Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Evangelion: 3.0 You Can (Not) Redo


Alternative Titles

English: Evangelion: 3.0 You Can (Not) Redo
Synonyms: Evangelion Shin Gekijouban: Kyuu, Rebuild of Evangelion: 3.0, Evangelion: 3.0 Q Quickening, Evangelion 3.33
Japanese: ヱヴァンゲリヲン新劇場版:Q

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 17, 2012
Producers: Gainax, KlockWorx
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Khara
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Mecha
Duration: 1 hr. 36 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.621 (scored by 116,744 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #495
Members: 213,789
Favorites: 1,104

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 29, 2013
Erenle (All reviews)
[Spoilers obviously]

I saw Rebuild 3.0 about a month ago, and during that time I didn't think much of it. It was just another movie in the series, and I didn't analyze it to any significant extent. The action was intense, the plot seemed interesting at the time, the animation quality was superb.
Recently however (coinciding with the UTW BD subs release), there has been an influx of discussion posts about 3.0, and I figured that there had to be a reason for such a community reaction to the movie; there must be more to think about. So I went to re-watch the movie again with a read more
Jan 19, 2013
Foggle (All reviews)
It’s been over three long years since Studio Khara’s brilliant Evangelion 2.0 graced our unprepared eyeballs and earholes with its fresh and exciting take on the classic anime series. Fans grew antsy and expectations ran higher than ever for this third film in the Rebuild of Evangelion tetralogy to deliver the goods, and Neon Genesis mastermind Hideaki Anno knew he really had to shake things up with the newest installment to keep everyone flocking to theatres and DVD racks in enthusiastic anticipation. And he shook things up alright.

Picking up where part 2 left off, You Can (Not) Redo — or Q Quickening, if you’d rather read more
Sep 14, 2014
FishM_Gabbajow (All reviews)
Evangelion 3.0: You Can (Not) Cop Out Harder

This movie. Oh why this movie.
Coming from someone who has seen the series in it's entirety multiple times, I can in fact confirm my verdict on this film without seeing it's successor.

This film is bad. Really bad. "Cop Out" isn't even coming close to describing it. We take all the established material from the previous films and just throw it away, like a used dish sponge.

We change characters without explanation, break canon with no explanation, do stupid things for no reason, and don't even take a second to tell you what you need to know. Now, this may read more
Apr 27, 2013
mister_deaf (All reviews)
Neon Genesis Evangelion is a legendary series which made its First Impact in the anime industry seventeen years ago. Boasting a cast of characters as intricate as the plot itself, Evangelion has earned both pride and glory as one of the pioneering anime series that has garnered massive audiences and acclaim around the world.

But this praise is not without being sullied with controversy.

Indeed, the original Neon Genesis Evangelion adaptation was notoriously known for its unconventional plot, its extensive complexity of drama and its indescribably upending conclusion which had left even those most hardened fans mad with confused outrage. The Rebuild of Evangelion tetralogy of films read more
Nov 20, 2012
Xukapy (All reviews)
I just watched Evangelion: 3.0 and I have to admit it was not what I expected. Having watched the previous 1.0 and 2.0 I knew that there would probably be new characters, new music and scenes, but I did not expect that there will be so many! It's almost a completely new movie, quite different from the old story. Evangelion has always been apocalyptic and this can be seen much more in 3.0 than in the previous 2 movies. While watching it you can feel that the end is coming. There are so many new and never before seen things (really really cool too)! The read more
Apr 25, 2013
Lemmy7003 (All reviews)
Evangelion is a complex work; the television series challanged the dimensions of the anime world by creating a dark, world where not everything is told to the viewer. Evangelion 1.0: You Are (Not) Alone and 2.0: You Can (Not) Advance were somtimes viewed as not following this trend, showing us just about everything.

Evangelion 3.0: You Can (Not) Redo changes all that.

Story: Fourteen years have passed since the climatic moments of 2.0; this is not the world Shinji Ikari remembers. Many things have changed, and Shinji is left very much like the viewer; completely and utterly confused.

I'll be fair; Evangelion is well known for having a read more
Apr 28, 2013
Reaper71 (All reviews)
Ah, Evangelion. I like to consider myself something of an Evangelion fanboy. I loved the first two rebuild movies so much, I went back and watched the original series as well as EOE. I bored to death anyone who would listen to my numerous theories and explanations behind the recurring symbolism and the less "cohesive" sections. And most of all, I would never pass up a chance to illustrate my excitement for the next rebuild movie. I spent four years waiting for the release, and another 4-5 months for the BDs. I watched, I took in, I digested, I frowned.

This wasn't what I was waiting read more
Dec 28, 2012
Nakuke (All reviews)
When I first watched Evangelion in my middle school days, I was as any other person who watched the series. I liked it, yet I thought there were things that could have been done better. I came to be attached to the characters, although I found them annoying in some ways. Evangelion is not a perfect story. Yet it was an amazing story, and more than all else, it was different. I am a complete sucker for moe animes, to a certain extent, but I cannot stomach what Evangelion has become: Nothing more than fanservice for people who like to do very little thinking and read more
May 25, 2013
IronBerserk (All reviews)
The unwarranted hate towards this movie has been baffling. Many critique the story for not explaining much, others critique it for having dumb characters that simply do not trust each other, and other critics simply go for the idea that it wasted our time. To those people I say, what is your point? This is Evangelion for crying out loud. The Neon Genesis Evangelion TV show was precisely all those things combined except it was much longer and much more monotonous. This film definitely has a lot of value to it and is much better handled than anything the TV series ever did.

