Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tokyo Ghoul:re 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Tokyo Kushu:re, Toukyou Kuushu:re
Japanese: 京喰種トーキョーグール:re 第2期

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2018 to Dec 25, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.441 (scored by 47,713 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #60602
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #587
Members: 158,980
Favorites: 1,143

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 30, 2018
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yet again, Studio Pierrot has bent the anime community over and fucked us...

Art/Sound:
The art and animation is basic with most of the action being goddamn slideshows essentially, it just doesn't reflect the manga's great art. However, the sound is actually good in general, especially the OP by TK and the voice acting.

Plot/Character:
120 chapters in 12 episodes... THERE IS NO FUCKING PLOT! I have read a bit of the manga and I'm still lost; it's too fast and we get no explanations or understanding of what's going on. Due to this pacing, all the characters that have been thrown at us get NO development although read more
Oct 30, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Mangaka: I made a sequel to the Tokyo Kushu manga, wanna read it?

Me: Sure, let's see... yeah, this story is fucking awful, every single character was practically mind-raped, the art is so messy I literally can't tell what is happening during these action sequences and there is just too much text for this to be called a manga. Let's face it, this wouldn't be passing any editor's radar if the series was less popular.

Studio Pierrot: *teleports behind my back* pssst, kiddo, we can easily make this thing 7 times worse, just watch.


It's no secret that Tokyo Kushu is a problematic franchise. This for the simple read more
Oct 30, 2018
b-okiya (All reviews)
Preliminary
I always considered scores like 1 or 2 unusable. They're just unfair in my opinion, because I believe that no matter how trashy a series can be it'll still have its own ups that are worthy of some more points at least.

However, this is the one series (season in particular) that is going to make me change my mind.

The amount of rubbish they packed up here; from horrible pacing, to lousy animation, to poorly developed characters, to lacking intensity, to inconsistent story that keeps jumping from one place to another incoherently, just makes anyone ignore whatever positive you can find (though I doubt you can read more
Dec 25, 2018
Goombah (All reviews)
So, to preface, this is my first review, so bare with me here!

If you enjoyed this anime, good! That means you got something out of it that I couldn't! But I, for one, didn't! So, with that said, let's get into it, shall we? Tokyo Ghoul:RE is.... Quite an atrocious anime. You've probably heard this a 1000 times by now, and so I'll be the 1001st.. Never have I been so disgusted with a form of media until now. Save yourself, and don't waste your time with this.

Story - 4

The story of this season is overall pretty dry and flavorless. These arcs are just not read more
Oct 30, 2018
TheFlamingHitman (All reviews)
Preliminary
You know Tokyo Ghoul was soooo amazing in season 1 and 2, really had a huge fanbase and a lot of hype, but it took them so long to produce the next season. Yet alas it was here and we didn't get a single recap of what happened or whats going on they expected us to know everything, and it took all my brain power to figure out what was happening and it was really nice in the end.

THEN we have this season and boy if u thought that seasons story was messed haha you haven't even seen this one. Its story is a complete read more
Dec 25, 2018
VileKurata (All reviews)
This review will cover both Seasons of Tokyo Ghoul re:

"YA DONE FUCKED IT UP"
Angry Joe.

Back in the summer 14 anime season, there was a little star anime called Tokyo Ghoul. After that first season ended the series quickly gained popularity from anime fans from the world making it the success. While manga fans beg the differ around due to its content skipping the first season was a decent adaptation that did a good job at bringing in anime only fans to Sui Ishida work. One anime season later the second season of Tokyo Ghoul came out which was titled Tokyo Ghoul Root A a confusing, read more
Dec 25, 2018
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
“If Tokyo Ghoul is fast food then Parasyte is fine dining.”
-ZephSilver, MAL “Hall of Famer”, June 2015

Brilliant quote. Now, here’s my not-so-professional version of that famous statement:
“If Parasyte is a Kobe Beef Steak dinner, then Tokyo Ghoul is a previously frozen, pre-prepared Salisbury Steak meal….with preservatives to last through seasons.”

Alright, that’s out of the way. Let’s start with the prelude.

From even the very first season, I was never really a big fan of the Tokyo Ghoul series in its entirety, and I’m REALLY tired of people telling me that I should be reading the manga version of the story. Regardless of whether or not I read more
Dec 25, 2018
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
"SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN THE FIRST SEASON OF TOKYO GHOUL:RE"

It's fair to say that the first season of Tokyo Ghoul:re didn't leave a good impression on fans of the series (In fact, I think it made it worse). The problems that Root A had only got worse in Tokyo Ghoul:re with its only saving grace being its soundtrack. And with Root A no longer being canon, it kind of left Anime only's confused as to what the hell was going on (Although the story did not help with that). It would probably take a miracle for the anime franchise to redeem itself read more
Nov 2, 2018
Po_366 (All reviews)
Preliminary
it's confusing and it's like they were no connection or proper continuity from the story last season
the anime itself seems rushed and poorly executed.i am very disappointed of this anime especially on episode 3.
overall the anime this season was really poorly executed and it seems like it wont improve on the upcoming episode.The animation was mediocre but the story telling is horrible,season 1 and season 2 was good and it was exciting to watch the show and get to know each character and delve into their stories.
i'll probably recommend switching to reading the manga as i will for the first time after this shit show
Dec 25, 2018
Rich_n117 (All reviews)
Tokyo ghoul does not deserve all the hate it gets. Is it perfect? No. But is it as bad as everyone wants to make it out to be? No. It’s understandable that fans of the manga would be upset over what even I will admit is a flawed adaption. But does that make the show bad? While yes being confused over who some of the characters are was annoying, I still loved watching this show and seeing characters I've come to enjoy grow up. Before I go into the review I want to clarify that this review will be a overall of all four seasons read more
Oct 30, 2018
mcwinsauce (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tokyo Ghoul:re 2nd Season is honestly terrible. For anime only watchers we have not been introduced to half the characters, the time skips seemingly happen at random and there is barely any dialogue between the characters we do know which makes it even harder to understand the plot line.

