Yakusoku no Neverland
The Promised Neverland
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: The Promised Neverland
Japanese: 約束のネバーランド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2019 to Mar 29, 2019
Premiered: Winter 2019
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: CloverWorks
Source: Manga
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi, MysteryMystery, HorrorHorror, PsychologicalPsychological, ThrillerThriller, ShounenShounen
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.671 (scored by 401252401,252 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #99
Members: 702,115
Favorites: 18,570

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Yakusoku no Neverland is the biggest disappointment of the year so far. Not so much because it was so exceptionally bad, but because it had potential to be outstandingly great. What looked like a prime example of well-build thriller and highly atmospheric mystery end up being just a bunch of empty promises. Perhaps the English title, 'Promised Neverland' is actually a self-parody since following the series was an experience far from magical. At least one thing the series foreshows, I guess.

The first 4 episodes are all passable, of highly respectable quality to be exact. I was impressed by how it managed to gasp my read more
Jan 31, 2019
Syureria (All reviews)
Preliminary
Have you ever thought about escape?

The Promised Neverland starts with Emma, ​​a happy lucky girl who spends her days in pure happiness along with all the other orphans. All the children there enjoy their daily activities that are not as burdensome as playing, eating delicious food, and taking extensive tests with full focus ... but wait. This is when you realize that this is not an ordinary orphanage, but the children who grew up there completely forgot about it. It was only after Emma witnessed the terrible truth about the purpose of the orphanage surrounded by walls that she and several other orphans began to read more
Mar 28, 2019
HellLyter (All reviews)
Horror is a genre that I rarely see effectively executed in anime. In fact, the genre itself seems to be pretty scarce in the anime medium. The first episode of The Promised Neverland perfectly encapsulates how to properly utilize horror. The atmosphere is great. We’re presented with a seemingly happy orphanage life being lived out by the characters, all children, and their “mama.” Yet as the viewer, it becomes apparent that everything's not quite what it seems, and there’s just this sort of unnerving tension in the air. The presentation is also top notch. Visuals and music are handled expertly and are very complementary to read more
Mar 28, 2019
RebelPanda (All reviews)
The Promised Neverland is a great psychological thriller manga, but this adaptation trades complex psychological warfare for conventional horror. The mystery is simplified, the characters lack depth due to the absence of inner monologues, and the artwork is mediocre. In spite of these shortcomings, constant tension and decent scares make it watchable.

This adaptation strived for a tense atmosphere with exciting horror. On the other hand, the manga focused on the lingering psychological horror born from the characters' gradually learning about the hellish dystopian world they live in, as well as their strategic planning to escape it. The story’s premise is still very enthralling: A farm read more
Mar 28, 2019
Zaber_san (All reviews)
(Spoiler warning of episode 1)
Thriller, horror, psychological and mystery. These 4 along with some genres I guess makes excellent shows not only in the anime industry but also in other platforms. This is because of there uniqueness. There outtake of the story is unique with uncommon sceneries, settings, characters, plot and conflict. This Winter 2019 anime season, we were introduced into the world of "The Promised Neverland". A world where if you are a healthy young blood, you will never like this world. You will never hope that you will be a main character of some parallel world or something. With kids being the main read more
Jan 31, 2019
cateypillar (All reviews)
Preliminary
The Promised Neverland is one of the most hauntingly brilliant anime I’ve seen in the last decade, and it definitely deserves the hype it’s receiving at the moment.

Horror is a genre that anime has always struggled with, as when you try to mash conventional horror tropes such as gore and disturbing imagery with eyes that take up half of a character's head, it usually isn’t horrific in the slightest bit. Because of this, horror in anime commonly strays away from the horror conventions of horror films in the western world, and instead revolves around psychological horror. This is the approach that The Promised Neverland has read more
Jan 31, 2019
forster82 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Damn... Its been quite a long time since Ive given an anime a solid 10/10. I really want to critisize Yakusoku no Neverland but its just way too damn perfect! This anime actually nailed absolutly everything! There is just no other way to put it...
The story is phenomenal! I personally love the "escape" and "mind game" theme of the anime, and I would really love to see more animes with this theme. The way everything plays out is just so bloody brilliant! I love it!
The Art is one of the best I have every seen! Every second of this anime I could feel my read more
Jan 31, 2019
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
Preliminary
Apart from Dororo, this is my anime of the season! It's a flawed masterpiece and has earned a 9 from every single category I judge an anime on which is both a great thing but shows that it could've been executed slightly better overall and been a true masterpiece!

Art/Sound:
Cloverworks is not a studio I particularly like at all, however I must give them their props, apart from a couple of budget limitations in some occasional backgrounds or distant characters- the animation is mainly crisp and fluid with fantastic emotion being portrayed in the way each character is presented! Furthermore, I must praise the stylistic direction read more
Mar 28, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Let’s think for a minute on how fragile human lives is. We can die by so many different ways that it’s frightening to think about. Immortality is a far cry from a reality. In a desolate world where kids realize that their entire lives has been prepared for death, it feels like a living in a nightmare. To live in fear is also frightening to think about. Don’t believe me? Just ask Emma, Ray, and Norman.

Welcome to The Promised Neverland (Yakusoku no Neverland), a series that managed to make a new breed of itself among the popular Jump manga family. Consisting of 12 episodes, it’s read more
Mar 28, 2019
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
I will admit that I'm generally not a very big fan of shounens, but Yakusoku no Neverland is in my opinion without a doubt the best thing to have ever spawned from Weekly Shounen Jump. Then again it needs to be said that it is not very similar to most other things from the same magazine.

