Karakuri Circus (TV)


Le Cirque de Karakuri

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Le Cirque de Karakuri
Japanese: からくりサーカス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 36
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 11, 2018 to Jun 27, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Thursdays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio VOLN
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, MysteryMystery, DramaDrama, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.081 (scored by 1768217,682 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #32492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1701
Members: 68,763
Favorites: 294
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 2, 2018
donati01 (All reviews)
Preliminary
*NO SPOILERS*

[Story 8/10]
The story is great. It's simple and original. It may sound stupid at first, but trust me, you'll get used to it.

[Art 10/10]
It's just beautiful and smooth. Everything looks good to the eye and all the colors are greatly combined.

[Sound 9/10]
The sound is also fantastic. Themes are great and match the scenes, and the opening is one of the best of the season.

[Character 9/10]
All characters are interesting and enjoyable. The development is going fast, but doesn't look forced and all characters are lovable in general.

[Enjoyment 9/10]
It's an enjoyable anime. If not the most enjoyable of the season.

[Overall 9/10]
I feel bad because this read more
Jun 27, 2019
Kaidu- (All reviews)
This is one of the worst adaptation to ever come out in recent memory. Not only it's a bad anime, but it's also an insult to the original manga by Fujita-sensei which is considered a classic in Japan.

Let's go over the biggest problem: it's rushed like hell.
How rushed? Well...
Imagine if you had to adapt JoJo part 5 into 13 episodes...
Or HxH into 24 episodes...
Or FMA into 16 episodes...
Or... Well, you get the idea.
The original manga is 43 volume long. This anime is 36 episode.
This means that even if they adapted a volume per episode, it wouldn't do read more
Dec 4, 2018
OG_Gattsu (All reviews)
Preliminary
We’ve seen shounen about ninjas, pirates, wizards, but I bet you haven’t seen one about the circus?!

Note: This review is based up to 30 episodes and may be subject to updating in the future.

Karakuri Circus is the latest shounen revolving around puppets and the circus. It sounds interesting conceptually and Karakuri Circus is more grounded than your typical battle shounen, however it still falls into the same pitfalls that plagues most shounen.

Story: (4/10)
The story is about a boy named Masaru who has inherited his late father’s fortune. However, a group of people wielding these mysterious puppets are after him trying to get their hands on read more
Jun 27, 2019
bmoore07 (All reviews)
People evolve. We venture beyond our comfort zones, adapting and adjusting to new environments. In the end, we become better versions of ourselves. However, for the shirogane (masters of magical puppets), this is not the case. Defined by their silver hair, slim figures, and seemingly ageless bodies, they’ve been fighting monsters for hundreds of years. Their reasoning for this lies within a traumatizing event from long ago; this event permanently affected them. While the seasons change, the shirogane stay the same. It's apparent in their fighting style (the manipulation of puppets). With the issues they confront, the shirogane insist on an approach that’s not only read more
Jun 27, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Over the past decade since I’ve been reading manga, there’s one author that I always felt underappreciated. Kazuhiro Fujita is the manga artist responsible for works such as Ushio and Tora and Moonlight Act. It’s not his first rodeo of having an anime adaptation. Ushio and Tora got the treatment of a 3-cour show (with a split break) based on his manga. Both series ran a large chunk of chapters before their conclusion. Karakuri Circus takes place in modern Japan focusing on a young boy named Masaru Saiga.

The story itself contains elements of action and dark fantasy while the plot revolves with three protagonists. read more
Jan 15, 2019
YoonBum- (All reviews)
Preliminary
SOOOO UNDERRATED. i really enjoy this anime it oddly gives hunterxhunter vibes idk how but its mt opnion the story is so fit and everything is connected
in the first episodes you wont understand that much but trust me it all will be shown in the next episodes...the art is likeable not like those 2018 animes that they draw characters to look childish and stupidly personality big eyes and etc...
i really like the art and the colors..the sounds are great makes the fights scensess more exiting...enjoyment is perfect..no episode made me feel bored its just all exiting and holds u to the next episode...overall 10\10 read more
Jun 27, 2019
7point8outof10 (All reviews)
I would like to preface this review by saying that I have yet to read the Karakuri Circus manga, so I will be discussing the show on its own merits, rather than comparing it to the manga. That said, there are lots of elements to Karakuri Circus that make it clear that it cut out a lot of stuff from the manga. This anime serves as a case study as to what happens when you adapt a great manga (or, at least, I assume it’s great based on what I’ve seen of the anime) from 42 volumes into 36 episodes. As you might imagine, the read more
Jun 30, 2019
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
Finally the 36 episode long anime has ended and it ended with a clean ending, not something that every anime does which always leaves an open ending, that the good part, the bad part about this anime was that to run for 36 episode was just too much of a chore, since we have to see a lot of back stories and info dump that were seemingly pseudo-science by nature, in one episode about the backstory of Yin and Bin it was 1758, that was the " Renaissance" that was the time that moden medicine was starting to develop in it's early stage, that was read more
Aug 27, 2019
Hatul (All reviews)
I'll start by saying that I think this series is a blast. If you like shonen anime like I do, especially the kind that hit you in the feels and hold no punches, I highly recommend it.

Karakuri Circus is an adaptation of a shonen manga from the 90s, coming from the same author of Ushio to Tora. It tells the story of Masaru, a kid raised by a rich family who just inherited a big fortune, since the father of the household died in a car crash. As a result, Masaru is being pursued by two separate groups of puppeteers who control super strong puppets read more
May 15, 2019
junaidd007 (All reviews)
Preliminary
That moment when it all just stops making any God damn sense.

