Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahou Shoujo Tokushusen Asuka


Alternative Titles

English: Magical Girl Spec-Ops Asuka
Japanese: 魔法少女特殊戦あすか

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2019 to Mar 30, 2019
Premiered: Winter 2019
Broadcast: Saturdays at 02:25 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: LIDENFILMS
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.441 (scored by 13,383 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #63572
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1935
Members: 47,370
Favorites: 91

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 29, 2019
AstralBread (All reviews)
Metal Gear Homura

Do not be misled by the words “Mahou Shoujo” in the title, this is a military/sci-fi drama about an anti-terrorist unit, it is far more in line with Ghost in the Shell/Metal Gear rather than with any actual mahou shoujo series. In fact, Metal Gear is an almost complete thematic match for this show - gut-wrenching military drama plus “twenty minutes into the future and the world has gone to hell” sci-fi plus wacky tongue-in-cheek comedy.

As a military drama it touches on the themes of child soldiers (that is, magical girls), terrorism, PTSD of soldiers and civilians (one of the best and read more
Mar 29, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
It’s beautiful…is what I would say if Mahou Shoujo Toushusen Asuka managed to bring in a magical girl show worthy of glory. But beautiful isn’t a good way to express this anime. From what I’ve seen from the first few episodes, it’s a show that takes on a darker, edgier, and grimmer side of the magical girl genre. Adapted by LIDENFILMS and based on the manga, this was a peculiar anime to talk about.

For starters, there’s a clear reason why the show airs late at night on the MBS block. Like the manga, this adaptation actually keeps the censoring to a minimal. Here’s an early read more
Feb 3, 2019
Unconfidence (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dropped at EP4.

This anime had a lot of strong points going for it, and managed to ruin every single one of them with overt appeals to sex and violence which reduced it to a childishly bad experience. The ero fanservice is immediate and constant, with every woman character having constant boob shots. In the swimming episode they lingered on a pointless buttshot for like four seconds. The characters are all just fighting concepts given scantily-clad form. The entire draw of this anime seems to be seeing scantily clad women inflict graphic violence onto others, or to have graphic violence inflicted upon read more
Feb 9, 2019
Ventus_S (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the top 3 anime this season. (Along with Dororo ofc)

This is not a series about shallow torture porn or violence, but an illustration our post war situation in real life. The 2nd World War is over decades ago, but it doesn't mean the world is peace again, and everyday somewhere there's someone who's suffering. Soldiers and police can't take break and retire just because the war is over because threat of terrorists and other malicious figures still roam around the world everywhere, and no-one is really safe.

This anime does not shy away from the brutality of combat , fighting, and even its read more
Mar 29, 2019
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
Whelp, here we are again. Another attempt at making a darker, more mature magical girl anime for all those who want one. Last year gave us Magical Girl Site. An anime so over the top and ridiculous that it was unironically funny when all things considered. Now this anime throws its hat into the ring at its attempt. Now the question going into this show was how serious was this show going to be or is it more or less going to be a ridiculous spectacle? So you read the synopsis, watch the trailer and then when you see magical girls wielding side arm read more
Mar 29, 2019
papsoshea (All reviews)
Welcome to the latest entry of “Dark Magical Girls”, the anime sub-genre that rose to popularity in the 2010s. The creators of these types of stories grab the aesthetic made for young girls and smash it repeatedly until blood is splattered on everything. When you begin to peel back the very thin layers to the story, it really isn't interested in playing with the Magical Girl aesthetic or tropes at large outside the most obvious surface elements. The magic element is there so it's teen girl super soldiers have a justification to wear fetish outfits instead of Kevlar.

Mahou Shoujo Tokushusen Asuka (Spec-Ops Asuka for short) read more
Feb 15, 2019
BadAshley (All reviews)
Preliminary
Off model: the anime.

They blew the budget on ep 1 and it's been downhill since.

There's dark magical girl anime, and then there's whatever this is--some kind of anti terrorist task force with magical girls, and they will kill your ass.

