Black Fox

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Blackfox
Japanese: BLACKFOX

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2019
Producers: Infinite
Licensors: Crunchyroll
Studios: Studio 3Hz
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction
Duration: 1 hr. 30 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.781 (scored by 2097920,979 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #44732
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1955
Members: 58,786
Favorites: 121
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 4, 2019
Skarvalin (All reviews)
If you want to know how to make the most unoriginal movie possible then look no further, this is it!

After her family is assassinated by an evil corporation Rikka Isurugi decides to become this movie's version of batman and track them down in order to get revenge and stop them from doing evil corporation things.

Originality isn't something I demand from a movie as long as the execution is serviceable. But when you can use it as a checklist for cliche movie tropes it becomes a problem. Don't expect this movie to have anything new to show you if you've seen a lot of anime read more
Oct 4, 2019
Kuroack (All reviews)
First off i would like to say that this movie feels like a really long introduction to a anime series which isnt a bad thing

It starts off fleshing out the plot which is very movie like but it sets things up in a grander theme later

As for what i thought off the movie, its great but very forgettable. The characters, sound and art are all great but its missing a wow factor.

The plot moves pretty fast near the end and its a little cliche how its focussed on revenge

Overall the movie was pretty good but forgettable

would rate a 7.5 but that isnt read more
Oct 5, 2019
Treecky (All reviews)
Story: 6
It's straightforward, you don't really have to think to get into it. You do find that this idea is plagued with clichés that do not allow it to see its full potential.
Art: 7
The quality is varies throughout the film. I wouldn't say it hinders the enjoyment. Fight scenes become somewhat blurry and uneasy to follow at times.
Sound: 6
Nothing special. Music and sound both add to the experience. It does not feel like it is something that really come out on top compared to other movies.
Character: 6
For a movie, this is something that could have been done better. This is mainly because of the read more
Oct 5, 2019
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
In many ways BlackFox reminds me of Princess Principal. Its premise made it seem like a full one-shot story but instead ends up being some superhero origin story down the line. There are fun and interesting bits here and there, but nothing seems to be developed to its full potential, leaving much to be desired even as the end credits roll. By far the worst offender is the cliffhanger ending, which, as of this writing, has no confirmed continuation.

Still, the movie is fine. My personal favourite bit is the last act where it turns into Symphogear (complete with hot blooded punching and villainous fakeouts), read more
Oct 7, 2019
kinsley24 (All reviews)
Honestly Its got all the typical shounen ticks but it is very enjoyable

You can literally see this was meant to be a full TV show anime, some points it does feel fast paced you do not get a chance to get to know the characters.

But in terms of artwork it was very clean and high production value i really liked that, the fight scenes really well done.

one thing i also liked the character interaction between rikka and her friends (yeah they say so ).

the OST also is really good

overall it is very decent and watchable but forgettable
Jul 9, 2020
Thigh_Tide (All reviews)
When the final shot of the trailer is also the final shot of the movie, something has gone seriously wrong.

Original projects are usually a lot more interesting and creative than established franchises, but there is a caveat that when one falters, it brings far more down than an adaptation would.

Black Fox is a movie that feels like a draft screenplay of itself. The main plot and central characters have been planned out, and in a vacuum are decent, but everything else feels completely rushed. Be it up to me, I'd have asked for the whole movie to be given a serious once-over before release, lest read more
Oct 13, 2019
ItIsIDio (All reviews)
This movie wasn't made for us. No, I don't mean this movie wasn't made for me. No, I don't mean this movie wasn't made specifically for you. What I mean is that the people that are likely to watch this movie and find information about it through this site, are not the people likely to enjoy this movie. Black Fox is a superhero origin story, about a girl that has been trained to be a ninja and has access to a lot of technological gadgets, whose appeal as a person is her kind nature. A budget teenage girl Batman if you will. I do think read more
Oct 13, 2019
Aikagi (All reviews)
1 More Moe Character Comes ♥️♥️
Love The Story it's Very Enjoyable Especially All The Character is Very Cute And Touching My Deepest Heart 💗 Also, Yep, The Character Reminds Me Of Princess Principal, It's Just Like Walk Through Over My Head That Looks Like I Already Seen Her Before 😅...
Welp, For me, I 95% Rate Anime with 10 Score, Since It Has Cute Character in There And Really Good Story Which Make me Like Living in That World 🤣 😊
Ah... What a Life 😂
やばいですね

Story : 10
Art : 10
Sound : 10 (+The ED is Very Cool!)
Character : 10 (Yes, I Respect All of Them Especially For read more
Oct 12, 2019
Xaeveax (All reviews)
Going into this movie, I wasn’t sure what to expect. The visuals looked great and it was one of the only anime movies I had seen to get a simultaneous world-wide release, streaming on Crunchyroll for those of us in other countries who couldn’t go see it in theaters. Unfortunately, it seems that the release strategy is the biggest praise I can give this movie.

Story: 3/10
To put it simply, this is a mixture of a revenge story and a set-up for some presumed sequel story. It feels very much like the first film in a superhero series, the one that sets up the hero and read more
Oct 10, 2019
QXST (All reviews)
Black fox is cliche personified, it relies on cliches and overused narratives so often I was able to call out exactly what the entire movie was going to be about within the first twenty minutes.
now, there are cliche anime movies I like (Sword of the stranger, Redline), so I wouldn't call this an inherent flaw. but the movie seems entirely unaware of its own cliches. Both Redline and Sword of the stranger have ways to separate themselves from others of their kin, be it through art style and wacky animation (Redline), or attempting to overlay an unusual tone on what is otherwise a cliche story read more
Oct 7, 2019
SterlingRyan (All reviews)
Disclaimer: I could not find a manga or source material so I did not read the source material if there is any, I only watched the movie.

