Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Overlord III


Alternative Titles

English: Overlord III
Japanese: オーバーロードⅢ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Jul 10, 2018 to Oct 2, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 22:00 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.411 (scored by 32,342 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1572
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #541
Members: 158,815
Favorites: 1,257

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jul 31, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
"Let's give One Punch Man season 02 rights to J.C.Staff and make 3 seasons of this isekai skellington shit instead." I guess now we know why it is called MadHouse and not RationalThinkingHouse, amirite. Yet, admirable choice as OPM S2 will most likely be way inferior to Overlord III. We could go as far as say MadHouse has chosen quality over obligatory money grab. Either way, I approve.

In this 3rd season, the flesh-less body of Kirito -- better known as Momonga -- rewards lesser beings, servants and worshipers with pretty promises, and the viewers by bathing naked, all bones and rattles, already in read more
Aug 6, 2018
Uber_Bacon (All reviews)
If you've watched and liked the other seasons, you're going to like this. Plain and simple





On a more serious note, Overlord III is really all of the same stuff that made the first two seasons great: good world building, a grand line of characters, a simple branding out story. The show has a sense of progression and the dynamic between Ainz and the floor guardians is enhanced even more in this season resulting (so far) in a really enjoyable experience.

Story: 10/8
I give it a biased 10 since, as a Light Novel reader, I know the significance of small details that might feel shoehorned in read more
Aug 9, 2018
ShasuX (All reviews)
This is the third installations of Overlord. Sadly it fails not only its predecessor series but even more so the novel.
The precessing series were already cringe-worthy, but they more or less tried to keep to the original novel. But season 3 is up until episode 5 a huge pointless fan-service anime that tries to score with comedy and over-dramatized content.
It has nothing to do with the novel which has plenty of dark elements that makes the whole story as such interesting. With Overlord being a second-rate story to begin with, this just adds to the mostly boring and tedious vibe a viewer will get from read more
Aug 4, 2018
GreenHearted (All reviews)
AHHHHHHHHHHHHH I could gush over Overlord forever. But for those of you wondering about Season 3, I'm gonna assume you already know what makes Overlord a great show and dive into my thoughts about this current season.

Watch this show. Season three is showing us that this show has lots more political aspects and character building than ever before, and is starting out, in my opinion, even stronger than in Season two with the lizardmen. This show has amazing potential in its very large cast and dedicates enough time to make you care about them. You WILL be pleased with this season. Bone daddy has read more
Aug 16, 2018
FatboyPatty (All reviews)
The art is good, the sound is good, and that is where the good things end. Everything that was enjoyable and novel about the first season was tarnished in the second season. In this new season, they were driven through the ground and stepped on. The cool new "rule the world" idea that drove the anime is now gone. Now there is just a village full of weak, needy, annoying, and UNNECESSARY characters. From a little potion maker who is on his way to making a potion 1/100 as useful as those made by Ainz to a weak and pointless village chief who is there read more
Aug 2, 2018
Hawkeye- (All reviews)
So i like overlord a lot. The character development in these 4 episodes have been great. I feel like that's what lacked in season 2, The first few episodes were about new ''characters'' that were lizard men. We didnt really get any interactins with the supreme being i feel like.

If your looking for an isekai anime i would reccomend overlord most of the time because it's way better then most isekai anime's i have seen.

What i didnt really like about season 3 is that it's kind of getting repetitive. Ainz is trying to bullshit his way out of the questions of the supreme read more
Aug 5, 2018
Luzioon (All reviews)
Why Overlord III get a 6/10 to me?
It's going NOWHERE!
I'm enjoying the show since season 1 but the story never focus on why Momonga is in the game, never show a sign of other players in the game, there is no evolution on the story.
The fact that he don't face any real challenge is extremely annoying, the other annoying fact is about Momonga's personality, the power inhibiting his feelings makes you never know if he is a hero or just a fucking dictator, and again, THERE IS NO EXPLANATIONS!
The anime create too much mysteries with no conclusions, it opens the story to the minor characters read more
Aug 25, 2018
AzorAhai (All reviews)
I'll start by saying that I haven't read the manga or LN-which is said to be way better than the anime.

I'd usually wait for the last episode to come out before writing a rewiev, but I just couldn't wait with this one.

After watching the last 7 episodes i began to wonder why i even started watching these series to begin with. Oh, the MC was funny and promising, the setting, the characters, the world looked interesting. The story was advancing somewhere. Where did all that go?

The way things are now, this anime can have hundreds more new episodes, dozens of seasons and maybe even several read more
Aug 24, 2018
OG_Gattsu (All reviews)
If you fell in love with watching Ainz explore the world as Momonga trying to spread his name, doing quests, interacting with different characters and doing epic shit- basically everything that made Overlord season 1 enjoyable and garnered so much popularity in the first place, well you can kiss that goodbye.