So ep 1 opens up with Asuka, some kind of shell shocked magical girl veteran of some terrible magical war where giant stuffed animals literally ripped people and her friends to bits who is now trying to get back to a normal life. The pacing is great, character design is great, it's even believable how the most ordinary things set her PTSD off, and how she's read more
Mar 30, 2019
Vancomycin (All reviews)
Do you know these kinds of shows, which have relatable protagonists, interesting villains and a strong plotline, but are no fun to watch? Well, Magical Girl Spec-Ops Asuka is the opposite.

As anybody can probably guess by the title, this show is another edgy magical girl show trying to jump on the edgy magical girl Anime bandwagon. Premise of the show is that after the successful repulsion of an invasion of killer-plush animals from another dimension our now retired magical girl protagonist Asuka and must deal with PTSD and her new peaceful life. Wait, doesn’t this sound like this could be a potentially interesting story?

Unfortunately, with read more
Mar 29, 2019
ForgottenCake (All reviews)
Have you ever seen those videos on instagram of some shop/cafe/etc in LA that makes these crazy concoctions? Ice cream with cereal, bananas and sprinkles, and then its frozen and fried? That's the best way I can describe this show. While the core idea of a grittier take on the magical girl genre is appealing, the show fails spectacularly in just about every way.

Plot 2-3/10:
In general, the method of how girls become magical girls is hard line to skate between reasonable suspension of disbelief and stupidity. It can be done well which can be seen in the go-to gritty magical girl show Madoka Magica. read more
Mar 31, 2019
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
Going into Mahou Shoujo Tokushusen Asuka initially without any prior knowledge kind of left me not knowing what to feel beyond some sort of weird repulsion towards the series. However, once I understood that the anime was in fact, more of an 80s buddy action film homage more than anything, my expectations were properly adjusted and I ended up thoroughly enjoying most of the show.

Asuka is a barrage of tonal inconsistencies, sometimes violent, sometimes comfy, sometimes incredibly lewd and sexual. But all the more, these vast tonal shifts just somehow work. Like any good 80's schlock, you have your share of tits, gore, violence (all read more
Feb 11, 2019
Otorez (All reviews)
Preliminary
First review, 12/02/2019, contains minor spoilers.

To describe this anime as its finest, I would like to introduce it as "a magical girl show in a modern world where magic does not always have a bright side".

Indeed, here in Mahou Shoujo Tokushusen Asuka you get to follow Asuka, a retired magical girl who used to fight - as well as her 4 comrades + 6 deceased - weird creatures named Disas. However, this part of the plot is explained early but gets forgotten after that.

But peace cannot be maintained forever obviously. One day our retired magical girl who started going to high-school as a regular read more
Mar 29, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Hey what if Magical girls turned into mercenaries?

Mahou Shoujo Tokushusen Asuka maybe look like your typical "dark magical girl" that Madoka Magica has still in 2019 has a lingering presences with it's imitators however Mahou Shoujo Tokushusen Asuka feels like it fully embraces it's own thing, yes "edgy dark" but still.

Mahou Shoujo Tokushusen Asuka looks at Asuka Otorii voiced by Aya Suzaki, a veteran magicla girl who fought in a massive war to defeat the Disas, magical plushies demons out for humanity and with the five that remained at the end, she along with the 4 others were branded as the Magical Five that saved read more
Mar 16, 2019
FantasyHazard (All reviews)
Preliminary
Since I can't give it a 9.5/10 I gave this a 10 WHILE UNFINISHED

This show, without giving any major spoilers is brutal, harsh, unkind, and very much a painful show.

However - unlike other shows in the dark mahou shoujo genre, this show falls away from away from the typical shock factor of cute girls doing nasty things and instead tugs at your heart, and you can feel the moral dilemma's facing these girls, who is indeed truly good?

The opening soundtrack, and indeed most of the ost in this show fights the mood and helps set you in the frame of the scene.

