Oshi ga Budoukan Ittekuretara Shinu
If My Favorite Pop Idol Made It to the Budokan, I Would Die
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: If My Favorite Pop Idol Made It to the Budokan, I Would Die
Japanese: 推しが武道館いってくれたら死ぬ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2020 to Mar 27, 2020
Premiered: Winter 2020
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:28 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: 8bit
Source: Manga
Genres: MusicMusic, ComedyComedy, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: None

Statistics

Score: 7.541 (scored by 62906,290 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #15042
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3416
Members: 18,552
Favorites: 116

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2020
AstralBread (All reviews)
- I thought I'd make this my last visit. Sorane-chan was my hope. She was all that I had. But apparently, she doesn't need me. Then there's no point in me coming here anymore.
- Could you sum all that up in a haiku?

Stories about socially unacceptable hobbies/subcultures/lifestyles too often fall into one of the two extremes. Type 1 is a true believer’s exercise in self-celebration, saccharine feel-good tales that gloss over any negativity, which you can take as either irresponsibly naive or maliciously whitewashed (e.g. Shirobako). Type 2 is “look at these dweebs” hot takes made by an outsider with the authenticity and subtlety of read more
Mar 26, 2020
dlxuniuniu (All reviews)
“If My Favorite Pop Idol Made It to the Budokan, I Would Die”

That is the English title of the anime.
Somehow it sounds like a goal in your life, but certainly a weird one. I am a big idol fan myself, but I would never go that far and say this. There are "wotas" (=fans of Japanese idol singers) who would do everything for their favorite idol. They support them with everything they have and this is definitely something that should be respected. It is certainly unusual and hard to understand, especially in western culture. Nevertheless, it shows how much love the wotas give to their read more
Jan 30, 2020
drakenation (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL;DR: If you want a light-hearted comedy romance that is plenty stupid but still loveable, Budoukan might be the anime for you this season.

Watching the first episode, I was already cringing and dreading what future episodes might hold. In less than 25 minutes, you see our MC go from a cute and respectably-dressed young women to a part-timer slob with a single cloth change that spends all her money and time obsessing over the least popular and most introverted member of an underground idol group along her wota friends. Yikes. Yet, somehow, it left me curious enough to watch the seconds episode. And I'm glad read more
Mar 26, 2020
Tsunbio (All reviews)
Oshi ga Budoukan scratches that need for a cute low stakes comedy romance that needs to be satisfied every so often. While making us squirm with love and adoration.

The biggest warning I can give before jumping into the deep end of this series is that you will cringe and squirm from the way our main character acts sometimes, but that isn’t a bad thing! The reason you’ll be squirming is because her love and adoration for Maina is so vast and deep that is definitely slips into obsession, knowing the feelings are rather mutual though makes it feel a lot better.

Another aspect of this show read more
Jan 31, 2020
matthieu (All reviews)
Preliminary
In the same way that Don Quixote allows us to envision a sick man attacking a windmill, Oshi ga Budoukan Ittekuretara Shinu allows us to watch a sick woman throw herself against the rocks of celebrity. Admittedly, underground idols enmeshed in capitalist fan-extraction rituals are rather small, round rocks, but it still hurts to watch.

Oshi ga Budoukan Ittekuretara Shinu's comedy comes from the hopeless extremity of Eripiyo's stanning, and its romantic energy comes from Eripiyo's idol loving her back-- unfortunately, the romance cannibalizes the comedy and vice versa.

What Don Quixote and Eripiyo have in common is a late-stage fantasy life that makes them heedless of read more
Jan 30, 2020
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is an odd charm to this show honestly. I thought from the first episode. 'Did I just watch otaku idol fans the anime?' Not that is a bad thing by any stretch, after all it's very different from regular idol animes that I've seen, that just mainly follow the idol cast. Where this follows three certain idol fans and the idols in general, and it's nice to see.

But first, let me just mention how well done the art looks. The colours are exactly that. Colourful and bright. Not blinding or bad to look at, it really is great to see. The songs are read more
Mar 26, 2020
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
Has anime gone to far? We got shows about card games, shows about cooking, sports anime, even anime about making anime, but I don’t think anyone ever thought there would be an anime about idol otaku. This show follows sweaty idol otakus on their quest to cheer for their chosen idol at every concert regardless of the personal consequences, the review below will expand on this.

