Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Double Decker! Doug & Kirill


Alternative Titles

English: Double Decker! Doug & Kirill
Japanese: DOUBLE DECKER! ダグ&キリル

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 30, 2018 to Dec 23, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:30 (JST)
Producers: Lantis
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.981 (scored by 7,428 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #38322
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2718
Members: 25,276
Favorites: 62

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 23, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
There is always that one show, every season, that many people just sleep on. For Double Decker! Doug & Kirill’s case, it is one of those shows. Just like High Score Girl, Double Decker has turned out to be quite the gem after flying under the radar, and definitely an underrated title for the Fall season. This is Sunrise’s version of Rush Hour, a ‘cop-versus-crime’ action-comedy with impeccable timing and absurdity in its humour. Like Lee and Carter, the main protagonists are the total opposites to each other, there isn’t much they share in common, which is a good thing in this setting. Because, when read more
Oct 14, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Double Decker! Doug & That Other Guy is an anime series taking place inside the world of Tiger & Bunny, a franchise which I personally highly enjoyed and which I thought Sunrise would be ruining like seems to be their favorite hobby these days. Thankfully that wasn't the case as this time around the story centers around new detective side of the universe and this appears to be almost as comedic as Tiger and Bunny.

The story of this thing is a generic cops vs. crime. The good part is that it's not taken very seriously. The focus is on banter between the main characters, goofy read more
Dec 23, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
I can’t really imagine a society in our world today without laws. Hell, I can’t even begin to fandom what would happen if the police force disappeared in my neighborhood. As a police story, Double Decker runs with a plot that managed to capture the essence of crime fighting. I’m not going to lie, this show made me realize that sometimes, we can make the simplest ideas and turn it into a blockbuster.

As an anime original, Double Decker may look familiar especially those who have experienced a show in the past known as ‘Tiger & Bunny’. Produced by studio Sunrise, it didn’t take long to read more
Dec 23, 2018
Markezzo (All reviews)
Double Decker has a strong enough start with ridiculous episodic adventures and a cast of lovable idiots, with an over-the-top narrator as a nice cherry on top. However, the comedy and characters that are the show's main selling points become less inspired toward the mid-point. An example would be that only a small portion of the characters get any kind of backstory, and the team-work they need to form as cop duos rarely gets any focus.

The action doesn't help in elevating the experience either, due to the odd mix of 2D and CGI animation that makes the action too clumsy to be enjoyed on read more
Dec 29, 2018
Injenss (All reviews)
"Mmmm...not bad."

That's the feeling I walked away from this anime with. It was pretty funny at times, it had lots of action, the characters were likable. But, it just has the feel of something you'll forget you saw a year from now.

If I could point to two things that make it feel more like a B-rate anime, it would be the fact that it never really felt like it had an identity of its own, but was trying to appear to. It looked like it was pulling from Tiger & Bunny (Without being nearly as good), and adding read more
Nov 8, 2018
Kenyudai (All reviews)
Preliminary
I haven't watched Tiger and Bunny but this anime caught my eye. Double Decker was very fun to watch. Visually stunning, great fighting scenes, easy humor, and likable characters.

And what really stands out is the characters. The anime archetypes, while there at the core, have been drastically altered and switched in appearance and given a unique flair that's less cringy and more interesting.

The main character Kirill is great. His personality seems to draw from the typical shounen anime hero with his hyper determination to achieve his goals except that this time that character archetype has been fused with the pretty boy that tends read more
Nov 1, 2018
Jermzzay (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now after reading the synopsis you are afraid that this anime is just a casual cop anime. NOW LEMME PROVE YOU WRONG. The story of this anime is very good. I also thought at first that this anime was going to be a plain cop anime series. But after I watched episode one, I was awakened. I realized this anime has so much potential. I'm not exaggerating but I think this anime deserves much more attention that it already has.

The art reminds me of the JoJo franchise. I think it's because they use a similar art style and uses CGI too. I also think that read more
Jan 7, 2019
maxiburger (All reviews)
If you come to this show expecting a sequel, or at least a spiritual successor to Tiger & Bunny, return whence you came. The overly smug narrator and the direction will try to convince you otherwise, but this is not the show that you were looking for.

My main gripes with Double Decker are threefold:
- The genre shift
- The needlessly complicated sci-fi elements
- And the fact that everything has to be a plottwist

The first point is pretty self-explanatory. If you go into the sequel of a samurai show after it has been advertised as the new samurai show, but for some reason they changed the setting read more
Dec 24, 2018
SmashedTomatoes (All reviews)
I'll start this quoting a running gag:
Double Decker is not an anime about heroes and dreams,
It's about a bunch of people who can seamlessly turn between 2D animation and CGI.

art:
No, seriously, the whole series has a combination of 2D animation and 3D animation, and while the 3D segments look and move really good, the 2D animation sometimes fails, not because the movement is bad, but rather because the lines seem more like a rough sketch than the final deal, it's especially noticeable right in the opening, where there is a rather large sections where the images pass from these solid illustrations to something not read more
Dec 24, 2018
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
7 year after Tiger and Bunny, sheees I hate that anime, thought the graphics were nice, but you know this anime kinda has a different beat since this was the only time that the police genre has made a come back after a quite a while , after "You are under arrest", also I jaz don't see any reason why this anime would be related to "Tiger and Bunny" except for the part that they both were with studio "Sunrise and both were original works that were not taken from a manga. Anywayz , if we're to consider the plot of the anime, it was read more
Jan 13, 2019
dark___devil (All reviews)
The anime it self is mediocre,run of the mill action anime 7/10. It have decent sound/music,and the character development is just like in any other anime of the type. Half the side kicks get an episode focused on their story. But it have a lot of negatives for me. So i decided to put them out for people that care about it.

-Censorship,rude parts are scratched off and words are changed with *. It had it on the version that i watched and i have the feeling that it is part of the anime and not put on by the distributors.

-Really bad CGI that is an read more
Dec 19, 2018
Zigenbunny (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's a shame that this anime has such low reviews on MAL. I hope more people give it a chance because it's such a fun & enjoyable watch as well as an original show. Maybe you aren't fond of the use of CGI, but it was done really tastefully in this series & it doesn't interrupt the animation quality at all here.

The only thing I hope they explore more on is actually Kirill & Doug's relationship. There hasn't really been any development with them as SEVEN-O partners. I get that the other characters need to be introduced as well for us to understand character dynamics read more
Mar 22, 2019
nerdmeetslife (All reviews)
I won't say this is a top-tier anime but it was definitely binge-able. I liked the diversity of the characters but it felt like they didn't necessarily blend all that well as a community of characters. That's just my opinion though! In fact I loved the main character and I thought his personality was nice and fresh. The plot was rather unique so if you wanted to watch something a bit different that involved crime, solving mysteries, but with some drugs that make people monstrous then yeah this is great. Voice acting- no complaints. Soundtrack- loved it. Art- yeah this is where most my 'complaints' read more