Kaze ga Tsuyoku Fuiteiru
Run with the Wind
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Run with the Wind
Synonyms: Kaze ga Tsuyoku Fuite Iru
Japanese: 風が強く吹いている

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 23
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2018 to Mar 27, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:29 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Novel
Genres: ComedyComedy, SportsSports, DramaDrama
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 6134561,345 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #982
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #853
Members: 143,164
Favorites: 2,857

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2019
SingleH (All reviews)
Watching Welcome to the Ballroom throughout it’s six month long two cour run was one of the most disheartening experiences I’ve yet to endure in all of my years. I watched as the industry titan Production I.G. themselves, those who’ve defined high-quality TV animation with the sports shows Kuroko no Basket and especially Haikyuu!, as they aired a similarly structured sports anime that panned over still frames and used basically constructed CG character models for background athletes like you’d expect from any other garbage studio. No matter how attractive and sharp the male designs were and no matter how shapely and sexy the female designs read more
Nov 7, 2018
SkydiverRed (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is surely the best anime of this season.

Story:-9/10
Looks like the anime industry has finally acknowledged the existence of a mythical place known as 'college'. From the very first second you are drawn in due to the unique storyline.

Art:-10/10
The art style is so fluid that it easily sets this anime apart from others.Absolutely no inconsistencies/drop in quality anywhere.

Characters:-10/10
This is the USP of the show. We have 10 people,each studying in different majors and different years.Ample screentime is given to every character.Their interactions are highly realistic.

Enjoyment:-10/10
This show is a perfect mixture of drama,motivation and comedy.There is never a dull moment.It feels difficult to wait an entire read more
Mar 26, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Is it just me or does it seem like we don’t get enough literature anime adaptations these days? Kaze ga Tsuyoku Fuiteiru (also known as Run With the Wind) is an actual book adaptation and features competitive running as part of its plot. Like most competitive sports, the show delivers storytelling to feature the journey of characters to accomplish their goals. Thankfully, this show delivers a promise that won’t leave you disappointed.

To check off the bucket list, you should probably ask yourself if you enjoy a story driven by drama with sports elements. Because make no mistake, this anime contains a great deal of realism read more
Mar 26, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Anyone who has ever run knows that it sucks. Why waterboarding is a thing when treadmills exist is a complete mystery to me. I guess even the KGB had its limit on how fucked up their torture methods were. Anyhoo, Kaze ga Tsuyoku Fuiteiru -- Run with the Wind -- is a story about people who are literally the epitome of masochism and, as weird as it may sound, actually enjoy running. I was expecting a psychological series going in depth with this pain = pleasure thing, but turns out our series relies on fujobaiting instead.

It should be warned already on the title page read more
Mar 26, 2019
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
This show is underrated and a true gem.

Story: 9

Run with the Wind is a really special show, it’s been a long time since any story has quite impacted me this strongly. The story is actually quite simple, a bunch of college students decide to run a marathon, and their journey to reaching it. The execution is where the anime shines, there is never a wasted moment at all, every episode either focuses on the growth of a character, the growth of the team, or a major cliffhanger that leaves you wanting more. The anime outside of some unrealistic dramatic scenes, felt very relatable and refreshing, read more
Jan 7, 2019
cliffysenpai712 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Are you exhausted of seeing sports anime set in a generic high school setting and want something different ? Are you a college student like me who wants a sports anime they can relate to ? If any of those describes you then I welcome you to the world of Kaze ga Tsuyoku Fuiteru. As an athlete in college, this show has given me the motivation and strength to practice hard everyday and not slack off. Why is that you ask? Well here are the reasons why.

Story : 9/10

The story like most people would say is pretty standard but what differs it from the read more
Nov 6, 2018
wdakdkwVdwadwad (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story (7): The story is neither extremely unique nor really unoriginal, but it is pretty standard story for a sport anime.

Character (10):
There are various unique, interesting and lovable characters in this anime, and we get a deep-dive in the personality and development of the most important characters, making it really easy to relate to and feel with the characters, as well as making them more likeable and real.

Sound (9):
OP: Pretty fitting for the show. The opening is chill and all good but nothing outstanding.
ED: The ending is pretty neat, the beat is really relaxing.
OST: (the god) Yuuki Hayashi composed the soundtrack, read more
Apr 2, 2020
Ezekiel_01 (All reviews)
We, humans, are always an interesting bunch of creatures. The difference between us humans from animals is that we have dreams. Dreams we set as our goals with. We chase down our dreams in the road of life, hoping to reach self-satisfaction and eternal happiness. Sadly, not everybody has a solid resolve to chase down their dreams, while some don’t have an end goal in their life, making the destination of life confusing and frustrating. But even with those odds, we still continue to move and keep on running in different directions. We still chase down the unknown answer we seek. This is what Kaze read more
Mar 26, 2019
Xnovazero (All reviews)
Do you like running? So let's run together!
Road with the goal of Hakone is far. But aim for dream is good thing. They convinced it, and strive to practice training every day. Who is genuine runner? Where is college can reach the top? Those answers are there.

This show is ensemble cast by various characters. Basically, Kakeru Kurahara and Haiji Kiyose are protagonists. No problem if you focus them. At first, each characters development are completely well done. This is high point. Every characters are unique, attractive, likable. And cool. Especially Haiji is my favorite character in this show. I love his looking and personality so read more
Mar 26, 2019
FMmatron (All reviews)
There are various aspects which have to be considered and come into play if we are talking about how a good anime should generally be like. That said, values and priorities in regards to a story and technical features may differ dependent on whom you ask. Well thought out plot, compelling characters or perhaps a focus on visual storytelling-you name it, all of us have preferences whose omnipresence ultimatively dictates our viewing habits and the enjoyment we receive out of something. There's still one attribute I view as vital in order to appeal to the audience, namely heart and even more so when it read more
Dec 11, 2018
FreshOrange (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, unique in terms of other "outgoing MC" animes. If you slightly like sports or into it, this anime will make you wish that it never ends.

