Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

BanG Dream! 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

Japanese: BanG Dream!(バンドリ!)第2期

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 3, 2019 to Mar 28, 2019
Premiered: Winter 2019
Broadcast: Thursdays at 23:00 (JST)
Producers: Bushiroad
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: SANZIGEN
Source: Manga
Genres: Music
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.751 (scored by 5,934 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10052
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3463
Members: 16,056
Favorites: 244

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 7, 2019
CatEatYourPizza (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review is not made for anybody who does not enjoy the BanG Dream franchise. This is more so for the ones who enjoyed the game.

As a fan of the BanG Dream franchise, or more so the game, when I watched the second season, I was very happy to see all the bands in action. And you know, we don't mention the first season, it's a little... who am I kidding, it utterly sucked. Although I have nothing against Poppin'Party, I even love their music in the game, I have to completely admit the first season was trash. Now, onto the 2nd season:

Story (5):

There read more
Mar 28, 2019
xNishimiya (All reviews)
One thing that I want to note is that you DO NOT have to watch Season 1 of the anime, or have to had played the mobile game (BanG Dream! Girls Band Party!) in order to enjoy this series. But, the full derivation of enjoyment will undeniably be obtained only if you've done the aforementioned. It enables you to treasure the characterization/seiyuu references of the main characters that are scattered throughout the episodes — namely Poppin'Party and a few newly introduced characters.

The first few episodes serve as an introduction to the viewers who are unfamiliar with the characters from the mobile game, with the read more
Mar 28, 2019
Ab3Linkin (All reviews)
First, let me get one thing straight: the first season was a goddamn masterpiece. The characters were awesome, the plot was heart-wrenching, and the art/sound design was beautiful in spite of its unfortunately low budget. I love the game too, but I'm only a fan of Popipa after playing for 2 years; the other bands are meh. Biases aside, season 2 is by far one of the worst shows I've ever seen. People who are fans of the franchise tend to say they love it, but I can't. For the most part, it's unoriginal and lazily produced.

Let's start with the plot. The show starts off read more
Mar 28, 2019
RiverRode (All reviews)
One of the biggest factors contributing to the success of the BanG Dream project is the number of characters in its roster. Between its five bands, there are 25 characters, and it’s a tall order to give each of them sufficient screen time across 13 episodes while still telling a coherent story. To accomplish this, the first half of the season mostly has the main plot take place in the background while each band receives a dedicated episode. These episodes needed to balance establishing the identity of each band for those in the audience who weren’t familiar with the events of the mobile game with read more
Jan 31, 2019
Nox--- (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a pre-review, after having watched the first five episodes that aired until now. Why a pre-review? Because, for the sake of the peace in the world, for the sake of your brain cells, i ought to put a BIG warning here...

For all of you, whether or not you liked the first season, forget about it. This second season is a totally different beast. One that sucks your brain cells...

In short, it is basically a compliation of advertisements for multiple virtual bands Bushiroad tries to promote. Don't look for any story, any developement, or any sense. It's just a huge mess.

Story 1: What story? read more
Feb 15, 2019
BLam301 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Personally, I am a huge fan of BanG Dream and really enjoy what Bushiroad has been pushing out. I am an active player of the game, and also keep up with the seiyuu and the franchise as a whole. So, there may be some HEAVY bias. Just keep that in mind when reading this review.

I'd just like to make this clear, this season serves more as a compliment to the game and its story. Instead of a story that develops over time as the anime moves forward, this season is more like a bunch of OVA's. If you don't play the game and you read more
Mar 28, 2019
eb2 (All reviews)
The first thing i want to say is that its a huge improvement if we compare it to the previous season even the animation is better.

STORY/PLOT
I actually discovered the game first and ended up loving it to the point where i decided to give the anime a try and im not going to lie, I was pretty disappointed with season 1 because it just wasn't good in any aspect, unless you just want the backstory on poppin party. Since the first season was bad i was pretty hesitant going into the second one but to my surprise it turned out better than i expected.The story read more
Mar 28, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
A step up

BanG Dream as an franchise for LA was kinda hard especially when the lackluster, "in your face" attempt in trying to say that "idol animes are gone, bands are future" and everything and the first season didn't exactly pan out for LA for several reasons, The 2nd Season makes some redemption towards the failures of it's first season but also brings in new flaws into the mix but overall this 2nd Season is presented in a much more focused light than the first season ever did.

BanG Dream!'s 2nd Season starts off with many of the bands working on their latest lives but with read more
Mar 29, 2019
Wilfridge_T (All reviews)
Regarding this anime, there are many flaws yet it still can shine. If you haven't played the game, watched the first season only, or even played on the EN server, there's a lot that you will miss in this anime. Nevertheless, don't let my first sentences dissuade you from enjoying this franchise.

Talking about the story, there's no other way to cut it. Let me reiterate, if you have absolutely no background whatsoever, you will be very confused watching this. Furthermore, the first few episodes are basically an advertisement for each of the 5 bands that we can see in the game. The story only read more
Apr 25, 2019
ionvop (All reviews)
I don't think this anime really had an impact on me.
I just watched it casually and treated it like one of those slice of life anime.
The story isn't really something to be clenched about, it's basically just bands performing here and there and most of the conflicts were just things that can easily be dealt with.
The story is not something to be really attached to, but is still casually good nonetheless.

