Gyakuten Saiban: Sono "Shinjitsu", Igi Ari! Season 2


Ace Attorney Season 2

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Ace Attorney Season 2
Synonyms: Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney Season 2
Japanese: 逆転裁判 ~その「真実」、異議あり!~ Season 2

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 23
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2018 to Mar 30, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: CloverWorks
Source: Game
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, MysteryMystery, PolicePolice
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.141 (scored by 81498,149 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #30062
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3227
Members: 23,909
Favorites: 78
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 9, 2018
iamiracanlas (All reviews)
Preliminary
Thank god for changing the studio, now this, THIS, is what I like to see!

Like, seriously, compared to the (thou-shalt-not-be-remembered) first season, the animation DRASTICALLY turned up so fine that I desperately wish they continue this quality of animation up till the end (or else... *cries in the void*)

Things I appreciate in this adaptation:

- the pacing is surprisingly not that bad (although not that good, too... such is the fate of game-turned-anime shows)
- no awkward CG's yey!
- the "objection" animation is more natural and not that emphasized and over-the-top (although still kind of is... but yah get what I mean)
- there are actually behind-the-scene things read more
Mar 30, 2019
Lindle (All reviews)
With CloverWorks splitting off from A-1 Studios, there was reason to hope that this season of the Ace Attorney anime might right the wrongs of its predecessor. Having gained the independence to make their own decisions and not simply be A-1's B-studio, they might have been able to take the series in a new direction. And with PVs showing revamped character designs, and the fact that this season was to adapt only one game (Trials & Tribulations, the third game in the series), and the show even starting with a good first episode, things were starting to look hopeful.

Sadly, this was not to be.

If you've read more
Mar 30, 2019
Maffy (All reviews)
After the first series aired with its numerous problems, not many of us had any expectations for the continuation. Rough work on the pacing, narration and execution was detrimental to the final work. However, CloverWorks worked on some of the core problems the prequel had and it brought forth a much acceptable result.

The theme of the anime remains pretty much the same with Phoenix (Naruhodo) going through a few cases, but this time there is much more attention to the pacing, leaving enough time for a case to unfold in a more natural way than rush through everything. There were 23 episodes to animate only read more
Feb 7, 2019
Dekeloni (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly as a guy who played all of the trilogy games + both Dual Destinies and Spirit of Justice, I can say this anime is being executed perfectly. With the addition of 3 extra cases (Young Edgeworth case, the train case and the seashell case) A-1 Studios does a good job of replicating the original game which I enjoyed a lot. Plus they are managing to add some funny scenes from here to there. But man, Godot dude. Always loved that dude. His voice actor is godlike.

The only thing I might have an issue with is the voice actor of Phoenix. He sadly is not read more
Mar 30, 2019
PyraXadon (All reviews)
As someone who's never even held a copy of the games, I legitimately didn't think that the Ace Attorney series could have anything even resembling an overarching narrative.  A strange surprise, but certainly a welcome one.

Story:

More cases, more peculiar murders, and one suspicious woman that seems to keep popping up in everything that's going on, the follow up to Naruhodo Ryuuichi's start in his career as a defense attorney has him tackle more of these cases, this time with a lot more backstory and a lot more quirks to be had.

Noted as an adaptation from the third game of the Ace Attorney series, a lot read more
May 28, 2020
CataOrShane (All reviews)
I've done a few playthroughs of the Ace Attorney games and I'll always look forward to new ones. When I found out that the games would be adapted into an anime I was thrilled and I'm glad that the end result was good. Thankfully a sequel followed but the source material isn't the best, in my opinion.

The sequel is an adaptation of the 3rd game called Ace Attorney: Trials and Tribulations and it's by far the game I've least enjoyed. I just found the cases incredibly confusing and not much creativity in scenarios.

Animation: the visuals are still colorful and the videogames' likeness is read more
Sep 11, 2019
Sebastian333 (All reviews)
This is a sequel from my review in the first season, all of my considerations when watching the anime are mentioned there.

For this second season that cover the final part of the game trilogy, we can see it as the "dark side" of the story, while the first season which cover the first two of the trilogy being the "bright side".

Characters have been properly developed in the first season, so the second season have no problem putting everything into motion now. I can see our main character, Phoenix Wright has truly developed and matured in this season, its very cool to see how he acts read more
May 4, 2019
Wavey_Nooby (All reviews)
Really enjoyed this adaptation of the video game. It's obviously not the most complex anime ever but I personally enjoyed the story and fell in love with the characters! I love how each main characters ambitions and goals are brought out to you near the end. I wish that some of the characters overall existence was more clearly explained closer to the begin of the series. Overall I really liked this! I also think that the music choice near the end of the season was really cool. The intensity of the courtroom really heated up with the help of the music. It was lovely how read more
May 7, 2020
SexySans (All reviews)
And the second season is gone too. I have nothing different to say from the first, except that perhaps in certain episodes the quality of the drawing has dropped. For the rest, always faithful to the video game from which it took its cue, with the addition of a couple of original cases done summarily well. Here too I repeat that, in my opinion, this is an anime that can be appreciated only if you have played the video game (so much so that I, as soon as I finished seeing the last episode, I felt a pang in the heart and a deep sadness read more
Mar 27, 2020
CrusaderElly (All reviews)
^_^

So if you like ridiculous, crazy murder mysteries and its trials, with the most ludicrous characters and set-ups, this is one of few! Or, if you really can't get enough of Phoenix Wright, here is some more!

Personally, I enjoyed it, because I haven't played the games, and it was a good laugh seeing just how far they can go with all these silly plots and conspiracies.

They also added an almost-decent filler trial, and some nice backstory episodes!

But, from a technical standpoint, it's not a marvel.

The characters are still mostly stale, except for Edgeworth. There is little growth. Music is average at best, with one or read more