Story 3/10: The story is very predictable, as many others are saying as well. Nothing stands out as very unique. This serves as a decent introduction to a series, but as a standalone movie there isn't much that makes it interesting. I found myself wanting the movie to be over about halfway through. Although I can say it got better at the end, but not by much.

Art 7/10: The 2D animation is beautiful but ruined in certain read more
Oct 5, 2019
FateHero (All reviews)
One could probably make a pretty good argument for calling this movie "generic", and I wouldn't really be able to fault them for that assessment. But I will also say that for all the minor gripes I had while watching, there was not a moment where I was not entertained.

The story moved at a nice, brisk pace that didn't get too far ahead of itself nor lag enough to feel slow; characters were interesting and motivations made sense all around.

The soundtrack for this film was especially well done, and that's coming from a guy that doesn't typically take notice of soundtracks at all. From the read more
Oct 5, 2019
Scottfree__ (All reviews)
The story isn't particularly original but that's not always a bad thing.

My only real gripes would come from the choice in camera angles and pacing to fights, it felt as if the animation was a bit blurry during moments that could have sold the action.

I think the characters were okay enough and fun even if they were all a bit one-note. The score and sound design helped to make for an enjoyable time.

A long intro was welcomed here since the preview episode might have been missed, it was a solid way to introduce characters and set-up the overall narrative. The pacing of the read more
Oct 5, 2019
Meelis13 (All reviews)
Story, setting & concept:
Concept & setting of this movie are pretty interesting. Modern/futuristic ninja mixed with few other ideas make it really good and rather unique concept, especially how its made.
It also definetly catches your interest as far as story goes and it is good, despite few basic tropes (which never get disturbing due to delivery). Blackfox also manages to pull some great foreshadowing if you pay attention to details.
Main characters also tend to be very interesting.
However, story sadly is its weakpoint as well- while story is very interesting, the movie format means that lot of things probably had to be cut from movie read more
Jan 23, 2020
Creissonino (All reviews)
The problem with Black Fox is bcause it is an enjoyable well-polished anime that still lacks something.

The story reminds me of some 90's OVA's, but with an updated aesthetic for our times and a softer tone, without all the gratuitous gore. Think about something close to Birdy the Mighty beat.

The technical aspects of Black Fox are amazing, with gorgeous animation, but it somewhat lack its own style. You know, if Trigger were responsible for the movie, they would have made it unique and would receive critical acclaim. It still have a gorgeous animation, but still kinda generic, without its own identity.

The characters read more
Oct 13, 2019
axxjazz (All reviews)
a beautiful masterpiece with a lacklustre story and that's really the only thing holding it back

art and animation are top notch I don't know if its true but there seems to be a much more emphasis on hand drawn frames which really show's in the character expressions and there body movements and the fight scenes are very fast paced like something you would see in Naruto (the hand to hand scenes)and one of my favourite shots was a simple one just being an overhead shot of the dinner table with all the characters avoiding conversation its just something you don't see in anime a read more
Oct 13, 2019
E-Kingmoney (All reviews)
Personally from what I seen from the reviews it not the best movie idea in some eyes, but regardless of that, I truly enjoy the movie from what the writers have come up with even if to other"s it a copy & paste lol.


This site really wants me to go out of my way to write some long ass review 0-0. The voice acting cast did well in captivating their characters/flushing out how they felt in particular scenes such as :Mia apologizing to rikka knowing it was he fault her home got attack by the robo dogs her dad created read more
Oct 7, 2019
SoundBubble (All reviews)
It felt like someone wrote the script for a 12 episode anime, but was then only given a 1.5h movie, so they had to cut half of the scenes. Nothing you haven't seen before and a poor attempt at creating some sort of anime version of a marvel origin story.



Story 3/10

The story was already quite bland to begin with, but due to the before mentioned rushing it got even worse. It really doesn't try anything new and it's just a weird revenge/find yourself story without any major plot-twists or developments that would help the viewer to engage with it.


Art 8/10

Probably the best part of this read more
Apr 26, 2020
SuperSquillid (All reviews)
Not a bad movie by any means, but nothing great either. It ends up being a kind of "superhero origin story" type narrative, which isn't bad but ultimately cannot overcome a lot of clichés.

If I knew a second movie or tv series was going to follow up on the plot, I would watch it, since its conclusion is rather open-ended. In terms of the studio, Studio 3Hz, I found Flip Flappers and Gun Gale Online to have much better animation and aesthetic appeal than this movie. However, if you're looking for a little inspiration, you may find some here.

Story 7/10
Average and full of clichés. read more
Feb 16, 2020
John-O-Mon (All reviews)
This movie gives me Marvel vibes after watching it. I like the animation and the plot is alright. But after the time-skip the plot flatten. So, I don't know how to respond to that at all. I thought is going to be a series at first, however, it seems the people working on it gave second thoughts on it, and turned it into a movie.

They should have worked the story a little more better. I don't mind about the characters, I do like how they animated the fights. But the story kinda went flat afterwards.

As for the characters (6/10) for their personalities. But the doctor read more