Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Happy Sugar Life


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: White Sugar Garden, Black Salt Cage
Japanese: ハッピーシュガーライフ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 14, 2018 to Sep 29, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Ezόla
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.041 (scored by 41,237 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #36102
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1004
Members: 106,278
Favorites: 987

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2018
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
It’s only stupid if it doesn’t work.

Nowadays, the shows I fight to defend are highly misunderstood because their appeal is too specific, causing the general audience to flaunt their standards around like they’re supposed to mean anything. Past examples include Mahou Shoujo Site, Jashin-chan Dropkick and Hand Shakers. Yet, Happy Sugar Life is a different sort of… thing, whose plot setup is about as logically sound as riding a lawnmower during a hurricane, seemingly leaving not but a select, niche appeal for the sickos like me.

A high school girl is basically holding a little girl hostage in a populated apartment complex; she hides read more
Aug 3, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Mahou Shoujo Site was a fun series from last season. It went so overboard and above what is acceptable that it became nothing less than great series to watch, and in the mean time, managed to offend lots of people -- which is always a plus. I expected the same from Happy Sugar Life, and while it hasn't been exactly as over the top nor has it managed to make people lose their self-control in similar fashion, it did deliver.

Our story focuses around two characters: Satou Matsuzaka, a psychotic lesbian pedophile, voiced by Hanawaza Kana (Hype, ikr). And this assumably 4-5 years-old read more
Sep 28, 2018
chore (All reviews)
For as long as I’ve been watching anime, there has always been a considerable amount of the community who can find so much entertainment in shows that are “so bad, they’re good.” Whether it be the pandering fan service of shows like Eromanga Sensei, the comically overdone plot of shows like In Another World With My Smartphone, or the laughably edgy situations in shows like Magical Girl Site, the community always seems to find something to enjoy in shows that are simply, undeniably, and blatantly trash. But as the saying goes, “one man’s trash is another man’s treasure”, and it looks like I’ve found my read more
Aug 3, 2018
MitchellMi (All reviews)
Preliminary
"MUHAHAHA, lookie look how crazy I am -- I'm wheezily drooling over a little girl's picture and screaming like a complete idiot!"
That's pretty much the best way to describe this anime.

Story: 3
The writing is below the level of both David Cage and Uwe Boll's work. "You're less stable than the other girls. I'm an adult. I'm sure I can help you." This is a literal line a character has delivered in this series. Not only does composition repeatedly get dumped in our faces, it has to be in the most awkward ways imaginable.
Happy Sugar Life is anime about a girl named Satou. She had read more
Aug 4, 2018
Boing7477 (All reviews)
Preliminary
After watching the first episodes of "Happy Sugar Life", I wanted to share my opinion with you.

The story starts off quite boring but then develops quickly into something you may not have thought of in the beginning. BUT you have to like these kinds of stories if you don't just pass it. Because I only have seen the first episodes, so let's see if the story stays interesting.

The art is a mixture of bright colors with a gloomy shadow over it. That creates an atmosphere of unforeseeable darkness, which is only broken up in a few moments of "Happiness".

The sound fits most of the read more
Sep 28, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Once upon a time, there was a girl who didn’t know what love really is. She seemingly had no goals in life with a rootless understanding about love. Sleeping with guys and not truly knowing what her life is about, she didn’t know if there was a place to belong. Wondering around the end of abyss of life and not knowing who she can really be with. Then, a child appeared. An innocent child with a face full of life and sugar. Is this a chance to truly discover love? Is it a chance to live a happy sugar life?

As a show that combines elements read more
Aug 13, 2018
FukGoBack (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, this is my one of my favorite anime of this season so far. I've watched : Bannana Fish, Cell anime, Dropkick-chan, Chio-Chan, Asobi Asobase, Angels of death and Angolmois.
Hanebado, Attack on titan and Grand Blue

This anime however stood out very much for me. Don't listen to all the " This Anime is for edgy 12 year olds" etc... spam. They are obviously the immature ones (with awful taste I might add...). This Anime is a perfect blend of Mystery/Suspense/Horror with warm cute shoujo. And no, this is NOT a Yuri anime, however much it seems like.

*Story/Premise: Is about a broken read more
Jan 6, 2019
RuanSwanepoel (All reviews)
Happy Sugar Life (HSL) is a psychological horror about normal people being pushed to their limits. Throughout this show, contrasts are stressed and found in every way possible as I will be discussing throughout this review.

Art 8/10: One of HSL's best attributes.
Studio Ezόla has opted for a pretty basic art style for this Anime. The surroundings or backgrounds are simple, but never feels fake or takes away from the original style, so no points deducted from that. This is the best example of where you can see contrasts being used. In happy or cheerful scenes, the colors used are extremely bright and sparkly. The color read more
Aug 5, 2019
illuminatibg (All reviews)
What is the cost of love and happiness?

Before you start watching this masterpiece, you should be warned, you would be seriously disturbed. Like this anime will touch your soul and put a lot of dark stuff inside. I have no idea why all previous reviews gave so low scores. It is like people watching "Chernobyl" (a series for the largest tragedy in atomic energy known to man) and expect it to be fun? It is not fun, neither is this anime, but gosh it is so GOOD!

Art & Music: 9
Story & Characters: 10

The first thing I must point is the professionalism this anime is implemented. read more
Jun 13, 2019
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
A psychological anime is good if it can make the watcher feel unorthodox. A horror anime is good if it can make the watcher feel scared and afraid. This anime qualifies the two spots nicely and perfectly like putting a pencil lid into your mechanical pencil.

Story : 9/10

Two girls, stay together, supernatural, illegal and scary stuffs happens. Psychological plot, great story development. Makes me get goosebumps and/or afraid in all episodes. Respect.

