Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Babylon


Alternative Titles

Japanese: バビロン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2019 to Jan 28, 2020
Premiered: Fall 2019
Broadcast: Mondays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Revoroot
Source: Novel
Genres: MysteryMystery, PsychologicalPsychological, ThrillerThriller
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: None

Statistics

Score: 7.341 (scored by 1311413,114 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #22422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1457
Members: 73,709
Favorites: 225

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 27, 2020
Fosn (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

I was (still am, but I hope not for too long) a NEET (not in education, employment, or training), i left the school about 3 years ago, i rarely go out (even by myself), i have no friends, i suffer from Dyslexia and i also suffer from Depression/Anxiety. It's been like this for a long time, never told my parents about this (don't know if i'm going to do so) and I thought of committing suicide several times, for a long time in fact but never did. I can't say if I was afraid of death or I didn't want to see anyone cry read more
Jan 27, 2020
SingleH (All reviews)
This review is best consumed pretending you hadn’t just seen the score its headed with.

This one’s going to be real prosaic, because Babylon is a very dense, logically tight show for adults in a way you don’t often see in media, especially anime, and is certainly not for people even among older audiences who cannot keep up with sociopolitical factions and legal jargon, as it is a premiere example of a political thriller, a genre both elusive in the medium and almost never laudably delivered on therein or out. Every facet of the show is oozing with a thick sense of seriousness and—on paper—really boils read more
Oct 28, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Babylon is quietly becoming (one of) the best anime of the fall 2019 season. That’s because it’s taking itself seriously, in a way that is not pretentious or quirky. Two common traits that are recycled time and time again in psychological/thriller based anime.

One of the key themes in Babylon is the dichotomy between what is ‘right’ and what is ‘wrong.’ This concept is fleshed out in episode 2, when Seizaki is interrogating Ai Magase, and he agrees to answer her questions in exchange for her confession. Seizaki — a good intentioned, self-sacrificing prosecutor — discovers that his ‘firm’ beliefs, are quite read more
Jan 27, 2020
SpikyTurtle (All reviews)
Review contains some spoilers:

This is going to be a short review/rant about Babylon.

I remember when the first 3 episodes came out everyone was impressed since this show had amazing cinematography and direction, a dark and thrilling atmosphere and the story was executed very well. It continued to be very good until the 7th episode, then it had a long break and everything went to shit.

Babylon would have been great if if was just a political thriller with mystery elements. But the suicide law going worldwide and the law in general ruined the show. It is just very unrealistic that people would react to this law read more
Nov 5, 2019
JermasShort (All reviews)
Preliminary
Premise
Since this show seems like is treating itself as a serious show with important message to convey, so I will compare it with the greats, not just an anime show. Also, this is just some thoughts 5 episodes in.

Why I think it is sub par at best (includes heavy BIAS and SPOILER of course):

-Commercialsed TV Violence
Borrowed the term from David Lynch, meaning the effects of violence in this TV show is completely shallow, just a means to an end. Let me elaborate, there are 60+ normal people and 1 very close colleague to MC died, read more
Oct 28, 2019
Ilovebeanbag (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show was written by the guy who made "Kado: The right answer". Although these are totally different shows, both have the same structure... A very interesting premise, gradually becoming a disaster of story telling and destroy everything it stood for.

Please read my view on the show and it's structure:

It is not as clever as you think it is. It's really not. It just gives if the illusion that it's a good show. Nothing more.
The only character which undergoes an character change is the main character, but it shatters all it's development... For what? For a catastrophic anticlimactic ending.

To give the positives, the morality it read more
Jan 27, 2020
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Every now and then a show comes along and has an absolutely amazing start, dazzles with great narrative, action, characters, etc and then it throws it all away at the end. Unfortunately, this is one of those. Babylon offers one of the most interesting examinations of the classic philosophical debate of Good vs Evil I have ever seen. While on paper, it’s easy for us to say what’s right and what’s wrong, in reality, it’s often much more difficult. Life is more often in shades of grey than black and white. Babylon does a really good job of making you question everything you thought you read more
Jan 28, 2020
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Throughout my high school years, I struggled with an illness in my mind I couldn't put into words. The way I thought of it was a roller coaster that I could never get off. My whole life has been a series of peaks and valleys.

For weeks, the roller coaster would be at a peak. I would have an endless supply of energy. I was able to make friends and enjoy every day to the fullest. Then everything would crash down and suddenly the roller coaster was stuck in a valley. For weeks, I would be exhausted and depressed. Making friends was the easy part, but read more
Jan 27, 2020
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Babylon is one of the oddest series of early 2020. That's impressive considering the fact it's competing against Ishuzoku Reviewers! Babylon is odd because it's tonally all over the place. An adult discussion about the ethics of suicide and euthanasia becomes a poorly written, Shonen cat and mouse game between Japanese Batman and an evil psychic who uses mind control powers to kill people. Did I mention her mind control powers work by being so incredibly sexy? Trust me, it's as dumb as it sounds.

The story begins with Japanese prosecutor named Zen, investigating wrongdoing by a pharmaceutical giant. This leads to him discovering a murder read more
Oct 30, 2019
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first time watching something new of this genre as it's been airing, and I'm so glad it's this.

The characters and setting are really great, and the plot points just leave me wondering what else is going to happen. I honestly get the same vibes as I did while watching Death Note. Not that I'm saying it's the same. But the type of shows in general. I also get the same vibe as a recent movie, but won't mention it for spoiler reasons. I'd say if you're into crime, drama, and mystery, then you should give this one a shot!

