Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Overlord III


Alternative Titles

English: Overlord III
Japanese: オーバーロードⅢ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 10, 2018 to Oct 2, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 22:00 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.221 (scored by 103,838 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3002
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #399
Members: 211,573
Favorites: 1,878

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 2, 2018
KatsutoSaki (All reviews)
This is the first time I've ever felt about reviewing a particular show on MAL. Perhaps, my love for this show is significantly greater than any show in existence? What I’m about to state in this review is relatively the truth...

Alright, so what's Overlord III about? What has Ainz-sama achieved so far till this season? What were the main events that took place before this season? Has the premise of the series changed?

THIS REVIEW MIGHT CONTAIN MILD SPOILERS.

So, previously in the first season we see Momonga somehow "mysteriously" getting teleported to a new world or getting trapped into a game called Dive Massively Multiplayer read more
Oct 2, 2018
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
You know what? Sometimes it is fun to route for the bad guy. Sometimes you are drawn to the villains of a story by their overwhelming power, how cunning and intelligent they are, or their unquestionable charisma. A good villain always leaves a mark during and after the story is finished. So what happens when you take those villains and make them the protagonist of their own stories? Well you get shows like Overlord. A series that has had three seasons now when we thought it was a one and done series. But nope, Madhouse has stuck to this series with another season. And now read more
Aug 6, 2018
Uber_Bacon (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you've watched and liked the other seasons, you're going to like this. Plain and simple





On a more serious note, Overlord III is really all of the same stuff that made the first two seasons great: good world building, a grand line of characters, a simple branding out story. The show has a sense of progression and the dynamic between Ainz and the floor guardians is enhanced even more in this season resulting (so far) in a really enjoyable experience.

Story: 10/8
I give it a biased 10 since, as a Light Novel reader, I know the significance of small details that might feel shoehorned in read more
Oct 2, 2018
duhu1148 (All reviews)
There are four major aspects of Overlord that make it appealing.

1) Protagonists are villains.
2) Protagonists are ridiculously overpowered.
3) Protagonists are non-human.
4) Solid world building. Works well as a hi-fantasy series.

These points summarize Overlord well, and if you find them appealing then this series is just for you. Tired of goody two- shoe protagonists who are holier-than-thou with no moral faults? Overlord’s protagonists are nonhuman and villains. Have you had enough of linear progression in storytelling, where the protagonist overcomes progressively stronger antagonists, almost conveniently? Overlord’s protagonist and his minions and the minions of his minions are overpowered compared to the vast majority of everything else in read more
Aug 4, 2018
GreenHearted (All reviews)
Preliminary
AHHHHHHHHHHHHH I could gush over Overlord forever. But for those of you wondering about Season 3, I'm gonna assume you already know what makes Overlord a great show and dive into my thoughts about this current season.

Watch this show. Season three is showing us that this show has lots more political aspects and character building than ever before, and is starting out, in my opinion, even stronger than in Season two with the lizardmen. This show has amazing potential in its very large cast and dedicates enough time to make you care about them. You WILL be pleased with this season. Bone daddy has read more
Oct 2, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Franchises like Overlord has a tendency to overrun its ideas with every season. The first season concentrated on Ainz and his goals along with exploring the world fiction while building into the base story. The second season expanded its world although it didn’t exactly live up to its hype when it came to actual character building. Now, here we are. The third season that I crossed my fingers as it’s time for Overlord to prove itself if it’s capable of improving.

Realistically, I came into the third season with moderate expectations. The first episode didn’t exactly get me excited after seeing everyone getting a reintroduction. Ainz read more
Aug 16, 2018
FatboyPatty (All reviews)
Preliminary
The art is good, the sound is good, and that is where the good things end. Everything that was enjoyable and novel about the first season was tarnished in the second season. In this new season, they were driven through the ground and stepped on. The cool new "rule the world" idea that drove the anime is now gone. Now there is just a village full of weak, needy, annoying, and UNNECESSARY characters. From a little potion maker who is on his way to making a potion 1/100 as useful as those made by Ainz to a weak and pointless village chief who is there read more
Oct 2, 2018
NoizyFrog (All reviews)
Overlords 3rd season continues the overrated story of anime’s most beloved skeleton without facial animations.
VERDICT: 3 – Bad.

STORY: Slow, boring and confusing.
3rd season starts with a filler episode and proceeds with mediocrity and boredom from then on. The drive behind every action in this show is not apparent to the viewer, so that in the end I was questioning the events happening on screen. Why was Ainz destroying Carne Village again?
Next topic is the pacing. Boi does this season move S L O W. In addition, it is void of any substance, significant characterization or development. Noteworthy action – also nonexistent.

CHARACTERS: Huh?
We read more
Aug 24, 2018
OG_Gattsu (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you fell in love with watching Ainz explore the world as the adventure Momonga trying to spread his name, doing quests, interacting with different characters and doing epic shit- basically everything that made Overlord season 1 enjoyable and garnered so much popularity in the first place, well you can kiss that goodbye. (Warning, spoilers included).

Everything that was enjoyable about the first season goes downhill in the second season. In this season, that’s where it goes to shit. The story shifts it’s focus once again onto the side characters, politics, how Ainz affects the world and world building. If you’ve watched season 2, that seems read more
Oct 2, 2018
MarlyTT (All reviews)
Basically Sword Art Online for people who are too embarrassed to admit they like Sword Art Online or think they're above it when they're not. Three seasons in, and Overlord III still manages to be as embarrassingly terrible as the series has ever been. Apparently Madhouse managed to split up the budget for one cour worth into three, and it really shows. How this series is still so popular despite Madhouse's awful adaptation and the original material's abysmal writing can be very easily described in two words: Power fantasy.