In my opinion, what makes an anime great is the ending and the desire to watch it one episode after another. BUT, i just realized that might not apply on all of them. Sometimes the process of waiting and building into a good story with a direct legit art, is all what it takes.

Beside when it comes to sport anime, you need to have faith in Production I.G, hope to see more of their works...
Nov 12, 2019
literaturenerd (All reviews)

Time to review another one of the MAL top 100! At least at the time of this review it's in the top 100. Run with the Wind is being hailed as one of the greatest sports anime of all time. While I feel it got a little overhyped and overrated, it's certainly a good anime and well worth checking out!

Wind is the 2nd novel from author Shion Miura to be adapted into an anime. The first was The Great Passage back in 2016. Remember that one? It was about a 30 year old guy with autism that struggled with interpersonal skills, but found an read more
Mar 26, 2019
The-Observer95 (All reviews)
I never really enjoyed any sports anime ever before watching this anime. The reason I never liked any sports show was simple, you see all any sports anime ever did was just putting so much effort on the sports itself that they forget to develop the characters who are the essential part of the anime(looking at Haikyuu, yuri on ice and free).

I was really shocked to see a anime about running that does not show any character running until ep 5 or 6, I mean how sports anime do that these days. Rather then making us show the characters running from the start it takes read more
Mar 26, 2019
CorkMars (All reviews)
"Haiji... this isn’t just your dream anymore... it’s our dream.
It’s a nice dream. So nice, I never want to wake up."
I too would never like to wake up from the dream that has been Kaze ga Tsuyoku Fuiteiru, or Run with the wind. This is an anime that has touched my heart more than any other work of art I have ever experienced in my twenty years of life. I'm writing this review immediately after viewing the final episode, and I am truly grateful for this series.
The underlying theme of this series concerns youth. In college, we are pulled in so many directions, and read more
Mar 26, 2019
icekoolkr (All reviews)
*Insert Stupid Quote" Reviews nowadays are either filled with people having unpopular opinions and people liking them a lot, or some guy who writes an entire essay on why the show is a "masterpiece." Personally, I try and watch for enjoyment instead of picking apart every little thing within an anime. Anime, in my opinion should be watched with enjoyment rather than be slammed down by little tiny flaws that lowers the overall "score."

Now I am going to tell you why I enjoyed this anime, instead of breaking down every detail.

I must admit, the synopsis is bad. However, if the synopsis is holding you read more
Nov 11, 2018
staticreset (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fall 2018 has been a pretty good season, some might even say it's great. Among all of the shows I've seen so far, Kaze ga has got to be one of my favorites. And I'm surprised at how underrated this show is right now, considering how enjoyable and good it is. I haven't watched a lot of sports shows AND I'm only writing this after watching 6 eps (I'll probably update this when I have more things to say), so of course take my opinion with a grain of salt.

First, probably the weakest aspect of the show so far: the story. Now, I don't want read more
Mar 29, 2019
Dhvanit (All reviews)
Truly a masterpiece!

Story : 10/10
Art : 9/10
Sound : 10/10
Character : 10/10

This anime is one of the best sports and positive anime.
100% recommended for sports animes.

Story:-
(Spolier)
The story resloves around the main person Haiji who is a long distance runner suffered from leg injury but still wants to run at the national event.
He does fulfill his dream by convincing everyone in best possible and realistic way and they did reach to the Hakone Ekiden, by registering scores for all players and also securing 10th in the qualifying round

The best part is that the whole story goes ahead perfectly step by step like Prince's timings eventually reached to read more
Mar 26, 2019
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
I'm not gonna lie to you guys okay? The ending was a bit rushed. Like, they could've pumped it to 25 episodes instead of 23. But maybe I'm only saying that because THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST ANIME I'VE EVER SEEN, AND I WANT MORE OF IT.

Okay, where do I start? The soundtrack is absolutely amazing. Not just the openings and endings, but the background tracks are so, immensely good at setting the mood for this anime. The art is GORGEOUS. It's hard to explain what exactly I love about this art style, but I'm hoping to find something similar to it in the read more
Dec 21, 2018
bigmccreefan420 (All reviews)
Preliminary
kaze ga is the anime i didn't know i was missing. i've dabbled in some sports anime here and there, but only few capture my attention enough to keep me hooked for the whole series

story - 8/10
the story itself is nothing mind blowing, pretty standard for the sports genre. something that sets this series apart is that the characters are experiencing college/apartment life, something i feel we don't get to see enough in anime. outside of that, the story follows the passionate team captain trying, and struggling, to motivate the rest of his team. i do give props to any show that can take a read more
Dec 9, 2018
chijeu (All reviews)
Preliminary
My favorite kinds of sports anime are those which are not sports anime, but more of a character drama. this show was one of those shows that i couldn't stop watching. i marathoned the first 8 episodes in one sitting. i then decided to go to sleep but the show invaded my thoughts to the point where i couldn't, and i needed to catch up fully and watch the other 2 released episodes at 4am :D
production I.G. always does such a good job with "sports" anime so it makes me upset that people are ignoring this show.
the character development in the first 10 episodes is read more