Mayonaka no Occult Koumuin


Midnight occult civil servants

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Midnight occult civil servants
Japanese: 真夜中のオカルト公務員

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 8, 2019 to Jun 24, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:30 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: LIDENFILMS
Source: Manga
Genres: DemonsDemons, FantasyFantasy, MysteryMystery, ShoujoShoujo, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.731 (scored by 1541215,412 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #46672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2251
Members: 44,953
Favorites: 88
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 28, 2019
eb2 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was originally going to write a review after it had finished but seeing such low ratings i decided to write one now.

Every season there is an anime that is completely underrated and gets ignored by majority of the viewers. for me Mayonaka no Occult Koumuin is that show for this season.

STORY/Charachters: 8
The story has been pretty interesting so far, i cant really think of anything too negative about it. Every episode the crew has a new challenge/Adventure to deal with, The characters alone are all pretty interesting and unique. Every new episode a new character is introduced which is equally as interesting as the read more
Jun 23, 2019
a1samurai (All reviews)
It's shocking and disappointing that this anime is getting overlooked by so many people. Personally I blame the massive amount of coverage things with more money behind them are getting. Because this is a joint Funimation-Crunchyroll venture, thus it SHOULD have enough going for it to get as many views as possible. If they'd promote it.

So what is it and is it worth watching? I say absolutely. This show is basically what would happen if Men In Black and CLAMP's xxxHolic had a baby.

What it pulls off best is the art and sound most of all. It's VERY pretty to look at a read more
Jun 23, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
With the abysmal number of people watching this series, it's SOOO easy to forget that this anime ever existed in the eyes of potent men, at least it was for me anyways. I really also find it hard to understand why this series GOT a green light, because, more than the manga (translated) adaptation that doesn't exist (as of this review and probably forever), I hardly doubt that even the Japanese people watching this would be happy about this.

However and anywho, the crux to this series is about a new working-adult recruit called Miyako Arata. He is assigned to the Nighttime Regional Relations Department squad read more
Jun 23, 2019
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
To preface my review, I will make this clear to anyone questioning if they should watch this show in case they are not interested in male romance, it is not a BL show, the men are definitely designed to look feminine and overly cute but there are no romantic or sexual undertones at all. The show is fundamentally about a new detective who learns that all sorts of supernatural lifeforms called anothers exist in his city and that there is a detective agency that specializes in community relations with the supernatural.

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Story: 6

The story is pretty basic, it is episodic at the start read more
May 5, 2019
Windadepts (All reviews)
Preliminary
No idea why this shows got such a low score so I'll just write my review early.

Story/Characters

7

There's really not much to talk about here, it's kinda like your typical Abe no seimei ancestor story, except this one isn't atrocious. Slow to pick up the pace so expect to give it the usual 6 episode rule to decide if you like it or not. Basic jist is they do yokai/anothers cases which incorporates a mix of comedy and seriousness.
Onto the characters; we have our MC our resident newbie who can understand anothers which ultimately ends up with him attracting anothers wither or not is good, bad read more
Aug 1, 2019
felixlovesanime (All reviews)
Mayonaka no Occult Koumuin is an anime that could have used more, well, animation-- the only flaw for the otherwise a pretty creative lightning strike.

Supernatural-genre anime tend to follow pretty strict rules, one of which is usually to focus on Japan-specific deity only. In Mayonaka no Occult Koumuin's case, that rule happens to be shattered for a generally satisfying result. By utilizing a more urban and edgy setting, the Shinjuku Ward Nocturnal Community Relations Division team embarks on various misadventures (some are scary, some are romantic, and some are pretty psychological) by encountering what are basically worldwide-originated deities without at all feeling campy or strictly read more
May 6, 2019
LizardThirty (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of those shows that I really enjoy despite everything suggesting otherwise. Like, the animation is bad. Really, really bad. Just unacceptably jerky and awkward and weird. But it deserves better animation, that's for sure. I like the characters mostly, especially Theo and Kohaku- the art style isn't even that bad, considering how just unbelievably shitty the animation is. I also like the gay subtext with Arata and Kohaku (though that just might be me, a known gay, wearing my shipping goggles and being desperate.) It's also neat how the mythical creatures encountered aren't all japanese or european- Huehuecoyotl is Mayan, which is read more
Jun 20, 2019
Endrance88 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I came into this season of anime thinking that this anime was going to be a trash anime added to the pile while shows like "fairy gone" was going to be the main attraction. BOY WAS I WRONG. the complete opposite in fact.