It's been literally years since I felt the need to give out any 10s to an anime TV-series, but in the case of Neverland I knew from the start that as long as they don't mess it up, it would be worthy of it for sure. The first arc of read more
Mar 28, 2019
suraimu- (All reviews)
The Promised Neverland might be one of the best shonen manga to have come out on this decade. An intriguing plot, well written characters, gorgeous aesthetic and a wide variety of themes that make this piece become whatever it needs to convey a scene’s meaning the best way it can.
As much as I like The Promised Neverland anime, I would have liked it better if it had been more like its source material.

Story and Execution: 7

The premise shown on episode 1 is apparently very good, complex, and interesting and could lead to some amazing presentation on its universe if well executed. While the anime read more
Jan 31, 2019
Antimeta (All reviews)
Preliminary
SPOILER FREE

“Na na na na na na na na na na”

Man oh man am I excited to get into this. I remember when the manga started publication and I doubted it would last so I never got around to reading it. 3 years later it gets an anime so I had to finally check it out. Boy am i glad i did.

Before I get down to business, I think it is worth mentioning that by episode 3 I was so interested that I HAVE now read the manga and am up to date - however this is a review for the anime, not the series read more
Mar 28, 2019
SingleH (All reviews)
This is a totally subjective question with no technically correct answer, but in your opinion, what would you say makes a good concept? Depth of concept? Capacity to evolve? Ability to foster character, theme? Sheer creativity? I am of the belief a concept can only be proportionally valuable to it’s execution. An ingenious conceit can bog itself down an infinite number of ways in scripting, just as a stock setup can write it’s way to a masterpiece. The Promised Neverland is a show which constantly toes the line between ruining and strengthening it’s unique and exciting concept which, in the right hands, could’ve been read more
Feb 24, 2019
jacobbb (All reviews)
Preliminary
Most overrated anime of the season.

The story has essentially been told by the end of episode 1. If you're hoping for progression, fresh revelations, or twists you should watch something with a more fleshed out world.


Art is ugly and includes unnecessary CG that drags you out of what little story this anime contains. Characters are ugly and uninteresting. Psychological aspect has been way over hyped. This isn't the next Death Note people.


Sound is used to make uninspired dialogue seem weightier than it is. VA's are not believable either as ordinary children, or as the slightly more intelligent than average children the anime hints and read more
Mar 28, 2019
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
*SPOILER WARNING. I WILL BE SPOILING THE FIRST EPISODE OF THIS SHOW. IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT YOU GO IN BLIND TO GET THE FULL EFFECT OF THIS SHOW IF YOU HAVE NOT WATCHED IT ALREADY*


Well this was unexpected. A horror anime getting a lot of attention and praise by viewing public? This is truly a rare sight indeed. But seriously, the hype for this series before airing and its first couple of episodes was reaching really high levels and talked about a lot by the anime community. But the question is, how does this anime hold up with the horror greats of anime, can it read more
Jan 31, 2019
Demarcation (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review will contain some spoilers and I'll mark them.

Yakusoku no Neverland takes the classic notion of limited survival space, in which our three protagonists play mind games and tactics with “mom”, and tried to escape after discovering the orphanage they lived is only a farm to raise kids to be sacrificed to demons. Similar to AoT, this “limited survival space” set up let you constantly question: What is outside of the house? Is it a demon society? Why does mom obey demons? Therefore you will never feel bored during the show with this set up that left much to be explored and the read more
Mar 28, 2019
Chrome_Falcon (All reviews)
The Promised Neverland is the type of anime that is better enjoyed by going in blind. It heavily relies on suspense, mind games and reveals. So those who haven't watched the show should stay away from reviews and should only decide to watch it based on the genre and MAL synopsis.

Needless to say, **THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS**

The stakes are set by the end of the first episode and it is clear that one small error can lead to death for the characters. The children need to escape the farm and they should do it without the intelligent Isabella knowing what they are up to. But read more
Jan 31, 2019
Mythologically (All reviews)
Preliminary
CloverWorks HQ, Board of Directors Meeting:

Guy 1: Alright guys, we have one of the most popular manga that currently exists up for an anime adaptation. What should we do in order to produce an anime that matches up to the manga's quality?

Guy 2: Yeah just cut half of each chapter out, remove a lot of the tension, and squeeze too much into one cour lmfao.

Other than BadDecisionWorks randomly rushing the pacing instead of just taking it slow with a show that would surely become successful enough for multiple seasons, Yakusoku no Neverland is pretty much perfect.

The 3 main characters all have distinct, three-dimensional, and complex read more
Mar 29, 2019
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

"Don't get on that ship! To Serve Man...IT'S A COOKBOOK!!!"

Promised Neverland is basically this season's Made in Abyss and it is HYPED. Do I think it's currently a tad overrated? Absolutely. However, I stopped giving knee-jerk bad scores to decent series just because they're currently rated too high. The rating will naturally balance out and if not, I kind of stopped taking MAL's ratings seriously a while ago. Promised Neverland is a mixed bag, but I honestly had a lot of fun with this one.

Background: (Spoilers)

1,000 years ago, demons and humans fought for control of an alternate Earth. The 2 sides came to a stand read more
Feb 4, 2019
Jactumn (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a manga reader, I know this anime will do well (story wise) because it is one of the unique shonen jump story I have ever read for a long time (along with Dr Stone). This anime adaption does justice for the manga. However, it does have its pros and cons.

The Good
1. Cliff Hanger
Just like the manga, every episodes always end with a cliff hanger and the anime did it as well as the manga.

2. Good moments that only manga can do but they can do it well in the anime
There are many shocking moment in the manga that anime can't do such as turning read more