Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Zombieland Saga


Alternative Titles

English: Zombie Land Saga
Japanese: ゾンビランドサガ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2018 to Dec 20, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Thursdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.781 (scored by 57,524 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #599
Members: 156,577
Favorites: 1,058

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 25, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
THE LEGENDARY TAE YAMADA!!!!!!! Let’s start the review you UN-LEGENDARY, bitches! Your dumbasses better appreciate it!

GO! GO! GO! GO! GO! GO! GO! GO! GO! GO! GO!

You know, you gotta be pretty damn brazen to feature young, teenage girls walking around like a bunch of brainless zombies, in an attempt to portray the modern fatuousness in the pop culture world. But that ain’t shit!!! Because having the zombie versions of Pinkie Pie and Rainbow Dash (MY LITTLE PONY, PEOPLE!!!), break out in a rap battle while TAE YAMADA’s head goes flying into the audience during a rock/pop/rap concert was about as excessively read more
Dec 20, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Doesn't it feel like in today’s world, there’s way too many horror media that does same things over and over again? I’m not solely talking about anime alone but the horror genre has gotten to a point where it feels like we’ve seen just about anything. One of the most iconic type of horror is the dead coming back to life. In this case, I’m referring to zombies. Franchises like Resident Evil and The Walking Dead are among just a few well-known ones that comes to mind. But what if I told you that Zombieland Saga manages to revitalize a bit of the horror genre read more
Dec 20, 2018
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
Zombieland Saga is unironically the best anime of the season.

Let me tell you a little story. Once Upon a Time, I got hooked on the idol genre, and descended into what is commonly referred to as idol hell. However, contrary to popular belief, I was able to snap out of my zombie like trance and escape from idol hell, and I can happily say that I’ve been clean for over two years. No longer having an interest in idol anime, I had no inclination to watch Zombieland Saga, and had planned on skipping it. What a sad, misguided fool the me of three or read more
Oct 25, 2018
Karina-Ivanovich (All reviews)
Preliminary
Zombieland saga takes all the rules of what you expected about a Idol show, or a zombie show, and throws them out the window. It is a comedy, but less about individual gags and more about the absurd concepts presented in general. I'd definitely recommend you at least try it out, though it will not be for everyone.

Also sports a cameo by everyone's favorite Truck-kun.

Story - So far the story itself is quite simplistic, but it is full of charm and humor, which is rare for me to like but it meshes well.

Art - Typical of the art style in this decade, its the weakest read more
Oct 25, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
If this had been my first idol anime, I would have been gravely confused when watching the second.

Zombieland Saga is a story about these cute anime girls who die, then come back as zombies and start making badass heavy metal music / stand up comedy / rap battles in a comedic manner.

The creativity of this series pretty much ends with its idea for main characters. Outside few nice ideas, such as diving into the audience before the music even starts playing and the Hunter x Hunter parody seen in episode 02, I can't say many scenes have made me laugh or felt satisfactory. Vast read more
Dec 20, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
It’s pretty clear that in today’s society, anime seems to be churned out in droves. You bear witness to the regurgitation of carbon copies, causing the medium you hold dear to fade into the bleakest grey...

And then Zombieland Saga busts in through the fucking window in a speeding minivan going 156 mph, shouting “FUCK YOU; GET IN” before flooring it faster than you can say “The Legendary TAE YAMADA!” It’s fun, it’s quirky, it’s loud as all hell, and most importantly, it’s as vivid as a sunset. Sure, your weeaboo mancave of a room is busted and your waifu collection is in pieces, but we read more
Dec 20, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
“Another idol Anime!” A lot of eye rolling and sighs going into this series, though the fact that it was an original, I was intrigued enough to give it a chance. The first episode makes a loud statement on what it’s about, taking only a few minutes to set up its “first day of school” cliché before crashing the premise of the show which is under the guise of everyone’s favourite automobile in “Truck-kun,” into our main heroine in Sakura Minamoto, and the audience. It’s so unexpected, it’s so shocking and the timing couldn’t be any better, it immediately has you in a fit of read more
Dec 20, 2018
VileKurata (All reviews)
If there was a word to describe Studio MAPPA it would be disappointing. Being the spiritual successor for Studio Madhouse many of the shows least, in my opinion, fell flat in they face mainly because MAPPA loves the play the field spell card called style over substance where the writing for these shows seemed to fall by the side in favour of pretty colours and flashing scenes. Because of that I grown to dislike MAPPA as a whole as they seem to prioritised flashing visuals over storytelling. Zombieland Saga is, unfortunately, no exception to this as despite the show being advertised as a parody idol read more
Oct 25, 2018
forster82 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Spoiler free review:
Just like many other animes I have seen, I decided to go in blindly without researching absolutly anything about it. At first I thought this anime would just be another copy of "Highschool of the Dead" but boy I was wrong. The cover art you are seeing now on MAL wasnt the first one that was displayed on the anime, the first one just had a bunch of spooky zombies on it, and that at first had me skeptical about the anime, as I first thought it would be nothing but chaos, gore and a failed attempt at copying "Highschool of the Dead". read more
Dec 21, 2018
MagicalMahou (All reviews)
Zombieland Saga is a comedy about a group of zombie girls being marketed as idols by a red suit-toting weirdo through unconventional and sometimes embarrassing means of gaining popularity.

Zombieland Saga is an idol drama about a group of zombie girls on a quest to become idols but are held back the the implications of their deaths, their past traumas, their memories and the era they lived in.


