Aguu: Tensai Ningyou


Aguu: Genius Dolls

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 悪偶 ‐天才人形‐
English: Aguu: Genius Dolls
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 10, 2018 to Sep 25, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Web manga
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.451 (scored by 17361,736 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #105782
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #6449
Members: 6,456
Favorites: 6

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 20, 2018
diabolicalx (All reviews)
Preliminary
Look, I don't know how anyone would say this is bad but we all are different. The story is a bit confusing but once you catch on it is really an interesting plot. Essentially agu are genius's at a particular skill or trade (Mozart) that were kidnapped instead of dying at a young age (which is what history and present day people think) and are enslaved and sold to people/passed down to create essentially a fraud genius. I won't go any deeper to ruin the plot but it is very interesting take on maybe human trafficking or morals today....in our modern world talent seems to read more
Sep 3, 2018
Litora (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't think this show has gotten the credit it deserves nor the attention. Currently the rating is 5.58 as i'm writing this and I doubt that will change much.

Story:
The concept of Aguu is a bit weird and isn't explained well in the first few episodes, but the concept catches on quite quickly. Other reviews already explain it so I won't touch on it, however, the actually story itself has pretty solid writing and an interesting view on the subject of people wanting talent and what they will do for it.

Art:
This is the elephant in the room. On first glance you can instantly tell that read more
Oct 2, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Japanese-Chinese collaborations are nothing new, especially in the anime world, where we got to know the popular ones from China that are raking in the money from the oh-so-popular Tencent Animation & Comics, the largest Chinese regulator for comics and animation from China. Apparently Chinese people love Japanese manga (which comes as no surprise), and being a Chinese myself I can see why. But when it comes to the anime medium, sure there are classics that are well received like Quan Zhi Gao Shou (The King's Avatar) or Huyao Xiao Hongniang (Fox Spirit Matchmaker, which was recently dubbed in Jap last year), but with the read more
Aug 30, 2018
Spoofer1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story:
Initially going into Aguu: Tensai Ningyou, the first couple of episodes presented what I though had the makings of an interesting psychological thriller story, I was entirely wrong though, episode two and three made me realize that this show really just follows a more conventional action plot line, with people with powers fighting people with powers, what I like and what I think makes the show's story unique though is who and what the opposing parties are and what they're fighting for(which is what makes any action series interesting though really) and I think that the show does a good job helping you understand that read more
Oct 13, 2019
Allwynd (All reviews)
Story, like in many animes starts intriguing, but by the 3rd-4th episode it gets watered down and the only thing that can keep you going is knowing there are only 12 episodes so it will be over soon, so you might as well bear with it.

The characters feel shallow and their motivations are questionable. Like those Ai and Machi girls, both their characters and backgrounds feel like they were created by an aspiring 13 year old "writer".

So one girl gets burned in flames and disappears, the other one just up and leaves home to join some shady old dude and a kid. Both girls are read more
Sep 11, 2018
jRad522 (All reviews)
Preliminary
If the phrase "So Bad It's Good" means anything to you, you will likely get a kick out of Aguu. I most certainly have. Make no mistake, Aguu is bad. It's confusing, ugly, annoying, convoluted, and most of all really really weird. The whole thing blends together into a thoroughly entertaining mess that has to be seen to be believed. If you need a nice, warm dumpster fire to keep you warm at night, this one is a great choice.

Story:
Holy shit, buckle your seatbelts. Evil Purple People who look like the Apple Bonkers from Yellow Submarine suck the talent out of talented people and make read more
Jun 10, 2019
FirnenFire (All reviews)
Aguu- Genius Dolls

What started out as a promising anime with a weird protagonist and terrible art overall wasn't all that bad. My major critique other than the art and incredibly awkward eyes is that it had it a lot of potential.

I enjoyed the plot but I do feel that it was lacking in several places, sending one of your side characters off to 'train' and become better leaves a space open to bring them back. At least this is the idea that most would have, not with this show.

Take Goku for example, he dies and trains in order to be stronger and it read more
Sep 13, 2020
Dadadadan (All reviews)
I don't know how many people enjoyed watching this, but I would say this show is not worth watching (although I am not saying you shouldn't watch it. The show itself wasn't unbearable to watch).

Story
The story wasn't good but was decent. I liked the idea of this anime, especially about the dolls. It's not something that you cannot understand or keep up with, but the story was poorly structured, therefore you kind of get lost sometimes. I also felt story weren't as engaging so I can watch the anime, but couldn't really enjoy it. The let down was the last episode, where so many new read more