If there was read more
Jan 13, 2013
ThatGoatDude (All reviews)
I don't usually go into a movie expecting high things, and the things I've heard about this movie threw my expectations up in the sky and below in the darkest part of the ocean. When I went into this movie, I honestly didn't have any expectations. They were thrown around so much, I wasn't prepared for really anything. But, in the end, perhaps it took too many risks and it wasn't very coherent to what the other movies seemed to be building towards (which, is arguably a good thing) but ultimately failed to build towards to something worthwhile either.

STORY -

First, I want to read more
Jan 18, 2013
Gamer_2k4 (All reviews)
Oh, Evangelion. What to do with you.

Let's start with what little good there was. While I can't truly judge the art, as I only saw a camrip, it seems to have the same quality as the previous two movies - that is, very good. At times things seems very busy, like there was a lot of junk on the screen that didn't need to be there and a lot of unnecessary camera work (rotating around and such), but maybe those things would be fine in a normal presentation, rather than a camrip. That's all I'll say on that, as any more read more
Apr 25, 2013
seungyoon (All reviews)
I havent been an Evangelion fan for long. I just watched the TV series a few months ago, and I loved it of course, but it wasn't one of my favorites. I hated the End of Evangelion, I feel like it kinda messed up the entire TV series. After that, I reluctantly watched the first two movies, and they were ok. I had my hopes kind of low for 3.0.

Maybe that's why I am absolutely floored and how truly fantastic this film is. I feel like I cant express it in words, but I'll try.

Story (10):

Here's where 3.0 is either a hit read more
Apr 24, 2013
necronX (All reviews)
This is one of the worst anime I've ever seen. The concept, writing, and direction are all terrible. If you're an NGE fan, don't ruin it by watching this.
Sep 16, 2014
DeXeTer (All reviews)
Evangelion 3.0 you can not (redo) haha fitting title for such a mediocre movie of evangelion don't get me wrong l don't hate the rebuilds they are rather enjoyable and fun
but 3.0 trys to hard to be the original and fails in that aspect let me tell you why



Story 5/10 ohh the story how awful you are :/ the 14 year time skipped was an awful plot point to begin with and nothing is literally explained in this film what happened after shinji saved rei in 2.0 nope he didn't old rei is dead and another clone is to take read more
Jan 11, 2013
TheDrmcvey (All reviews)
Evangelion 3.0, in my opinion, is the most enjoyable of the three rebuild movies so far in the four part movie series. I guess one reason is because it was a film I wasn't expecting. In the last two Rebuild movies, most fans of the original series, like myself, already knew what to expect as their stories unfolded. The first rebuild move 1.0 covers the first 6 episodes of the original T.V seriies. The second movie does seem to take a different direction in some parts of the story, but overall uses the same plot elements from the latter half of the T.V series read more
Aug 3, 2014
59adnapaka (All reviews)
Yes, I am new to the Evangelion series, and I have never seen the original animated series. The first two movies in the reboot were AMAZING. Top notch characters, engaging story, some of the best anime visuals I have ever seen and a kickass soundtrack. I went ahead to watch part 3 with a lot of expectations.

But boy was I in for a shock. The opening sequence was okay; the other two movies had better action sequences. Once the action was over and people started talking, stuff got really bad really fast. Very many characters were completely changed around and the time gap of 14 read more
Nov 21, 2013
LeikoHaran (All reviews)
Oh, Evangelion, the name alone manages to spark riots among avid fans of the series, emotional outbreaks over those who have loved and cared for the characters as they developed and the people like me, who are simply here for the ride in the hopes that Anno and his team will finally stop mindfucking us and give us an ending worth watching.

For those of you who don't know, i'll fill in what you may have missed before i go on to the actual review:
To cut a painfully long and complex story short, teenage pilots are called up to pilot giant mecha robots known as Evangelions read more
May 1, 2013
AdmirX (All reviews)
WARNING - SPOILER IMMINENT.

There is not a fine line between subtlety and senselessness. As with, there is an unmistakable difference between directing styles that allow an open interpretation with one that leaves the audience clueless. Q will leave you mostly clueless. It takes the questions posed in 2.0 and further complicates it, with new questions thrown at you along the way, without possibly having an answer. Evangelion as a whole have always been this way, but Q takes it up, more than just a notch.

I would like first to establish, from my point of view, what Q is and what Q is not:

1. Q is read more
May 5, 2013
Fourteenthangel (All reviews)
Evangelion 3.0 is certainly has fans squarely divided. Some will even go as far to say this is either a love it or hate it film. However, is this film as bad many would tell you? To be honestly that is completely up to you but I will give you my opinions on this whole ordeal.

This movie takes place nearly fourteen years after the events of the last film. While the Third Impact was nearly averted it still had some lasting effects on the world. Now it been almost half a decade and the world is still bitter and slowly rebuilding. War is now read more
Jul 25, 2015
MikeOnHighway61 (All reviews)
Here's a little preface: I watched Evangelion 2.22 a long time ago. Just once. I couldn't handle watching it for a second time. Back then I thought it was the most horrible disfigurement they could have come up with for my favourite TV anime series. What happened in Eva 2.22 that appalled me that much? Please read the crazed rant I composed back then in an attempt to somehow express my anger and leave it all behind. But to sum up what happened in Eva 2.22: it trivialized. It basically took everything about the fascinating characteristics of the original and pressed it into bite-sized stereotypes. read more