The episodes consist of so many random fight scenes it feels like watching a crappy youtube compilation. It is an actual shame because people have told me how good the manga is and I enjoyed season 1 but after that it has really gone downhill.

I would not recommend watching this show to anyone.
Nov 27, 2018
GreenPanda56 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am not a fan of writing a review so early on in the season and I always feel as show has some redeeming qualities but unfortunatly this one doesnt.

I enjoyed Tokyo Ghoul: Re season 1, it was a little messy but I could follow it okay. However season 2 is unfollowable, it jumps from 1 story arcs climax to another story arcs climax with no details, backstories or any explanation as to what the hell is going on! I dont think I've ever been so lost in an anime.

Guess I should go read the manga? thanks anime!
Dec 25, 2018
Cypra (All reviews)
Literally the worst and most disappointing anime i have ever seen, the character development was complete garbage. Kaneki is the worst main character that could have ever been chosen for this type of anime. The uniqueness of having one eyed ghouls is what made season 1 and 2 of tokyo ghoul at least decent and they completely dimolished that uniqueness in the new series of tokyo ghoul.

This anime was a waste of time, i hated it. Trash. One of the worst i've ever seen and i've seen a MANY animes. + the art was way better in the first seasons of tokyo ghoul.

I read more
Nov 14, 2018
Aren_sama (All reviews)
Preliminary
*THIS IS A REVIEW FOR THOSE WHO HAVEN'T READ THE MANGA!*

Alright so if you are like me you probably just watch anime and never tried or have any interest in reading manga. So keep in mind that I fully understand you, even tho I've read the Tokyo Ghoul manga.
So, I had a friend that started reading the manga way back then and he always told me that the manga was better than the anime and that I should read it. I kept hearing this from not only him but from the whole anime community. So when the first season of Tokyo Ghoul:Re came out I read more
Dec 25, 2018
Uber_Bacon (All reviews)
Tokyo Ghoul: re is the biggest mystery anime of all time without even trying. It never shows all of its cards, it doesn’t clue you in on the show’s meaning, it shows what it wants to show and dips. Personally, I’m more inclined to like this sort of story writing, books/anime like Overlord did it best in my opinion but the problem with this is that it wasn’t intentional. Clearly, there was some sort of disconnect on what the manga was portraying and what the anime was able to deliver and something went wrong, I have several theories on why that happened but that’s not read more
Nov 13, 2018
Lexmin (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is more confusing than my relationship. Like seriously, what is even going on in half these episodes? Who thought it was a good idea to squeeze 120 chapters into 12 episodes? It's like they made nothing from the original series and are on a poor budget. Like even 3DCG with 24 episodes would've been better.

Pacing is too hectic, it's literally like a train wreck, I have nothing else to say except avoid this mess. Or watch if you enjoy roller coasters

The show makes a particular mecha anime from this season look like it was decent despite being also a train wreck. LOL
Dec 26, 2018
Progeny (All reviews)
Don't watch this anime if you haven't read the manga, plain and simple.

RE S2 adapts 120 chapters in twelve episodes. That's ten chapters per episode. You won't understand what is going on if you don't already know the plot beforehand. The anime cuts out all the exposition and context clues that are crucial to understanding the story, and leaves a jumbled mess of confusing events. All the scenes that should have emotional weight don't because there is no build-up to it. Tense high-stake situations become comical instead because of the horrible animation and lightning speed adaptation of a plot that jumps the shark.

"Please someone tell read more
Nov 9, 2018
EvilMayDie64 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am a huge fan of Tokyo Ghoul. It's easily #1 on top of my favorite series, ranking above even some live action I enjoyed. That's the reason I keep watching this, and the reason I can't enjoy it. I mean, really... It feels like Studio Parrot are deliberately screwing up with manga adaptations, and this one they screwed big time; the art has gone from... ok in season 1 to what it feels like comics literally got animated this season, the soundtrack is... (as much as I appreciate the anime returned to having a song from TK of Ling Tosite Sigure as opening, since read more
Dec 25, 2018
Kaito-San (All reviews)
*SOME SPOILERS*



If it weren't for the ending and Kaneki finally getting together with Touka then I probably wouldn't have given it a 7 overall rating, I liked the ending. :')

The best intro song was the one in Season 1, it didn't get better like I hoped it would but the songs were OK.

Despite all of the gaps between the seasons where a lot of story and detail was missing, I still enjoyed the fight scenes and overall music & emotions. Right from the first season of Tokyo Ghoul, it caught me like crazy; I couldn't get enough of it. But to see these characters come read more
Dec 26, 2018
deniuss (All reviews)
My First Review so bear with me.

Ok, IMO TG:re cannot be judged in the same way as the manga, or S1 or S2 which a lot of people were negative about anyway (who knows why s1, but s2 i get it)

It was essentially doomed from the start because It was sure to skip a good chunk of the manga, and the pacing was gonna be lightning fast.

Obviously I was dissapointed because we could've gotten way more.. But, we have to judge on what we have. Not what's missing from the series that Everyone doesn't know.

Now I understand and sympathize with long time TG manga fans read more