Zombieland Saga works great as either show.


Zombieland Saga doesn't work at all as both.


By trying to juggle these two ideas, it becomes a tangled up and comes short of fulfilling either of those premises satisfyingly. It's not that the read more
Dec 21, 2018
MainstreamBean (All reviews)
This is my first review, so please bear with me.

Although having not watched much if not any idol anime, it was intriguing to see a spin on this conventional genre. With a synopsis such as "The peace these seven girls experience will suddenly be destroyed. By the living dead... zombies," I couldn't help but check the show out. Unfortunately, by the end of it all, it just felt like it fell flat.

To get straight to the point and not waste any time, let's look at the positives of this show. Firstly, I'll admit that it was quite enjoyable for what it was at times. For read more
Nov 11, 2018
Themoffa (All reviews)
Preliminary
The first 2 episodes are decent. But beware, they're just a jebait

The rest of the episodes are utter garbage and those who claim different have watched too much anime that they can't differentiate between something that's just awful and something that they find "okay"

I really don't have much else to say, the first scene of the first episode is 10/10 but it's just downhill from there.

I sincerly would recommend at least watching that first scene due to it's comedic value the way it's set up, but other than that I wouldn't recommend wasting your time on this anime.

There's 6 episodes out currently, and only the read more
Oct 27, 2018
monkeyyouwho (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is amazing in the first two episodes, if you haven't seen them give it a watch. The voice acting and the writing has some parts that left me laughing hysterically. I went into the show expecting nothing and by the end of the second episode I was ready to give it an extremely high score.

plus the opening is my aesthetic.

The sad thing is that it goes on to parody idol shows (I guess?) in the next episodes and really falls flat for me. Maybe I haven't seen enough idol shows to get the jokes but it really seems more like a copy than read more
Dec 20, 2018
Raggadish (All reviews)
MAPPA, you genius. Had someone told me a year ago that I would watch an idol show featuring zombie girls nonetheless, and whole heartedly enjoy it, I would´ve laughed said person straight up in the face. Honestly, I´ve never seen an idol anime before Zombieland Saga (ZS) and will probably never see one again. Because ZS came and rocked my world (yes, pun intended), with what doubtlessly is mostly a great grand parody of the idol genre. MAPPA has gone and done it again, and this time with genres that I for my life never thought I would ever appreciate. So why is ZS the read more
Dec 20, 2018
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
Zombies and idols. Both are oversaturated in their respective parts of the world with zombies in the west and idols in the east. I'm pretty sure that we are fed up of both and don't take interest in watching them and just look for something else to watch. I imagine it is going to take a lot to get people into watching an idol or zombie show. But along comes this show. This show which combines these two together into one caught many people off guard and provided us with something we did not expect. So why, I ask, did I keep watching this show read more
Dec 30, 2018
AngeVGC (All reviews)
Zombieland Saga is your stereotypical horror show with zombies.Nah,of course not,I'm just pulling a leg here.But,that is actually what MAL portrayed the show to be in its initial stage and with very little information,low expectations were immediately setted for the show.However,those very expectations will soon be exceeded.Let's start the actual review.Zombieland Saga is an anime about a group of undead zombies forming an idol group under the brilliant leadership of their manager,Kotarou,in their quest to accomplish Kotarou's goal of saving the Japanese prefacture,Saga.(I feel like this may be the show's way ofmaking a parody of idol anime settings like Love Live that requires the group read more
Dec 28, 2018
WeebWithoutAName (All reviews)
SPOILER ALERT (Kind of. I'm gonna talk about some of the themes of the story)


Before watching Zombieland Saga, I had never watched an idol anime.
It's not that I had anything against the concept of the "genre", I just didn't have an interest in watching any of the few shows I knew of.

But when I looked at the anime of this season, I saw Zombieland Saga. And I had seen a clip of the first scene of the internet, so I knew what kind of show it was. And I decided that I was going to watch it.


The basic plot of the anime is that Koutarou read more
Dec 23, 2018
Rich_n117 (All reviews)
Zombieland Saga, a show about 7 girls from different time periods that are all brought back as Zombies to be a pop idol group. Probably one of the craziest ideas for an anime but none the less it works. However while I say that there are many flaws that make this show not as popular as people made it out to be while I waited for it to finish. For everything Zombieland does well there is something to counteract it. Overall it becomes a interesting watch that sometimes makes you laugh and other times make you yawn.

Animation (9/10): I loved the animation of read more
Dec 23, 2018
DtDaniel (All reviews)
Well, this was not quite the anime people expected when they started watching it... As the synopsis of this anime is quite misleading, people where expecting just another anime about zombies. This was totally not the case as the anime appeared to be a quite unique idol anime, even pulling in fans who normally do not watch idol anime.


Story: 7/10
The beginning of episode 1 would let you believe that this would be just another typical idol anime, starting out in a very stereotypical way (If you have not read the anime title), with that suddenly changing around 1,5 minutes into the episode when the main read more
Dec 22, 2018
Moomochi (All reviews)
Out of 100 Nobles watching...
75 were impressed!
10 were the same CG critics that leave every time in the modern anime era.
10 Would like a more unified tone and desired more coherent explanations.
5 don't like the premise.

Zombieland Saga is a show with an ambiguous title that makes perfect sense once you actually find out what the premise of the show is. Zombie girl pop idols in Saga prefecture Japan. Ohhhh I get it now (I don’t get it). In all seriousness I don’t want to give away too much of how this show starts as it has some great first episodes that serve to hook you read more