Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gyakuten Saiban: Sono "Shinjitsu", Igi Ari! Season 2


Alternative Titles

English: Ace Attorney Season 2
Synonyms: Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney Season 2
Japanese: 逆転裁判 ~その「真実」、異議あり!~ Season 2

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 23
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2018 to Mar 30, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: CloverWorks
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.211 (scored by 4,929 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #29082
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3269
Members: 17,858
Favorites: 53

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 9, 2018
Mira071198 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Thank god for changing the studio, now this, THIS, is what I like to see!

Like, seriously, compared to the (thou-shalt-not-be-remembered) first season, the animation DRASTICALLY turned up so fine that I desperately wish they continue this quality of animation up till the end (or else... *cries in the void*)

Things I appreciate in this adaptation:

- the pacing is surprisingly not that bad (although not that good, too... such is the fate of game-turned-anime shows)
- no awkward CG's yey!
- the "objection" animation is more natural and not that emphasized and over-the-top (although still kind of is... but yah get what I mean)
- there are actually behind-the-scene things read more
Mar 30, 2019
Lindle (All reviews)
With CloverWorks splitting off from A-1 Studios, there was reason to hope that this season of the Ace Attorney anime might right the wrongs of its predecessor. Having gained the independence to make their own decisions and not simply be A-1's B-studio, they might have been able to take the series in a new direction. And with PVs showing revamped character designs, and the fact that this season was to adapt only one game (Trials & Tribulations, the third game in the series), and the show even starting with a good first episode, things were starting to look hopeful.

Sadly, this was not to be.

If you've read more
Feb 7, 2019
Dekeloni (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly as a guy who played all of the trilogy games + both Dual Destinies and Spirit of Justice, I can say this anime is being executed perfectly. With the addition of 3 extra cases (Young Edgeworth case, the train case and the seashell case) A-1 Studios does a good job of replicating the original game which I enjoyed a lot. Plus they are managing to add some funny scenes from here to there. But man, Godot dude. Always loved that dude. His voice actor is godlike.

The only thing I might have an issue with is the voice actor of Phoenix. He sadly is not read more
Mar 30, 2019
Maffy (All reviews)
After the first series aired with its numerous problems, not many of us had any expectations for the continuation. Rough work on the pacing, narration and execution was detrimental to the final work. However, CloverWorks worked on some of the core problems the prequel had and it brought forth a much acceptable result.

The theme of the anime remains pretty much the same with Phoenix (Naruhodo) going through a few cases, but this time there is much more attention to the pacing, leaving enough time for a case to unfold in a more natural way than rush through everything. There were 23 episodes to animate only read more
Mar 30, 2019
PyraXadon (All reviews)
As someone who's never even held a copy of the games, I legitimately didn't think that the Ace Attorney series could have anything even resembling an overarching narrative.  A strange surprise, but certainly a welcome one.

Story:

More cases, more peculiar murders, and one suspicious woman that seems to keep popping up in everything that's going on, the follow up to Naruhodo Ryuuichi's start in his career as a defense attorney has him tackle more of these cases, this time with a lot more backstory and a lot more quirks to be had.

Noted as an adaptation from the third game of the Ace Attorney series, a lot read more
Sep 11, 2019
Sebastian333 (All reviews)
This is a sequel from my review in the first season, all of my considerations when watching the anime are mentioned there.

For this second season that cover the final part of the game trilogy, we can see it as the "dark side" of the story, while the first season which cover the first two of the trilogy being the "bright side".

Characters have been properly developed in the first season, so the second season have no problem putting everything into motion now. I can see our main character, Phoenix Wright has truly developed and matured in this season, its very cool to see how he acts read more
May 4, 2019
Wavey_Nooby (All reviews)
Really enjoyed this adaptation of the video game. It's obviously not the most complex anime ever but I personally enjoyed the story and fell in love with the characters! I love how each main characters ambitions and goals are brought out to you near the end. I wish that some of the characters overall existence was more clearly explained closer to the begin of the series. Overall I really liked this! I also think that the music choice near the end of the season was really cool. The intensity of the courtroom really heated up with the help of the music. It was lovely how read more