The characters, to read more
Mar 31, 2019
RottenOrange (All reviews)
This anime has the potential to be the worst Mahou Shoujo that ever existed, bravo!



1. Originality: 6
Okay, yeah. The description did sound original, within the framework of Mahou Shoujo of course.
The Mahou Shoujo genre is increasingly repetitive, that's why even magical girls fighting against terrorists sounded more interesting than it was. However, the more the episodes progressed, the more I questioned myself whether this was really a Mahou Shoujo or a hentai of terrorists. Don't get me wrong, I know that there are transformations and magical powers like in any MS, but most of the times that the subject is touched it's so... ridiculous. I read more
Jun 15, 2019
The_Walker (All reviews)
When going through MAL and looking at a shows average ratings many people have come to notice quite a few rules. Long running Shounen for example, is generally overrated by a full point. Older anime made before 1999 is often underrated by half a point and a full point for 1980. You get the idea.

One very recent rule I have realized that strangely only applies in the last decade, is that any time you see people in the reviews complaining about a show being "edgy" you can safely add a full point to the average score. This is the case with Mahou Shoujo Tokushushen read more
Mar 24, 2019
SailorWeeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is too good.

Most people say it’s trashy or it has a lot of fan service and torture, but the torture scenes have only happened twice so far and well, if you look past the fan service, you’ll see the sleeper hit of the 2019 Winter season. I’ve been watching it since the day it came out, and as a girl with a bunch of disabilities, including anxiety and depression, I could totally relate to Asuka’s initial struggle to get back to fighting evil. But every character arc is written so nicely, the action is definitely not limited, and you get to learn more read more
Apr 29, 2019
PhazoidX (All reviews)
I'd like to preface this review with a warning. Firstly, I'm somewhat of a magical girl fan, particularly that dark and edgy take on the magical girl series. Secondly, I know not everyone is going to read this entire review, so if you're interested, jump ahead to the tl;dr section where I overview the review in a pros and cons list.

I went in with high expectations, I'll freely admit that. I was looking forward to this gruesome take on the magical girl genre. An anime that wasn't afraid to shy away from the blood and gore of open warfare. An anime that might even push read more
Apr 4, 2019
NatsuDragneel12 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't usually go on hating but this anime really pissed me off.
Story-3. Art-2. Sound-6. Characters-1. Enjoyment-0. Overall-1
*WARNING SPOILERS*
OMFG a new magical girl anime *sniff sniff* actually it kinda stinks....don't touch this garbage....i've seen many magical girls anime and this is the most bad one i've seen yet and i don't think i will ever see something as bad as this.
Story is meh...i like in general many magical girls anime like Mahou shoujo site and madoka BUT this one is pure garbage.
The graphic...well,do you remember the Arima vs Kaneki fanmade(if u saw it)that's much better...this graphic its ew.
Characters-Clichee protagonist with sad past who tries to read more
Apr 1, 2019
TevishSzat (All reviews)
Every once in a while you get a work that's legitimately transformative, taking a stale, stagnant, or just under-explored genre and bringing it to a state that's truly new and different. Magical Girl Spec-Ops Asuka is not that show. It wants to be, but it isn't. That doesn't mean it's a bad show, but if the show were a rocket it would aim for the moon and hit an urban center with a payload of nerve gas. Did that comparison seem disturbingly excessive? If so, it's the right one for this show.

Because what needs to be gotten out of the read more
Mar 3, 2019
Nazar91 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of those animes that I can not take seriously. Because they mix an excessively realistic story about mafias, drugs and others with a theme of Mahou Shoujo full of adorable things like teddy bears and more. And it is impossible to take this seriously, but the problem is that the series does and that takes me out of the immersion because the suspension of credibility works to a certain extent.

The plot goes of magical girls dressed as whores with post-traumatic stress of a war waged against pink teddy bears and other creatures. The girls deal with problems worthy of CSI with an read more