At first I thought I wasn't going to enjoy this anime because I was slightly disgusted by how they insisted on going for 3D animation this season unlike the first season where it was mostly read more
Apr 8, 2019
mocasumi (All reviews)
So, as someone being a big fan of the Bang Dream franchise who plays the game, likes the songs, and somewhat enjoys the characters, I should be the perfect target audience for this anime, should I? Turns out that this wasn't turning out to be true.

The story was all over the place and sometimes really dragged, which is surprising considering that this is only a 12-episode anime. You have six bands: Poppin' Party, Hello, Happy World!, Pastel*Palettes, Roselia, Afterglow and Raise A Suilen (RAS). This makes it 30 characters to be placed in a coherent story, which already sounds like a task destinied to fall read more
Feb 10, 2019
DevilEater (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review so I hope it ain't to bad and forgive my grammar.

The Bang Dream anime is really meant to appeal to people that also play the phone game. The first season of Bang Dream introduced us to the main band which was fine for people who did not play the mobile game, but the second season is less friendly to people that just watched season 1 and did not play the mobile game. By re-introducing the bands in the game for people that did not play the game. it may seem like a random time skip because of these read more
May 8, 2019
lowlifeloveliver (All reviews)
So, I'm not one to write reviews very often, and when I did, they were very brief and pretty sarcastic. I don't even write thorough reviews for my absolute favorite shows. But I come today with a heavy heart to announce to the world that just when people thought the first season of BanG Dream!'s anime adaptation didn't do the franchise any justice, the second season made the former look pretty good.

The mobile game BanG Dream! Girls Band Party! has had a massive popularity explosion since its release, and the release of the English server in April 2018 made the franchise even more accessible to read more
Apr 18, 2019
shirorinkorin (All reviews)
(EDITED)
After a lot of thoughts i changed my mind. i usually don't want to say this but,
DONT FCKING WATCH THIS ANIME, NOT EVEN THE 1ST SEASON
it is not because i hate this, in fact i love this. but i just tired of seeing people deceived by the others to watch this when they aren't even play the game (OR MAYBE I SHOULD SAY YOU SHOULDN'T ONLY PLAY THE GAME BUT READ THE FCKNG STORY ALSO).This anime is not for you who didn't play the game, all character already being introduced and developed well in the game story so don't fucking bitching about why the character read more
Mar 30, 2019
Kawa_kun (All reviews)

You can't really fully enjoy this anime without playing the game, regardless of whether you've watched season 1 or not. This is the kind of anime where seeing your favorite character get screen time already makes your day.

Nevertheless, my hopes for this season was for all 5 bands to interact with one another, with the bonus of RAS joining the fray. Safe to say that the show did this to a certain degree.

One interesting move is advancing everyone by a year, with some interesting turn of events. For example, Rinko became the SC president for Hanasakigawa and Hina either ended or saved Haneoka HS by read more
Mar 3, 2019
B3MyGuest (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're a fan of Bang dream (like me) you'll enjoy this anime since it has cute moments and decent character interactions but to people new to the franchise I feel this anime isnt going to be for you. It's going to feel like the anime is trying to sell you a brand and there isnt going to be much character development or story to keep you interesting if you're here for that. I think the use of cg is wonderful and the band performances are great. I recommend not to see the first season because the animation and the use of cg there is read more
Sep 11, 2019
Ruler632 (All reviews)
It is with anticipation for the upcomming third season I'm writing this review for Bang Dream.

First of all, don't forget to watch the first season, as soon as you're past Kasumi's awkward version of Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, you're in for a real treat, and while the first season is a seed that's budding, you can really look forwards to the second season, which I'm here to discuss.

The second season take off a few months after the first season, Kasumi's band Poppin' Party (PoPiPa) have progressed, and are now recognized as a decent band and together they've gained new friends and rivals, and you start read more
Apr 15, 2019
fishbowltwo (All reviews)
I don't know if I can even fully articulate how disappointing of an experience watching this show was for me. This won't be very strictly constructed, but hopefully at least somebody can relate

Right off the bat, I can admit that a lot of the characters in Bandori aren't very well written. A lot of them are incredibly weak, one-note and pretty cliche, but in the game it worked because the event stories being told were more about simple fun little short stories about how different combinations of the 25 girls interact in different scenarios. It's not perfect and it's incredibly basic, but it's a fun read more
Jul 6, 2019
ukiAY (All reviews)
The first season was great. It introduced people to the BanG Dream! universe.
This second season is... confusing.
What people need to know coming into the second season is that this is nothing like the first season. The focus has largely shifted from Poppin' Party to the other bands in the BanG Dream! universe.

Basically, if you haven't played the BanG Dream! Girls Band Party mobile game (on iOS and Android), you won't enjoy the second season very much, since the first half of the second season feels like advertisements for Bushiroad (so they sell more CDs and in-game purchases).

However, after you've watched the first season, played the read more
May 11, 2019
johnbradshaw (All reviews)
What BanG Dream! 2nd Season managed to pull off from a slightly below average first season totally caught me off guard and make me happy a lot.

I'm not a big fan of idol anime but I do enjoy a good one, and Bang Dream! 2nd Season is one of those few ones. While still follows the usual path of other shows, its differences lies in those unexpected plot twists with great character developement.

Although the side characters are still very one-dimensional, the main ones are great and pleasant to watch. Combining with great songs, I can assure you that Bang Dream 2nd season is one of read more