Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kishuku Gakkou no Juliet


Alternative Titles

English: Boarding School Juliet
Synonyms: Kishukugakkou no Juliet
Japanese: 寄宿学校のジュリエット

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2018 to Dec 22, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:25 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: LIDENFILMS
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.621 (scored by 33,049 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13192
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1032
Members: 91,818
Favorites: 642

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 21, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Being a great fan of the typical Romeo X Juliet school-twisted manga at hindsight, I was wishing for an anime adaptation of this rom-com for sometime, and when it premiered in Fall 2018, I was SO happy and ready for the anime adaptation by Liden Films, and it delivered flawlessly (well, small faults but big wins). (Yay, Happy Xmas wish granted!)

The story...let's just say that if you know a even a little bit about the Romeo X Juliet Shakespeary context, it's the exact same premise here, just in terms of different factions, mainly the White Cats and Black Dogs, led by both leaders Romio Inuzuka read more
Oct 26, 2018
Shirokuza (All reviews)
Preliminary
Romeo and Juliet the name is no stranger to us, right? yes they are a pair of young brides who love each other but his love does not go smoothly and is opposed by his family. Romeo Juliet himself has a variety of storylines ranging from sadness and end to happiness.

Kishuku Gakkou no Juliet tells of two young couples namely Persia Juliet and Inuzuka Romio who have secretly established love relationships. Series adapted from "Manga" written by Kaneda Yousuke is very interesting because it takes the legendary romantic story of Romeo and Juliet not surprised many spectators were deeply moved, and wrapped in comedy elements read more
Dec 21, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
If you take a classic story like Romeo and Juliet and convert it into a modern romantic comedy, you’d get Kishuku Gakkou no Juliet. While neither series are alike to each other, they do borrow a few familiar themes with the most prominent being a forbidden romance. But there’s more to that, no?

Romance is practical in a show like this but it made me question first what the were really aiming for. I’m not familiar Yousuke Kaneda’s works but when it comes to a rom-com, they made the point crystal clear. Romio Inuzuka and Juliet Persia are in love. It’s the type of love that read more
Dec 21, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
We have all seen the Romeo and Juliet tale before or at least know of it. It’s one of the most common plays taught in many high schools around the world. It is deeply ingrained into the public conscience, even to those who have never read or seen the play. Its famous for being arguably the easiest of Shakespeare’s plays to understand. It's a romantic tragedy, and that certainly adds to the appeal. Teenagers definitely like to use it to point out what happens when parents, families or affiliations don't support their little love affairs. What’s interesting about it is that, despite being one of read more
Oct 26, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
The disclaimer seen in the beginning has to be one of the longest anime has to offer and it is no wonder. The title of this series could as well be changed to "Fuck You, William Shakespeare" and that wouldn't even affect the level of subtle we have at hand. Make no mistake, however, this isn't a parody, this is just a disgrace.

We have school settings here and the school is divided in two because people apparently really hate each others. In this other divided half -- called House White Cat, lives our Juliet, and in the another -- called House Black Dog, lives Romio. read more
Oct 26, 2018
HappyDanceWeeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
Boarding School Juliet has gone rather unnoticed this season due to the popularity of Goblin Slayer, Sword Art Online, and so on. As a romantic comedy, it’s hard to keep up with the top shounen shows releasing every season. However, this show is surprisingly interesting and although can’t exactly be compare to the quality of the top shows airing right now, is still quite entertaining to watch.

Story: Boarding School Juliet is a spin-off of the original “Romeo and Juliet”(which is quite obvious when you read the title), as it retains many of the same elements. This time, the two rival groups, the White Cats read more
Dec 21, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
“There’s no sexual harassment in a match” — Four-eyed sex offender

Oh…in that case.

“Grab them by the pussy.” — Donald Trump


I haven’t seen Romeo and Juliet butchered this horribly since Baz Luhrmann decided to cast Leonardo DiCaprio in a modernized version of the Bard’s classic with its original dialogue intact. At Dahlia Academy Boarding School, the “White Cats” and the “Black Dogs” operate on the assumption that the only way to resolve their differences, is through a school yard battle royal where anything goes. Faces get punched. Hair gets pulled. Even more faces get punched. Girls clothes get stripped off (you read more
Dec 21, 2018
DUDZ_DNA (All reviews)
So i gave this an overall 10. Despite the ending well not being the end (so this isnt a spoiler but the material its based on is still ongoing as far as i know). However as a standalone 12 episode show it was amazing. i pray we get a second season with an actual ending BUT in all honesty i honestly think this show would need at least (and that's at LEAST) two more seasons to even make that possible. I suppose a lazy conclusion would be for the countries to intermarry nobility or something to improve relations but i do not really see that read more
Oct 30, 2018
MeteorEvox (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, Romio and Juliet I could have sworn I these names a familiar. I think it was a theatrical play? Anyway this anime is a love comedy and did it do romcoms justice? Well it did decent enough.

This anime is bursting with really well known voice actors and actresses from Kayano ai who voiced Darkness from Konosuba and Gintoki himself and many more well known voice actors and actresses. But the BGM doesn't shy away it is also top notch. But that isn't the best part about this anime the best part is the romcom itself. But that's about it. The story in this anime read more
Dec 21, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
A Romeo and Juliet love story re-interpretation that is actually good. No seriously.

Kishuku Gakkou no Juliet takes a Romeo and Juliet story, add in a harem that makes "some sense" for the main couple and combine all that with the basis of Romeo and Juliet's family dispute to a school setting, as much as these statements makes it out like cliche, but it's in the details.

