Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yagate Kimi ni Naru


Alternative Titles

English: Bloom Into You
Synonyms: Eventually, I Will Become You
Japanese: やがて君になる

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2018 to Dec 28, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 21:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: TROYCA
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.021 (scored by 34,513 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5542
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1002
Members: 99,893
Favorites: 1,522

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 28, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Bloom Into You is not a romance. Rather, it is a love story about self-realization.

The series follows the titular late bloomer, Yuu Koito, a girl who has never felt love before. Since she was young she has dreamed of falling in love, romanticizing the day when it would happen. Expecting to be swept off her feet, eventually. But that day has never come, even when someone confesses to her she feels nothing. This has kept her from fully connecting to her friends and peers, they are far more understanding of what they want romantically. She was alone until she met Tokou Nanami. A girl read more
Dec 28, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Love takes shape that the universe may never have a precise answer on. Can we all agree that human emotions can never be truly understood? What does it mean to be in love? Why do people fall for each other? In our world of imperfection, we will never know the truth to this question. Humans are imperfect and we were built that way in the eyes of our creator.

The art of anime adaptations is a fascinating subject that takes many forms. I’m very open minded with just about any genre although when it comes to yuri and shoujo-ai, I’m rather indifferent about it. Recent adaptations read more
Dec 28, 2018
Pipe (All reviews)
Yagate Kimi ni Naru is an anime that reminds us of the complexity of love. Several philosophers, artists, even you have tried to express that feeling to someone when you fall in love. A close person, a forgotten friend, call it what you want. Maybe someone declared us, and we did not know how to respond. Maybe we have failed, or we have managed to understand the meaning of love. No matter what happened in our life, those feelings are still present. This series uses that feeling, something that we cannot describe and creates a refreshing and pure plot that will fascinate you.

On the other read more
Dec 28, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
Yagate Kimi ni Naru (Bloom into You) started off showing all the markings of a beautiful love tale. It’s very distinctive in how the romantic tones are handled between its characters. It’s a quiet slow burn that follows the story of two girls who have yet to feel the excitement that should come with love. Mostly spent focusing on one of the main protagonists in Yuu Koito, who is a “late bloomer.” She feels lonely from all her romance-obsessed peers. While at first, she doesn’t seem to understand them or her own feelings, she’s already showing signs of being drawn to Touko Nanami—a girl that read more
Oct 26, 2018
collegedebt (All reviews)
Preliminary
Loving someone can be
a slow, intimate connection.
As unexpected the confession
may be, hidden in discretion
it must.

As true to love this
story may be, it's definitely slow
and uneventful. Will Koito grow
into bloom? I don't know --
but I'll watch.

Because these emotions are
in all of us, waiting to grasp desperately
the person we love inseparably;
but we don't, because we watch worriedly:
for we don't want them to go.

It's true to heart, its
true to soul. I care much for Koito,
for Nanami, together by the rainbow,
slowly sparking, the duo below
to loving embrace.

Bloom Into You is slowly unraveling to be a very touching, intimate and very real story of a relationship. I think read more
Nov 17, 2018
Super_Recoder (All reviews)
Preliminary
My first Yuri Anime was Citrus.
Bloom into you is nothing like Citrus, and focuses on a complex relationship. It handles the relationship development in quite a mature way, which is pretty good.

Story:
I find it hard to tell, if it is a Yuri-Anime or not, since the girls do not fall into a explicit category of lesbian or anything. They harbour a complex identity, with one afraid of falling in love and other cannot love anyone.

The other one (Yuu) feels like she identifies herself as asexual, though can't say uptill Ep 7.

The way their relation is handled is quite well, but requires a certain maturity to read more
Oct 26, 2018
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let's keep this review brief and to the point:

Art/Sound:
This anime has a very beautiful art style with some solid animation, in addition the music is placed well in key moments as well as both the OP and ED being beautiful

Characters/Plot:
The plot is simplistic and very basic, however it's executed very well and the characters are all likeable and feel realistic. Also, I love how the shoujo ai/yuri romance is portrayed; covering most of their emotions rather than lust as in other shows of this Genre.

Overall:
The anime is all-round solid and I've enjoyed the majority of my time watching it; there could be some tweaks made read more
Dec 28, 2018
fallserso (All reviews)
This show is average. Not bad, not good. Just average. That being said, I wasn’t entertained watching this, not even from laughing at how bad it was, because it wasn’t bad. It was just average. Despite what most people think, being average isn’t a terrible thing, so as a little disclaimer, I am not saying everything about this show sucks for everyone who might take this review badly. This is just my opinion, that being said, these are my reasons:

The show is very clearly, a romance genre. The key to any good romance media is the relationship: nothing else matters that much. My problem with read more
Dec 28, 2018
DumpsterKing (All reviews)
TL;DR at the bottom.

I'm not quite sure how to say exactly what YagaKimi is to me. There's so much to say about its portrayal of a unique relationship, how it explores the concept of love and what it makes me feel to watch it as it progresses. If I had to sum it into one word YagaKimi is 'interesting'.

Story - 10
The story of YagaKimi is about someone who has never fallen in love before, Yuu, having a 'more than friends, less than lovers' kind of relationship with her senpai, Nanami and how misconceptions about love shape that relationship. It is a rather slow burn and read more
Dec 28, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Like a delicate flower, Bloom Into You acts upon its namesake, as the seed of the slept-on dark horse blossoms into one of the most charming shows to blindside me this year. I’m glad, for had I not stumbled upon the glowing reception for this treat, it may have never swept me off my feet. From its mostly charming depictions of lesbian love to its authentic showcasing of friendship, each interaction is filled to the brim with charm and care. Said charm and care also show in a majority of the revelations which make this surprisingly relatable and whimsical cast come to life even more read more
Oct 26, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I expected this one to be the best and cutest lesbian romance shojo ai series from this season, but the other 2 have been much more fun to watch.