Everything that was enjoyable about the first season goes downhill in the second season. In this season, that’s where it goes to horse shit and is run right through the mud. The problem with Overlord is the story shifts it’s focus from s2 onwards to focus more about the side characters, how Ainz affecting read more
Sep 8, 2018
FreshChicken (All reviews)
This anime thus far i have been anxiously waiting a week with a alarm on my phone to catch it as soon as it airs, which is hard to find an anime that does that for me. This season of overlord has finally showed a lot of action and comedy compared to the others this is the best season so far showing

Some nice action throughout the entire show,
and much needed lore about the world of Yggdrasil

However there are some scenes with CGI But they are relatively short and easy to watch If you liked the first two seasons then Overlord III read more
Aug 29, 2018
Chaosta (All reviews)
To put it bluntly: If you liked the previous 2 seasons, you'll enjoy this.
However, you must understand that this anime does have quite a bit of world building and its necessary to further enhance the story so bare with it.

Another thing to note is that this anime isnt you typical Isekai anime. The main story n all seasons are about ainz and his comrades who are NOT hero's. This is an Antihero show at heart. so if your ok with that then you'll be fine, otherwise you will be disgusted and angry at some parts so beware.

art is fantastic, madhouse did a great read more
Aug 21, 2018
theotakuparade (All reviews)
If you are looking for an anime where our enemy is a monster with a power literally absurd this is your series

Overlord !!!
Being the third season of this great franchise animated by madhouse is still tremendously interesting, it is beautiful, beautiful and perfect

Animation
The animation is undoubtedly excellent, it gives the nail with the story and focuses a lot on the theme of the story, with very detailed characters for very few minutes that appear to make their honor, rivals who die in less than 5 minutes but its design perfect you notice the details that give

soundtrack
his band is mainly his op is used in almost read more
Aug 14, 2018
-_-Valentina (All reviews)
Well i always star with a warning
First I don't speak English so that i can that have some errors so that do not send me correcting messages as if they were my English teachers that I have enough with that to correct me and make you go through the bilingual
Well WE STAR!!

Well I want belive about Overlord i did think wow this anime is great (In his first season)in his second season i felt bored because ,i do not entertained did not meet my expectations and this season is very boring for me (Personal opinion) i don't deny that it has read more
Sep 19, 2018
Popkornz (All reviews)
Story (8/10)
You know when people say, "The book is better than the movie"? Well, in this case its the same thing, except its a show. The 24 minute episode force Madhouse to have to cut out a lot of stuff making this inconsistent story. People sometimes say to read the light novel but that is just silly. Why should you need to read a whole book to just understand a show. If all parts of the story were to be in the show it would go well beyond the 24 minute mark so they have to cut some content but that sometimes just breaks the read more
Aug 28, 2018
Kiriikun (All reviews)
Ok so yeah you can go ahead and skip the first few episodes because boy oh boy things get hot around episode 6 onwards like the Brutality and sense of savageness that you get from these episodes I honestly felt sorry for the workers but oh well it's a story, they tonnes it down a bit compared to how detailed it was in the novels so I've heard but hey it still not bad they do things to make you think and use your imagination of how they suffered a bad fate and etc...the art is A1 brilliant as always it's MAD HOUSE they are read more
Aug 14, 2018
PaperMash (All reviews)
My small mid-season review. The season is hearting up, Ainz is planning ahead and trying has best to portray himself as supreme leader. The season so far has been very enjoyable and as someone who has not read the manga it's been easier to follow than season 2.

As always the case with overlord, each episode is well paced making them feel like that are only 5 minutes long rather than 20 (yes i'm enjoying them that much). The art style is the same as always, with 3D animated 'stuff' thrown in, which I really wish they didn't do. But the character development, story and read more
Aug 13, 2018
dajetmiko (All reviews)
first and foremost, I apologize for some grammar error. I hope you still get what I wanted to say,

Overlord continues to surprise me. When I first watched it, I had a really low expectation in this next Isekai. No, this show is definitely not a masterpiece. But it did really well to grab my attention in the first season. Now, in the first and second season, this show is kinda mediocre to me. But it was a hell of fun for me to have watched it. Because if you look for it, this show has little going for it: Animation-wise this show is good but read more
Sep 18, 2018
Dark1knight (All reviews)
To be honest, i am quite a bit disapointed with the anime, I know there is a budget problem, but even so to use that cringy CGI in the episode 11 is just a hideous crime to me as a fan, i don't think they should have made it traditional for i know it is reaaaaly hard, but still what they made is just too lazy. Also i understand how much the industry is nearly like a slave labour at times which makes the japanese animation market so hard to florish again, so take my complaints with a bit of salt and as not taking read more
Aug 31, 2018
R_9pinguin_K (All reviews)
This isn't a professional review or anything just a review from your average anime watcher. I've watched all the episodes of Overlord thus far and I have to say I have no clue as to why they've ruined the series in the last 2 seasons. First season was an absolute blast and a really good overall anime however 2nd season and 3rd season have just been side stories about some meaningless characters for about 80-90% of the season with no action. I don't know if I'm missing the point and when I went to check the rating of this season I was expecting to see read more
Sep 11, 2018
XfillTr8 (All reviews)
As disappointing as the second season.

This anime keeps finding a way to let me down.
Maybe it was because i liked the first season so much that my expectations were really high.
I thought that the third season would rectify this problem but ,no.
There is absolutely no action scenes and some broad attempts at light hearted fun.
Its like the first season was an unexpected hit and the creators just want to squeeze the anime dry.
Every episode feels like a filler ,like those OVA's.

There are a few action scenes but it isn't worth it as the anime lasts only 13 episodes per season.
If they wanted read more