Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Golden Kamuy 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Golden Kamuy Second Season
Japanese: ゴールデンカムイ 第二期

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2018 to Dec 24, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Geno Studio
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.161 (scored by 17,066 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3642
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1909
Members: 41,645
Favorites: 141

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 24, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
I should have probably ate something before reviewing Golden Kamuy. Even thinking about this show makes me hungry and it’s not what I had in mind. But hey, seeing this golden egg return again for a sequel is such a welcome delight.

Remember, this sequel continues from the first season and now indulges on the continued quest of Sugimoto and his ever daring adventures. It makes a memorable return with the first episode introducing Edogai Yasaku, a taxidermist. Right off from this season, he shows his true colors with his expertise related to human skin. While not being an actual killer or sadistic as Tsurumi, I read more
Oct 29, 2018
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
Preliminary
A great continuation to an already great series...

Art=5/Sound=9:
The anime's main flaw is actually the art and animation, character designs are really basic and are constantly recycled throughout the anime, backgrounds look terrible and the effects seem cheap and out of place; in addition the animation is very rough and has very little flow which makes the show seem like a coloured manga with voice acting and music rather than an actual anime. However, when it comes to sound, this anime is fucking phenomenal! The OP is probably one of the best this season (Both OPs probably top 20 this year) and the soundtrack is read more
Dec 24, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
The legendary series that is Golden Kamuy has had its shares of greatness, starting with Season 1 in Spring 2018, and now the sequel this season, which expands upon where Season 1 left off, but with more refined balance between the comedy and action. In more ways than one, Season 2 solidified everything that was lacking in Season 1, and made it tenfold better IMO.

We continue on with Immortal Sugimoto, Asirpa and Co. on their journey to find not just the gold, but the man responsible for the whole fiasco in the first place: Nopperabo, the big eyes Ainu of a traitor, which is also read more
Dec 29, 2018
TakeTheWindward (All reviews)
I like Golden Kamuy. It has the slice of life charm with its episodic nature, there's great animation that works in tandem with the narrative, and most importantly, it is unapologetically itself. I think this show is unique, meshing Japan's historical periods together and bringing cultures to life. Golden Kamuy never gets away from what makes it stand out. There are witty jokes, there is great interactions between characters, each character is consistent in many different moments. There is the interesting mix of Japan's history coupled with very flamboyant characters and creates an interesting contradiction to what is typically shown on TV. What you can read more
Nov 5, 2018
GeNIe3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Continuing from an already amazing first season, the second season does not disappoint at all. Even though the start to this season is very slow, I believe it was a good choice as things have not been rushed and new characters' introductions have been handled quite well.
Art has improved vastly from the first season. No more CGI bears, that's right. However, compared to other shows currently airing, the art and animation is still very lacking for such a good animation. This is the only drawback from this amazing anime.
Just as in the first season, the OPs and EDs are still great. Although this season doesn't read more
Dec 25, 2018
kokuborou (All reviews)

Golden Kamui returns with the second cour/season which imo is better than the first season. The story, characters and plot have improved a lot and what I liked in this season is how they focus more on the side characters.
The characters maintain their unique traits and the enjoyment is better with the addition of the new characters that are introduced.

If you were familiar with the first season one of the main themes that is executed is the insatiable hunger for war/fight that the human nature is capable of. Our characters despite the Japanese-Russian war is over are still living in the past on read more
Dec 29, 2018
PyraXadon (All reviews)
I regard sequels as an 'obligatory watch' since there's always an itch inside of me that yells at me telling me that I better finish what I started.  Sometimes I hate that itch cause sometimes things I loathe get the coveted second season.  But usually I get stuff like Golden Kamuy to watch a sequel of.  And my reaction for these moments are always: Yes.

Story:

Golden Kamuy continues the journey of Immortal Sugimoto's (and co.) journey towards finding the fabled Ainu gold hidden on the tattoos of freed prisoners.

Really that's about all I can give for a prior synopsis cause any more information would complicate the read more
Jan 11, 2019
AmericanSomnium (All reviews)
Season 3 when?

I almost dropped this season halfway through. After a strong start with similar bouts of tension and comedy, I was really wavering halfway through. However, it turns out I almost dropped right before the real stuff began. Golden Kamuy season 2 really brings out the tension, visceral violence, and heartfelt plotlines that makes it a unique series in it's second season. We had more double and triple crosses, alliances, twists, and exactly what made the first season great. They toned down the poor CGI from the first season and brought in even more great and unique characters than before.

Honestly, with little to chose read more