Our titular Romeo and Juliet are taking place in Dahlia Academy Boarding School where there are two rivaling countries known as the White Cats where our Juliet Persia voiced by Ai Kayano is factioned where as the Black Doggies is read more
Dec 21, 2018
Kipo0007 (All reviews)
My first review so i am gonna keep it short :) A bit of spoilers*
This Anime series takes the elements of Classical Shakespeare Story of Romeo and Juliet from a manga by Kaneda Yousuke , with the story of the two main characters Persia Juliet and Inuzuka Romio belonging to opposite factions "The White Cats" and "The Black Dog", who fall for each other and have to overcome difficulties on a daily basis to keep their relationship a secret from their factions and maintaining it while achieving their common goal which is achieving peace between the two factions and change the world while developing and read more
Nov 20, 2018
sugoi_boi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now I know what you're thinking, another dumb rip off with dead story and characters, only watched by weebs for the occasional ecchi. But that's where your mostly wrong.

Despite a recycled and pretty cringe story line, the characters give the same refreshing feel they would in an 8+ rated anime. A poor story line which you know you've seen before but packed with genuine comedy, something you don"t get too often with the comedy genre these days.

Despite the fact this anime is on a technical level bad, its enjoyable and entertaining, which is what i feel most people would watch a show for.
Dec 22, 2018
Vintagesonic1 (All reviews)
Ah... I finally get to review this anime. This anime is definitely one of my favorites for sure. And in this review, I'm gonna try explain why:

(May contain very minor spoilers.)

Story: (8/10)

The story is short but sweet. Throughout this anime we fellow Romio Inuzuka, as he builds his relationship with Juliet Persia. But this won't be easy for our MC. In this school, there are 2 houses. Inuzuka is part of the "Black Doggies", and Persia is part of the "White Cats". Basically this means that these 2 houses are rivals. There are rules in between these 2 houses, so they can read more
Dec 21, 2018
Foorack (All reviews)
Easily 10/10. Animation was fantastic, and I am very happy this didn't turn out to be just another harem anime. I think their relationship progressed a bit too slow and that Romeo was a bit childish not even being able to be close to her without blushing but nothing which degrades the score of the masterpiece this is. I honestly jumped out of happiness and excitement during the last episode and that is a strong 10 for me.

Also this is not a spoiler of any storyline but the anime ended on manga-chapter 18, out of current 85. Material-wise this has every posibility for a season read more
Nov 13, 2018
eeasuper (All reviews)
Preliminary
Totally spoiler-free short review with almost no mentions of plot. A review on objective points of an anime:

Art:
One of the most important things about an anime is the art! Boarding School Juliet's art is good enough to be graded as "A" or "B+". Its art is not superb; its drawers draw them pretty averagely, like how some normal studios draw. Another important part of the art is its consistency - is the art always good enough to be average throughout all the episodes released so far? Unfortunately- no, but it's still ignorable. In episode 5, the quality drops a bit, making it obvious something read more
Dec 27, 2018
PyraXadon (All reviews)
If there's anything from ninth grade I remember most, it's the unit where I was forced to read the Shakespearian tale of 'Romeo and Juliet', the classic romantic tragedy of two lovers of opposing families who were never meant to be, ultimately dying together as a sign of their love.  (Spoiler if you've never read the book, watched the play, or watched any of the hundreds of story variants.)  So really, what's the next step for such an old and classic tale?  Rewrite and reproduce it as an anime of course. 

Story:

Boarding School Juliet takes place on Dahlia Island, the sole island in the middle read more
Dec 27, 2018
mystery132 (All reviews)
If you are expecting an anime version of Romeo and Juliet, look elsewhere.

Although the plot seems to follow along Shakespeare's original play, it is more like if someone took a spin-off of the play... and added comedy and anime tropes to it.

However, the lack of Romeo and Juliet themes doesn't detract from the overall viewing experience. The atmosphere is surprisingly lighthearted, in spite of several more serious events taking place.

I personally find that the characters are the best part of this anime. Most characters are unbelievable (there is no way that a perfect girl like Persia exists in reality), but that is just part read more
Dec 21, 2018
Seizawa (All reviews)
There's a saying, screw you for your perspective. This one applied quite well.

One sentence, it’s pretty much your generic anime series without any much originality. Honestly the comedy gag is not even funny, the characters are straightforwardly boring, spice it up with laughable plot just because to make it ‘plot’ for no apparent reason. The fight between cat and dog is barely passable as konoha vs uchiha cloning in a cute way and the characters is annoying beyond help. Its like “hey let us throw a whole lots of personalities, its gonna be fun for sure!” Aaaand it turned out as vast as rubbish read more
Nov 1, 2018
jorobatu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let's get straight to the point: Kishuku Gakkou no Juliet is an okay show; there are a lot of uninteresting moments, but there are some enjoyable ones too.

The first thing most people would expect the show to be is an anime rendition of "Romeo and Juliet". It borrows a couple of things such as the names Romeo (or in this case, "Romio") and Juliet, as well as the idea of 2 rival factions where the secret lovers are from, but that's about it for similarities.

The show wastes no time in pairing the two together. Being secret lovers, they need to do all sorts of read more
Dec 28, 2018
knappjones (All reviews)
So...contradictory to public belief, I actually have no idea that Rodeo and Juliet refers to an old folk tale of some sort that portrays forbidden love (not to be confused with the more common "incestuous love" seen on anime these days)

So jumping to the anime without expecting it to be about "forbidden love", I would say this is a rather interesting take on a romcom (abbreviation of "romantic comedy").

Art-wise, it's pretty much the exact definition of "average". Something like what A-1 Pictures would make, not really out of the ordinary, and not really bland, just positioned right at the line. Guess you don't really see read more