The main character read more
Jan 28, 2020
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*Prologue*

Approaching this show is a difficult task. This isn’t because the show tackles harsh subject matter involving the likes of suicide as one of its fundamental talking points. It’s not because the show isn’t exactly good at doing so, either. It’s because I’m still coming to terms with what an absolute shitshow this series has become. There’s this immense swirl of emotions that come about from watching a show crumble before your very eyes, keenly aware that there were signs of trouble from the beginning. Babylon showed promise of being a fascinating police procedural with some of the most noteworthy directing of 2019...or at least read more
Jan 27, 2020
sushiisawesome (All reviews)
Babylon is yet the latest in a series of blunders courtesy of the seinen demographic that in many ways sum up exactly why the majority of people shun it in favor of its younger brother in the shonen demographic. It's not that I personally think seinen can't be fantastic; plenty of series have done a marvelous job living up to what the demographic, well, implies and providing interesting characters, a level of maturity not normally found in their younger contemporaries and fantastic storylines. After all, one only needs to look at the likes of Berserk, Vinland Saga, Boogiepop and Others as well as Ghost in read more
Jan 27, 2020
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*Minimum Spoiler Review*
TL;DR: Psycho Pass meets Mirai Nikki before they have a child so horrible they decide to leave it at the philosophy class for freshman's to decide what religion the child will have.
[Story: 6/10 , Characters: 5/10, Art: 5/10, Sound: 4/10, Enjoyment: 3/10]

“a woman sitting on a scarlet beast that was full of blasphemous names, and it had seven heads and ten horns. The woman was arrayed in purple and scarlet, and adorned with gold and jewels and pearls, holding in her hand a golden cup full of abominations and the impurities of her sexual immorality. And on her forehead was written read more
Nov 19, 2019
KingiousWeebious (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have never written a review, and I do not know the lingo or really have much to say. However, I felt compelled to write this review based on the ending of episode 7.

This anime is the first good psychological thriller I have seen in a while. It does a good job creating characters and inter-character relationships, and the story is very intense.

I have watched a good amount of anime, and in that anime is a lot of gore and other concepts that are not for the faint of heart. What I really came here to say though is: 𝚍̲𝚘̲ ̲𝚗̲𝚘̲𝚝̲ ̲𝚠̲𝚊̲𝚝̲𝚌̲𝚑̲ ̲𝚝̲𝚑̲𝚒̲𝚜̲ ̲𝚊̲𝚗̲𝚒̲𝚖̲𝚎̲ read more
Dec 17, 2019
EdgyRick (All reviews)
Preliminary
Babylon is a cliche show that pretends not to be. The issue boils down to broken characters.



Babylon starts out as a true crime show, then quickly turns into a pseudo-supernatural crime show that supposedly talks about the morals around suicide and whether or not we should allow it.

That's if you're giving it the benefit of the doubt, what it actually is is a dumpster fire.

Simply put, to make a fleshed out story, the good characters need to be part bad, and the bad characters need to be part good. Otherwise the characters next actions are always predictable, and the viewer can anticipate the entire story read more
Jan 27, 2020
TegamiIri (All reviews)
I've never felt like I've wasted my time watching an anime or *any* work of fiction THIS much in my entire life. If I could go back in time and stop myself from starting, I would 200% do it with absolutely no regret.

There have been many shows that started out great and then ended on a badly-written ending, but it’s not even that for Babylon. Yes, the show was spectacular all the way to episode 7 and excellent still even half way through episode 12. Yes, then the ending FAILED completely. But what’s different about Babylon is that it wasn’t a disappoint because the read more
Jan 27, 2020
Zerity (All reviews)
After just finishing Babylon I am honestly at a lost for words, this show is actually amazing and still love it after it's ending. It leaves you with many questions which are open to different interpretations depending on how you look at things. That is generally what a good mystery does, granted the first half was more intense and the second half went into a different approach focusing on another character but It was still as good.

After thinking about the series for a bit I can't really find and complaints I had, it was interesting, raised themes which left me thinking and hearing the read more
Nov 25, 2019
WhiteZet (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is NOT a proper mystery show. [Minor spoilers from 1st episode]

[Story: 4]
The story sets itself up fairly well. The main character is presented with a simple case, that leads to them discovering a murder that is related to an even bigger case. The first episode has some detective work and has a sense of mystery around it, but this minor mystery aspect is pretty much over within 3 episodes, as one of the antagonists already reveals his identity and plans through an over the top plot development. Now the whole show is all about trying to stop him and his supporters.

One of the biggest read more
Jan 3, 2020
diabolicalx (All reviews)
Preliminary
Since the proper way to write a review is to explain why i liked or disliked this show I will only explain why i disliked it.
This show seems like it is trying to do many things at once which in the end comes off distracting and frustrating. If you are a fan of the genre this series pretends to be you will likely dislike this show. However, if you are generally a fan of supernatural harem, ecchi, and mystery fantasy with action scenes that only exist for sexy angles then this show is right up your alley.

I am struggling to write this read more
Nov 19, 2019
Ken_15 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Its been a long time since I've seen a good psychological show so I didn't expect that much from this show, but after the first 3 episodes I knew it had potential to be the best this season, and so far at 7th episode, it is still that good. as it is on amazon prime not many people are watching it and its not as famous as it should be, but its actually better than most of the anime this season
its psychological detective mystery and our main character is Seizaki-san, he's in some kind of special investigation force and is investigating the case we are read more