Art : 9/10

Good art, good quality, nice.

Sound : 8/10

Catchy, Cute(scary) opening, satisfactory background musics, effects, etc..
Problem : Shio's sound is kind of annoying sometimes.

Character : 10/10

Cute characters, read more
Jul 23, 2019
Wheedies (All reviews)
This show provided everything I want in anime: social commentary and metaphysical/ philosophical questions. Many reviews look at it at face value, when it should be analyzed for what its trying to say.

Nearly all the characters in the story are phycologicly scarred and 'twisted', which turns some people off, most of them are not seen after their introduction and are presented in a morally open way. Such characters are shown to have a multitude of faces, and their role in the narrative primarily comes down to the idea that more people than you know have had a painful past and that more people have morally read more
May 31, 2019
blucube01 (All reviews)
-THIS IS MY FIRST EVER REVIEW ON AN ANIME SO I APOLOGIZE IF THIS REVIEW ISN'T ENOUGH TO CONVINCE YOU TO WATCH THIS MASTERPIECE.-

My Intro
I have been a fan of psychological animes and mangas because it feels so unique when you watch this kind of genre.
Happy Sugar Life is one of the best psychological anime that I have seen, I have never felt this best feeling since Mirai Nikki (This one's a pretty badass psychological anime too, recommended 10/10).



STORY

It's plot is pretty much the same with yandere animes (killing for the person you love, have different personalities, become merciless and be a beautiful and read more
May 12, 2019
RyderFlynn (All reviews)
I've left the world of anime for a long time because I became bored with anime presenting me nothing new or revolutionary in terms of their storytelling. It was hard to find a story that offers a unique perspective about life or about anything at all, just a horde of formulaic entertainment that's "good enough" to keep you... entertained. And "good enough" was just not good enough for me. I wanted exceptional.

Welcome to exceptional.

Plot: 9
Happy Sugar Life is an anti-romance story that really digs its nails deep into the more taboo meanings of love and what it means to different individuals. The premise would turn read more
Mar 5, 2019
miipai (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

At the first few seconds of the episode it shows both characters Satou and Shio nearby a pit of fire. It doesn’t really explain what happened in the scenario, but we could tell from her expression and words how she finally realized how love felt like at that scenario.

Now I wonder what happened at that moment.

In sickness and in health,
through happiness and sadness,
for richer, for poorer,
I promise to love you, Satou-chan,
until death do us part.

It’s one of the sweetest vow’s you’ll every hear from a child, and from how it appears this is Satou’s way of calming herself down after a long read more
Apr 13, 2019
Fulmi (All reviews)
I've been watching anime for some time, and this is the first time I felt like writing a review of a series. I will try to avoid spoilers as much as I can.


STORY: Outstanding

Of all animes I watched, this one must have one of the more unique plots I have seen. I would go as far as saying this is a "high art anime".
The first chapters introduce Satou's life, a hardworking girl who is in "love". Her koibito is Shio, a kid that she apparently kidnapped and locked in her apartment. That's all I will say about the plot, read the synopsis if you want read more
Sep 17, 2018
TwYee (All reviews)
Preliminary
I found this anime much more enjoying then I should.

It builds up a story and drops it with consequences that might turn out satisfying to watch. It contains layers of dark stories and disturbing action done mostly everyone. If you're into things being out of the normal range of human behaviour, this is the anime for you. Bonus points if you like yuri or lolis.

What I found this anime being fun is mostly from the protagonists' ability to do evil things. A cute girl who has a dark side waiting to be discovered by the viewer; all to protect her loved one with anything, but read more
Nov 12, 2018
evemetalchick (All reviews)
When I first heard about this anime and what was going on in it, I was skeptical about it seeming to be good for horror; I mean you got a yandere and a child. But once you get to episode 5 and you start learning about Shio, you learn all those layers they built into this child and how she's more than just an innocent and caring child.

Satou has a lot to her as well, not being a teen who kidnapped a child cause they love them sexually, but a true love for this girl who brought her happiness when she never received any read more
Sep 29, 2018
PineappleJim (All reviews)
So where to start?

Happy Sugar Life (HSL) fails as a psychological horror.
That is fine.
Don't go in thinking this is going to be a psychological horror, instead look at this more as a mystery drama.

It's not a standard "Problem = Mystery" style mystery, but instead it's got that sort of Another style mystery where you have a problem, but then the interest is figuring out who the characters are, what's happened leading up to here, etc.

It's a drama because everything is a drama. Drama is that blanket term for "things happen, they're not neccesarily fighting, they're not always romance, they're not always [Blank], but they are read more
Sep 21, 2018
Trebassanime (All reviews)
Preliminary
A rare gripping story disguised as just another moe blob slice of life that won't push you to the edge of the seat, but will have you leaning forward wondering what will happen next. The cast consists of only morally and mentally fucked characters; leaving you wondering who you should actually be rooting for; if anyone at all.

It doesn't have the pleasant surprise of School Live's or Doki Doki's 180 tone change, but nonetheless it's still enjoyable, or at the very least interesting, to watch the darker atmosphere envelope and combine with everybody's favourite genre: cutesy moe blobs.

The sound direction catches you off guard, even read more
Oct 7, 2018
WharGhol (All reviews)
Happy Sugar Life is an amazing story. The story is intriguing from episode one and continue's to up the intensity after each episode. I haven't seen anything else like Happy Sugar Life, it's a truly unique thrill ride. This emotional roller coaster will take you to unexpected places.

The music conveys so much feeling and ultimately really helps tell the story. The shocking themes may seem off putting at first glance but you really have to see it all before you can accurately pass judgement.

With surprises at every turn this Psychological Horror is best in class and contender for one of the read more