But what makes this particular power fantasy so profitable and appealing?

It's the fact that the protagonist read more
Aug 2, 2018
Hawkeye- (All reviews)
Preliminary
So i like overlord a lot. The character development in these 4 episodes have been great. I feel like that's what lacked in season 2, The first few episodes were about new ''characters'' that were lizard men. We didnt really get any interactins with the supreme being i feel like.

If your looking for an isekai anime i would reccomend overlord most of the time because it's way better then most isekai anime's i have seen.

What i didnt really like about season 3 is that it's kind of getting repetitive. Ainz is trying to bullshit his way out of the questions of the supreme read more
Oct 3, 2018
valtiel01 (All reviews)
Based on the reviews, you will either love or hate this show. I already gave a couple of chances with the show, but I failed to like any single detail about it. If I could describe this show, it would be like this: a knight plans a great adventure, yet he moves around insignificant villages to bully peasants with very slow pace. Peasants from other villages don't care about his power, so few of them gather and attack him no matter that he's got thick armor and a powerful sword. He beats them and other peasants. That's what Overlord is about, if you like an read more
Sep 19, 2018
Popkornz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story (8/10)
You know when people say, "The book is better than the movie"? Well, in this case its the same thing, except its a show. The 24 minute episode force Madhouse to have to cut out a lot of stuff making this inconsistent story. People sometimes say to read the light novel but that is just silly. Why should you need to read a whole book to just understand a show. If all parts of the story were to be in the show it would go well beyond the 24 minute mark so they have to cut some content but that sometimes just breaks the read more
Aug 5, 2018
Luzioon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Why Overlord III get a 6/10 to me?
It's going NOWHERE!
I'm enjoying the show since season 1 but the story never focus on why Momonga is in the game, never show a sign of other players in the game, there is no evolution on the story.
The fact that he don't face any real challenge is extremely annoying, the other annoying fact is about Momonga's personality, the power inhibiting his feelings makes you never know if he is a hero or just a fucking dictator, and again, THERE IS NO EXPLANATIONS!
The anime create too much mysteries with no conclusions, it opens the story to the minor characters read more
Oct 2, 2018
dadnaya (All reviews)
How to Overlord in 4 steps:

1) Introduce random characters

2) Give them a little backstory and make them take a lot of screen time

3) Kill them "for the benefit of Nazarick" or enslave them "for the benefit of Nazarick"

4) Repeat

We've already seen this format since S2. Do you remember the lizardmen? The giant Hamster? Tuare? Maybe, probably not though. Not even their names.

They took up so much screen time and then become unimportant, it's not interesting anymore.

Unfortunately, S3 follows the same path, and only a handful of episodes are actually progressing the story, while 80% of the anime is "fillers"

I've been told many times that it's read more
Sep 8, 2018
FreshChicken (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime thus far i have been anxiously waiting a week with a alarm on my phone to catch it as soon as it airs, which is hard to find an anime that does that for me. This season of overlord has finally showed a lot of action and comedy compared to the others this is the best season so far showing

Some nice action throughout the entire show,
and much needed lore about the world of Yggdrasil

However there are some scenes with CGI But they are relatively short and easy to watch If you liked the first two seasons then Overlord III read more
Aug 14, 2018
-_-Valentina (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well i always star with a warning
First I don't speak English so that i can that have some errors so that do not send me correcting messages as if they were my English teachers that I have enough with that to correct me and make you go through the bilingual
Well WE STAR!!

Well I want belive about Overlord i did think wow this anime is great (In his first season)in his second season i felt bored because ,i do not entertained did not meet my expectations and this season is very boring for me (Personal opinion) i don't deny that it has read more
Sep 28, 2018
MrJears (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, I have to mention that the original story is great. This anime adaptation however is an abomination and clear cash grab trying to profit from a dedicated fan base. I'm going to keep this review short because I can not be bothered.

Just search "Overlord goblin army cgi" on YouTube and you can deduce my opinion. The show is filled with stuff like this. For a bit more of a rant and a more grounded opinion, read below:

Story: This adaptation suffers from major pacing issues. While the original story is great, the anime can not do it justice. While we are shown the read more
Aug 29, 2018
Chaosta (All reviews)
Preliminary
To put it bluntly: If you liked the previous 2 seasons, you'll enjoy this.
However, you must understand that this anime does have quite a bit of world building and its necessary to further enhance the story so bare with it.

Another thing to note is that this anime isnt you typical Isekai anime. The main story n all seasons are about ainz and his comrades who are NOT hero's. This is an Antihero show at heart. so if your ok with that then you'll be fine, otherwise you will be disgusted and angry at some parts so beware.

art is fantastic, madhouse did a great read more
Sep 26, 2018
Adderallian (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've never wrote a review before, so please excuse my lack of professionality. I try my best not to write any spoilers.

Story / 10
I absolutely love the concept of being left alone in a game and then being thrown into a quite unknown world. Overlord just did that in an extraordinary way. There are a lot of references to the past of the game which fit perfectly into context. Also the fact, that the MC is in fact THE "Overlord" is so interesting. I dont know if there is any other anime like that.

Art / 8
Except the CGI it's really good.

Sound / 9
Love read more