The other main character here is some sort of ideal girl, student council president, getting confessed by boys (and girls) all around, super kind and polite. However, how she is presented in the series makes her just seem empty and distant. Her entire personality pretty much ends with her way of being so damn nice.

The story is advanced from the POV of Yuu, our real main character, and she really isn't much better. Kohai to mrs. read more
Dec 28, 2018
AltoRoark (All reviews)
Bloom Into You is an embodiment of pleasantness, constructing a wholesome narrative about finding oneself and what lies ahead. This series is best described as a slice-of-life with romance as a primary narrative. While the setting is somewhat like Citrus in terms of character archetypes, Bloom Into You approaches storytelling much differently than most romance stories. The show is far less about dramatic tension between the characters, and instead focuses on evaluating their relationships with one another, whether it’s affection, ambivalence, admiration, or animosity. The story takes form as a series of conventional moments and activities in which characters interact with one another in a read more
Dec 29, 2018
xGrenadier (All reviews)
I'm absolutely perplexed and bewildered by the general consensus on this anime, so I would like to provide my two cents, because there's not a single review I can agree with.


Art/Sound:
Let's get the subjective criteria out of the way first. Art is good, character designs are pleasant to look at, and backgrounds are of high quality aswell. As for the soundtrack, the piano compositions that play at certain scenes are very nice, however I can't say the same about neither OP nor ED, I disliked them both, I'm not going to say that they are bad or anything such, it's just not the kind of read more
Dec 1, 2018
Eyal_Oged (All reviews)
Preliminary
I dropped this show because I stopped believing maybe there's something interesting that I'm missing and is coming up. It was pretty hollow and empty.

From what I can see, people who like this show are people who looked for lighthearted entertainment. I looked for an interesting story that would teach me to understand something I didn't understand before, or share insights to things I didn't feel/think of before, but I found none here. This doesn't mean it has to be incredibley psychological - I found that in Idolish7 or Anohana for example. This one doesn't match to them.

There are pretty irregular personalities and relationships here read more
Dec 28, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
The Shoujo Ai genre has seen it's fair share of ups and downs, and has been a letdown in recent times (We're looking at you Citrus), so when this show dropped in this season, I was very flawed at how I understood the taboo that is the Shoujo Ai aspect, but yet this show managed to do an outstanding justice to the genre, and (at this time) is one of (if not the best) shows due to its maturity and how it defines and breaks the convention that has been done before (e.g. moe-fied Yuru Yuri series) and teaches a whole new lesson altogether.

Yagate Kimi read more
Dec 1, 2018
Yukomei (All reviews)
Preliminary
Eventually, I will become you, or Bloom Into You, has met all of my expectations and holds all of the fundamentals of a top tier romance anime. Who should watch Yagate Kimi ni Naru? Anyone looking for a deep investment in a beautiful well thought out Shojou-ai story. Covering this more below.

Story: 8/10
This is very well done here, the episodes seemlessly fit together and do not drag in the slightest. The narrative itself is a bit fast, and a bit complex, which is okay. You will be jumping from scene to scene wondering, wait - how did they get here? As well as read more
Dec 28, 2018
Rylston (All reviews)
What exactly is love? Is it a feeling of trying to protect someone you treasure, or is it a feeling of gratitude for someone you deeply care about? There’s no exact answer for it, but everyone has their own ideal of how love is, and with this idea adding a sprinkle of yuri, may I introduce you, Yagate Kimi Ni Naru (Bloom Into You), a show focusing on our two female protagonist, Koito Yuu and Nanami Touko, and their journey onto finding what love, truly means.

Story / Character -9.5-
Within the first few minutes you get greeted by our first protagonist, Koito Yuu, whom read more
Jan 2, 2019
Yosarian (All reviews)
Love is completely overexposed and misrepresented in media. For an anime, being a piece of media itself, to make that a plot point, they need to address love as realistically as possible. Bloom into you, pulls that off with a beautiful honesty.

Yuu is struggling with the fact that she's never experienced love. Her only understanding of love is what she gleans from romance manga. She then meets the student counsel president, Touko, who immediately falls for Yuu. Because this was nothing like the romance manga, Yuu doesn't really know how to handle this, and eventually agrees to go along with it, more or less read more
Dec 28, 2018
Xnovazero (All reviews)
Beautiful. This was my first impression for this show.
The genre what depicting love of between women. So-called Shoujo Ai and Yuri. I've ever not watched those shows. It's fresh mood for me.
When someone love the person, it is important to understand the person's feeling. But this show is a little different case.
People have complicated state are conscious of each other. Not easy thing. In that respect, this show is succeed.
Relationship began by the course of nature. It changes gradually, and fall in love with each other. The moment is irresistible. Just like true love.
That isn't to say their relationship develop Romance. The balance is very read more
Dec 30, 2018
MadLadOfCulture (All reviews)
To here a full review, go to this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4N1zbceq04&t=1518s

Simply the best yuri anime I have ever watched since becoming an otaku. At first, I thought its just going to be another day of girls kissing and flirting with each other. How am I so wrong. Our protagonist Yuu is asexual, which makes it hard for our lovely couple to become one fully. However, Nanami is okay with it, and Yuu plays along being a yuri lover with no romantic feelings whatsoever, yet. The complication then escalates to how Nanami wants Yuu to continue to hate her and not love her at all, read more