and under grave danger as we know it. The PLAAF, People's Liberation Army Air Force, despite being one of the biggest Air Force in the world, were no match for the evil enemies, those enemies are advanced aircraft known as Zai. They are "evil" and know nothing but to bring about destruction. Beijing is taken and/or destroyed and several stragglers who survived read more
Feb 11, 2019
Nielszche (All reviews)
Preliminary
I like "simple plot" animes like Girls und Panzer, Strike Witches, Jojo, Nichijou, Konosuba, Gate, Angel Beatsand Girly Air Force, even though I can go deep inside awesome animes like Hellsing or Uchuu Kyoudai.

Anyway, when I watch some Girly Air Force episodes, I want to chill and have fun, watching waifus defying aerodynamics and physics, developing some random love interest, but also having epix 3D dogfight with electronic happy music.

Why this anime ? Why do I review it with such a good note ?
Because when I watch animes, it's really when chilling. Girly Air Force : cool music, cute characters, epic moments, beautiful read more
Mar 28, 2019
XVM (All reviews)
This is a review of the entire show and is filled with spoilers, and I repeat everything twice (most likely). With that said, we're diving right in.

I gave this show an overall of 5, which is probably way more than it deserves if I'm being honest.
The show goes off the basis that something called Xi (Or Zai) has invaded China and has begun attacking the rest of the world, and blah blah blah. I'm Sorry, if you were looking for a synopsis please refer to the anime's page.

There a couple of main points that for Character review seems to be quite off. We have read more
Mar 28, 2019
xRhune (All reviews)
Well, it's a simple anime with a different proposition, but it fell into that cliche of harem, with ecchi and in that old story of something wanting to dominate the world, in this case they are the ZAI, a type of technology still quite mysterious. It could have been better, if they had developed better the characters, nothing happens between them, it seems that the winding that is seen in an end of harem anime, an example of this was the friend of the protagonist having no relevance, she existed only to have more girls on the screen.Overall, it's an anime that is minimally watchable
Mar 28, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Arpeggio of Blue Steel....with Jet Fighters.

LA was expecting Girly Air Force to be the Kantai Collection of Jet Fighters type anime, yet nope, we have full blown harem with our main protagonist Kei Narutani voiced by Ryouta Osaka being separated from his family in China and forced to live in Japan due to an attack by mysterious beings called the Xi, fornately his childhood friend Minghua Song voiced by Lynn is with him. but with a chance encounter of an "Anima", a human manifestation of a jet fighter, he gets dragged along into defeating the Xi so that he can return home, but of course, read more
Mar 28, 2019
Shingster (All reviews)
Please note this review is intended to be read by those that have finished watching Girly Air force and while has been taken to minimize story related spoilers there may still be spoilers within character analysis. You have been warned.

Based off a popular light novel of the same name Girly Air force is a military, action and sci-fi genre anime that gives us the opportunity to see what will happen if one day during our lives in the modern age that humanity instead of expressing joy after coming into contact with a mysterious new faction that had discovered their planet instead finds itself read more
Mar 28, 2019
dchang0 (All reviews)
Premise is good.

Too bad the origin story of the two sides was never explained in the first cour. I suppose the studio was gunning for a second season, but I would be really surprised if they get one, so this anime will probably leave us hanging forever.

Also unfinished are at least three of the five possible harem routes. That means that most of the enjoyment of this anime must come from the battles because the world and the romances remain woefully incomplete.

I do like the battles, though, so I did watch all the way till the end. The ending song Colorful Wing is great too, read more
Feb 28, 2019
SlaceTheDark (All reviews)
Preliminary
Welcome to my fourth review. This review is about Girly Air Force, an 12 episode anime animated by studio Satelight. Satelight is a studio that hasn't been in a focus for the anime community like in ever. Although, by just browsing through their anime you can spot some pretty big and great anime. So they certainly can pull off a great anime. Is Girly Air Force one? Well, first off the name is terrible. I don't know why the author chose that name but I do not approve. So let's talk this show.


Plot/Story: Right of the bat we have a quite common story point. Extraterrestrials read more
Apr 26, 2019
green_tornado (All reviews)
I started flying about two years ago and I have loved it ever since. When I saw this show recommended to me, I was on board with it since I would be able to "fully" understand the terminology. I knew I was going to be in for an interesting show when the opening scene consisted of a C182 (a very slow and stable training aircraft) at an airshow literally doing aileron rolls at high speeds. Needless to say I was surprised and unable to stop watching due to that surprise.

If you are an aviation enthusiast, you will probably enjoy the read more
Mar 30, 2019
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
I have control.......Or so as what original creator, Natsumi, Kouji, concepted, cu'z frankly using the concept of other worldly being out to invade planet earth and it's up to mankind to fight against these invaders was just too cliche to say the least, the worst part was that this anime has more to do with the relationship between a human Narutani, Kei and an anima Gripen. Now let's be honest around here, the way I look at this I kinda see this as more like a dream come true for the original creator Natsumi, Kouji, cu'z everything here was based from his novel of read more
Mar 15, 2019
anodasin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Girly Air Force, huh?! What kind of anime is this? Seems like military-harem with some fan service and mild nudity scenes. That's what I thought at first. I don't know why somebody somehow won't watch this one. It's not bad.

The story begins with one guy has been saved by a mysterious girl. The world has been attacked by a mysterious corps named Zai. The human is being in danger of extinction. What a plain story! But, guess what's interesting? Aircraft. Aviation. Sky War and Daughter.

Watching this anime will open your eyes. Skies are blue and spacious. Our MC has been tasked to a read more
May 24, 2019
Stangryn (All reviews)
I intend on this being a completely spoiler free review. Girly Air Force is about the definition of mediocre. If it was to be personified, it would be the guy in the room no one remembers because he is so incredibly average.

The art is nicely done, and CG isn't obtrusively done like so many other action anime. That alone gains it points in my book.

The audio was nicely done, but not so much the music. The music only seemed to really hit a high note (forgive the pun) one time for me... and it was in episode 12. read more