Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Seishun Buta Yarou wa Bunny Girl Senpai no Yume wo Minai


Alternative Titles

English: Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai
Synonyms: AoButa
Japanese: 青春ブタ野郎はバニーガール先輩の夢を見ない

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2018 to Dec 27, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Thursdays at 02:20 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: CloverWorks
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 187,813 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #206
Members: 357,988
Favorites: 10,116

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 26, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
I don't understand the hype for this one.

Bunny Girl Senpai is full of the same issues commonly criticized in most light novel adaptations, so why does it get a free pass? Harem tropes, waifu bait, incest teasing, thin characterization, vague pseudoscience, and an asshole deadpan protagonist who solves a bunch of girls’ problems for them. Most of all, the art and sound are incredibly mediocre excluding the many moments when CloverWorks chooses to bend over and spray shit in our eyes with its abundance of hideous CGI crowds.

First and foremost, I hate the writing in Bunny Girl Senpai. Consider the '4' points I rated the read more
Dec 26, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
Anime about teens in high school are a dime a dozen in this medium. You could say, if your anime isn’t set in some sort of school setting, then chances are it’s not really an anime—unless it has Bankai’s or something. While on the surface, this would look like a run-of-the-mill show, it dares to offer something different than most high school anime doesn’t dare touch—and that is reality itself.

With a (translated) title such as Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai (Bunny Girl Senpai for short) and the promotional poster of an attractive girl in a sexy bunny outfit, you would think that read more
Dec 26, 2018
AstralBread (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS NON-CRUCIAL SPOILERS FROM ONE EARLY EPISODE

Raskal Does Not Dream of Copyright Infringement

There is going to be a lot of mentions of Monogatari series in the review, because you need to understand that this series is not just similar, or inspired, or derivative. No - it’s an unbelievably blatant plagiarism, it steals everything from Monogatari, and I mean EVERYTHING, except for a couple of elements stolen from Oregairu and Haruhi instead. Comparing it to the famous cases of literary plagiarism ruled by court (Like Harry Potter’s rip-off called Tanya Grotter), it would 100% be ruled a copyright infringement if Nisio Isin/Kodansha ever bothered read more
Dec 26, 2018
tingoo (All reviews)
Ah, Puberty.

Puberty makes us do some crazy things. For example, oft times when I’m taking a stroll through my local library in my double XL, extra cleavage bunny boy costume and I’m being ignored, I think to myself “this must be just another Quantum Mechanics issue!”. I’ve consulted a multitude of other people on why I’m being socially outcast, but they seem to think I’m the problem! Can’t be, right?! That was the moment in which I was so graciously blessed by this anime, to save me from myself, and help me understand what I’d known all along. That of course, it was the cat. read more
Oct 24, 2018
Pipe (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am sure that several spectators started to watch the show after seeing the cover art and the Bunny Girl title. However, you aren’t going to watch a girl wearing a bunny outfit all the time … sorry to disappoint. Also, the audience can relate the anime with Bakemonogatari, Sakurada Reset to name some and the similarity between the main characters' behavior, the mystery in the plot, and the supernatural events.

On the other hand, as a positive aspect about the series, we have the characters chemistry and an entertaining plot. The story is interesting and mysterious, it could be a bit confusing for some, but read more
Oct 24, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Bunny Girl Senpai is an anime about this famous child actress who turns invisible, a main character dude who doesn't give a fuck about anything, and his little sister who was verbally assaulted to a point that she started bleeding blood and became a shut-in. All of this happens because of some magic disease called a puberty syndrome.

The events include our main bro being some sort of women-helping Jesus except if the women are bothering him in which case he roasts them by claiming they are on their periods or otherwise strips in front of them to make them awkward blushy blush, because apparently, he read more
Oct 24, 2018
Sakuta (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 7/10

The story of Seishun Buta is relatively simple, there is a supernatural phenomenon that happen and that its origin is unknown. This phenomenon is known as ''puberty syndrome'', the protagonist's little sister has been a victim of this phenomenon in the past. The anime begins with Sakuta meeting Sakurajima Mai, who is also being the victim of this phenomenon, from there the protagonist decides to help her.

Sound: 8/10

The opening and ending are very good, when they starts you get so excited. The soundtrack also is good, although it is not perfect, but it is enough to cause impact during drama scenes.

Characters: 10/10

The main read more
Dec 26, 2018
Rylston (All reviews)
‘I live life everyday hoping that I’m a slightly kinder person than I was the day before’ - Makinohara Shoko

If you thought this show was about literal BUNNY GIRLS, boi should you be prepared to be bamboozled by the most misleading title that you mightve ever come across. I was watching the first few minutes of the first episode expecting something probably as ecchi as it seems on the cover art, but hot damn did I got hooked by the quirky characters, mainly the interactions between our main protagonists. This show within the first episode reminded me of Bakemonogatari, which till this date I read more
Dec 26, 2018
Shirokuza (All reviews)
Seishun Buta Yarou wa Bunny Girl Senpai no Yume wo Minai is a short series adapted from "Light Novel" this series has thirteen episodes, six years after the release of Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo from the present screening Kamoshida Hajime who is the creator of this series at once The creator of the series "Sakurasou" recently also produced a work that Cloverworks studio appointed to become an anime.

Story

What happens when you experience a strange puberty, for example, can you exchange your body to be someone else? A story that focuses on a young man named "Azusagawa Sakuta" who finds himself meeting a bunny girl, read more
Oct 25, 2018
BBovine (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review contains some light spoilers.

Oftentimes the word “pretentious” is thrown around to criticize shows with complex plots or extravagant visuals with the assumption that calling the anime “pretentious” with no explanation of how that detracts from the quality of the show is a valid criticism in and of itself. However, in the case of “Bunny Girl,” Kamoshida’s pretensions are detrimental to the quality of the writing to the point that the incredibly simple ideas presented in this show become unnecessarily difficult to understand solely so Kamoshida can stroke his ego.