This show is fun. Have you ever seen xxxholic? remember how the main characters would go around and have fun situations with supernatural elements that govern the world? imagine that but the characters aren't annoying anime cliches.

sure, one can say that some of these characters are boring. But honestly the involvement of some of the supernatural entities REALLY bounces off of them.

The read more
Jun 16, 2019
MenthaAquatica (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think that this anime is underaprraciated. I sort of understand why. No heavy drama, no quick action, no dire danger, meaning: no shonen elements. It is the only one that I know, that very vividly tried to create shojo out of shonen material (theme/subject, location, characters are good for police/shonen/action genre). And they suceeded. The story is whimsical, a bit emotion driven, a bit dreamy and romantic in a sense, although you will not find romance in here (phew, I hate romance). It also concerns the matter of interpersonal connection
I would say that this has something in common with youkai apartment. You will read more
Mar 22, 2020
Viest (All reviews)
I started this anime off with a completely different expectation and was very well surprised. I don't really have much to say other than that the anime was worth my time and I'm very glad I had the time to watch it. It was also a little neat that the anime gives you the "Wholesome" and "We're all humans!" type of vibe but in Hitoribocchi no Kyuuketsuki, it got a little dark, especially around the end! I think there was alot of dark hints around the anime but it only got really apparent in Hitoribocchi no Kyuuketsuki. The main character is also very gentle but read more
Jul 24, 2019
AnimeObasan (All reviews)
I'd be interested in reading the source material that this hot garbage came from. This show was the poor man's Natsume Yuujinchou, completely lacking in all emotion and quality all around.
*Sound: terrible. Every time the "Anothers" speak, it's in this weird double voice that makes them exceedingly difficult to listen to. Plus they speak so closely to human nuances that the whole point of the anime is thrown off.
*Art: Although the art style is a bit different from typical stuff, the way flying characters just hover with no movement to hair and no realistic movement bothers me. It also bothers me that when read more
May 31, 2019
Cat4596 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was originally intrigued by the setting. A bunch of mythological creatures, angels, demons, etc. combined into the umbrella term 'Another'? How would the dynamics between these creatures pan out, and in terms of angels, demons, and gods, how would the different and conflicting religious myths surrounding those creatures be explained?

Those were the sort of exciting ideas I got after watching the first episode. A few episodes later, I was very disappointed that none of those ideas ever got explored. None. The whole premise of this anime was humans and Anothers can't understand each other ever. And it's not even about understanding speech (this silly read more
Sep 11, 2020
mushi_Jyou (All reviews)
Reason for Watching: The synopsis gave a feeling of Natsume (I do adore this series) and also the Art style really charmed me to check this out.

TL;DR: It is worth the time to check out the story Concept and Art of this anime, but the pacing might be a little slow with little tension.

Well first off, I think the Occult theme takes up a rather small percentage of the Supernatural Genre in anime as well as other forms of media entertainment. Relatively, I also feel that the fan base for Occult theme animes is rather small too. There may be people who are like read more
Aug 31, 2020
blackdragon88 (All reviews)
This series is very run of the mill. There's no interesting twist to any of it. It's so typical, it's almost forgettable. The series is episodic, meaning there's a new case almost every episode. There's no overarching villain, nothing big. It's a casual series you can watch if you're bored, or perhaps you liked the anime like Tactics.

That said, the music was a jazzy setup, and I love jazz, so I was really into this soundtrack. The ost contributed to the rating I gave the series.

But what I really liked about the series was huehuecoyotl aka kohaku. Huehuecoyotl as a character was one of the read more