Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Aru Zombie Shoujo no Sainan


Alternative Titles

English: Calamity of the Zombie Girl
Synonyms: The Misfortune of a Certain Zombie Girl
Japanese: あるゾンビ少女の災難

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2018
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Gonzo, Stingray
Source: Novel
Duration: 1 hr. 19 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 5.451 (scored by 3,469 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #97512
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4539
Members: 8,274
Favorites: 7

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 3, 2018
Zerity (All reviews)
Preliminary
A stunning masterpiece, a fantastic spectacle, are about the only words that you can describe this as. You have to have a very high IQ to understand this. This is a must watch for any anime fan.

No but honestly this is very enjoyable to watch. I should know I watched it twice. I say that because I watched this without taking it seriously. This whole ONA is a joke really. The absurdity of this is amazing, you will have a hard time guessing what will happen next at some parts and you will have no idea were this will go.

Watch this with a read more
Jul 6, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
I shall blow you away with my kung fu.
-some girl whose name I don't know

Aru Zombie Shoujo no Sainan, or Calamity of the Zombie Girl like the gringos call it, is the best and most amazing anime series released in July 4th 2018. Any other series from back then can't even compete.

The story is great and the best part of this anime. These people who do this thing leads to this stuff which causes other thing to happen, and suddenly: lesbian shape-shifting warrior maiden zombies are on the rampage. They love gore and kissing and being naked and accidentally ripoff your arms or smash your read more
Jul 7, 2018
Rahkshilord (All reviews)
I had no idea what this was when I saw it pop up on crunchyroll, so I took a chance and watched it. I regret this immensely. At times I couldn't stop laughing, at times I was on the verge of crying, but regardless of my emotional state the entire time I watched this OVA I wanted to die.

The story is absolute nonsense where some idiots accidentally unleash the ultimate evil from a coffin in the basement of a university: two Gothic Lolitas who are also super powered zombies! The rest of the movie is about them fighting said zombies in baffling stupid ways. Until read more
Jul 5, 2018
Kagami126 (All reviews)
This anime is b list horror movie and it knows it, its has all the tropes of one, bland characters weak story, weird pacing but makes up for with fantastic gore, a great dark sense of humor and dosent take itself to seriously, if you area a fan of wacky horror movies you'll love it

The problems with it feel almost intentional in order to keep that b list spirit, the facial expressions are pretty bad and almost never change which may be a reflection on b tier bad acting, the gore is detailed and over the top like from something like read more
Jul 4, 2018
amadeusVI (All reviews)
Preliminary
it honestly has some bad writing on the whole plot. while the characters are pretty meh and still fall into the dumb anime trope of perverted guy or clueless girls, they also had some decent ones.

While what kills the entire show is the main zombie. They wrote her in a one that you're supposed to feel sad for her and act like she's is the sane being while she kills everyone with no mercy. Also, this show tries to force you to have some sympathy for her at the end. While it's literally all psychopaths dueling each other.
The main zombie always acts like read more
Nov 13, 2018
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
This is a repost, spoilers possible:

Ok, so they weren't kidding when they titled this ONA as "Calamity of the Zombie Girl" since when they woke up and I did said "they" cu'z there were two of them. Ok. like I've said they woke up from their long slumber and immediately they started to have to deal with a couple of shitty characters to take back what belongs to them and a calamity breaks out.

You know if anybody says that the fact about this ONA does make sense, when everything was thrown at once with even considering about the pacing of the anime. considering that read more
Apr 13, 2019
Plk_Lesiak (All reviews)
I'm actually a sucker for bad anime – I like watching really low-budget or poorly-made shows, laughing at their absurdity and noting down their failures in reviews. This one, however, was physically painful to watch – there's no fun to be had here, intentional or not. The Calamity (indeed!) contains:

– Awful art (simply ugly, at times somewhat and at times horribly so – I can't remember any other anime that was this visually unappealing or had characters so poorly designed) and junky animation. There was nothing funny or over-the-top about it, like in Hand Shakers for example, it was just plain bad.
– Characters too stupid read more
Jul 4, 2018
TheGoldnGuy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Calamity of a Zombie Girl is one of those enjoyably bad anime that only come once in a blue moon. It harkens back to an era of grindhouse B-movies, with its bizarre plot, bad characters, exploitationist themes like lesbian undertones, copious amounts of gore and random kung-fu, and in spite of all that it manages to be entertaining as hell.