The first arc of Bunny Girl is dedicated to Mai Sakurajima’s case of adolescence syndrome. read more
Oct 24, 2018
LazyPanther (All reviews)
Preliminary
TLDR: A really good Romance/Mystery anime with a lot of potential. Definitely a must watch this season.

STORY:
Although I have seen similar stories in anime but so far the execution is pretty good and Far Better than MOST anime. It is a Mystery surrounding "Adolescence Syndrome" where different characters face supernatural phenomena while going through adolescence and how it affects the main couple.
The show has built a lot of intrigue this far.

CHARACTERS:
The 2 mains are compelling. The main guy is an outcast with a mysterious past. He cares about people but can give someone a verbal bitch slap if needed. He is kind read more
Dec 26, 2018
Zaber_san (All reviews)
"Never judge a book by its cover." - Some random person.

This Fall 2018 anime season, there are a lot of shows to watch on. Honestly, on my opinion, I enjoy this season pretty much more than any other seasons this year. From Goblin Slayer giving us memes and war, SAO back at it again with another season of Kirito OP-ness, to Jojos returning to TV screen with its title "Golden Wind", Fall season this year is definitely a must-see season.
Let us not forget the romance or drama genre of anime which are plenty this season as well. One of them, giving us audience a pretty read more
Oct 24, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
“I’ve seen enough Pornhub videos to know how this series is going to end.” — Krunchyman

This series truly speaks to me as a fellow “puberty syndrome” sufferer, as I use to “baste my ham” five times a day on a regular basis, and let me tell you something folks: rug-burn is an inconvenient truth. But enough about my own troubles, because this anime is troubling enough in its own right.

First of all, allow me to propose a theory that I kicked around in my head since viewing the first episode. The Bunny Girl Senpai, otherwise known as Mai, is simply a figment of read more
Dec 26, 2018
afg1930 (All reviews)
This is my first and probably last review on MAL. I think there are a couple of things to say about this anime which are not said yet. I don't want to go to much into detail so it would be better you have watched the anime before reading this.

This anime is a fanservice trash anime that pretends to be not trashy nor fanservice and attracts all people who love trash and let them believe they have found a superior good and deep anime which is at the bottom of it's heart as stupid as SAO or any other harem ecchi anime out there.

I read more
Dec 26, 2018
RiverRode (All reviews)
The challenges we face during our adolescence may be irrelevant in the grand scheme of things, though their magnitude in the moment can feel overwhelming. It's no surprise then that media which intensifies these issues through supernatural phenomenon would be popular, since teenage audiences feel as if the weight of their problems is understood. However, does this media actually help its audience to overcome their problems, or is it merely wish fulfillment to escape from them? Seishun Buta Yarou may have something compelling to say about the adolescent experience, but it's unfortunately buried under layers of tropes and cliches.

But of all the elements of the read more
Dec 26, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
What do I think about Seishun Buta Yarou wa Bunny Girl Senpai no Yume wo Minai? It’s an amazing show. That’s the simple way to say it but the complicated way is explaining it from my perspective. To be fair, I think this anime gets judged based on a lot of facts before it even aired. Like for instance, the brainchild behind the light novels is the same person that made Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo. (The Pet girl of Sakurasou) Anyone who has seen that anime may think what to expect from this show. But I think a bit differently. Hajime Kamoshida helmed the read more
Oct 24, 2018
Xaractis (All reviews)
Preliminary
Its a bloody long name of a series but lets keep it short, we'll just call it 'Bunny Girl'.

So far the series has given me me a Bakemonogatari throwback too of their first arc quite similar and I would probably recommend if you liked Bakemono, you'll probably like this as well.

The interactions between the 2 main characters are really enjoyable and probably one of the best interactions among most shows. They are not the generic characters you see in most as they are quite interesting and hopefully shouldn't disappoint you at all. As the show go on, you'll find some relatable content and perhaps a read more
Oct 25, 2018
darkfeatherX (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seishun Buta Yarou wa Bunny Girl Senpai no Yume wo Minai/Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai is a light novel adaption. And like many light novel adaptations, it's a rather uninspired attempt to sell more copies of the source. And it's possibly as bad as Cloverworks last badly made project Persona 5 The Animation. The Opening is objectively the worst Opening I've seen this year, consisting people running, poorly edited out of context pictures of the heroines, horribly blended in CGI, lifeless backgrounds. Which is actually a good indicator for what the show actually is.

A self inset ball of snark has monotone banter read more
Oct 24, 2018
Fuerzo (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Seishun Buta Yarou wa Bunny Girl Senpai no Yume wo Minai", which I'll be referring to from here on out as just Bunny Girl, is a light novel romance with a a snarky, perceptive male protagonist and a cold, standoffish (at least at first) lead girl. If this sounds familiar--it should! Early viewers have drawn comparisons to the Monogatari series, and despite being competent all around, with a talented voice cast and above-average production values, this, like many recent light novels, feels like a Bakemonogatari stripped of much of what made Bakemonogatari fundamentally interesting. While I'm not necessarily asking for SHAFT-style visuals, Bunny Girl's art read more
Oct 24, 2018
Predated01 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The amount of high scoring reviews for this anime blew my mind, so much so that it drove me to writing my first review on this site. While yes, only 3 episodes have aired at the time of me writing this review, my main problems with this show will surely not change since the show would look entirely different if that were to happen. Before I start, warning there might be some slight spoilers for the first 3 episodes.

A lot of people are comparing this anime to Bakemonogatari or the Monogatari series in general and while I can sort of see the comparisons with the read more