I really liked the first episode. Even recommended to my friends. But oh boi that it took me for one heck of a ride

People might enjoy it but I hate it. Its like a long bad roller-coaster ride which you think you'll enjoy initially but as it goes on, you keep feeling sicker and sicker and by the end of the ride, you start throwing up. And it's also so unpredictable but in such a way that you start questioning yourself that why did you start watching this. There's is just too read more
Jun 28, 2019
Daibaka123 (All reviews)
This story is about tragedy, friendship overcoming tragedy through love and tragedy, and revenge. Oh! Specially to remind you what happens when you cock-block someone. The character development is amazing and very strong and so is the plot. It has a bunch of mysteries that all get revealed, and through the story there are two full circles that are nicely done through characterization. What do I mean by that? Well by the end of the series you will get why.

This is a story heavily involving puppets and circuses and alchemy. What Puppets, revenge, circuses, alchemy and forms of immortality or reincarnation do not interest read more
Jun 27, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
"All the world's a stage, and all the men and women merely players; They have their exits and their entrances."

If I have anything to say about acclaimed mangaka Kazuhiro Fujita's works of the late 90s (that includes Ushio to Tora) back in the day, this quote from William Shakespeare would be it as the symbolism to his entrée for the Shounen fans for a bygone era. Similar to Ushio to Tora, while there is no denying that the former has been quite impactful after a recent anime adaptation back in 2015, the same cannot be said for the latter here, expanding 3-cours in his longest-ever read more
Apr 10, 2019
Kaittenz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story (8/10)
The theme of the story is interesting and I haven't seen an anime that centers around puppets. Although, the story development could be improved because in most of the episodes that I've seen so far, certain arcs are skipped through and multiple new characters are being introduced in almost every episode with little to no introductions. With that being said, the story is interesting and you'll get used to the fast paced development.

Art (9/10)
The art is beautiful, reminds me of art styles from older anime's. There's great detail in almost every scene and character, you could tell that the animators/artists worked hard into portraying read more
Jun 23, 2019
Kadice (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't care about people saying about they cut too much from the manga. As person who rarely read manga they did amazing job even though they cut.I haven't felt like this in long time watching anime this anime packed with whole everything made me cry, laugh and again cry tear jerking anime. Highly recommend this anime and this is my first review so..I don't care about people saying about they cut too much from the manga. As person who rarely read manga they did amazing job even though they cut.I haven't felt like this in long time watching anime this anime packed with whole read more
Jun 27, 2019
Gabisu (All reviews)
This is my first review on this site, so forgive me if I typed something wrong (this review contains spoilers)

In all those years I never expected them to adapt a manga that was unknown to me, as soon as I saw the ad, I fell, I was anxious, it was like a dream... But reality turned into a nightmare. I hate this anime sincerely, it manages to worsen the original material in every way, I have nothing against the manga of karakuri circus, I even think the manga a masterpiece, but this anime drives me mad.

At first it seemed very harmless, but this anime cut read more
Jun 12, 2020
kevindasian (All reviews)
Preliminary
This adaption is pitiful its pathetic compared to the manga and to me after a fair 20 episodes it was straight up unwatchable and I've watched quite a lot of amines.
You might be wondering whats the problem?
It's the plot, it doesn't seem to be following any of the manga at all and instead jumps from one chapter to 3 chapters after that. Secondly, its horrendous rushed, it chopped around 15 chapters and skewed it awkwardly into a single episode. If you haven't read the manga most likely you'll get lost after around 3 episodes.
The only saving grace was the art, it clean and smooth. The read more
May 2, 2020
neromh (All reviews)
I don't usually give animes 10/10, but this one was something else in my opinion.

I accidentally found this one day and it took me a while to start it because I didn't think it would be good. I thought it would be about a literal puppet circus where people show off their puppets and cute shit. I was very wrong. The story was so much more complex and had such deep meanings to it. The amount of thought and small details that went into this was highly impressive.

This anime is extremely underrated. Some will say that this was too long or that the development between read more
Feb 9, 2020
SupremeLord (All reviews)
Some stories just need time to develop. A lot of people say some shows go on for too long, but generally speaking, if a show goes on for years and years, it’s for a damn good reason. Take One Piece for instance. Could you imagine that ending in 50 episodes? Or Naruto, which, while it became a mess during its final stretch, did need the length it had to tell its story. Karakuri Circus is a 43 Volume Long Manga by Fujita Kazuhiro, an author that seems to be, while unrecognized compared to his peers, highly respected by the fanbase, and it probably needed that read more
Dec 23, 2019
Disfemisef (All reviews)
This was a 36 episode anime that really shouldn't have been that long. It followed the adventures of Masaru Saiga, a billionaire heir who inherits his father's wealth after his death. With the help of lover of kids and certified Jesus Christ, Narumi and the mysterious and beautiful doll like Shirogane, he tried to uncover his dead father's weird secrets and evade the weird puppet creatures coming after him. It had some pretty good points and a lot of bad, but let's look at the good first.

I liked some of the characters in Karakuri circus. The protagonists were well established and developed. They had back read more
Jul 17, 2019
kaigansoyokaze (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS, because I needed to address a certain disturbing plot points and events and I can’t analyse them the without mentioning the story. So don’t read if you haven’t watched the series yet.

This anime plotline can be considered an epitome of unhealthy and abusive relationship. The way it equates a constant abuse and violence to love is not only outrageous and wrongful, but even criminal. Of course I’m talking about ‘romance’ between Narumi and Eleonore. There are many examples of bad-written pairings in anime in general, but this one beats them all. It’s a classical case of abusive relationship when a girl read more