A group of dumb teenagers steal a "life stone" from two (lesbian?) kung fu zombies, and all hell breaks loose as they try to get it back from them. Unfortunately, the anime suffers from that typical B-movie problem of having really boring characters read more
Jul 4, 2018
diabolicalx (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am not sure why this is getting such rave reviews...
This is my first exposure to this title, and if this has any previous shows/story/manga I have not read or watched it. Perhaps that would hold necessary information in order to properly enjoy this movie.

Starting out the movie grabbed my attention. Right away you could tell someone put thought into the plot and(some of) the characters. If you were to look at my list you would see I am a huge fan of anything thriller, psychological, plot driven, or otherwise intense genre. While this show did indeed grab my attention it wasn't exactly unpredictable read more
Oct 19, 2018
nobracommander (All reviews)
So I missed an anime festival to see this at the cinema on the big screen so I found it online instead and I have to say, I didn't miss much.

A cast of annoying characters (minus kung fu girl, who gets pass marks) stumble across two zombie girls who then proceed to wreak mediocre gory vengeance on them.

At no point do you feel any sympathy for the students save the aforementioned kung-fu girl and you're just counting down the time until they die horribly.

Falls into that category of not amateurish to be terribad but just about bad enough to be boring.
Aug 17, 2018
Andreikun (All reviews)
Minor spoilers might follow. Picked this up to relax a bit after work and I was not wrong to do so despite its score and some punishing reviews. For example Corpse Party: Tortured Souls edges on the 7 and is much more dumber in my opinion and has much more gore for the sake of gore.

The story looks like a typical cheap Hollywood 90s horror movie, a bunch of students resurrect some zombies who happen to be cute and powerful and get in trouble for it. Would have liked a bit of suspense as to whom gets killed when but its no so, killings read more
Aug 12, 2018
CrogLatte (All reviews)
It really feels like someone decided they wanted to make an anime film based on old horror films from the 90's, but, and here's the kicker, instead of Jason or The Mummy, you get a kawaii anime (zombie) girl. It's got the classic group of teenagers who all are slightly quirky and have weird crushes in a nice love triangle, the plot twist which really isn't very good, and everyone gets picked off.

Not everyone dies, but I feel this film suffers most from the lack of anyone worth cheering for, because there really isn't. Everyone's pretty dumb or despicable in my opinion and by the read more
Jul 5, 2018
Gitty (All reviews)
Preliminary
The protagonist is awoken from an extra long nap and proceeds to murder everyone involved in waking her, truly the most relateable of anime.

But for real, this is like a old fashioned slasher movie al la Friday the 13th, Nightmare on elm st, or Halloween, don't go into this too seriously or expect anything ground breaking, and much like slasher movies you hit all of those character tropes, the only thing unique to this from a slasher flick is the "monster" which i won't go into detail with.

For being a stand alone movie that's only around two hours long I would say it's worth read more
Jul 4, 2018
Drakoqueen (All reviews)
Preliminary
This was so bad I thought maybe Hollywood made it.

The story isn't so bad but...ugh, the details. My thoughts while watching this were "wtf", "makes no sense", "really?", etc...

Can't really say much about it since I couldn't even watch half of the first episode but like there's a lot of cliches in it. The lolita zombies idea wasn't so bad maybe if it even had sense why they were wearing lolita clothing.

How much more must I write so I could press submit? I think that shorter reviews are ok. It's like you want me to add spoilers and that is a bad review if read more