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Story: 5

The main character is named Eripiyo and she’s a huge idol otaku, specifically she follows a girl named Maina in an idol group known as Chamjam. Maina doesn’t have many fans and is generally overshadowed by read more
Mar 26, 2020
Photoxander (All reviews)
At the start of the season I saw a new Idol anime was airing. Another series where i'll watch 3 or 4 episodes, maybe download the rhythm gatcha mobile game. What I actually got was a show that shows the excitement of being an Idol Fan.

Summary:
A girl named Eripiyo's world is changed for the better when she walks by a small idol group preforming, there she would meet Maina. Quickly she falls into the dark hole we know as being an intense Idol Fan. From buying out the merch table of Maina CDS to going to every concert, Eripiyo is a true Idol Fan. All read more
Mar 26, 2020
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Just like how Eripiyo idolized Maina, LA does the same with Makino Yagami

Oshi ga Budoukan Ittekuretara Shinu is a meta commentary about the good side of fandoms and their love of the thing they love. Bankruptcy be damned~!

Oshi ga Budoukan Ittekuretara Shinu tells of Eripiyo voiced by Ai Fairouz who becomes utterly obsessed with a minor member of an even less popular but rising girls group ChamJam and like the title puts out, Eripiyo would die if she along with ChamJam would go to Budokan. This is the daily life of Eripiyo as the highs and lows of being a fangirl of a minor member read more
Mar 2, 2020
liAFa (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm gonna write my first review on this anime, I've nothing really smart to say and it's not gonna be really objective.
But I love this anime, being myself a lesbian which can do anything for her favorite idol I can really found myself in it.
I love the fact that it can seems exaggerated but it's really not. Idol fan are not laughed at, and they're not ashamed of what they are.
It represented the LGBTQ+ community, mostly the "L" part but without the "I am a girl I can't love an other girl", and it's really heartwarming.
This so great, I repeat myself very much but, Eripiyo read more
Feb 6, 2020
dchang0 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I watched this on a whim, only because I have a policy of watching at least the first episode of all the anime for the season to see what catches my eye, then I drop the ones that don't look promising.

This anime was the only one this season to cause me to laugh out loud (several times in the first episode). It's somehow become my favorite anime for this season.

Even though I'm not an idol otaku, the insider jokes made at the otaku's and idols' expense are clear and hilarious.

And yet, it's not all jokes. The characters are unique and endearing, and at least read more
Feb 27, 2020
jculture9318 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First, let us get the most important thing out of the way. This show revolves around the concept of obsessive fan culture and showcases it in a pretty light vein.

Yes, it often pokes fun at the obsession, but for the most parts it treats the obsession as a day-to-day thing (for the characters). Thanks to that, a lot of stuff in this show might be a bit hard to swallow if you dislike the idol culture.

And even if you like idols, the possibility of a romantic connection between an idol and fan can only be seen as a creepy fantasy. So, the most important thing read more
Mar 26, 2020
KANLen09 (All reviews)
This show definitely has some of the weird antics shoved that's unseen in anime form. Don't get me wrong, idol shows are few and far in between for people, but the re-enactment of the otaku idol fans instead of the idols? Now that's new and unexplored before!

The heart of this show being in light of the fans with their idols certainly is a step forward in the manga/LN medium, but bringing forward to the anime medium brings some heavy caution, and I have to say, the social experiment with this show being one of the untouchables has its good and bad pointers, and trying as read more
Mar 27, 2020
thundercracer (All reviews)
OK OK OK I have a LOT of feelings about Budokan, alright? This might actually be my favorite anime of the season - it's one of them, at the very least. The art was cute, the story was funny and even a bit relatable at times, and the characters were just... *chef kiss*

Budokan had some of the best comedic moments of this season, I felt, and I enjoyed the main three "otakus" so very much. Much more than I ever thought! The three of them have such good chemistry as characters and they balance each other out and make for some really hilarious shenanigans.

I read more